Kid A - Radiohead
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 525 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 525

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Upon first listen I can see why old school Radiohead fans won't like this album, I didn't either. After a few listens though the album grew on me. Radiohead took a leap of faith here by making an album totally opposite of their past masterpieces (The Bends & OK Computer). This transition kind of reminds me of Dylan going acoustic. His loyal folk fan base was horrified and didn't want anything to do with him after that. Thankfully artists make music for themselves and what that is and what the fans want may be two different things. If artists just stuck to their roots we they would never be able to grow intellectually and musically. Kid A is a fantastic album and is well worthy of all the praise it has and continues to receive and "Everything In It's Right Place" is one of the best songs of all time. Expand
  2. Aug 19, 2010
    10
    To call Kid A a good album is an understatement, while not as diverse and as good song by song as its predecesor Ok Computer, Kid A may be better as a full collective album. Its one of those albums that it is almost required of you to listen from start to finish. While it is an album that definetely has a recurring musical theme, each song takes you to a different place, whether it be the chilling "Everything in its Right Place" to the near tear jerking "How to Disappear completely, to the anything but "Optimistic", to "In Limbo" which most certainly lives up to its name being confusing and without real direction (in a good way). Kid A while not Radioheads magnum opus, may be their most obscure, challenging, and most thought provoking piece of art, which it is nothing less than a piece of art. Expand
  3. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    I am a massive radiohead fan. and this is there greatest album. Radiohead is my favourette band and this does not dissapoint. Kid A and Optimistic are my favourette tracs from this album.
  4. Apr 5, 2011
    5
    I don't doubt the time and effort put into this album, wonderful technique, and ability. From an objective stand point though, if you're not shuffling through the gray streets of london, you need to put on something else. This album is to Radiohead as Something in the Way was to Nirvana. Not terrible, but I'd rather hear Dive. Get me?
  5. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    When I first listened to this album, I thought it was entirely a pile of garbage. How could the greatest rock band in the world make such a horrendous processed electronic earwreck? A month later, I gave it another chance. Then I thought, "huh, this is alright. Wonder why I thought it was so bad." Then I listened to it for a third time. That's when my mind was blown. Radiohead had struck gold again. Only this time, they found diamond. This album is absolutely flawless, even if at first glance it's completely flawed. Just keep polishing the diamond, and only then will it sparkle. Expand
  6. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    When you ask people about the best 90's album, the most common answer is: "OK Computer". And they go beyond in asserting that also is the best Radiohead album. I'm not in agreement with the last affirmation. "Kid A" is a huge album that overcomes their previous recording. Since I first heard it, 6 years ago, I was impressed by it's peculiar sound, the experimentation, the quality, the elegance. It's a masterpiece! (for me, of course). Since these High School days it has becomes one of my favorites recordings of ever!! Expand
  7. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    The best Radiohead's album of the last twelve years. Nothing more, nothing less. It's absolutely worth listening to it, but if you never liked them this album is not gonna make you change your mind. Haters are warned!
  8. Apr 12, 2011
    8
    I really don't know what to say about this one.
    Ok... so I can hear the creativity and effort that's been put into this record, and it is a cool mix of atmospheric sounds.. but that's all it is really - there are no recognizable words or any normal song structures. It's just sounds. But interesting sounds. You can listen to meditation/electronic music and hear almost the same thing. I
    think people are rating it "best album of the decade" because it's so different that you don't really know where to put it. Well... it can't be 'perfect' really.. there are a handful of not so good tracks. But the rest are interesting listens. I'll give it props for being so different... Expand
  9. Jan 12, 2011
    10
    Beautiful from Track 1 - Track 10 (Yes, even Treefingers) Just as good as OK Computer musically. But it's the album, the order of the songs, that make it so amazing.
    Calming, Dark, Haunting and Beautiful all in 40 minutes.
    You can lay in a dark room and just get lost in its experimental, electronic beauty. IN-CREDI-BLE Please....
    Please..... Listen. Expand
  10. Aug 25, 2010
    10
    Everything truly is in its right place.
  11. Oct 5, 2010
    9
    A truly wonderful album, with a few songs that probably experiment too far, and lose me a bit ("Kid A", "Treefingers"). A lot of these songs, though, still have a quintessential Radiohead sound, and the overall theme of the album is so different from "OK Computer". It feels like a natural extension to that albums feelings of being lost in the modern world of technology, with Yorke's voice now becoming part of that system of electronics, to great effect. For people stuck in the alt rock of "Pablo Honey", it will not be a very appealing sound. But those that loved the message of "OK Computer" will really get a lot out of this album, and it's among Radiohead's best. Expand
  12. Sep 5, 2010
    10
    It's ok if you don't like it. It's a piece of music you are either going to love or hate. It's not for everybody. This is my favorite album of all time. In fact, I think it's better than Abbey Road and Dark Side of the Moon. It is an album that truly lives up to the hype for me, unlike Arcade Fire's Funeral. Seriously, how can that album be in the same league as Kid A? It again shows that we all hear things differently. Expand
  13. Sep 5, 2010
    10
    thus album moves you from start to finish. it tells a rich story. it is radioheads finest and no album will ever top this. Some like Sgt. peppers lonely hearts club band and ok computer got close, to name a few, but not this good. A+ job. the best album ever.
  14. Sep 7, 2010
    9
    An absolutely groundbreaking effort and quite a gutsy change of direction after the phenomenal success of OK Computer (1997). I actually think Amnesiac is a bit of an improvement, but let's be honest, with a Radiohead album, there usually isn't much room for that. A lovely record.
  15. Oct 30, 2010
    10
    An album at the forefront of its time & a complete work of art. The first time I heard it it was like nothing I had heard before. The influence of this album will resonate for generations...
  16. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    This album is quite literally perfect. I can't honestly think of anything bad to say about it, except that Treefingers should be a little bit shorter.
  17. Jan 7, 2011
    8
    Kid A is a very playful album. all sorts of musical elements in this album. Thom Yorke's voice soars high in this album. "The National Anthem" sounds like a track that is spiralling out of control. The opener "Everything In It's Right Place" sounds distorted, and "Idioteque" is like an electronic funk song that sounds amazing. All In All, Kid A is a very good album. B+
  18. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    In contrast to what many mainstream critics said, Kid A is, without a doubt, one of the greatest albums of the previous decade. Kid A might or might not have been groundbreaking, but it is certainly one of the most challenging albums ever to have commercial success. Kid A had no official singles or music videos, yet it went to #1 upon initial release. Kid A is more of a piece of art rather than being just another commercially passable album. It challenges you to hear what's on the album. Expand
  19. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    There are many bands out there trying to create great albums, and there have been many great albums made. The 90's were full of these albums, OK Computer, Nevermind and the past decade was full of them as well, Funeral, Yankee Hotel Foxtrot. All of these albums are classics, people will listen to them for years to come. However, there is really no dispute among music lovers that these can touch anything in the likes of Sgt. Pepper. It would seem that in the past twenty years, while a lot of the music was great, none of it could stand up to the effect that the brilliance and innovation of some of the all time greats had. Kid A however does stands out. Everything to do with the album is very unique, the music is very challenging and not influenced by anything mainstream, the lyrics are dark and abstract, and the most unique aspect of all, it was not anything anyone else was even thinking about making. WIth albums like Nirvana's Nevermind, there were multiple bands that were also trying to come up with the pinnacle album for Seattle grunge rock, but with Kid A, no one was even expecting anything like it to come into existence. This album truly is one of a kind, and whether or not you like it, its uniqueness cannot be taken away. No album had ever been made using all of these concepts from underground genres of music. It opened the doors for countless other artists thats music would have otherwise remained ignored and it created a new direction for more mainstream genres to aim at. This kind of album can only happen every so often, and Radiohead executed it perfectly. They took all of these ideas these other musicians had and created something beautiful. There is no other album in the last two decades that can be compared to this album, and for that reason Radiohead will go into history as one of the all-time greats. Expand
  20. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    What an amazing album. I'm a rather big Radiohead fan and this is easily their best work. The music is phenomenal and experimental, the bass is out of those world and The National Anthem is brilliant. Thom's vocals are solid and the drums are great. The album progresses very smoothly. If you think of it as a concept album (a terrorist attack or a dream are the two major options) it gets much more interesting. Truly great album. However, the last track is one of my lesser liked Radiohead songs, but the rest of them are some of my favorite. Expand
  21. May 6, 2011
    8
    If I had the choice, I would give up this album just so as to stop Amnesiac spawning, though I would miss great songs like Everything In Its Right Place, Optimistic, Idioteque and Morning Bell (which directly led to Morning Bell/Amnesiac, which was weak compared to the original, to say the least).
  22. May 25, 2011
    10
    It's a beast for sure, but one that will reward you with time.
  23. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    By far the darkest-sounding, most artistically significant album to be released this millennium. Kid A will go on to inspire millions of people around the world. This was the follow up to Radiohead's break-out record, Ok Computer, and WHAT a follow up this is! It separated Radiohead from all other bands and has redefined what music is. It's an EXCRUCIATINGLY difficult record to get into, but once you start understanding the point of it all you will fall so deeply in love that you'll listen to it over and over again for weeks. Try to connect to the lyrics; read the pitchfork review it explains everything pretty much perfectly. This album is what it sounds like to be one of the best bands in the world, destroy yourself, and then slowly put yourself back together and take the top pillar in most people's music libraries (at least for new music). Expand
  24. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    Along with Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, this album defined the 2000s. Thom Yorke is an unnerving genius. Probably their best record. Perfect for losing your mind.
  25. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    The sheer ingenuity and depth of the album astounds. I think many of its more vehement critics on this site have failed to grasp the allusions to apocalypse - and indeed the comparisons of it with our own world. "Cheap sex and sad films" bemoans Thom on the final track, seeing where our own real lusts lie. The music complements this beautifully; too many have been expecting straightforward rock. The fact that Radiohead can experiment with dissonance, glitch and extended instrumental techniques shows thier vast versitility as musicians. Expand
  26. j30
    Feb 1, 2012
    10
    Radiohead's Kid A sucker punches you with it's marvelous production, intense lyrics, sweeping (even distorted) melodies, and beautiful artwork. Three years after the great OK Computer I don't think anyone could have seen this coming. For better or worse this album changed the way people look at alternative music.
  27. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    A beautiful and dark album. Well worth owning. This intricate album continuously gets better with each listen. Amazing cover art by Stanely Donwood. One of the best, if not THE best, album since the turn of the century. The timing couldn't have been better for the release of this masterpiece. A CD that captures the paranoia and electronic age of the 21st Century as well as incorporating relevant political and environmental issues. Solid all the way through. Perfect for late at night. Expand
  28. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    Kid A, can't nobody top that. Better than Rush, better than Coldplay, and better than Soundgarden, Radiohead brings the mixture of alternative indie rock and UK grunge to another level. Quite possibly one of the greatest albums of all time.
  29. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    Radiohead continues being a great band by changeing their sound and its for the best. Bands have to evolve or they will become stale and boring but thankfully that won't happen to radiohead. Also this is my favorite album by them.
  30. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    Amazing album. It may not be the most accessible album (It took me a few listens to get into it), but it certainly is one of the best. Not like their earlier albums, but then again, every Radiohead album is different.
  31. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    The follow up to the magnificient OK Computer marked the start of the next chapter of Radiohead where they moved from rock to progressive/experimental music. Not as groundbreaking as many give it credit for but Radiohead created one of the last last great albums of the 20th century with this. 10 tracks long, each one seems to belong exactly where it is - as the opening song says "Every in its right place". The title track Kid A is the highlight for me and is as good a track as Radiohead have produced. Optimistic, In Limbo and Morning Bell are the other highlights but this really does work as an album and should be listened to as a whole piece. A good mix of experimental touches but with good tunes driving it forward. It's a pity they didn't release it with Amnesiac as I think it would have been a great double album Expand
  32. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    Rather than silly club synths, their use of electronica is proper. It feels artistic and sophisticated. It's an intelligent record. It's a masterpiece. Perhaps this is the best album of the last decade.
  33. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This is the greatest album of all time, in my opinion.
  34. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Easily an album that helped shape the music scene as we know it now. With the leap from the critically and commercially successful sound of OK computer they made what in my opinion is the greatest album of the 00's. Absolute perfection.
  35. Jul 21, 2012
    8
    A strange blockbuster. Like getting a completely new yet intelligent perspective on the world you've come to sense in the same old light. I've always thought that the insecurities and pressure on the band was present beneath the perfect production, and it comes to draw focus from the sharp world-diagnoses Radiohead crafts so well.
  36. Jan 28, 2012
    10
    A perfect fantasy. Radiohead album created a surreal concept of eternal confusion in our minds. The imaginary and where least expected, "Everything In It's Right Place" takes us crashing to the beginning of a disturbing soundtrack. The best album I heard in my life.
  37. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    Because I am rather young and I didn't actually discover Radiohead until a few months ago, I didn't get to listen to this album when it came out, when it was a revolution, but I have listened to their albums several times by now, and Kid A sticks out as the best album from the best band of all time. From electronic masterpieces like the title track, that is very emotional despite the electronic sound, to deep and sad songs like How To Disappear Completely, every song is special and means something to me.

    As for those who didn't like this album: Listen to it again. Trust me, this album needs time to grow on you, but as soon as it did, you will find out it is stunning.
    Expand
  38. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    An obfuscation of the current, and limited, boundaries of modern music through the progression from 'rock' to 'electronic' music. Crisp sonic quality accompanied with shifts and mixtures of linearity and surreality; a playground of simple/easy and complex/difficult kinds of equipment mixed together. It doesn't claim itself to be 'experimental' but 'different' - which it is. Not something to be dealt with completely seriously or completely playfully, but with complete curiosity. Expand
  39. May 14, 2012
    10
    i cannot describe this album accurately with words, but if i had to try, i'd say it's the incarnation of bliss. this is one of the three or four albums that completely warped my perception of music and pushed me into a deeper, fuller, greater appreciation of music.
  40. May 15, 2013
    10
    The greatest album of the decade? Absolutely!! Is it the greatest album of all time? It certainly makes a strong case for it. I've never heard in my short, but dense years of listening, a more perfect album. It blends multiple genres from electronic to jazz to classical to ambient successfully, and unites them together in the form of a traditional rock album. But this album is far from traditional, hell it's a far-cry from a Radiohead record as well, but it is an exquisitely weird and beautiful album nonetheless and stands as the most influential and important recording of the 21st century so far. Expand
  41. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    Radiohead's magnum opus and their most ambitious, risky record yet. It came at a time when the pressure to follow-up a monumental album was monstrous, and the result was this drastic change in aesthetic and attitude that marks the band's celebrated ideal of reinventing themselves on every new record they release. a masterpiece from start to finish.
  42. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    it's like a punch to the face of rock at the time and it experiments with the best of the band techniques. from electronic to jazz sounds is one of the most strong albums of the decade
  43. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    This is one of those albums that grow on you. When I first heard this, I hated it... I strongly recommend this now. This is actually a quite diverse album, songs range from slow, percussion-less, moody songs like "Treefingers" through more standard songs like "Optimistic" to dance-able songs like "Idioteque".
  44. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    No other album translates the social-personal issues of the human condition in the 21st century into music as does Kid A. It takes ideas such as global warming, capitalism, cloning, hysteria, depression, and nostalgia and uses wide-spanning genres such as kraut-rock, free-form jazz, minimal electronic, ambient, and post-rock to express them. The most fascinating aspect of the album is how liquid it feels: songs warp and splash into each other and, despite the disparate genre ensemble, the songs feel inseparable. To those of you who have trouble "getting into" Kid A, try harder. It's not pretentious in any sense. It takes some time to adjust to Kid A, largely due to its unconventional structure and minimalism. Just let it invade you because once your ears adjust to the frequencies, Kid A is endlessly rewarding and absorbing. Whenever I have the time, I pop my vinyl copy of Kid A onto my record player and just sit back and listen to it all, starting with the quirky keys and swirling vocals on Everything In its Right Place and ending with the analog splash that concludes Motion Picture Soundtrack. It's an experience worth the effort. Expand
  45. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    without a doubt one of the greatest albums i've ever listened to. the entire thing has such a great electronic flow and blends together so nicely. great to listen to on a rainy day.
  46. Nov 6, 2012
    2
    There was commenter who said that "If you don't get Radiohead you don't get music". No, I get Radiohead... I just don't like this album in general. Now don't get me wrong, The Bends and OK Computer are some of the best alternative rock albums of the 90's. However people proclaimed this as the 2000's equivalent of Nevermind (by Nirvana) and that's just not accurate. There is nothing artful about unstructured noise and lyrics that have no meaning. And the worse thing is that this album is more successful commercially than White Pony by Deftones. If this album has more success, critically and commercially, than an album that has structure, character, and has some kind of musical/lyrical progression in it then there is something wrong with musical listeners. Now, if you'd excuse me I'm going to go and listen to some progressive metal, a genre of music that has actual structure and requires playing instruments. Expand
  47. Jun 3, 2013
    10
    It amazes me how low the scores are fort radiohead albums. Radiohead have some of the most amazing, mind opening music in the world, just listen to the song Kid A and try and imagine stuff. its insanely good.

    As with all Radiohead albums, the whole is greater than the sum of its parts. Its clear its not for everyone though, just by some of these reviews. Try hard and you wont be disappointed.
  48. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    Underrated at its time, this is by far the best and most innovative album of the decade 2000's (2000-2009). This is a reborn Radiohead and a band at its best.
  49. Apr 29, 2013
    10
    For some odd reason, "Kid A" was the first Radiohead album I ever listened to. For not starting with albums like "The Bends", or "OK Computer", the average music lover would think that my reaction to Kid A would be mixed, or negative. Now, it's one of my all time favorites. In 2000, I heard of the monumental critical success of the record, and decided to give it a listen. Kid A is an artful album in many ways, blending alternative rock, jazz fusion, IDM, ambient and electronica all into one record. It seems like a hard thing to do, but somehow, Radiohead managed to pull it off, and create a near perfect record. Kid A is an album that represents a generation, the 60's had Sgt. pepper, the 70's had Dark Side Of The Moon, the 80's had London Calling, the 90's had Nevermind, and the 2000's? We have Kid A. Expand
  50. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Not a masterpiece on the first listen, but if you are a true Radiohead fan, this album will grow on you and most people realize that this album is a rock masterpiece, and probably one of the best electronic albums ever.
  51. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    Allmusic did another review and gave this album five out of five stars. What can I say about this that hasn't been said? Just like most masterpieces, it takes a while to digest, but once it does, it is enriching and takes the listener outside of hirself, just like good art should. Not much of a review on my part, but I hope this helps give people the idea that this record is important.
  52. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    If there is one album I would dexcribe as magic, it is Radioheads masterpiece "Kid A".
    I remember being sick and I listened to this album, the music on Kid A cured me! I wasnt sick anymore!
    **** Incredible! 10/10
  53. Dec 7, 2013
    10
    the weirdness and fusion of classical music-electronics-comtemporary modern era, was a way to escape the routine of alternative rock, Pablo Honey, The Bends and OK Computer (in which he was predicting what was to come, with a mark more or less electronics.
    unlike the that bands do to hang on trial, made ​​a masterpiece with everything we were entitled.
    something that makes you travel,
    may seem boring, just not the contrary, relaxing, exctasiant and melancholy, as works of art (painting, poetry and even music). Sometimes sounds like one song, however, shows that out of the routine is good to differentiate and try new things.
    Have a good trip, after a weary day, relax listening (and experiencing) Kid A, the ears may be confused, but what matters is what naa enter your mind and you will be reborn.
    Expand
  54. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    It's one of the bravest releases for a band in decades and it had one of the smartest marketing campaigns. It was quite polarising upon release but KID A has earned such a level of acclaim over the 13 year period since it's release, that many consider it to be superior to it's predecessor, OK Computer, one of the greatest albums ever released.

    KID A is dear to myself and Radiohead fans
    hearts. It has left a large mark on the music industry and will continue to influence many music lovers in the future. In my opinion, it's the greatest release of the noughties and the best Sci-Fi album ever made.

    10/10
    Expand
  55. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    It really is the best, most evocative and most profoundly moving Radiohead album. OK Computer, now we'll use you to do something marvellous and homogenous. Quieter and more concrete than its predecessor, it shows influences from triphop, krautrock and the likes of Aphex Twin and Björk.
  56. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    An album that both alienates listeners yet draws them back in for more. Kid A is quite possibly the most unique sounding albums and constructed ideas of the last several decades. The stripped down sound of the "new era" Radiohead of the 21st century does more than cement their place as one of the most influential bands of all time and without question, one the best bands of all time.
  57. Apr 9, 2014
    9
    This is by far the best album of the 2000s. Simply awesome; the beautiful beginning, Everything In Its Right Place: it's epic. And what about Idioteque? Easily on the best songs ever.
    This is a masterpiece, way better than Ok Computer
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. 100
    Comparing this to other albums is like comparing an aquarium to blue construction paper.... It's the sound of a band, and its leader, losing faith in themselves, destroying themselves, and subsequently rebuilding a perfect entity. In other words, Radiohead hated being Radiohead, but ended up with the most ideal, natural Radiohead record yet.
  2. 90
    Radiohead have completely immersed themselves in the studio-as-instrument--signal processing, radical stereo separation, and other antinaturalistic techniques. Even the precious Guitars--saturated with effects and gaseous with sustain--resemble natural phenomena rather than power chords or lead lines. Essentially, this is a post-rock record.... Kid A is not only Radiohead's bravest album but its best one as well. [Oct 2000, p.172]
  3. For an album that apparently grew out of the band trying to get away from melody, there's a lot of it here. They can't help themselves. They try to do a song with a robotic dance beat, load it up with bleak phrases like "laughing till my head comes off" and "take the money and run" and "this is really happening," call it "Idioteque" for chrissake, and what stands out are not the beat and not the phrases or the apparent concept of dance music being silly when horrible things are happening in the world, but the seven or eight different heartwrenching vocal lines and the amazing way they intertwine.