Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    Les Voyages De L'Ame will surely stand unchallenged as the most ineffably beautiful record of 2012. [21 Jan 2012, p.54]
  2. Jan 26, 2012
    90
    Les Voyages De L'Âme is an excellent addition to the Alcest's already prodigious output, and it establishes itself early on as one of 2012's finest metal releases.
  3. Feb 24, 2012
    80
    The music contains all of the trembling beauty fans have come to expect from Alcest, combined with a sense of vitality and wanderlust.
  4. Feb 2, 2012
    80
    Les Voyages de l'Âme is a great record; self- defining and alluringly elusive.
  5. Jan 26, 2012
    80
    It's the band's most mature work to date and perhaps the only one that feels like a true album.
  6. Jan 26, 2012
    70
    Alcest's new record,Les Voyages de l'Âme is the best example yet of what it can do.
  7. Jan 26, 2012
    70
    It is far from perfect yet could never possibly get there.
  8. Feb 15, 2012
    69
    Here, when everything's as clear as it is on Les Voyages de l'Âme, he feels almost too exposed, and the big climaxes he's reaching for don't arrive. There's no denying the beauty, but it feels weirdly muted-- or perhaps just unsurprising.
  9. There's much to cherish here, but this isn't a complete effort.
  10. Jan 26, 2012
    60
    There's a lot in here that brims with life but, somehow, it never quite unfolds.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    I hit this just by coincidence searching for best albums of year 2012. This is a really good listen for a metal fan. Great mix of various sub-genres. The only negative thing about is that I don't know French and cannot understand the lyrics. I wish I could find some English translation. Full Review »
  2. Oct 28, 2012
    9
    Alcest create a limbo lounge for souls weighed down by life's heaviness on these "voyages of the soul", and once acoustically settled in it is an amazingly dark yet beautiful journey through the blackness of uncertainty to the promise of light. But isnt' that what life's about? Full Review »
  3. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    As a metal fan I'm just shocked how good this album is. It's a deep traveling album and you don't need to be a metal fan to love. It's just pure music that never ceases to amaze me. I've listened to this more than anything to date in 2012 (written 9/11/12) and it just keeps getting better. You should own this. Full Review »