It's Blitz - Yeah Yeah Yeahs
It's Blitz Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 100 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third album for the New York band was produced by Nick Launay and Dave Sitek.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. So let any indie bands planning a trip to the keyboard shop take note: this is how it's done, with a desire to surprise and be surprised. [May 2009, p.104]
  2. That they emerge victorious is a tribute to the strength of these fine songs as well as some seriously glamourous production attitude.
  3. If this is the band's "Parallel Lines," they've brought tunes worth comparing.
  4. The Yeah Yeah Yeahs, as you knew them, are dead. Just don’t be surprised if you like new version a little more.
  5. Between its violently happy songs and its softer ones, It's Blitz! ends up being some of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs' most balanced and cohesive music.
  6. The Yeah Yeah Yeahs haven’t changed as much as they’d like us to believe. They still write great pop rock songs.
  7. Six years later, the New York trio's third LP, It's Blitz!, is only as subversive as its cover image.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
  1. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    This album is incredible, I love how their change from rock to a more electro/pop sound. I love every track on the album. In my opinion the best Yeah Yeah Yeahs album by far Expand
  2. JackG
    Apr 12, 2009
    10
    Irresistible. I'd give it 8 but I want to rank the average higher ;)
  3. RichieF.
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    The best album of 2009. period. It's Blitz, It's Amazing! Because of this album, I am a diehard fan of the wonderful Yeah Yeah Yeahs, now. They show me why I love music so much! Thank you Karen, Brian, and Nick. Expand
  4. KC
    Apr 1, 2009
    9
    At first It's Blitz is jarring in that its sound on the surface is a lot different: more electronic/beat heavy, more restrained and cleaner. However, after a few listens I have fully warmed up to it and feel it's one of their most mature and well-written albums. "Hysteric" is a chill and beautiful gem. There's still a lot of the grit and edge that made the YYYs so appealing before, but it's been tweaked so that they're still interesting yet moving forward. Expand
  5. JenC
    Jun 20, 2009
    9
    Sure I miss Nick Zinner's guitars. I don't even typically like the dance music that influenced this album. But I can't pretend that I don't think this is the YYY's best album. And there's not an album I've listened to more this year so far. "Skeletons" is one of the most beautiful tracks ever. Well done NYC art poseurs...well done. Lydia Lunch can go F herself. Collapse
  6. Rachel
    Apr 7, 2009
    9
    An amazingly captivating and danceable album. My new favorite of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs.
  7. JerryJ
    Apr 3, 2009
    1
    This band is still releasing more garbage? This album is just as bad if not worse than the last 2.

See all 39 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2009

    The Best Albums of 2009 Image
    Published: December 29, 2009
    We recap the best-reviewed albums of 2009 and collect dozens of music critic top ten lists to determine the best album of the year. While the results point to a clear winner, you can listen to songs from the top 50 albums to help you find your own favorites.