• Record Label: Polydor
  • Release Date: May 29, 2012
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
Buy On
  1. May 31, 2012
    60
    The production sometimes eclipses the songwriting.
  2. May 31, 2012
    60
    Magic Hour won't blow your mind but it conjures enough spectacle to highlight why Scissor Sisters remain one of pop's smartest, most entertaining bands.
  3. 60
    A mixed bag, sure, but there's signs that they are still fighting the good fight for weirdos everywhere.
  4. May 29, 2012
    60
    'Magic Hour' is an album that equally frustrates and enthrals. The collection of excellent electro pop tracks show the band still know their way around a melody but the album is let down by a few too many tired and morose ballads and witless appropriations of chart successful sounds.
  5. 60
    There's no surprises here.
  6. May 24, 2012
    60
    A record light on substance but packed to the rafters with melody - there are plenty of cheap thrills to get jiggy with.
  7. May 24, 2012
    60
    A remodel was probably overdue, but the best moment here is another signature stomper: Baby Come Home, a late-night insecurity confessional boasting their catchiest tune since I Don't Feel Like Dancing.
  8. May 29, 2012
    53
    While it is certainly admirable that the Scissor Sisters' creative vision is strong enough that they sound very much like themselves no matter who they work with, they really could have used a strong push from their collaborators this time around.
  9. May 29, 2012
    50
    A muddled, uneven album that, for a few interminable stretches, sounds like it could've been recorded by just about anyone.
  10. May 29, 2012
    50
    The Brit–pop and Elton John moves here feel phoned in.
  11. May 22, 2012
    50
    For a while, Magic Hour - the band's fourth full-length - lives up to the promise of its hilarious, zebra-centric-2001: A Space Odyssey cover art. But the wheels fall off with "Year of Living Dangerously," a campy, aimless doodle not even rescued by its random violin solo.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 42
  2. Negative: 7 out of 42
  1. Jun 4, 2012
    3
    Not Going To Jump For Joy Over The Very "Plain" Songs Again...
    Just Plain Boring.....
    Just Not Original...
    Sorry Sisters You CAN DO BETTER!
  2. May 29, 2012
    6
    Just finished my first listen of Magic Hour. I am not feeling magical yet that's for sure! I will have to give it a few more spins because IJust finished my first listen of Magic Hour. I am not feeling magical yet that's for sure! I will have to give it a few more spins because I didn't feel much on the first listen. What I did feel is this, Magic Hour seems generic and falls flat with the ballads. Jake Shears isn't known for his vocal ability (or lack there of) so when he's singing ballads on this album it's confusing and it doesn't work effectively. KEY TRACKS: Somewhere, Shady Love, Let's Have A Kiki, Only The Horses and Baby Come Home. DUDS: Inevitable, Self Control and The Secret Life of Letters. And sadly I don't remember the others tracks. I give it a modest 3 out of 5 stars. Just my opinion. I LOVE them though! Night Work was basically the only album I listened to in 2010! Maybe next album them can make HAWT dance beats again. And less ballads. Full Review »
  3. Dec 11, 2016
    5
    The upbeat numbers may be fun, but they'll date quickly. The mid-tempo tracks may be quirky, but they're forgettable. The ballads may be wellThe upbeat numbers may be fun, but they'll date quickly. The mid-tempo tracks may be quirky, but they're forgettable. The ballads may be well produced, but they're dull. Magic Hour sees the Sisters grabbing several genres and mixing them about. It jumps from sound to sound with little grace or warning. Their debut was alternative pop, the follow up was twisted party pop, and 'Night Work' was euphoric electro-pop. Magic Hour is patchy mod-pop.
    It's by no means a bad pop album, in fact, had this been the debut of a new artist, it would have been lauded. It's just not a very good Scissor Sisters album.
    Full Review »