Indie Cindy

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Indie Cindy Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first full-length studio release for the alternative rock band since 1991's Trompe Le Monde was produced by Gil Norton. It contains tracks released on EP-1, Ep-2, and EP-3 as well as three new songs.
Buy On

Top Track

Hey
Hey Been trying to meet you Hey Must be a devil between us Or whores in my head Whores at the door Whore in my bed But hey Where have you been? If... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    Apr 25, 2014
    91
    Simply in the mood for great rock music from a band that knows how to make it? Get this album. [2 May 2014, p.63]
  2. 70
    Give Indie Cindy an honest listen. If you have to, just pretend it's the new project of Frank Black, Joey Santiago and David Loverling.
  3. Magnet
    Jun 18, 2014
    70
    Yes, some of these are very stupid songs.... And like Doolittle, there are great songs here. [No. 110, p.58]
  4. Apr 23, 2014
    60
    When all's said and done, there are worse things in life than being the fifth-best Pixies album. So I guess we'll just leave it that and say no more.
  5. 55
    All the components are there, Joey Santiago’s guitar work is still impressive, Lovering’s drumming is still vigorous, but the problem is Black Francis himself. The compelling songwriting that completed Pixies is no longer there.
  6. May 2, 2014
    50
    So, while Indie Cindy is not an objectively bad album, it does fail to live up to the Pixies’ caliber, and a few noteworthy songs does not an exceptional record make.
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    35
    What makes Indie Cindy so egregious, so much worse than a simply bad album, is how much better it could have been.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Nov 5, 2016
    9
    Panned by the mainstream critics who want Isla de Encanta and Caribou 2.0 craziness (as if the world is not screwed up enough) this is in myPanned by the mainstream critics who want Isla de Encanta and Caribou 2.0 craziness (as if the world is not screwed up enough) this is in my view a strong album. What do people expect after 20+ years? There are some very listenable tracks on here and after repeated hearings I just can't let it go, "Greens and Blues" is a brilliant classic track - easily among my favourites of all Pixies songs, "Andro Queen" intrigues, "Magdalena" is haunting, and "Another Toe in the Ocean" is like the Pixies with kids, like most original fans will be by now. Yes, there is some stuff that doesn't quite work, and it is not the most cohesive album, but not deserving of the universal criticism from the millennial generation of critics not around in the 80s and brought up on the ubiquitous Beyonce and Rihanna. Bloody good to have them back. Expand
  2. Jul 22, 2014
    9
    I don't care what the critics say. I really like this album.

    I took me several listens to realize that I like this album. Back in the
    I don't care what the critics say. I really like this album.

    I took me several listens to realize that I like this album. Back in the day, when I was in college and bought CDs like Surfer Rosa, I often forced myself to listen to the albums multiple times, even if I didn't like them so much on the first listen. I didn't have much money, and I needed to try to get the most out of my investment in music. It always seemed ironic to me, but very often the albums I didn't like at first became my favorites.

    Now, I live in a world of musical plenty, since I have Rhapsody and have almost the entire musical universe open to me. There is a negative side to this: I flit about, always trying new things, going from album to album, not willing to give albums the time they need to sink in. I only have so much time, and too much music to put into that time.

    So, all that being said, something about this Pixies album made me come back to it. It's a subconscious reaction, something rattling around in my mind that makes me go play that album by itself and not mixed in with thousands of other tracks.

    So now I love the album. I like Frank Black's stream-of-consciousness talking, shouting/screaming and delicate singing. The guitar is right there up front, the way it was, which marks it as a Pixies album. The songs are quirky and catchy. I really like the songs Indie Cindy, Bagboy, and the weird slow Andro Queen.

    It helps that I had very low expectations, I'm sure. But give this album a few listens. I think Indie Cindy is a pretty big achievement after being gone so long.
    Expand
  3. May 8, 2014
    9
    Overwhelming hype on this album makes it underwhelming on first listen but after a few successions starts to stand out as a an album on parOverwhelming hype on this album makes it underwhelming on first listen but after a few successions starts to stand out as a an album on par with music made by the pixies 20 years ago! If this album was released after trompe le monde it would fit perfectly in the Pixies legacy. Expand
  4. Apr 9, 2015
    8
    The backlash this long awaited comeback album received from fans and critics alike baffles me. Most of these detractors were looking forThe backlash this long awaited comeback album received from fans and critics alike baffles me. Most of these detractors were looking for Doolittler or Surfer Rosa II. Indie Cindy was made by a band who are the bones of a quarter century on from Doolittle and Surfer Rosa. Thousands of bands have tried to emulate those records since their release with very few proving successful. We've got enough watered down copies of those records - surely true fans of the band should embrace something new, or at least give it a chance to breathe before shooting down. Black Francis and co clearly enjoyed touring over the last decade or so as the Pixies and felt the time had come to bring some fresh material into the mix. This was understandable and the band had earned the right to basically do whatever they want at this stage in their careers. Far from being a poor album, this is well above your average indie rock record. For me, every song on the album has its plus points, even Andro Queen, which is the weakest of the bunch. Had Indie Cindy been released in 92 or 93 it would fit seamlessly in with their run of albums. Having seen the band touring the album, the new material easily fits into their setlists. As others have said, had Indie Cindy been released by a new band, there is no doubt it would have received a much more positive reaction. Indie Cindy isn't a work of genius by any stretch and I'll probably come back to it less than their other albums. Having said that, it is a solid effort with plenty of merits and is worthy of a place in the bands back catalog. Heres hoping the band aren't put off bringing out more new material in the future by the negative reaction this has received as they clearly have something to bring to the table. The main change I would have made is not releasing all of the songs on EPs beforehand. Expand
  5. Apr 29, 2014
    7
    While this does seem more like a Frank Black record than a Pixies album proper, it nevertheless is a welcome return in my opinion. Not all ofWhile this does seem more like a Frank Black record than a Pixies album proper, it nevertheless is a welcome return in my opinion. Not all of the tracks work well, but there's just enough of the old magic to justify adding this to your collection. Collapse
  6. Aug 10, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. compared to the rest of Pixies' discography, its not that good at all. Judged however as just a singular rock album among many coming out at he minute, it is, like many, half decent and not greatly satisfactory. So summed up, its obviously not a great album.
    If you want a great rock album, I recommend the Pixies' Doolittle and Bossanova, Surfer Rosa etc amongst a couple of others as well, they show you good times!
    Expand
  7. Sep 26, 2014
    1
    This is horrible. One of the worst albums that I have on my Shelf. I would of gave it 0/10 if it didn't have Blue Eyed Hexe. It is a prettyThis is horrible. One of the worst albums that I have on my Shelf. I would of gave it 0/10 if it didn't have Blue Eyed Hexe. It is a pretty good song but it is the worst Pixes 5 star song. This is a do not buy. If you are a really big fan of pixes and you want to buy it, just wait for a sale. It is not $20 or how much it is in other countries. It is a do not buy. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews