Libertad

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jul 3, 2007
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 105 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 105
  2. Negative: 18 out of 105

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GeradG.
    Aug 14, 2007
    10
    great cd for anyone who likes rock
  2. MikeM.
    Jul 5, 2007
    9
    GREAT SOPHOMORE ALBUM.
  3. anonymous
    Jul 17, 2007
    8
    This cd rocks, its what the industry is lacking today. Some good ole rock
  4. JaredS.
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    Coming from a STP fan's perspective, Libertad is an absolutely amazing album. You can really see the bands personal influences that went into making the album. The songs resembles a mix of STP and GN'R at their greatest. Personally, I feel that every song on the album is enjoyable to listen to and are great songs. I definitely would recommend this album to any that liked the Coming from a STP fan's perspective, Libertad is an absolutely amazing album. You can really see the bands personal influences that went into making the album. The songs resembles a mix of STP and GN'R at their greatest. Personally, I feel that every song on the album is enjoyable to listen to and are great songs. I definitely would recommend this album to any that liked the first album and to any STP fans that never got into VR. Expand
  5. BrendanO
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    The whole album sounds absolutely amazing. This is the best album I've heard in years.
  6. KieranW
    Jul 2, 2007
    9
    Full of big riffs and broad choruses. A true to the heart rock 'n' roll album. Velvet Revolver are carving for themselves a unique sound that will propel them beyond the shadow of Guns 'n' Roses glory days.
  7. johnj.
    Jul 3, 2007
    7
    ok
  8. headbanger
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    F@#&$ YEAH!
  9. JoostW.
    Aug 30, 2007
    8
    Better than the first. More variety in songs. Some great riffs and solos.
  10. JohnS
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Superb Rock N' Roll record, go buy it!
  11. mikef
    Jul 10, 2007
    9
    my first listen to this cd, I came away disappointed but after 2nd and 3rd time thru, this album is as good if not better then contraband, this album is more complete while on contraband I only contiually and still listen to sucker train blues, big machine, do it for the kids and sucker train blues. overall velvet revolver has put out a more complete album already waiting for the next one
  12. JeanE
    Jul 12, 2007
    9
    Excellent album, a couple of songs too long but overall, awesome!! can definitely hear the STP influence on this one which I love...the slow songs are just as strong and the blistering rock songs, love it!!!!!
  13. AndresR
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    VR's Album is really good, they are trying to find their own soudn, n will be dificult ....but they 're on the run..........
  14. DustinH
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    Rock and roll hasn't been done like this in a dog's age. Scott Weiland miraculously sounds like he did back on Core and Purple, and the band meshes together so much better than it did on the very good "Contraband". This time around, there's definitely a lot of GnR and STP influence to be heard, but there's also a true blending of these sounds, and sometimes the blend Rock and roll hasn't been done like this in a dog's age. Scott Weiland miraculously sounds like he did back on Core and Purple, and the band meshes together so much better than it did on the very good "Contraband". This time around, there's definitely a lot of GnR and STP influence to be heard, but there's also a true blending of these sounds, and sometimes the blend creates something altogether different and unexpected. Whatever they're doing, every note of this CD is worth hearing. And then worth hearing again. Expand
  15. ShekharP.
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    Perfect Album from a perfect band. Hey Captain Karbon and all those morons who hated the album, go to hell guys. Rock wasn't, isn't and will not die until bands like VR and fans like us are here on earth in plenty.
  16. EJ
    Jul 3, 2007
    7
    This is a good solid album and better than most records being made these days. After hearing about half of it, I realized that it sounded ALOT like Cheap Trick-- especially Weiland's vocals, which are very Robin Zander-like. And the ELO cover is a dead giveaway, since Cheap Trick basically sounds like a rocked-up ELO...My only really negative comment is that the drums are quite This is a good solid album and better than most records being made these days. After hearing about half of it, I realized that it sounded ALOT like Cheap Trick-- especially Weiland's vocals, which are very Robin Zander-like. And the ELO cover is a dead giveaway, since Cheap Trick basically sounds like a rocked-up ELO...My only really negative comment is that the drums are quite boring, just poundind away, and have little real groove to them. I think with a good drummer they'd be great. Expand
  17. donv.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    solid shows that they can do more than one style of rock and roll
  18. Tylerh
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    velvet revolver has really put out a great new album that is much more fun to listen to than contrabnad. The sound quality is superb and the band is sounding tighter than ever.
  19. TomD.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    Scorching album,excellent songs from beginning to end! Love the bonus track!
  20. steveh.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    If you didn't like contraband(like I did) than I'm sure you'll like this one. Libertad is a really diverse record it ranges from hard rock to country with some funk thrown in just to spice things up. Velvet revolver really succeeded in creating an identity for themselves with this album. So be sure to pick it up and I can guarantee you that this will be the soundtrack to If you didn't like contraband(like I did) than I'm sure you'll like this one. Libertad is a really diverse record it ranges from hard rock to country with some funk thrown in just to spice things up. Velvet revolver really succeeded in creating an identity for themselves with this album. So be sure to pick it up and I can guarantee you that this will be the soundtrack to your summer Expand
  21. TomM.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    These guys have really stepped it up! Not a bad song on there
  22. ErleK.
    Jul 4, 2007
    9
    Much more diverse than Contraband, with great hooks. It's not has hard-hitting, but it's a great rock n' roll album.
  23. JamesJ
    Jul 5, 2007
    9
    A solid album, as always slash's guitar work is pure genius and scott weiland does what he always does (little bit annoying and the lyrics suck but what're you gunna do).
  24. Joe
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    Awesome album...very refreshing compared to the new era of emo punk bands.
  25. Saul
    Jul 6, 2007
    8
    damn good
  26. ShamicDas
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    Great!
  27. calebs.
    Jul 7, 2007
    9
    this is a great buy there are some songs on here that are duds but the rest make up for it with its powerful lyrics from "messages" and "the last fight" a great album
  28. SteveM.
    Jul 7, 2007
    9
    I didn't like this album the first time I heard it, but I listened to it again with an open mind and now I love it. It's a great rock n' roll album. If you think you are going to get Guns N' Roses with Scott Weiland singing, you'll be very disappointed. I
  29. Jason
    Jul 8, 2007
    7
    This album is solid. It's a bit more streamline and less organic than the first CD. But the band sounds more cohesive now. There's a feeling that they're actually a unit now rather than a bunch of musicians. Some of it gets a bit tedious at 14 songs (12 would have been better). A very strong rock record in a world vacant of any real rock. Hunt down the song "Messages"...a This album is solid. It's a bit more streamline and less organic than the first CD. But the band sounds more cohesive now. There's a feeling that they're actually a unit now rather than a bunch of musicians. Some of it gets a bit tedious at 14 songs (12 would have been better). A very strong rock record in a world vacant of any real rock. Hunt down the song "Messages"...a B-side from the album may be their best song to date. Expand
  30. MarkK.
    Sep 16, 2007
    9
    Better then their first album, Contraband. Then again Contraband was awesome anyway. Lots of thrills and some solid goldies in here, like The Last Fight and She Builds Quick Machines. Well worth any price!
  31. IyotirmayaD.
    Sep 23, 2007
    7
    I love it! Much better than Contraband... more songs stick with me.
  32. SteveF
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    Best album I have heard in a long time
  33. jakeb
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    Absolutely incredible. They really have my respect now. VR first album, Contraband, was a bit dissapointing to me after all since it contained only 4-5 great songs, but Libertad really has marvelous songs except for Spray in my opinion. Conclusion - Great Work!
  34. chrisr
    Jul 18, 2007
    8
    This album is a solid sophomore album. It starts of strong and looses some momentum at the end. Its got new instruments giving some depth to the band, and the hidden song after grave dancer reveals their variety.
  35. JbobS.
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    An amazing album!! Rocks hard with a great groove. Much better than Contraband, with a real rock sound. American Man, Let It Roll, Get Out the Door, and Just Sixteen really rock. And Slash has an amazing solo on "Can't Get it Out of My Head".
  36. [Anonymous]
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    Awesome album start to finish and very addictive. Better than Contraband, which I thought was pretty good. So yeah, this one's worth it.
  37. FilippoP.
    Jul 23, 2007
    10
    This band is the best thing that happened to rock since guns n' roses. their album totally rocks
  38. HelenS.
    Jul 29, 2007
    9
    great album, completely different style to the first but i think i prefer this as it has more stand out tracks such as let it roll, she builds quick machines and mary mary
  39. AdamP.
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    Finally, some real rock n' roll!!!!
  40. TomH
    Jul 3, 2007
    9
    Velvet Revolver was a breath of fresh air when their first album Contraband came out three years ago, mainly in my eyes, because no one does "riff rock" like Slash. At the time Contraband came out no one was playing guitar rock, and while some bands such as Hinder and a regrouped Buckcherry have made great strides to bring back the sunset strip feel to rock music, none does it better than Velvet Revolver was a breath of fresh air when their first album Contraband came out three years ago, mainly in my eyes, because no one does "riff rock" like Slash. At the time Contraband came out no one was playing guitar rock, and while some bands such as Hinder and a regrouped Buckcherry have made great strides to bring back the sunset strip feel to rock music, none does it better than Velvet Revolver. Expand
  41. JulianMarch
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    perfect!
  42. RobL
    Jul 3, 2007
    8
    Good album, 10 good songs, half of which are really good. Much better than Contraband, which was a good effort in its own right.
  43. ColletteG
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    Libertad is a album shaped like a box but look inside and you
  44. SlashM.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    The best album in years. Just 16 and the last fight are amazing. And so is the rest of the album!!!
  45. jason
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    I beelieve this is a great album much better than the first Now A Real Band of their ownVR has their spot now rnfnr
  46. GeirG.
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    Great Album. The New York Times can kiss my ass!
  47. Armstrong
    Jul 6, 2007
    9
    Quite a few memorable songs on this album. And a much superior album compared to Contraband.
  48. TheDestroyer
    Jul 6, 2007
    9
    Balls to the wall hard rock. A good rock album in a sea of summer crap.
  49. Krimson
    Jul 6, 2007
    7
    This album is NOT better than Contraband... Contraband had this wonderfull 'fuck you' attitude whereas Libertad has more of a: "jee, we want to sell a lot of copies of this 1" Not 1 single song on this album comes near to the level of Contraband and that's a shame... Sure they tried something new, but that's exactly their problem. Their album is now dominated by Scott, This album is NOT better than Contraband... Contraband had this wonderfull 'fuck you' attitude whereas Libertad has more of a: "jee, we want to sell a lot of copies of this 1" Not 1 single song on this album comes near to the level of Contraband and that's a shame... Sure they tried something new, but that's exactly their problem. Their album is now dominated by Scott, and even though he is a fair singer, he sucks as a front man. He just picks a theme and keeps writing about it over and over again (on libertad: women, drugs and pain). That makes this album repetative. On the positive side, this album sort of grows on you. What to expect: Do NOT expect the following: - Great lyrics - Menacing solo's - Metallesque sound of Contraband DO expect: - Generic almost boy-band like sound on some of the songs (especially sweet sixteen) - attempts to punch out a good old Hard Rock song. (with she builds quick machines as their best effort) Libertad just lacks these things and I'm really worried Velvet has deliberatly chosen this sound to sell more copies... Either that, or they need there excessive behaviour to produce some decent lyrics... I say: let's break out the Jack Daniels... If you want a balls to the walls album: Do NOT listen to libertad, you will be dissappointed. If you want that, go listen to appetite or Contraband some more... however if you want a more polished sound, this is your album. Expand
  50. SamuelL.
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    Libertad is a great hard rock album, pure and simple. It's packed with aggressive riffs, blistering solos, and plenty of great songs. The machine gun guitars of Let It Roll get the album off to a blazing start, the type of song you'll be playing with the windows down in your car all summer. VR keeps the pace with the snarling guitars plus Beatle-esque melodies of "She Mine." Libertad is a great hard rock album, pure and simple. It's packed with aggressive riffs, blistering solos, and plenty of great songs. The machine gun guitars of Let It Roll get the album off to a blazing start, the type of song you'll be playing with the windows down in your car all summer. VR keeps the pace with the snarling guitars plus Beatle-esque melodies of "She Mine." "Get Out the Door" is another great rocker, with the dueling Slash and Kushner guitar parts building to an excellent voice-box solo from Slash. Three songs into "Libertad," and Velvet Revolver has already matched the intensity of "Contraband." But it's the songs in the middle of Libertad that really make it stand out. The Blues-tinged power-ballad "The Last Fight," is catchier and more uplifting than Contraband's "Fall to Pieces," and has a good chance to be VR's breakthrough single -- punctuated by Slash's understated melodic solo. Slash breaks out an amazing riff to drive "Pills, Demons & Etc.," while Matt and Duff provide a great rhythm section building to Scott's catchy chorus and "whoo-whoo" backing vocals -- very tight. The best song by far is "American Man," the type of anthemic rocker you hoped Velvet Revolver would make once they formed in 2003. Scott's angst-ridden lyrics about the abuse of freedom resonate for perhaps the first time in any Velvet Revolver song, Duff sets the tone with a punk bass line, and Slash breaks out his best solo since Use Your Illusion (yes, even better than Slither). Mary Mary is another catchy rocker that evokes a mix of David Bowie & Keith Richard's vocal on the Stones' Little T&A. The guitars and rhythm section of Just Sixteen sound like a gift right out of "Appetite for Destruction" -- and shine brightly depite Scott's lyrics shamelessly ripping-off "Hot for Teacher." And the cover of "Can't Get it Out of My Head" is an instant crossover single that perhaps the best Slash solo on the album keeps from becoming too lush. In short, Velvet Revolver have produced an album that's head and shoulders above Contraband, and a major statement that this band is here to stay. The music is excellent and stands on its own as a great album. Maybe now we can stop hearing people talk about their old bands!! Expand
  51. MichaelT.
    Aug 8, 2007
    8
    Great album!
  52. DavidK.
    Oct 25, 2007
    9
    Spay was disappointing, but the rest were brilliant. The bonus track, Don't Drop That Dime, was good but could have lost the 'yahhos' at the end. This was an excellent album, but one point away from perfection.
  53. TothA
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    This is the best album of the year so far. Contraband sucks big time comparing to the already almighty LIBERTAD! Awesome!
  54. CharlieS
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    Awesome! Just freakin Awesome! They really did improve over the debut release, i didnt expect it..
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. This album blows the doors off its predecessor. Save a pair of disinfected ballads ("The Last Fight," "Gravedancer"), Libertad is all about hand-grenade chords, drag-racing riffs, and circus-tent choruses.
  2. Blender
    70
    [A] tightly coiled second album. [Jul 2007, p.119]
  3. Velvet Revolver's second CD is so chock-full of the tight 'n' crunchy pedigreed hard rock that's in short supply these days, it feels both comfortingly familiar and vaguely exotic