Libertad

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jul 3, 2007
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 105 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 105
  2. Negative: 18 out of 105

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GeradG.
    Aug 14, 2007
    10
    great cd for anyone who likes rock
  2. JimiH.
    Jul 4, 2007
    6
    Libertad is no doubt better then Contraband, but still isn't all that great. Most of their songs come off sounding a bit the same. Their drum play and guitar riffs are not all that impressive either.
  3. MikeM.
    Jul 5, 2007
    9
    GREAT SOPHOMORE ALBUM.
  4. TheJaganath
    Jul 6, 2007
    3
    I don't know how anyone can say this was better than Contrabad - Slither was awesome, Fall To Pieces and Got No Right where beautiful - there's not one track on this album that stands out - not one spine tingling or heartbreakingly good solo from Slash, and a lot of lame lyrics more often than not mentioning pills and drugs.... we get it Scott, you're a junky. Stick with I don't know how anyone can say this was better than Contrabad - Slither was awesome, Fall To Pieces and Got No Right where beautiful - there's not one track on this album that stands out - not one spine tingling or heartbreakingly good solo from Slash, and a lot of lame lyrics more often than not mentioning pills and drugs.... we get it Scott, you're a junky. Stick with the new G N' R people, sure it's not Slash, Duff and Matt, but they kick the heck out of VR now that ex G N' R boys have been dragged down to this level. Expand
  5. EricC.
    Jul 6, 2007
    2
    Not very intresting. Repetative. A few good singles, but not a great album. Pretty dissapointed
  6. anonymous
    Jul 17, 2007
    8
    This cd rocks, its what the industry is lacking today. Some good ole rock
  7. JaredS.
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    Coming from a STP fan's perspective, Libertad is an absolutely amazing album. You can really see the bands personal influences that went into making the album. The songs resembles a mix of STP and GN'R at their greatest. Personally, I feel that every song on the album is enjoyable to listen to and are great songs. I definitely would recommend this album to any that liked the Coming from a STP fan's perspective, Libertad is an absolutely amazing album. You can really see the bands personal influences that went into making the album. The songs resembles a mix of STP and GN'R at their greatest. Personally, I feel that every song on the album is enjoyable to listen to and are great songs. I definitely would recommend this album to any that liked the first album and to any STP fans that never got into VR. Expand
  8. BrendanO
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    The whole album sounds absolutely amazing. This is the best album I've heard in years.
  9. KieranW
    Jul 2, 2007
    9
    Full of big riffs and broad choruses. A true to the heart rock 'n' roll album. Velvet Revolver are carving for themselves a unique sound that will propel them beyond the shadow of Guns 'n' Roses glory days.
  10. johnj.
    Jul 3, 2007
    7
    ok
  11. DrunkenMaster
    Jul 4, 2007
    2
    What garbage. When your highest rating is from Entertainment Weekly, you know you suck. Strictly for suburban backward-baseball cap wearing morons. Lap it up.
  12. TomF.
    Jul 4, 2007
    4
    Why has metacritic only pulled 6 reviews on this obvious sub-standard effort? Heck, The Fields has 14 reviews on it and there about as mainstream as a Burger Chef in a suburban strip-mall.
  13. headbanger
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    F@#&$ YEAH!
  14. JoostW.
    Aug 30, 2007
    8
    Better than the first. More variety in songs. Some great riffs and solos.
  15. TimP.
    Sep 12, 2007
    4
    If I could say that anything on this album sounded like something I hadn't heard before I would raise it at least five points. It's been done and only at a couple of points does this, albeit hard rocking album, ever dare to step outside of the chorus verse chorus structure that could only hold up in the year 1995. Music has got to be more complex, and even STP is more complex. If I could say that anything on this album sounded like something I hadn't heard before I would raise it at least five points. It's been done and only at a couple of points does this, albeit hard rocking album, ever dare to step outside of the chorus verse chorus structure that could only hold up in the year 1995. Music has got to be more complex, and even STP is more complex. Aside from an ELO cover and a fairly well written ballad this cd is junk. New rule, no band can ever write a song about a girl running through their head. Expand
  16. JohnS
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Superb Rock N' Roll record, go buy it!
  17. mullethead
    Jul 10, 2007
    2
    This is what happens when aging rock stars forget what made people like them in the first place and dumb down their music to cater to a wider demographic. This strategy failed since the album bricked and barely sold a third of what their debut album did its first week. But it's the thought that counts Scott Weiland is a pop singer masquerading as a rocker. That used to be okay This is what happens when aging rock stars forget what made people like them in the first place and dumb down their music to cater to a wider demographic. This strategy failed since the album bricked and barely sold a third of what their debut album did its first week. But it's the thought that counts Scott Weiland is a pop singer masquerading as a rocker. That used to be okay because he was really good at it. But these days he sounds like he's run out of things to sing about. His lyrics on Libertad are monotonous and lack any depth. I would complain about the way he mumbles too many words on some of the songs, if the ones I could hear were worth repeating. Slash and Duff have watered down their music to the point where if you didn't know it was them, you could easily mistake their music for that of Nickelback or Creed on most of the songs. This album is watered down schlock that's all flash and no substance. If you don't have them already go buy every Guns N' Roses and Stone Temple Pilots album before wasting your money on this. And if you already have those albums, save yourself some coin and just listen to them again Expand
  18. mikef
    Jul 10, 2007
    9
    my first listen to this cd, I came away disappointed but after 2nd and 3rd time thru, this album is as good if not better then contraband, this album is more complete while on contraband I only contiually and still listen to sucker train blues, big machine, do it for the kids and sucker train blues. overall velvet revolver has put out a more complete album already waiting for the next one
  19. JeanE
    Jul 12, 2007
    9
    Excellent album, a couple of songs too long but overall, awesome!! can definitely hear the STP influence on this one which I love...the slow songs are just as strong and the blistering rock songs, love it!!!!!
  20. AndresR
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    VR's Album is really good, they are trying to find their own soudn, n will be dificult ....but they 're on the run..........
  21. johnl
    Jul 2, 2007
    6
    About 4 or 5 good songs on this album, quite a disappointment.
  22. ChaseS.
    Jul 24, 2007
    2
    I bought it expecting it to sound like Velvet Revolver, NOT Stone Temple Pilots. Not only does it sound like STP but it is way to pop sounding. This is not the band from the first album. Big dissappointment!
  23. DustinH
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    Rock and roll hasn't been done like this in a dog's age. Scott Weiland miraculously sounds like he did back on Core and Purple, and the band meshes together so much better than it did on the very good "Contraband". This time around, there's definitely a lot of GnR and STP influence to be heard, but there's also a true blending of these sounds, and sometimes the blend Rock and roll hasn't been done like this in a dog's age. Scott Weiland miraculously sounds like he did back on Core and Purple, and the band meshes together so much better than it did on the very good "Contraband". This time around, there's definitely a lot of GnR and STP influence to be heard, but there's also a true blending of these sounds, and sometimes the blend creates something altogether different and unexpected. Whatever they're doing, every note of this CD is worth hearing. And then worth hearing again. Expand
  24. ShekharP.
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    Perfect Album from a perfect band. Hey Captain Karbon and all those morons who hated the album, go to hell guys. Rock wasn't, isn't and will not die until bands like VR and fans like us are here on earth in plenty.
  25. EJ
    Jul 3, 2007
    7
    This is a good solid album and better than most records being made these days. After hearing about half of it, I realized that it sounded ALOT like Cheap Trick-- especially Weiland's vocals, which are very Robin Zander-like. And the ELO cover is a dead giveaway, since Cheap Trick basically sounds like a rocked-up ELO...My only really negative comment is that the drums are quite This is a good solid album and better than most records being made these days. After hearing about half of it, I realized that it sounded ALOT like Cheap Trick-- especially Weiland's vocals, which are very Robin Zander-like. And the ELO cover is a dead giveaway, since Cheap Trick basically sounds like a rocked-up ELO...My only really negative comment is that the drums are quite boring, just poundind away, and have little real groove to them. I think with a good drummer they'd be great. Expand
  26. donv.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    solid shows that they can do more than one style of rock and roll
  27. Tylerh
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    velvet revolver has really put out a great new album that is much more fun to listen to than contrabnad. The sound quality is superb and the band is sounding tighter than ever.
  28. TomD.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    Scorching album,excellent songs from beginning to end! Love the bonus track!
  29. steveh.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    If you didn't like contraband(like I did) than I'm sure you'll like this one. Libertad is a really diverse record it ranges from hard rock to country with some funk thrown in just to spice things up. Velvet revolver really succeeded in creating an identity for themselves with this album. So be sure to pick it up and I can guarantee you that this will be the soundtrack to If you didn't like contraband(like I did) than I'm sure you'll like this one. Libertad is a really diverse record it ranges from hard rock to country with some funk thrown in just to spice things up. Velvet revolver really succeeded in creating an identity for themselves with this album. So be sure to pick it up and I can guarantee you that this will be the soundtrack to your summer Expand
  30. TomM.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    These guys have really stepped it up! Not a bad song on there
  31. ErleK.
    Jul 4, 2007
    9
    Much more diverse than Contraband, with great hooks. It's not has hard-hitting, but it's a great rock n' roll album.
  32. TomE
    Jul 5, 2007
    2
    This album flat stinks. It is mass produced rock and roll with dull, even stupid lyrics and formulaic riffs and choruses. Weiland was better in STP and Slash was much better in Guns. They should be ashamed of this lack of effort.
  33. JamesJ
    Jul 5, 2007
    9
    A solid album, as always slash's guitar work is pure genius and scott weiland does what he always does (little bit annoying and the lyrics suck but what're you gunna do).
  34. Joe
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    Awesome album...very refreshing compared to the new era of emo punk bands.
  35. AROD
    Jul 6, 2007
    3
    this album had no balls the first album had balls and a stripper could dance to that music
  36. Saul
    Jul 6, 2007
    8
    damn good
  37. ShamicDas
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    Great!
  38. calebs.
    Jul 7, 2007
    9
    this is a great buy there are some songs on here that are duds but the rest make up for it with its powerful lyrics from "messages" and "the last fight" a great album
  39. SteveM.
    Jul 7, 2007
    9
    I didn't like this album the first time I heard it, but I listened to it again with an open mind and now I love it. It's a great rock n' roll album. If you think you are going to get Guns N' Roses with Scott Weiland singing, you'll be very disappointed. I
  40. Jason
    Jul 8, 2007
    7
    This album is solid. It's a bit more streamline and less organic than the first CD. But the band sounds more cohesive now. There's a feeling that they're actually a unit now rather than a bunch of musicians. Some of it gets a bit tedious at 14 songs (12 would have been better). A very strong rock record in a world vacant of any real rock. Hunt down the song "Messages"...a This album is solid. It's a bit more streamline and less organic than the first CD. But the band sounds more cohesive now. There's a feeling that they're actually a unit now rather than a bunch of musicians. Some of it gets a bit tedious at 14 songs (12 would have been better). A very strong rock record in a world vacant of any real rock. Hunt down the song "Messages"...a B-side from the album may be their best song to date. Expand
  41. MarkK.
    Sep 16, 2007
    9
    Better then their first album, Contraband. Then again Contraband was awesome anyway. Lots of thrills and some solid goldies in here, like The Last Fight and She Builds Quick Machines. Well worth any price!
  42. IyotirmayaD.
    Sep 23, 2007
    7
    I love it! Much better than Contraband... more songs stick with me.
  43. MattD.
    Jul 10, 2007
    6
    Solid rock, but comes off as nostalgic while not really matching much of what came before in the Stone Temple Pilots' catalog.
  44. JonD
    Jul 11, 2007
    6
    this cd was extremely mediocre, every song i feel like im just waiting for the guitar solo, the only real wow song is let it roll and its 2 minutes 30 seconds long... and the first song on the cd. nothing else showed the kind of talent in this band or what they are capable of, slash shows off his stuff multiple times but when everything else is mediocre it just isnt good enough. Its about this cd was extremely mediocre, every song i feel like im just waiting for the guitar solo, the only real wow song is let it roll and its 2 minutes 30 seconds long... and the first song on the cd. nothing else showed the kind of talent in this band or what they are capable of, slash shows off his stuff multiple times but when everything else is mediocre it just isnt good enough. Its about as good as contraband overall but nothing here is as good as slither or fall to pieces, but contraband had nothing on this cds guitar solos so it evens out... its worth a few listens but will get old after that Expand
  45. SteveF
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    Best album I have heard in a long time
  46. jakeb
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    Absolutely incredible. They really have my respect now. VR first album, Contraband, was a bit dissapointing to me after all since it contained only 4-5 great songs, but Libertad really has marvelous songs except for Spray in my opinion. Conclusion - Great Work!
  47. stuartb.
    Jul 15, 2007
    1
    I loved Contraband and saw them live and liked what i heard (great gig!) but after 3 tracks the album turs into a terrible disappointment it goes from velvet revolver to teeny, bop mcfly style songs with a track that sounds like a robbie williams track. this is the only album i have ever taken back to the shop!
  48. jonathanh.
    Jul 18, 2007
    6
    this album has really changed since contraband there is no energy in this album slash (which i think is the best guitarist who ever picked a guitar up since jimi hendrix) doesnt really seem interested i mean this is the man that come up with solos like sweet child o mine for guns and roses and the solos for slither and got no right of the last album contraband thats the stuff i wanna this album has really changed since contraband there is no energy in this album slash (which i think is the best guitarist who ever picked a guitar up since jimi hendrix) doesnt really seem interested i mean this is the man that come up with solos like sweet child o mine for guns and roses and the solos for slither and got no right of the last album contraband thats the stuff i wanna listen to and i dont think i am alone people say that this is hard rock bull its tame compared to the last album im utterly dissapointed on a positive though they have released two albums in three years but guns are rubbish without slash duff and matt and a dont expect tp see their album chinese democracy out for another fourteen years. slash should make the guitar cry and he didnt do it in this album Expand
  49. chrisr
    Jul 18, 2007
    8
    This album is a solid sophomore album. It starts of strong and looses some momentum at the end. Its got new instruments giving some depth to the band, and the hidden song after grave dancer reveals their variety.
  50. JbobS.
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    An amazing album!! Rocks hard with a great groove. Much better than Contraband, with a real rock sound. American Man, Let It Roll, Get Out the Door, and Just Sixteen really rock. And Slash has an amazing solo on "Can't Get it Out of My Head".
  51. KaptainCarbon
    Jul 2, 2007
    0
    Bloated, plastic rock which is so annoying and souless it may be the actual death of rock or the twisted reminder that rock is already dead but is still being propped up in a chair for dinner functions. Hailed by the critics (see record companies) as the return of rock, it may be the perfect summertime album to sit back in your lawn chair at the local arena and drink a nice tall coors, Bloated, plastic rock which is so annoying and souless it may be the actual death of rock or the twisted reminder that rock is already dead but is still being propped up in a chair for dinner functions. Hailed by the critics (see record companies) as the return of rock, it may be the perfect summertime album to sit back in your lawn chair at the local arena and drink a nice tall coors, but for others it is an prophetic vison of the ongoing inscest of modern rock. -do not support corporate machines / stop buying hinder albums -Kaptian Carbon Expand
  52. [Anonymous]
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    Awesome album start to finish and very addictive. Better than Contraband, which I thought was pretty good. So yeah, this one's worth it.
  53. FilippoP.
    Jul 23, 2007
    10
    This band is the best thing that happened to rock since guns n' roses. their album totally rocks
  54. HelenS.
    Jul 29, 2007
    9
    great album, completely different style to the first but i think i prefer this as it has more stand out tracks such as let it roll, she builds quick machines and mary mary
  55. AdamP.
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    Finally, some real rock n' roll!!!!
  56. TomH
    Jul 3, 2007
    9
    Velvet Revolver was a breath of fresh air when their first album Contraband came out three years ago, mainly in my eyes, because no one does "riff rock" like Slash. At the time Contraband came out no one was playing guitar rock, and while some bands such as Hinder and a regrouped Buckcherry have made great strides to bring back the sunset strip feel to rock music, none does it better than Velvet Revolver was a breath of fresh air when their first album Contraband came out three years ago, mainly in my eyes, because no one does "riff rock" like Slash. At the time Contraband came out no one was playing guitar rock, and while some bands such as Hinder and a regrouped Buckcherry have made great strides to bring back the sunset strip feel to rock music, none does it better than Velvet Revolver. Expand
  57. JulianMarch
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    perfect!
  58. RobL
    Jul 3, 2007
    8
    Good album, 10 good songs, half of which are really good. Much better than Contraband, which was a good effort in its own right.
  59. ColletteG
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    Libertad is a album shaped like a box but look inside and you
  60. SlashM.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    The best album in years. Just 16 and the last fight are amazing. And so is the rest of the album!!!
  61. jason
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    I beelieve this is a great album much better than the first Now A Real Band of their ownVR has their spot now rnfnr
  62. GeirG.
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    Great Album. The New York Times can kiss my ass!
  63. cliffj.
    Jul 6, 2007
    2
    what a bunch of sell outs they need to start drinking again to put out some real music
  64. Armstrong
    Jul 6, 2007
    9
    Quite a few memorable songs on this album. And a much superior album compared to Contraband.
  65. TheDestroyer
    Jul 6, 2007
    9
    Balls to the wall hard rock. A good rock album in a sea of summer crap.
  66. Krimson
    Jul 6, 2007
    7
    This album is NOT better than Contraband... Contraband had this wonderfull 'fuck you' attitude whereas Libertad has more of a: "jee, we want to sell a lot of copies of this 1" Not 1 single song on this album comes near to the level of Contraband and that's a shame... Sure they tried something new, but that's exactly their problem. Their album is now dominated by Scott, This album is NOT better than Contraband... Contraband had this wonderfull 'fuck you' attitude whereas Libertad has more of a: "jee, we want to sell a lot of copies of this 1" Not 1 single song on this album comes near to the level of Contraband and that's a shame... Sure they tried something new, but that's exactly their problem. Their album is now dominated by Scott, and even though he is a fair singer, he sucks as a front man. He just picks a theme and keeps writing about it over and over again (on libertad: women, drugs and pain). That makes this album repetative. On the positive side, this album sort of grows on you. What to expect: Do NOT expect the following: - Great lyrics - Menacing solo's - Metallesque sound of Contraband DO expect: - Generic almost boy-band like sound on some of the songs (especially sweet sixteen) - attempts to punch out a good old Hard Rock song. (with she builds quick machines as their best effort) Libertad just lacks these things and I'm really worried Velvet has deliberatly chosen this sound to sell more copies... Either that, or they need there excessive behaviour to produce some decent lyrics... I say: let's break out the Jack Daniels... If you want a balls to the walls album: Do NOT listen to libertad, you will be dissappointed. If you want that, go listen to appetite or Contraband some more... however if you want a more polished sound, this is your album. Expand
  67. nmo
    Jul 6, 2007
    4
    Man, this is a disappointment... Listen to this album, then listen to slither or superhuman from Contraband... They have drifted away from their unique sound and went for a more (yes, fuck them!) STP-like sound. Thank you very much Brendan O'Brien, another great group molded to your lame-ass mainstream rock vibe. They should really have picked Josh Abraham again for this album, it Man, this is a disappointment... Listen to this album, then listen to slither or superhuman from Contraband... They have drifted away from their unique sound and went for a more (yes, fuck them!) STP-like sound. Thank you very much Brendan O'Brien, another great group molded to your lame-ass mainstream rock vibe. They should really have picked Josh Abraham again for this album, it could have been SO much more :( Expand
  68. ChrisW.
    Jul 8, 2007
    2
    Rock and Roll is dead... these guys are alltalented... except none of them can write a damn song! Get somebody to write your music Scott!
  69. SamuelL.
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    Libertad is a great hard rock album, pure and simple. It's packed with aggressive riffs, blistering solos, and plenty of great songs. The machine gun guitars of Let It Roll get the album off to a blazing start, the type of song you'll be playing with the windows down in your car all summer. VR keeps the pace with the snarling guitars plus Beatle-esque melodies of "She Mine." Libertad is a great hard rock album, pure and simple. It's packed with aggressive riffs, blistering solos, and plenty of great songs. The machine gun guitars of Let It Roll get the album off to a blazing start, the type of song you'll be playing with the windows down in your car all summer. VR keeps the pace with the snarling guitars plus Beatle-esque melodies of "She Mine." "Get Out the Door" is another great rocker, with the dueling Slash and Kushner guitar parts building to an excellent voice-box solo from Slash. Three songs into "Libertad," and Velvet Revolver has already matched the intensity of "Contraband." But it's the songs in the middle of Libertad that really make it stand out. The Blues-tinged power-ballad "The Last Fight," is catchier and more uplifting than Contraband's "Fall to Pieces," and has a good chance to be VR's breakthrough single -- punctuated by Slash's understated melodic solo. Slash breaks out an amazing riff to drive "Pills, Demons & Etc.," while Matt and Duff provide a great rhythm section building to Scott's catchy chorus and "whoo-whoo" backing vocals -- very tight. The best song by far is "American Man," the type of anthemic rocker you hoped Velvet Revolver would make once they formed in 2003. Scott's angst-ridden lyrics about the abuse of freedom resonate for perhaps the first time in any Velvet Revolver song, Duff sets the tone with a punk bass line, and Slash breaks out his best solo since Use Your Illusion (yes, even better than Slither). Mary Mary is another catchy rocker that evokes a mix of David Bowie & Keith Richard's vocal on the Stones' Little T&A. The guitars and rhythm section of Just Sixteen sound like a gift right out of "Appetite for Destruction" -- and shine brightly depite Scott's lyrics shamelessly ripping-off "Hot for Teacher." And the cover of "Can't Get it Out of My Head" is an instant crossover single that perhaps the best Slash solo on the album keeps from becoming too lush. In short, Velvet Revolver have produced an album that's head and shoulders above Contraband, and a major statement that this band is here to stay. The music is excellent and stands on its own as a great album. Maybe now we can stop hearing people talk about their old bands!! Expand
  70. MichaelT.
    Aug 8, 2007
    8
    Great album!
  71. RobS.
    Oct 23, 2007
    0
    This is an embarrassment compared to Contraband. It is obvious all of the magazines are in some kind of deal with velver revolver because this cd totally sucks. I brought it back after 4 listens 4 days after purchasing and they would only give me 3 dollars. They already had two used ones turned in at the local cd exchange. I wish this brainwashing people into believing garbage music like This is an embarrassment compared to Contraband. It is obvious all of the magazines are in some kind of deal with velver revolver because this cd totally sucks. I brought it back after 4 listens 4 days after purchasing and they would only give me 3 dollars. They already had two used ones turned in at the local cd exchange. I wish this brainwashing people into believing garbage music like this is good. This is a boring, uninspired joke of a cd and the members should be ashamed. Expand
  72. DavidK.
    Oct 25, 2007
    9
    Spay was disappointing, but the rest were brilliant. The bonus track, Don't Drop That Dime, was good but could have lost the 'yahhos' at the end. This was an excellent album, but one point away from perfection.
  73. TothA
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    This is the best album of the year so far. Contraband sucks big time comparing to the already almighty LIBERTAD! Awesome!
  74. CharlieS
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    Awesome! Just freakin Awesome! They really did improve over the debut release, i didnt expect it..
  75. BrockL
    Jul 11, 2007
    5
    I agree w/ a previous rating by Krimson - basically a lame album compared to 'Contraband'. The unique sound found in their debut album is gone. Slash seems restrained, Duff has a couple good riffs here and there, and the overall sound is more mainstream pop rock, even twangie. Maybe 80's pop queen Debbie Gibson should join the band. There are MAYBE three good songs on the I agree w/ a previous rating by Krimson - basically a lame album compared to 'Contraband'. The unique sound found in their debut album is gone. Slash seems restrained, Duff has a couple good riffs here and there, and the overall sound is more mainstream pop rock, even twangie. Maybe 80's pop queen Debbie Gibson should join the band. There are MAYBE three good songs on the album, however I do not see me downloading any of them to my iPod so I can rock out at the gym. STP was good in their day however VR should have left the STP manager at home instead of inviting him back to the studio. I was pumped to buy this album, matter of fact I bought an extra one for my wife. After listening to the album several times, I wish I had just bought one and just given her my copy. In summary, no earthshaking riffs or groundbreaking sound here. The dude (Samuel L) who said this album represents the BEST work of all the musicians is way off target. I would still see VR again in concert, however I would hope they play alot of 'Contraband' stuff and just trickle some of the new crap in just to keep the new teeny boppers happy. THIS ALBUM BARELY GETS A 5 FROM ME. I AM BEING NICE BECAUSE I GAVE THEM AN 11 (out of 10) for the debut album. Expand
  76. NateA
    Jul 13, 2007
    6
    Libertad is alright, but nothing special. Nothing I have not heard before, and quite boring too.
  77. May 26, 2012
    6
    While still an entertaining listen, I feel this is a few steps below Contraband. The lyrics on some songs feel very cliche and uninspired, and there are far fewer guitar solos on this album than on Contraband, which is strange considering Slash is in the band. This album just ends up being average, which is disappointing because of all the talent behind the music.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. This album blows the doors off its predecessor. Save a pair of disinfected ballads ("The Last Fight," "Gravedancer"), Libertad is all about hand-grenade chords, drag-racing riffs, and circus-tent choruses.
  2. Blender
    70
    [A] tightly coiled second album. [Jul 2007, p.119]
  3. Velvet Revolver's second CD is so chock-full of the tight 'n' crunchy pedigreed hard rock that's in short supply these days, it feels both comfortingly familiar and vaguely exotic