Madvillainy

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 461 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 461

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SimonN
    May 6, 2004
    10
    BUY. IT. NOW. Forget that questionable album of 2003 "Speakerboxxx/Love Below" (come on, now, what band in their right mind releases a song with the chorus "Lean a little bit closer/See, Roses really smell like poo poo poo-ooo"?). Get this Madvillain masterpiece. Jaw-droppingly brillaint - its everything you want it to be.
  2. jetblack
    Aug 1, 2004
    10
    Best HipHop Album of 2004.......
  3. BigMoe
    Dec 8, 2004
    6
    Just let me start by saying this album is wildly overrated. It is a decent album but not the masterpiece people seem to think. There are probably at least 10 albums this year in rap that were better. zev love x is still nice though, but he doesn't break any new ground and madvillans beats have been much better.
  4. BillF
    Mar 30, 2004
    10
    Best hip hop album of 2004. MF Doom is unstoppable.
  5. SHarris
    Apr 4, 2004
    10
    Best Hip-Hop Album of 2004...Madlib's creative - dirty, innovative, yet soulful - productions is the perfect complement over MF Doom's calm, yet stylish voice. Furthermore, the dare to bend the rules, not making your very standard hip-hop song (verse and a course) to produce a story element that keeps the listener at the edge of their seat. Most def an "eargasm."
  6. JonH
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    Shockingly Genius Recording, nothing will beat this for this year unless some kind of revelation comes around.
  7. SteK
    Feb 2, 2005
    10
    Genius. Anyone who doesn't rate this album highly needs to re-assess the way they evaluate pretty much everything. Or they could just turn off MTV.
  8. ThurogoodW
    Apr 1, 2006
    7
    I enjoy the album start to finish. I would recommend it to hiphop all hiphop lovers. Its the type of album that will never be fully appreciated by the masses as it is too abstract for that. No hooks on any songs, lots instrumental time. This is the type of album that grows on you. When I first listened I was expecting more due to all the hype. When you hit play you wait for this guy to I enjoy the album start to finish. I would recommend it to hiphop all hiphop lovers. Its the type of album that will never be fully appreciated by the masses as it is too abstract for that. No hooks on any songs, lots instrumental time. This is the type of album that grows on you. When I first listened I was expecting more due to all the hype. When you hit play you wait for this guy to rap, but it takes a while, just be easy and let it play in the background...All of the sudden this dudes raps smack you in the face. When he spits, he tickles your rhyming fancy. Expand
  9. SeppM
    Mar 12, 2007
    10
    an unbelievable album!!!
  10. KS.
    Jun 20, 2007
    2
    What a complete BORE. I guess I am totally missing the point of this endless drivel. Spoken word over boring GarageBand loops with samples and samples of completely uninteresting blah. Is is the petry that people love? Boring.
  11. DavidR
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    Incredible blend of beats, rythm and dissonance. Worthy of non Hip Hop merits. Also dig on Quasimoto if you like this album.
  12. AlanR
    Dec 9, 2004
    10
    Madlib is our generation's Miles Davis and MF Doom is a grower. You need a degree of patience for this one. After that, it's magic.
  13. JK
    Mar 30, 2004
    10
    Probably the best hip-hop album in quite some time. This is truly a modern classic.
  14. [Anonymous]
    Apr 18, 2004
    10
    ground-breaking
  15. LawrenceP
    Apr 7, 2004
    9
    Real hip-hop music. It will grow on you. People will be talking about this record for years. A MUST OWN.
  16. JasonT
    May 30, 2004
    9
    Madlib's production provides the perfect backdrop for Doom's take on things. Sure to be talked about for years to come.
  17. GeoffreyL
    Jun 6, 2004
    2
    weak beats, boring verses, bland production. cover art gets it 1 point, cool samples another. don't buy.
  18. OK
    Aug 12, 2004
    1
    Boring, repetitive, stale. Doom repeats himself and his old work, only this time he's really high. Oh, and the beats behind any actual rapping are awful. DO NOT BUY!
  19. D-Rod
    Jan 14, 2005
    10
    10!!! If you dont agree that this albums a classic, you havent been listening to it long enough. Give it more than two spins and youll be hooked. This album marries classic Madlib production and the always witty genius that is Metal Face Doom. The best album by both so far in their dynamic careers is, for me, the best ALBUM of the year.
  20. MichaelN
    Jan 17, 2005
    10
    This album is a stroke of GENIUS. If you are a hardcore Hip Hop head by this album. A combination of hard underground beats by MADLIB and slick lyrical flow by MF DOOM made this album 2004's best buy. Hip Hop Classic.
  21. MattH
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    Whoever posted anonymous was talking about Bloc Party's album, which i gave a 7.5 too heh. This however, is one of my favorite rap albums of all time.
  22. SamiK
    Feb 11, 2005
    10
    Best album of 2004
  23. [anonymous]
    May 11, 2005
    7
    a 7.5 actually. i could have given it 8 or 8.5 being the highest but i think they were overhyped and a bit overrated. i guess i just had high expectations due to the hype. i enjoyed the album though and it's still in my cd player. my top 3 tracks are "banquet", "blue light" and "this modern love".
  24. matta
    May 27, 2005
    10
    Wow, I know that it's bold of me, but this is seriously the best Rap album that I have ever heard. Madvillainy is not just proof that MF Doom and Madlib are two of the most talented figures in rap today, but that they need to collaborate again. Totally original and groundbeaking in every way.
  25. IllyaZ
    May 30, 2005
    10
    One of the best rap/hip-hop albums of all time!
  26. NathanG
    Jul 4, 2005
    9
    Anyone who is planning to buy this album has to realise that it's MF Doom & Madlib. Those two guys are well into unconventional rap. I mean: this album is as far away from - let's say - 50 Cent as it is to - let's say - Radiohead. Maybe even closer to Radiohead. But if you like to hear new things, things that haven't been done before, if you like to be suprised by an Anyone who is planning to buy this album has to realise that it's MF Doom & Madlib. Those two guys are well into unconventional rap. I mean: this album is as far away from - let's say - 50 Cent as it is to - let's say - Radiohead. Maybe even closer to Radiohead. But if you like to hear new things, things that haven't been done before, if you like to be suprised by an album, if you don't like the "been there, done that"-approach that some rappers are into nowadays, but you are into rap, well: this is your album. BTW: [anonymous] (who gives the album a 7) is talking about Bloc Party's Silent Alarm and not about this album. Expand
  27. BenS
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    I can't call it the greatest rap album of all time, because I haven't heard them ALL but that said, my favorite rap album of all time.
  28. JoelC
    Mar 2, 2006
    7
    Like other reviewers, I was expecting a lot out of my first listen to MF Doom. I think every track was solid with good beats, tight rhymes, and surgically placed samples. Despite every track's merit, the album it self lacks character and substance. For example, I'm not sure what the most popular track (according to napster), "Accordian," is about... it's so busting at the Like other reviewers, I was expecting a lot out of my first listen to MF Doom. I think every track was solid with good beats, tight rhymes, and surgically placed samples. Despite every track's merit, the album it self lacks character and substance. For example, I'm not sure what the most popular track (according to napster), "Accordian," is about... it's so busting at the seams with similies inserted solely to complete rhymes that the direction of the track unrecognizable. Unfortunately, these meaningless-yet-tight rhymes permeate the whole album. I'll look forward to future releases from MF Doom as his potential is evident though unfulfilled in "Madvillainy". Expand
  29. EricY
    Jun 17, 2006
    0
    HELLO? you call this rap? its WEAK! WEAK! WEAK! even emo music is better than this
  30. KevinL
    Jun 26, 2006
    10
    Wow...this is freaking dope...man this ...is the bomb...I reccomend this to all hip hop and underground rap fans.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. A dizzying synergy of heavy brains and chemistry, culminating in blissfully fun, irreverent, and engaging brand of record-making magic.
  2. Mojo
    90
    The wily creativity on display here is astonishing. [Jun 2004, p.114]
  3. Not only does it capture the unstructured verse of a masked maniac within a sheer net of plausibility, it parades his inner dementia among instrumental adornments of the highest order.