• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jul 3, 2007
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 105 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 105
  2. Negative: 18 out of 105

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TheJaganath
    Jul 6, 2007
    3
    I don't know how anyone can say this was better than Contrabad - Slither was awesome, Fall To Pieces and Got No Right where beautiful - there's not one track on this album that stands out - not one spine tingling or heartbreakingly good solo from Slash, and a lot of lame lyrics more often than not mentioning pills and drugs.... we get it Scott, you're a junky. Stick with I don't know how anyone can say this was better than Contrabad - Slither was awesome, Fall To Pieces and Got No Right where beautiful - there's not one track on this album that stands out - not one spine tingling or heartbreakingly good solo from Slash, and a lot of lame lyrics more often than not mentioning pills and drugs.... we get it Scott, you're a junky. Stick with the new G N' R people, sure it's not Slash, Duff and Matt, but they kick the heck out of VR now that ex G N' R boys have been dragged down to this level. Expand
  2. EricC.
    Jul 6, 2007
    2
    Not very intresting. Repetative. A few good singles, but not a great album. Pretty dissapointed
  3. DrunkenMaster
    Jul 4, 2007
    2
    What garbage. When your highest rating is from Entertainment Weekly, you know you suck. Strictly for suburban backward-baseball cap wearing morons. Lap it up.
  4. mullethead
    Jul 10, 2007
    2
    This is what happens when aging rock stars forget what made people like them in the first place and dumb down their music to cater to a wider demographic. This strategy failed since the album bricked and barely sold a third of what their debut album did its first week. But it's the thought that counts Scott Weiland is a pop singer masquerading as a rocker. That used to be okay This is what happens when aging rock stars forget what made people like them in the first place and dumb down their music to cater to a wider demographic. This strategy failed since the album bricked and barely sold a third of what their debut album did its first week. But it's the thought that counts Scott Weiland is a pop singer masquerading as a rocker. That used to be okay because he was really good at it. But these days he sounds like he's run out of things to sing about. His lyrics on Libertad are monotonous and lack any depth. I would complain about the way he mumbles too many words on some of the songs, if the ones I could hear were worth repeating. Slash and Duff have watered down their music to the point where if you didn't know it was them, you could easily mistake their music for that of Nickelback or Creed on most of the songs. This album is watered down schlock that's all flash and no substance. If you don't have them already go buy every Guns N' Roses and Stone Temple Pilots album before wasting your money on this. And if you already have those albums, save yourself some coin and just listen to them again Expand
  5. ChaseS.
    Jul 24, 2007
    2
    I bought it expecting it to sound like Velvet Revolver, NOT Stone Temple Pilots. Not only does it sound like STP but it is way to pop sounding. This is not the band from the first album. Big dissappointment!
  6. TomE
    Jul 5, 2007
    2
    This album flat stinks. It is mass produced rock and roll with dull, even stupid lyrics and formulaic riffs and choruses. Weiland was better in STP and Slash was much better in Guns. They should be ashamed of this lack of effort.
  7. AROD
    Jul 6, 2007
    3
    this album had no balls the first album had balls and a stripper could dance to that music
  8. stuartb.
    Jul 15, 2007
    1
    I loved Contraband and saw them live and liked what i heard (great gig!) but after 3 tracks the album turs into a terrible disappointment it goes from velvet revolver to teeny, bop mcfly style songs with a track that sounds like a robbie williams track. this is the only album i have ever taken back to the shop!
  9. KaptainCarbon
    Jul 2, 2007
    0
    Bloated, plastic rock which is so annoying and souless it may be the actual death of rock or the twisted reminder that rock is already dead but is still being propped up in a chair for dinner functions. Hailed by the critics (see record companies) as the return of rock, it may be the perfect summertime album to sit back in your lawn chair at the local arena and drink a nice tall coors, Bloated, plastic rock which is so annoying and souless it may be the actual death of rock or the twisted reminder that rock is already dead but is still being propped up in a chair for dinner functions. Hailed by the critics (see record companies) as the return of rock, it may be the perfect summertime album to sit back in your lawn chair at the local arena and drink a nice tall coors, but for others it is an prophetic vison of the ongoing inscest of modern rock. -do not support corporate machines / stop buying hinder albums -Kaptian Carbon Expand
  10. cliffj.
    Jul 6, 2007
    2
    what a bunch of sell outs they need to start drinking again to put out some real music
  11. ChrisW.
    Jul 8, 2007
    2
    Rock and Roll is dead... these guys are alltalented... except none of them can write a damn song! Get somebody to write your music Scott!
  12. RobS.
    Oct 23, 2007
    0
    This is an embarrassment compared to Contraband. It is obvious all of the magazines are in some kind of deal with velver revolver because this cd totally sucks. I brought it back after 4 listens 4 days after purchasing and they would only give me 3 dollars. They already had two used ones turned in at the local cd exchange. I wish this brainwashing people into believing garbage music like This is an embarrassment compared to Contraband. It is obvious all of the magazines are in some kind of deal with velver revolver because this cd totally sucks. I brought it back after 4 listens 4 days after purchasing and they would only give me 3 dollars. They already had two used ones turned in at the local cd exchange. I wish this brainwashing people into believing garbage music like this is good. This is a boring, uninspired joke of a cd and the members should be ashamed. Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. This album blows the doors off its predecessor. Save a pair of disinfected ballads ("The Last Fight," "Gravedancer"), Libertad is all about hand-grenade chords, drag-racing riffs, and circus-tent choruses.
  2. Blender
    70
    [A] tightly coiled second album. [Jul 2007, p.119]
  3. Velvet Revolver's second CD is so chock-full of the tight 'n' crunchy pedigreed hard rock that's in short supply these days, it feels both comfortingly familiar and vaguely exotic