Mezmerize

  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: May 17, 2005
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 420 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 420

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Deanna
    Mar 5, 2008
    10
    Possibly SOAD's best album. It is pretty much perfect. Some people say it is too political. 2 of the songs are Violent Pornography and This Cocaine Makes Me Feel Like I'm On This Song. Political? Not so much. It really has something fror everyone. If you like fast, in-your-face songs, then B.Y.O.B. might be the song for you. If you like slow, depressing, skip to Lost In Possibly SOAD's best album. It is pretty much perfect. Some people say it is too political. 2 of the songs are Violent Pornography and This Cocaine Makes Me Feel Like I'm On This Song. Political? Not so much. It really has something fror everyone. If you like fast, in-your-face songs, then B.Y.O.B. might be the song for you. If you like slow, depressing, skip to Lost In Hollywood. And there is everything inbetween. Expand
  2. Dec 22, 2012
    7
    Same as Hypnotize, BYOB,violent you know what,and This you know what makes me feel like I'm on this song are main reasons why I like this album.
  3. [Anonymous]
    Jun 1, 2005
    1
    So brutally stupid it's almost beyond belief. The love for this band is bewildering.
  4. hollowaxis
    Jun 7, 2005
    1
    the only good thing thatcan be said about this record is that it has some moments that sound musical.but i cannot fathom why this average band gets so much praise.maybe it is because i am not an angry 13 year old who hasnt discovered real music. i am an angry 21 year old, and i like my kicks more intelligent and varied than this mindless crap.
  5. declanm
    Jul 1, 2005
    3
    This album doesnt come within a mile of toxicity is so disappointing and as for letting the guitarist sing what where they thinking he cant sing period also this album is wayyyy to commerical to be accepted by real rock fans sell your souls like all the other commerically acceptable bands
  6. MarkM.
    Jul 20, 2005
    2
    System of a Down are an awful band and this latest album is no better, they have no sense of beat and have no idea about anything to do with music other than repetitive chords, pointless lyrics and a bass player that shows is totally unoriginal the only good member is the drummer he is the only one with any talent. I dont know how the offspring and red hot chili peppers can be rated lower System of a Down are an awful band and this latest album is no better, they have no sense of beat and have no idea about anything to do with music other than repetitive chords, pointless lyrics and a bass player that shows is totally unoriginal the only good member is the drummer he is the only one with any talent. I dont know how the offspring and red hot chili peppers can be rated lower than this tripe. Expand
  7. Rusty
    Aug 7, 2006
    2
    I am a HUGE fan of System of a Down, and couldent wait to get my hands on this cd when it came out.....i was very disapointed, I am giving this album a 2 comparing to the other albums, there were a few good songs on this album, but i think the people who really like this album are more into alternative/popish music, because this is what i thought of the album, probaly some of their worst I am a HUGE fan of System of a Down, and couldent wait to get my hands on this cd when it came out.....i was very disapointed, I am giving this album a 2 comparing to the other albums, there were a few good songs on this album, but i think the people who really like this album are more into alternative/popish music, because this is what i thought of the album, probaly some of their worst songs ever...... Expand
  8. ViviO.
    Apr 5, 2008
    10
    OMG, the words are easy so it's easy to scream along to and YOU WILL want to scream a long to this!
  9. AATCHB
    May 23, 2005
    0
    This is the last time I'm on this site. Can't believe my eyes, how can this kiddy-band get 90% ?!?
  10. edzilla
    May 24, 2005
    2
    This album sounds completely different from their past efforts and that's not a good thing. It seems production and band chemistry has changed for the worse. Serj has to pretty much split vocal time with Deron 50-50 and the songs seem to be silly without substance, and overproduced. Sadder still, SOAD plans on releasing another CD this fall -"Hypnotize" - when they should have This album sounds completely different from their past efforts and that's not a good thing. It seems production and band chemistry has changed for the worse. Serj has to pretty much split vocal time with Deron 50-50 and the songs seem to be silly without substance, and overproduced. Sadder still, SOAD plans on releasing another CD this fall -"Hypnotize" - when they should have filtered the best tracks for this album then released b-sides sometime in the future. Expand
  11. Jared
    May 27, 2005
    0
    This is seriously the worst band of all time.
  12. JohnP
    Jun 1, 2005
    0
    This sounds like a cross between the Faces of Death Orchestra as conducted by Kip Winger and Don Rickels. When my dog was castrated he made sounds similar to noise I heard on this record. Repeated spins prove that, in fact, castrated dogs were part of the recording process. How cool! How utterly groundbreaking! The best album of all time!
  13. Katie
    Jun 6, 2005
    5
    !!S.O.A.D.!! What Happened!?! Toxicity was SOO much better musically and lyrically. I think Daron needs to back off on vocals a lot. This 50-50 thing they've got goin isn't working out. I hope they find themselves again before they put out another album like this. I Love S.O.A.D. but this album is just heartbreaking to listen to.. I'll give them a 5 because I love them, but !!S.O.A.D.!! What Happened!?! Toxicity was SOO much better musically and lyrically. I think Daron needs to back off on vocals a lot. This 50-50 thing they've got goin isn't working out. I hope they find themselves again before they put out another album like this. I Love S.O.A.D. but this album is just heartbreaking to listen to.. I'll give them a 5 because I love them, but if they were any other band I'd give this album a 1 or 2. Expand
  14. KatherineW
    Jun 7, 2005
    0
    System of a down and the people who like them make my head hurt. I like hardcore music... but this is not even music. I really have never understood how people could actually like these guys?!?!?!?! BYOB or whatever that song is called is dreadful. I cant listen to the whole thing and i cant imagine the rest of the cd being good what so ever... i have only heard a few songs but they were System of a down and the people who like them make my head hurt. I like hardcore music... but this is not even music. I really have never understood how people could actually like these guys?!?!?!?! BYOB or whatever that song is called is dreadful. I cant listen to the whole thing and i cant imagine the rest of the cd being good what so ever... i have only heard a few songs but they were horrible. and what ever you other people say... toxicity was also NOT a good song... i think that this is a joke band whose joke got misunderstood and people took them as serious. Expand
  15. SeamusS
    Feb 16, 2006
    3
    It's a tried peice of pretentious crap that smells long after you've experienced it.
  16. Peterf
    Aug 4, 2006
    5
    whats happened to these guys?! i mean y have they change so awkwardly. Old school hollywood would ha to be the wrost song ive ever heard. Old school hollywood baseball? what a load of crap! Darron has now stuffed the band completely, can't believe this got a higher mark than toxicity and their first album. This is their worse album and it hursts to say that being a big S.O.A.D fan.
  17. chrisb
    May 25, 2005
    1
    Man this album is awful. This is just as bad as the new Finch album.
  18. Raymond
    May 29, 2005
    1
    BYOB is possibly the worst song of all time - rivalled only by the rest of the tracks on this album. Random political ranting does NOT make an album good - combine this with dull, uninspired music and suddenly people are calling it a masterpiece? Great music always makes you *feel* something. This only leaves you wondering "was that it?".
  19. CoReY
    Jun 1, 2005
    5
    I just don't understand..i liked toxicity..but i can't even listen this one from beggining to end...
  20. GaborA
    Jun 13, 2005
    3
    Like most mainstream rock bands SOAD is listenable song for song. However, songs are so repetative that the albums are indigestable. Even by the end of a single song after hearing that dumb chorusfor the tenth time its too much.
  21. JonK
    Jun 21, 2005
    5
    Who cares if it's good or bad? These idiots strongly support the release of Charles Manson, a major whacko responsible for a whole bunch of whackos who cut the baby out of a nine-month pregnant woman and then stabbed her to death about 30 times. Sure, give them your money.
  22. OodM
    Sep 20, 2005
    2
    Very ordinary. Cigaro was leaked prior release, BYOB was pre-release single, track one is an intro, radio/video and old school hollywood are utter shite! Which leaves six songs, weak if you ask me.
  23. I.Lynch
    Mar 26, 2006
    5
    Its not a bad album, but i think they try to force their opinions on people a bit too much. Toxcicity is much better.
  24. MarcoM
    Nov 15, 2005
    3
    I love system of a down;
  25. ChrisJ
    Jun 12, 2006
    5
    This is System of a Down's worst album to date, by far. The songs are not creative, and little musical talent is shown. Lyrics to many of the songs are pointless and contrived.
  26. LeoLeo
    Jun 2, 2005
    10
    This is a fantastic album.Its songs are very fabulous. BYOB is the best song of the disc!!!
  27. Gregg
    Jun 5, 2005
    10
    This album is amazing, all i can say is 'it's a violent pornography, choking chicks and sodomy!!!
  28. CarolynQ
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    Love it! Too short, but looking forward to the 2nd CD in the fall.
  29. StephenL.
    Jul 9, 2007
    1
    System of a Down should never, and I repeat, NEVER be compared in any way with Frank Zappa. It's a disgrace to MR. Zappa. And do you really buy the "We have a political opinion and we ain't happy" rhetoric? My dog is more politically active than System of a Down. I gave this album a 1 because, if you're looking for typical mainstream music to tide you over until the System of a Down should never, and I repeat, NEVER be compared in any way with Frank Zappa. It's a disgrace to MR. Zappa. And do you really buy the "We have a political opinion and we ain't happy" rhetoric? My dog is more politically active than System of a Down. I gave this album a 1 because, if you're looking for typical mainstream music to tide you over until the corporate media tell you to like something else, this is it. Expand
  30. CristianT
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    Cant believe how great this album is. And now the new track Hypnotize is even better.
  31. JeffH
    May 25, 2005
    1
    How many metal variations of Queen's Bohemian Rhapsody can you come up with? And the propagandist lyrics are even less thought out.
  32. GeneV
    May 25, 2005
    7
    My rating is the number of songs on the CD that I will actually listen to. Chris C: System of a Down was NEVER a cookie cutter band. They were always original. If anything they were more original 6 years ago than now. On S.O.A.D, every song just bled into the other perfectly. They knew how to make a complete kick @$$ album. Every lyric was inspired and uncliched. Slowly into the world of My rating is the number of songs on the CD that I will actually listen to. Chris C: System of a Down was NEVER a cookie cutter band. They were always original. If anything they were more original 6 years ago than now. On S.O.A.D, every song just bled into the other perfectly. They knew how to make a complete kick @$$ album. Every lyric was inspired and uncliched. Slowly into the world of pop they fall, making singles instead of albums. Us old fans cross our fingers from one song to the next, in hope of them rising again. Expand
  33. DavidL
    May 28, 2005
    5
    Even more random and less mature then "Steal This Album!", less frantic then "Toxicity", less surprisng then "System Of A Down", "Mezmerize" is the most banal album System Of A Down has came up with, so far. There's nothing intriguing, thrilling or innovative in "Mezmerize", just good production and intense performances that, here, are not supported by coherent songwritting.
  34. Lubo
    May 30, 2005
    10
    genial
  35. michaelassin
    May 30, 2005
    10
    This CD is fuckin amazing Daron really pulls it off with his insane guitar riffs and unique style and serj's hypnotic voice this Cd just pulls you in with curiousity this Cd won't let you down.
  36. jeremyg
    Jun 13, 2005
    10
    I love this new cd I think it's there best yet.
  37. GinoM
    Jun 10, 2005
    4
    Would you people not. I am so very sick of S.O.A.D. talk. Particularily talk of the band in a serious light. Fact of the matter is "System of a down is a cheesey pop rendering of experimental metal with an overdose of political angst of which rests in plain sight. Shut it.
  38. BrandonN
    Jun 19, 2005
    9
    this is the best i love them iwould do them i i was a girl
  39. Liberal
    Jun 29, 2005
    9
    People can be most blind to the true meaning of this album. It isn't poppy for the sake of Commercial Music, in fact it's not really poppy at all. Although some of there songs have a different beat the old System music, it's new, it's fabulous, and they pull it off. By pointing out the wrong in this society, they pull off another great album.
  40. NACHSA
    Jun 3, 2005
    10
    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  41. GregS
    Jun 8, 2005
    9
    Definitely a surprising album from SOAD, though i could've already guessed they would've taken this kind of approach after Steal This Album! (my least favorite of the 4) It's something about Mezmerize that makes you want to keep coming back for more. Truely a great and original cd...though i believe Malankien was allowed to sing a lot more than he should have... Question! Definitely a surprising album from SOAD, though i could've already guessed they would've taken this kind of approach after Steal This Album! (my least favorite of the 4) It's something about Mezmerize that makes you want to keep coming back for more. Truely a great and original cd...though i believe Malankien was allowed to sing a lot more than he should have... Question! and Sad Statue are my favorites of the album. It may surprise the hell out of old SOAD fans the first time around. To be honest i hated it, and would've given it a 2...it did eventually grow on me. As hypnotic as the songs are, it's hard to believe anyone would hate this album completely. thanks, and rock on- Expand
  42. Pablo
    Jun 9, 2005
    9
    There's a reason why late 90's nu-metal bands like Korn, Limp Bizkit, Deftones etc. are gone and forgotten: because they a. couldn't play their instruments & b. they were afraid to try new things. SOAD's new CD breaks lots of barriers of what "metal" can be and what it can sound. And this is coming from someone who hates almost all metal. Very good album. My only There's a reason why late 90's nu-metal bands like Korn, Limp Bizkit, Deftones etc. are gone and forgotten: because they a. couldn't play their instruments & b. they were afraid to try new things. SOAD's new CD breaks lots of barriers of what "metal" can be and what it can sound. And this is coming from someone who hates almost all metal. Very good album. My only problem with it is that the guitarist things TOO much on it. When he was doing the occasional chorus on previous albums, it was fine. But when he's taking A LOT of the vocal time away from the great Serj Tankian, it gets annoying. Collapse
  43. SianmuP
    Jul 10, 2005
    8
    One of tthe release of he things i liked most about soad is Toxicity. That album kicked ass and probably my second favorite metal album of all time. After their third album, i thought they would release a huge album that would send them into the top 5.The build-up was huge but the album was lacking in the end. Mesmerize was a great album but I'm a little disappointed with them as One of tthe release of he things i liked most about soad is Toxicity. That album kicked ass and probably my second favorite metal album of all time. After their third album, i thought they would release a huge album that would send them into the top 5.The build-up was huge but the album was lacking in the end. Mesmerize was a great album but I'm a little disappointed with them as there were too many dud songs on the album. Good but disappointing so 8. Expand
  44. LauraM
    Jul 16, 2005
    10
    this album just took me by suprise, its just amazingly amazing *pass out from greatness*
  45. sklarw
    Jul 4, 2005
    10
    trtw
  46. SomeGuy
    Sep 5, 2005
    7
    a good enough album, but quite a big dissapointment compared to Toxicity and Steal this Album, its just not written a well
  47. ConorTheLeprechaun
    Jan 7, 2006
    9
    This was a bloody good achievement for the SOAD boys, being reviewed well by almost all magazines and articles that I have come across. This album in particular, shines over Hypnotize and, in my opinion, Toxicity. The tracks on this album are different to those in toxicity because of the varying in styles. This has been noticed by Rolling Stone and other magazines. When told that his This was a bloody good achievement for the SOAD boys, being reviewed well by almost all magazines and articles that I have come across. This album in particular, shines over Hypnotize and, in my opinion, Toxicity. The tracks on this album are different to those in toxicity because of the varying in styles. This has been noticed by Rolling Stone and other magazines. When told that his album was voted the best of 2005, Kanye West stated that he thought SOAD would give him a run for his money and would be in the top 5 (Rolling Stone, Yearbook 05/06). This varying in styles can be seen throughout the albums tracks, these are: -"Soldier Side - Intro" this track was a lead up to the fantastic full length song on the Hypnotize album -"B.Y.O.B." was an anger fuelled track mixed in with a pop-like chorus, delivering a spectacle of music that had to be heard to be believed -"Revenga" was an opera influenced track varying in speed with a catchy chorus that could have you singing instantly but once you actually read the lyrics you can see the demeaning nature of the track and the sharp point that it delivers -"Cigaro" was like "Revenga" in its layout but hits us with a strange argument "My cock is much bigger than yours, my cock walks right through the door" that perplexes the listener and then the chorus hits, totally different in style. -"Radio/Video" was a track that I emmensly enjoyed, being catchy from start to finish and as used throughout the album, a variation between the guitar driven "hey man look at me rockin out" to the pop finish of that line, mirrored throughout the song -"This Cocaine Makes Me Feel Like I'm On This Song" was a strange addition to the album with a collection of screaming lines and a great guitar change in tune -"Violent Pornography". Don't look perplexed at the sight of the title, this so happens to be one of the best tracks on the album, delivering to us three sections, the reccuring "everybody...", the speed of the lyrics finished with a woo hoo and the chorus which states the crap put on our TV screens. This line up of changes was exactly why many listeners tuned in to this album because of its originality. -"Question!" was one of the more mellow songs on the album and ended up more like a soft rock song than the metal we are used to hearing -"Sad Statue" was an amazing track which I bonded to instantly because of the excellent songwriting and lyrics swept up into your brains that will have you either reciting or humming the tune for days -"Old School Hollywood" was one of the fun tracks on the album that provided us with a pop style sound and catchy lyrics different to SOAD's normal style. This is why many reviewers have panned this song because they don't feel that it's right for SOAD, i though think that it's an enjoyable tune -"Lost In Hollywood" was the track I bonded to the least because of its mellow nature without the spark that the other songs had Overall SOAD's album is a keeper, something to shove on your ipod, in your stereo and ultimately in your collection because this album is a fine example that protest albums can sound good and prove a point. Expand
  48. AlecS
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    this disc changed my views on music forever. The constant throb of rock spewed from the pulpit of systems sound led me to new levels of musical aprecaation. The only thing i iwould say is that this cd really could have done without "old school hollywood" it was not a strong additon to the musical flavor of the album. However the essentials of the disc include: "B.Y.O.B" , "This Cocane this disc changed my views on music forever. The constant throb of rock spewed from the pulpit of systems sound led me to new levels of musical aprecaation. The only thing i iwould say is that this cd really could have done without "old school hollywood" it was not a strong additon to the musical flavor of the album. However the essentials of the disc include: "B.Y.O.B" , "This Cocane makes me feel like im on this song" what? as well as the astounding "violant pornography" over all fantastic. p.s. Hypnotize rules. if we fall we all fall and we fall alone Expand
  49. TiagoM
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    i have only one feeling about SOAD.. i´m greatfull for the day, back in 98, that i bought SOAD´s first album.. i´m addicted to them ever since. i think mesmerize/hipnotyze album are truely SOAD´s masterpiece. this guys know what they are doing and they are doing it perfectly well. a fresh new sight on metal.i dont know what they will do next.."more of the same" as i have only one feeling about SOAD.. i´m greatfull for the day, back in 98, that i bought SOAD´s first album.. i´m addicted to them ever since. i think mesmerize/hipnotyze album are truely SOAD´s masterpiece. this guys know what they are doing and they are doing it perfectly well. a fresh new sight on metal.i dont know what they will do next.."more of the same" as some critics call? great!!! i will be here to listen and listen and listen and.......... Expand
  50. EdwardS
    Jun 13, 2006
    9
    Love this CD. Favorites are Radio Video, Violent pornography, BYOB, Old School Hollywood, and Lost in Hollywood
  51. JasperB
    Nov 13, 2005
    9
    Beyond a shadow of a doubt, this is System of a Down's best work.
  52. BenS
    Nov 21, 2005
    9
    No, i'm not going to be some overenthusiastic fan who puts 10, 'revenga' is crap and 'old school hollywood' and 'sad statue' are slightly dull but the other 7 more than make up for it. 'BYOB is a classic, classic track, thrilling and original it carves through the minds of wimpy indie or poppy kids in a searing delight. 'Cigaro''s No, i'm not going to be some overenthusiastic fan who puts 10, 'revenga' is crap and 'old school hollywood' and 'sad statue' are slightly dull but the other 7 more than make up for it. 'BYOB is a classic, classic track, thrilling and original it carves through the minds of wimpy indie or poppy kids in a searing delight. 'Cigaro''s bizareness pays off in a hurtling stunner of rapid tempo changes and tumbling wordplay. 'this cocaine makes me..' and 'violent pornography' are alt metal riffing classics, (although admittadly the end of vp does turn a tad stale. 'Radio/video' is a mass of electicness in one superb song. 'lost in hollywood' however is argualbly the greatest track, gentler, sinister and slightly disturbing the mix of voices works to a t. All this with a serious political message. Rarely if ever have albums been this thrillingly original. Expand
  53. RandyH
    May 17, 2005
    8
    As theatrical, schizo, thrashy and melodic as ever, System's Mesmerize is a hard album to judge on its own, since it's really only half of a greater whole. Much like Radiohead's Kid A/Amnesiac or even Kill Bills 1 & 2, the big picture will only become clear once all is revealed. That said, Mesmerize is sure to thrill hardcore fans, especially those loyal to the breakneck As theatrical, schizo, thrashy and melodic as ever, System's Mesmerize is a hard album to judge on its own, since it's really only half of a greater whole. Much like Radiohead's Kid A/Amnesiac or even Kill Bills 1 & 2, the big picture will only become clear once all is revealed. That said, Mesmerize is sure to thrill hardcore fans, especially those loyal to the breakneck time-changes and operatic vocals so prevalent on their debut. This time around, though, the twin attack of Serj and Daron's (who practically shares lead vocal duties now) swelling harmonies are beautiful...and devastating. As a stand-alone record, Mesmerize is solid, but lacks the untouchable flow found on Toxicity. Things tend to lose steam around track 8, but getting there is a mind-blowing ride, thanks to standout tracks like "Revenga", "Radio/TV" and "Violent Pornography." The already tried and true "B.Y.O.B." could possibly be the track that appeals to both the TRL pack as well as the Headbanger's Ball sect. Meanwhile "Cigaro" and "This Cocaine Makes Me Feel Like I'm On This Song" are short blasts of irrestible madness. While diehard fans may see the gap between the two albums as a cruel tease, if Mesmerize is any indication, they can count on their patience being rewarded when Hypnotize finally drops later this year. Expand
  54. JeremyO
    May 17, 2005
    9
    A very good way to come back after the long drought between albums
  55. LauraS
    May 18, 2005
    10
    The best SOAD album to date, without a doubt. Everything I loved about them on their other albums is only better here.
  56. ME40
    May 18, 2005
    10
    Great CD, way out there, but in the good.
  57. BrianJ
    May 18, 2005
    9
    I have loved System of a Down since their first album! Mezmerize does not disappoint!
  58. Chris
    May 19, 2005
    9
    Great album. As good as anything they've ever done. Can't wait for Hypnotize!
  59. ChrisC
    May 21, 2005
    9
    It's nice to see one of the ubiquitous cookie cutter metal bands finally branching out into truly interesting music. If all popular bands suddenly decided to make original music that sounds different from the mind-numbing dreck that originally made them popular, mainstream radio would be worth listening to.
  60. PeteK
    May 21, 2005
    9
    I
  61. NoelF
    May 21, 2005
    1
    I've never understood SOAD. Their music is PAINFUL to listen to. Musically, it doesn't flow or resemble anything like music.
  62. jakepissoff
    May 20, 2005
    0
    i never thought id see the day that system of a down comes out with a shitty cd....ive been into system since their jaw-dropping debut....i was there when they did something unbelievable and actually followed it up amasingly....but this is just horrible....too much deron's shitty voice....too poppy not hard at all anymore....they just barely hang on to some of their old syle with i never thought id see the day that system of a down comes out with a shitty cd....ive been into system since their jaw-dropping debut....i was there when they did something unbelievable and actually followed it up amasingly....but this is just horrible....too much deron's shitty voice....too poppy not hard at all anymore....they just barely hang on to some of their old syle with byob, cigaro, and this cocain....but i think that the songs that really kill system of a down are the last 2 songs...."old school hollywood baseball?!?!?" that is not system at all....to all of you new school system fans, i hope your all happy that you killed possibly the greatest and most original bands ever. Expand
  63. danieln
    May 22, 2005
    9
    Wow what can i say , system of a down at their very best. An experience of metalic wit moulded together by lyrical originality,breath and ingenuity altogether encased in a divergent musical journey. favourite song has to be ``radio/video`` which shows the intelligible intertwing of simple but effective lyrical briliance and playful , intriguing guitar playing. My only grievance is that Wow what can i say , system of a down at their very best. An experience of metalic wit moulded together by lyrical originality,breath and ingenuity altogether encased in a divergent musical journey. favourite song has to be ``radio/video`` which shows the intelligible intertwing of simple but effective lyrical briliance and playful , intriguing guitar playing. My only grievance is that its all over a bit too quickly but hey theres always the repeat button . Excellant album show casing the brilliance and originality of the visionaries that are system of a down! Expand
  64. Yvette
    May 24, 2005
    8
    Great album. I'm glad I bought it. I recommend anyone else that's on the fence to buy it. It is not a one dimensional album.
  65. LukasF
    May 26, 2005
    10
    Soad are the best
  66. J
    May 27, 2005
    10
    An excellent album through and through, while i admit it is a bit more "poppy" than there previous albums its still brilliant and ads the sound. Basically its white shit hot and some of the chorus' are just too catchy. (see violent pornography) BYOB rains supreme though, my new favourite SOAD song
  67. panos
    May 31, 2005
    9
    Warning: Its not an experiment but a full assault to all your senses. Heavy, aggressive, melodic. Its a powerfull mix of punk and heavy metal dedicated to all the people that are still have a rebel teen beat in their minds. All the others will (thankfully...) pass away. Screw them!
  68. AlexanderS
    May 30, 2005
    8
    This albums is a reamin of many metal bands and genres, even SOAD itself, it becomes tedious sometimes, but songs like "Video Radio" and "Sad Statue" make the album worth, there's a big change in the lyrics, not a bad album, only we expected more, and i can't wait six months for it
  69. AdamC.
    Jun 1, 2005
    9
    In an age where cock rock still dominates the airwaves, it is so refreshing to experience an album as spontaneous, unpredictable, and satisfying as Mesmerize. Ironically, this needed relief comes from an album with a whole song that brags about the virtues of having a big cock. At a blistering 36 minutes, this album passes over you in the blink of an eye. There are more curveballs and 180 In an age where cock rock still dominates the airwaves, it is so refreshing to experience an album as spontaneous, unpredictable, and satisfying as Mesmerize. Ironically, this needed relief comes from an album with a whole song that brags about the virtues of having a big cock. At a blistering 36 minutes, this album passes over you in the blink of an eye. There are more curveballs and 180 degree angles on this album than on most other current albums twice as long. Many praises sung to SOAD for not only creating an album that restores faith in current hard rock, but also keeps it interesting, even after 20 listens. Expand
  70. TapanJ
    Jun 1, 2005
    9
    Hey raymond that gave it a 1, your a fucking idiot
  71. MichaelB
    Jun 13, 2005
    10
    The band had a lot to live up to after 2 killer albums... and they did!
  72. BrianaM
    Jun 14, 2005
    10
    who else compares!? System of a Down kicks major ass! This is deffinetly by far their best album yet, and Im sure that Hypnotize will be even more impressive. :)
  73. JeffC
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    Awesome. Best rock album in years!
  74. SeanB
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    SOAD are the greatest band in the world. I've never heard so much talent in a four man band.
  75. rustym
    Jun 17, 2005
    10
    absolutely crazy, hardcore, insane beauty mixed with creeping emotion and crawling worthiness. best rock album ever created
  76. tonip
    Jun 20, 2005
    10
    this is a great album, different from anything that's out there. Can't wait for the next one
  77. Matiam.
    Jun 28, 2005
    10
    the only reason system is sayin that stuff about charles manson is because if the americans can cause hysteria during the war, why cant he? system of a down definetly deserves a ten out of ten they are the new break through band of the new rock age!!!!!!!!!!!
  78. ÁlvaroF
    Jun 4, 2005
    10
    Just incredible and different.
  79. Beav
    Jun 4, 2005
    7
    The guitars are great, I love the fast sound. But what happened to the little nuances like the oom-pa-pa in Peephole? Almost non-existant. The guitarist taking over some of the singing? Questionable at best. This is an over-simplification of their style, smashing a complex molecule into a couple atoms. It's missing part of what makes them THEM. Maybe 9/11 and the aftermath killed The guitars are great, I love the fast sound. But what happened to the little nuances like the oom-pa-pa in Peephole? Almost non-existant. The guitarist taking over some of the singing? Questionable at best. This is an over-simplification of their style, smashing a complex molecule into a couple atoms. It's missing part of what makes them THEM. Maybe 9/11 and the aftermath killed something in them as well....? Expand
  80. MarkD
    Jun 4, 2005
    9
    It will be nice to hear the companion album to this. Excellent.
  81. MarcB
    Jun 5, 2005
    7
    I first heard B.Y.O.B. about two weeks before its release...It was just getting me warm...I was ready for another about-36-minutes-bang-your-head-in-the-wall!!! I find BYOB,Question, old school hollywood and the great finale, Lost in hollywood (A SLOW?!?). To be honest the rest of the album kicks ass for the sound and the presence of rubin behind the console...But its just the same riffs I first heard B.Y.O.B. about two weeks before its release...It was just getting me warm...I was ready for another about-36-minutes-bang-your-head-in-the-wall!!! I find BYOB,Question, old school hollywood and the great finale, Lost in hollywood (A SLOW?!?). To be honest the rest of the album kicks ass for the sound and the presence of rubin behind the console...But its just the same riffs of toxicity mixed up togheter. I'm still gonna get myself hypnotysed this fall. Expand
  82. CoreyP
    Jun 6, 2005
    9
    I love the album. It is SoaD, love'em or hate'em, they do their own thing, something other bands should think about doing. While I still think Toxicity is the best SoaD album, this one is a very, very close 2nd. Every song has a hook that only System can pull off. A rock opera in every song.
  83. Josh
    Jun 7, 2005
    9
    That SOAD inspires sheer hatred in some listeners and pure lust in others is testament to their artistic integrity. Mezmerize is a crackerjack album wih few if any dead spots. The riffs on Ravenga, BYOB, Question! and Statute alone are worth teh price of admission. Add to that the novel use of Armenian melodies and two-part harmony and the band presents a package you simply can't That SOAD inspires sheer hatred in some listeners and pure lust in others is testament to their artistic integrity. Mezmerize is a crackerjack album wih few if any dead spots. The riffs on Ravenga, BYOB, Question! and Statute alone are worth teh price of admission. Add to that the novel use of Armenian melodies and two-part harmony and the band presents a package you simply can't find anywhere else. I'd like to see Serj return to primary lyric writing/singing duties, but if a songwriting maestro like D Malakin wants to mix things up, than who am I to complain. Kudos, SOAD! Expand
  84. Matt
    Jun 9, 2005
    8
    Hard hitting political messages in a time when the U.S. is in big trouble because of Bush.
  85. rodgerl
    Jun 9, 2005
    7
    Not as well done as Toxicity, but a worthy followup - songs are hit or miss
  86. ytjnhnjymytjyhjnyjnyhgjmdtjmsxthnv
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    this album is best for ever
  87. AleksandraK
    Jul 25, 2005
    10
    The best album of the best group!!!!
  88. zippitydoodah
    Jul 6, 2005
    10
    Nothing like it! Totally innovative and original. What a unique sound!
  89. BenC
    Jul 6, 2005
    9
    I've been a SOAD fan from the start. It's different, bands progress, get over it. This album gave me a lot of enjoyment, it explores some pretty strange melodies and beats, as they always do. Get lost with your 'real rock fans' not liking this thing. What kind of a crappy little club is that? Count me out. Great album, can't wait for the second half. Note: I've been a SOAD fan from the start. It's different, bands progress, get over it. This album gave me a lot of enjoyment, it explores some pretty strange melodies and beats, as they always do. Get lost with your 'real rock fans' not liking this thing. What kind of a crappy little club is that? Count me out. Great album, can't wait for the second half. Note: didn't like the last two songs as much. there are lots of albums that have two songs I don't like on though. Expand
  90. Daniel
    Jul 8, 2005
    10
    The thing that seperates system of a down from any other band is their ability to be a heavy metal band and not go beserk with the riffs. It makes them a good group to listen to. The album was too short but good thing its a double album as hypnotize is sure to be as good including the song 'defy you' which i already have on my computer. SOAD's release of BYOB was a big one The thing that seperates system of a down from any other band is their ability to be a heavy metal band and not go beserk with the riffs. It makes them a good group to listen to. The album was too short but good thing its a double album as hypnotize is sure to be as good including the song 'defy you' which i already have on my computer. SOAD's release of BYOB was a big one indeed and lifted a few heads to thinking that perhaps system of a down are a little more serious now than in 'Steal This Album'. Mesmerize was a slight let down in comparrison to Toxicity but it is still one of the best albums released in the 21st century and will remain fresh for a least another 3 years. Expand
  91. VictorE
    Jul 8, 2005
    10
    there are some try-hard metal fans out there but many of them do not accept whats hot and whats not. System of a down are a brilliant band and anyone who rates them lower than 9/10 are deemed to not be true metal fans. Go back to your charts and soothing ocean noises while we hard-rockers will get the most out of out cd players and mp3 players.
  92. rhysa
    Jul 8, 2005
    10
    best album out in the last two years by far. it even tops queens of the stone age's new album and that's fuckin sayin something because queens are tits. of all major alternative rock bands who have made a comeback lately including slipknot, queens, NIN, foo fighters, mudvayne, american head charge, prodigy, audioslave, the hives and the tea party, system's new album is by best album out in the last two years by far. it even tops queens of the stone age's new album and that's fuckin sayin something because queens are tits. of all major alternative rock bands who have made a comeback lately including slipknot, queens, NIN, foo fighters, mudvayne, american head charge, prodigy, audioslave, the hives and the tea party, system's new album is by far the greatest. it both rivals and defeats all of the afore mentioned band's full albums, and it is a mere half of the total new album set to be released by system this year which is truly fucking amazing. mezmerizing you might say. i can see that this album will go down in history as one of the great albums of all time, to sit alongside the beatles, even. 10/10 Expand
  93. TristanV
    Aug 23, 2005
    10
    system of a down is the best band right now and this album is incredible. all of the tracks are great and are very well done
  94. Addison05
    Aug 24, 2005
    10
    LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT can`t say much more then I LOVE IT "Mezmeries" is the best album they have done I think so far if not the best it is up there
  95. steveu
    Aug 26, 2005
    10
    this cd owns you posers
  96. ianac
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    amazing...i can listen it everyday
  97. Andrew
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    "Mezmerize" is so thrillingly insane, so captivating, so bizzare, that I can't help but gush with glee each time I hear it. The album clearly deserves all the critical praise it's garnered. Many metal heads have been trashing the record, saying it's too "poppy". Well, sorry guys, but I didn't realize that actual riffs, vocals other than grunts and some conceptual "Mezmerize" is so thrillingly insane, so captivating, so bizzare, that I can't help but gush with glee each time I hear it. The album clearly deserves all the critical praise it's garnered. Many metal heads have been trashing the record, saying it's too "poppy". Well, sorry guys, but I didn't realize that actual riffs, vocals other than grunts and some conceptual brilliance meant "pop". Mezmerize is a sort of combination of glam, rock opera and hard metal, and SOAD are never afraid of incorporating influences from other genres. Brilliance, brilliance, brilliance! Expand
  98. kirstyh
    Sep 22, 2005
    10
    best yet
  99. dukstar
    Sep 20, 2005
    10
    Simply astonihing !!!!
  100. RichardL
    Sep 4, 2005
    10
    Such a wonderful experience. From the incredibly pop (B.Y.O.B. and Old School Hollywood Baseball) to the more conventional S.O.A.D. songs - if you could ever describe S.O.A.D. conventional. But if you rank David Gray or Texas as your favourite artists, then it's probably best to avoid this.
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. You'll be left wondering why other bands aren't so daring.
  2. Mezmerize doesn't fail to be unique.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    It's heavy and hooky. [20 May 2005, p.73]