Minutes To Midnight

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 615 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 1, 2014
    9
    Minutes To Midnight I listened to this album alot freshman year of college when I skipped my volleyball elective in college to do more productive things. Along with that statement, it is a political record. #Thinking

    Wake (9) There are actually two versions of Wake I believe. I like them both the same even though they have completely different tones within them. I know this from just
    Minutes To Midnight I listened to this album alot freshman year of college when I skipped my volleyball elective in college to do more productive things. Along with that statement, it is a political record. #Thinking

    Wake (9) There are actually two versions of Wake I believe. I like them both the same even though they have completely different tones within them. I know this from just playing alot of Linkin Park on YouTube. It is a great intro to one of my favorite albums by Linkin Park, the main reason being the beginning of the change in sound and the cover of the album.

    Given Up (9) I am giving this song a higher score than I would have a couple of years ago because of my psychiatric issues as well as my suicide attempt that is associated with giving up. This album came out during the Bush II administration and really shows the bands disdain for the administration when it was in power. The sounds are pretty mainstream but the topic of the song is really what makes me like it.

    Leave Out All The Rest (9.25) With this album being much darker than the other Linkin Park albums I feel, with a little touches of emo within it. I really connect with this song because of the lyrics associated with my life and how I want to distance myself from the people I once knew because I just don't think we are the same to put it nicely. It also talks about struggle to a degree and I have struggled alot in a completely different way than most people do I feel.

    Bleed It Out (9) This song has themes of suicide in it I can really connect with. The instrumentals are fine but I like the lyrics better than the instrumentals because of how the record correlates with my life. There are references of scars within the song and I've been trying to decide if I should get a cro$$ that is up or down even though I don't believe in the doG that Christianity preaches.

    Shadow Of The Day (9.25) This song reminds me alot of Leave Out All The Rest and gave me alot of motivation within the darkest point in my life. The whole line of 'the sun will set for you' kind of has come true for me so that is really good. I really like the the guitar solo near the end of the song and really adds a calm to this record.

    What I've Done (9.25) This is one of my favorite songs on the album because I like playing it on the Piano but I always need to practice it or I forget it. I really connect with it because of how I think I have changed alot of factors correlated to politics even though I probably I will never know for sure. The dark overtones this song gives to the listener along with the rest of the album really just adds to a great collection of Linkin Park's material.

    Hands Held High (9.25) This song is another one of my favorites on the album because it promotes a stance of leftism against the GOP before they were called the GOP I think. It's great because it's a melodic rant that really gets Linkin Park's statement across about how they feel about this political group. The religious overtones within the track give it a positive vibe as well. The change of the tune near the end of the song I think really connects with alot of people within our generation.

    No More Sorrow (9.25) This track really picks up the tempo of the previous songs on the album and continues to discuss the issues associated with the right wing political parties within America and how they are part of the problem and not the solution. I could really see a radical leftist punching a senior member of the GOP in the face while this track is playing. That was a joke.

    Valentines Day (9.5) This song is very deep for me because Valentines Day is my least favorite day out of the whole year and I'm not trying to sound like a emo/goth lib because I'm not. I'm Sith. I don't know if it's just because I was always an introvert growing up and I didn't really call myself shy but I never bought into the hollister libtard hug crowd because I always really wanted to stab those people and how females always tried to play me against my frienimies when I was growing up because my frienimies bought into the libtard culture even though I was more intelligent and better looking than all of them before I got chubby on purpose. #JackedAndTan #Libtards #290lbs #NotChubby #1197L

    In Between (8) This song is fine but it just doesn't stand out to me like most of the other songs do on the album. Overall, it is a real conservative piece that has good instrumentals with kind of an electronic chime sound throughout it that I thought was alright.

    In Pieces (8.5) This piece has an interesting tempo because of how the instrumentals change throughout the piece and has kind of like a jazz overtone. The lyrics are a little repetitive but overall it's pretty good because of the guitar in the middle end of the song.

    The Little Things Give You Away (9) This song is also really conservative until later and I am running out of room because of character limits so let me just say the ending of this song is great.
    Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2015
    7
    A very different album from what came before in Hybrid Theory and Meteora. It's softer. The first half of the album is basically pop, while the second takes on a more melancholy tone. Only a small handful of the songs harken back to the more aggressive and rather rocking tone their previous albums had. Whether or not that will be a deal breaker for you just comes down to personalA very different album from what came before in Hybrid Theory and Meteora. It's softer. The first half of the album is basically pop, while the second takes on a more melancholy tone. Only a small handful of the songs harken back to the more aggressive and rather rocking tone their previous albums had. Whether or not that will be a deal breaker for you just comes down to personal preference.

    I personally didn't find any song particularly bad, but the slower sound the album possesses did make it harder for me to get into. I can definitely see myself enjoying the tracks more when I'm in a more emotional mood. Then maybe the lyrical themes will stick with me more. However a lot of people wanting the sound that made the band in the first place are going to view this as a very "emo" turn for the band. One that they are probably not going to appreciate.

    I personally think it's a solid album. Even if it is far from the best work they've done. It's an experiment that mostly succeeds. However it's one that has alienated fans from the band. If you have not yet experienced this album, but have some of the others from Linkin Park, it would be wise to expect something different. It's an album unlike any of the others they have done whether they came before or after this one. Whether or not that will cause this album to turn you away from the band I cannot say. It has done that for many. All I can say is that while I was not as impressed with this album as I have been with others from the band, it's one I did still mostly enjoy.

    My total score for it is a 7.5/10.
    Expand
  3. Apr 7, 2014
    8
    After exhausting the nu-metal sound in their first two albums, Hybrid Theory and Meteora, Linkin Park decided to stray away from the nu-metal sound which actually made them famous. They decided to go for a more mellower approach, minimizing the rap and the turntables which were prominent in their former albums. They went for a more 'alternative rockish' approach.

    I'm glad that Linkin
    After exhausting the nu-metal sound in their first two albums, Hybrid Theory and Meteora, Linkin Park decided to stray away from the nu-metal sound which actually made them famous. They decided to go for a more mellower approach, minimizing the rap and the turntables which were prominent in their former albums. They went for a more 'alternative rockish' approach.

    I'm glad that Linkin Park's made the decision to change their sound and the fact that they made a solid rock album, but i felt that it lacked that little kick that was their in the albums before it. Some songs were really good while some were weak.

    1. Wake- This is the first track of this album.It is an instrumental piece and a really good one. It gives the listener a hint of the sound in this album.

    2.Given Up- This is the song that is known for Bennington's 18 second scream. I'm a huge fan of this song. It is really aggressive and has some heaviness of the previous albums.

    3.Leave Out All The Rest- Now, this is the first song that actually shows the change in the band's sound. It is soft, catchy and is meant for airplay. Chester's vocals are better than ever. 4/5

    4. Bleed It Out- This is the second single of this album and is the first song on this album that features rap in it. The rap verses are brilliant and the aggressive feel in this song is amazing. 4.5/5

    5. Shadow Of The Day- A U2ish song by Linkin Park. Nothing original about this song. The guitar riffs are good (although they're similar to U2's 'With Or Without You'). Chester's vocals are brilliant yet again. 4/5

    6. What I've Done - The lead single and one of my favourite songs from this album. Extremely catchy and I bet I'll never get bored of this song. 5/5

    7. Hands Held High - The second song in this album that has rap in it. A slightly slowish song and Mike talks about terrorism and stuff like that. I'm not a huge fan of this song and i feel that the 'amen' part at the end of the song wasn't required at all. 2.5/5

    8. No More Sorrow - Another aggressive song. The guitar breakdown in the middle of the song is slightly similar to that of Given Up. In short, it is a good song. 3.5/5

    9. Valentine's Day - Another weak song in this album. The first half of the song's boring even though the last 50 seconds or so make it up for it. A kind of a 'meh' song. 2.5/5

    10. In Between - The worst song on this album. Even though Mike's a good singer, the song's slow and it doesn't have that kick to make it a good song. This is the low point in all of Linkin Park's career up to date. 2/5

    11. In Pieces- A really amazing comeback song by the band. I love Brad's guitar solo at the end of the song. It is a bit surprising as the band is not known for guitar solos. One of the highlights of this album. 5/5

    12. The Little Things Give You Away- A brilliant finish to this album. It is 6 minutes long and is the first progressive rock song composed by the band. It starts out slow but has a really good guitar riff at the end of the song. I love the fact that they did something different on this album and this song proves it. An epic finish to 'Minutes To Midnight'.5/5

    However as compared to their previous albums and their later albums, this is one of Linkin Park's worst albums. Not that it is a bad album; it is a mediocre effort as compared to the band's other releases. I have a few reasons to justify this statement :

    1. After 'What I've Done' the album somewhat shows its mediocre side with songs such as 'In Between', 'Valentine's Day', although the next 2 songs make it up for it.
    2. I didn't like the order in which the songs were positioned. It was like one really aggressive song and then a really soft one. They could've instead placed all the aggressive songs first and then the soft ones or vice versa.

    Even though this album has its strengths and weaknesses, it is a stepping stone for the band's change in sound and for the band's next album 'A Thousand Suns', which is the best album of their career.
    Expand
  4. Mar 16, 2014
    8
    Minutes to Midnight is not perfect, but it fares well. Decent rock songs with some pretty energised riffs, and the occasional emotional downplay on the music gives the album a decent variation, and overall achieves a beautiful sound.

    Whilst there isn't much negative to say about it, I still feel there could have been more rock and metal aspects, but I can't really complain. This album
    Minutes to Midnight is not perfect, but it fares well. Decent rock songs with some pretty energised riffs, and the occasional emotional downplay on the music gives the album a decent variation, and overall achieves a beautiful sound.

    Whilst there isn't much negative to say about it, I still feel there could have been more rock and metal aspects, but I can't really complain. This album is worth a buy, even if you're not deeply a rock fan. So much better than their new, overproduced BS.
    Expand
  5. Aug 10, 2014
    7
    Solid album. It is not as good as Hybrid Theory and Meteora but not a bad album. If you liked the other albums you might thing this is a change in style but after hearing the album a few times you will notice that it is still Linkin Park.
  6. DanM
    Jun 3, 2009
    10
    I actually really liked it. I'm glad they decided to change their sound, I mean, you can't use the nu-metal sound forever, people would eventually get bored of it. Some really good sounding songs here. My favourites are "Shadow Of The Day" and "The Little Things Give You Away".
  7. Apr 11, 2012
    8
    Linkin Park go for a classic rock edge with this great album, after 4 years out they return with the same energy as they had before, contained and unleashed through instruments instead of production, Rubin's stripped down production really fleshes out the band and peels back the icing which previous producer Don Gilmore urged the band to utilise, the band challenge themselves and push awayLinkin Park go for a classic rock edge with this great album, after 4 years out they return with the same energy as they had before, contained and unleashed through instruments instead of production, Rubin's stripped down production really fleshes out the band and peels back the icing which previous producer Don Gilmore urged the band to utilise, the band challenge themselves and push away from that, becoming the best live act of 2007. Expand
  8. JanaF
    May 24, 2009
    10
    I really really really dont think this album is 'emo'. Linkin Park is not like others bands, they create new things and try diferent styles of music. I think these bands that keep the same beat and notes and melody in every album are really boring. Just because emo people enjoy Linkin Park songs doesnt mean that Linkin Park is emo. I am a bigbigbigbig LP fan, I have friends that I really really really dont think this album is 'emo'. Linkin Park is not like others bands, they create new things and try diferent styles of music. I think these bands that keep the same beat and notes and melody in every album are really boring. Just because emo people enjoy Linkin Park songs doesnt mean that Linkin Park is emo. I am a bigbigbigbig LP fan, I have friends that like LP too, and we arent emo. And why can't Linkin Park make some different songs? Just because they started as a x style doesn't mean they cant change it. Expand
  9. Aug 14, 2010
    7
    A little change doesn't hurt.

    I remember back in the 90s and early 2000s, nu-metal was at its height of popularity. Korn, Limp Bizkit, and Linkin Park were the most popular. Nowadays, the music scene has changed. Everything labeled "rock" has now become more alternative. Why? Simply because what was designated as a genre ultimately became a fad. People got tired of listening to nu-metal.
    A little change doesn't hurt.

    I remember back in the 90s and early 2000s, nu-metal was at its height of popularity. Korn, Limp Bizkit, and Linkin Park were the most popular. Nowadays, the music scene has changed. Everything labeled "rock" has now become more alternative. Why? Simply because what was designated as a genre ultimately became a fad. People got tired of listening to nu-metal. It really didn't vary much. So nu-metal bands sold less and less. Eventually, Linkin Park decided they needed a new formula. And Minutes To Midnight is the result.

    On the first day I listened to it, MTM probably got a 5.5/10, a 6/10 at best. I didn't really feel the new sound. I was expecting something more aggressive with that nu-metal polish. The sound I listened to was alternative. Stripped down alternative. Nu-metal, according to LP, is dead.

    But I, being a fan of LP and music in general, decided to listen again. Let me tell you that Linkin Park and Rick Rubin have done a fine job in crafting such a good album. It's different yet it is a blessing because LP isn't repeating themselves like they did on Meteora. Instead, they start anew.

    But that doesn't mean LP has become soft. They only added more emotion. Witness LP shredding through tracks like Bleed It Out and Given Up with Chester Bennington giving painful shrieks to "take it deeper and just throw it away". "What I've Done" is a beautiful song about the search of redemption and "Shadow of the Day" and "Valentine's Day" are both melancholic love stories. And "Hands Held High" is a powerful tale by Mike Shinoda on the dangers of war and violence.

    The sound is not polished. It's slightly rougher and more stripped down a la Rubin style. This helps Linkin Park succeed on a lyrical level because the rhymes are more forefront.

    My biggest complaint with the album is that LP almost completely abandons their "hybrid theory". In other words, Shinoda raps on only 2 tracks. Change is alright, but cracking the foundation isn't especially if it has already been well established. LP's rap-rock style was the core of their music. And MTM destroys it.

    But that isn't to say that MTM is a bad album. Musically, LP has evolved and improved. But looking at the lack of rap verses, I fear that their next album may not even feature one.
    Expand
  10. CRL
    Sep 12, 2011
    9
    Minutes to Midnight is a bit disjointed, but it showcases a more focused Linkin Park. This was when they realized the restrictions of their genre, and instead of sending out endless repeats of the same album they decided to change their sound into the more-rock, less-rap, more-sing, less-scream, piano-riff and raw guitar shown on M2M. And it's still undeniably them. Shadow of the Day,Minutes to Midnight is a bit disjointed, but it showcases a more focused Linkin Park. This was when they realized the restrictions of their genre, and instead of sending out endless repeats of the same album they decided to change their sound into the more-rock, less-rap, more-sing, less-scream, piano-riff and raw guitar shown on M2M. And it's still undeniably them. Shadow of the Day, What I've Done, Hands Held High... in the end I think Minutes to Midnight is the most unique they've ever been. Expand
  11. Jan 13, 2012
    7
    Its a shame to see LP go Pop but it works out for them well. There are quite a few good songs on this album and I would suprisingly recommend this album.
  12. RanelG
    Mar 30, 2010
    10
    This is an excellent album, listen to it. The haters here on this site just hate this album because they don't like Linkin Park's music. They accuse us LP fans of having poor taste in music, well what do you guys listen to? Exactly.
  13. Jan 10, 2012
    3
    This album is such a dive. It's the most depressing album I have ever listened to, not only because of its subject matter but also because it's dull and boring, and dull is the last thing Linkin Park is! The first two albums were about feelings, but this one is all about suicide. I get that this album tried to conclude a trilogy and it raises the question - what happens when the feelingsThis album is such a dive. It's the most depressing album I have ever listened to, not only because of its subject matter but also because it's dull and boring, and dull is the last thing Linkin Park is! The first two albums were about feelings, but this one is all about suicide. I get that this album tried to conclude a trilogy and it raises the question - what happens when the feelings get too much? It should have been about solving the problems, not killing yourself for them! The sound of this album is too much like Coldplay or U2. Don't get me wrong I love them both, but this is not the Linkin Park I know. The only highlight of this album is What I've Done, the rest are awful. Unless you are an emo with no life, you have no reason to poison yourself with tripe like this. Expand
  14. Aug 19, 2010
    5
    Sure, it does have some quality tunes but this album pretty much falls apart halfway through the album. Hybrid Theory sounded better than this and even that album wasn't hugely special. Dull, tedious and uninspired.
  15. DarcyC
    Feb 20, 2010
    8
    Bleed it out is probably their best song ever. given up and valentines day are good but what I've done and leave out all the rest are boring.
  16. AronJ
    May 30, 2007
    3
    There was only about two decenct songs on this album, I think they just ran out of what they were once, the sound is just redundant and the lyrics are poor.
  17. Deven
    Oct 18, 2008
    8
    This album does something very wrong...it makes you want to stop listening to their first two (excluding Reanimation). This Linkin Park is much more musically talented than the old Linkin Park. There isn't anything wrong with this album. Many people say "this isn't Linkin Park" because they want an instant radio friendly catchy tune to listen to. If you want this kind of music This album does something very wrong...it makes you want to stop listening to their first two (excluding Reanimation). This Linkin Park is much more musically talented than the old Linkin Park. There isn't anything wrong with this album. Many people say "this isn't Linkin Park" because they want an instant radio friendly catchy tune to listen to. If you want this kind of music than go grab the new Fall Out Boy CD. If you want actual music, pick this up. This album is paced incredibly well and has a good mix of hard and soft. How can you not like the break down in Given Up? Or the chorus in Leaving Out The Rest? Or the incredibly powerful No More Sorrow? This album has hard songs, soft songs, angry songs and emotionally gripping songs. Minutes to Midnight is easilly Linkin Park's best album so far. Expand
  18. ArboM
    Mar 30, 2010
    7
    Minutes to Midnight has not been the pivot LP thought it would be. Don't get me wrong. I Looooooooove Linkin Park, but there are several things you have to look at. if you look at the previous two, Hybid Theory had kind of the perfect audience for its release. Crictics were kind of irritated with the genre , so reviews werent great but the fans loved it and Lpz music kind of had a Minutes to Midnight has not been the pivot LP thought it would be. Don't get me wrong. I Looooooooove Linkin Park, but there are several things you have to look at. if you look at the previous two, Hybid Theory had kind of the perfect audience for its release. Crictics were kind of irritated with the genre , so reviews werent great but the fans loved it and Lpz music kind of had a freshness to it. In the End topped it up. The ncomes Meteora. It is very very difficult to rate Linkin Park's second effort. It was brilliant for the radio but critics did not like it. I think rolling stone was right: it squeezed the last remaining life out nu metal. But thing is, while being as enjoyable as Hybrid theory, the album did not have their debut's freshness. While Breaking the habit, nobody's listening and session were some of the best tracks you could hear, the other tracks did not seem innovative. Songs like Numb were nu metal classics, but not general classics. 2003 was not the best time to release them. Then comes Minutes to Midnight. No matter what review you give to it, one has to say that album 3 did not flow like the previous two did. The music cannot be called bad, the songs simply did not belong on the same album. And mike sounded good rapping like he did before. His two efforts in particular should not have been on the album at all. They had a few cracks at nu metal too. the first one, i must say is the only Lp song that i find horrible. The other two.......... bleed it out was good. What I've done was good too and turned out to be the hit from the album. Two more songs need some attention. No more sorrow had lyrics which for some reason did not click. And then comes Valentine's day. Well, I would say that track has a lot of potential. If it had been a bit more balanced, it would have been the best song on the album. Leave out all the rest is a good song too, but Chester could have sung better. Little things give you away and In pieces were good songs, probably the best consecutive ones on the album. The problem with the album is the lack of fllow. Some of the tracks did not belong on Minutes to midnight. listening to them is like listening to an EP or an experiment. The singles were wrongly chosen too and there was no In the End type clicker innovator on the album. To conclude, I would say that Minutes to Midnight is an album that one can listen to a few times. It just came and went but unlike hybrid theory and meteora which established LP as the greatest nu metal band of all time. As for the band, minutes to midnight was not the album they hoped it would be. It got mixed reviews and I think it was an experiment whose results make you feel that the 4th album is going to be much much more important. It shoed that they are no longer confined to nu metal. It helped the band as an artist, not its greatness. If the 4th album is good enough, Minutes to midnight will be forgotten. It was an average record overall. Expand
  19. tasha
    Feb 27, 2009
    10
    I loved it, yes different type of direction from the last ones, but all good. great album, people change over years and so do their tastes.
  20. BryanW
    Dec 23, 2009
    8
    Personally, I think it's good for them to (partly) change their genre as what they showed in this album. I was never moved that much by Linkin Park music as the first time I listened to "Shadow of the day". Hope to have more chances to enjoy this kind of music from them.
  21. TomG
    Jun 14, 2009
    7
    I love linkin park, and i love the new direction they're going in with this album. But while it has songs that are truly great like Bleed It Out and Given up, most of the songs just don't.... capture me like most songs in Hybrid Theory, i didn't like Meteora that much either regardless of Breaking the Habit being one of my favorite songs either. Once Linkin Park perfects I love linkin park, and i love the new direction they're going in with this album. But while it has songs that are truly great like Bleed It Out and Given up, most of the songs just don't.... capture me like most songs in Hybrid Theory, i didn't like Meteora that much either regardless of Breaking the Habit being one of my favorite songs either. Once Linkin Park perfects their new formula, they'll be on top again, and from New Divide from Transformers it seems they're going even further in the right direction. Expand
  22. Feb 29, 2012
    8
    this is not there best album but its really good shadow of the day,hands held high and leave out all the rest are the best songs on this album there so good it makes me wanna cry
  23. Aug 14, 2012
    8
    In my ranking of Linkin Park albums this is in a close 2nd behind Living Things. It shows a perfect & natural transition between the distorted nu-metal of their previous 2 albums and the more melodic, experimental and somewhat electronic style they would explore more of on A Thousand Suns. I admit that the overall quality fades a little toward the end of the album with Valentine's Day & InIn my ranking of Linkin Park albums this is in a close 2nd behind Living Things. It shows a perfect & natural transition between the distorted nu-metal of their previous 2 albums and the more melodic, experimental and somewhat electronic style they would explore more of on A Thousand Suns. I admit that the overall quality fades a little toward the end of the album with Valentine's Day & In Between but In Pieces & the epic & beautiful closer The Little Things Give You Away saves the end from being unsatisfactory. Another complaint I have is with Given Up; musically it's awesome but lyrically it's really cliche & almost sounds like a Linkin Park style parody without the comedy at some points. But other than that this is a fantastic listen, and I think it's a great album to get someone who wants something representative of everything Linkin Park has done in their first decade. Expand
  24. Jan 2, 2014
    8
    Best album by Linkin Park. Many good songs, some of their best (Shadow Of The Day), less rap and rock sound. Unfortunately it is just an exception in a series of album that I don't like.
  25. Jan 19, 2013
    7
    Only good about this album is that it is different from HT and Meteora. Songs like WHAT I'VE DONE, NO MORE SORROW and GIVEN UP are really amazing but songs like IN BETWEEN and HANDS HELD HIGH really sucks.This album is not a masterpiece or amazing. I am a linkin park fan that's why I liked this album but I cannot love. After first 6 songs the remaining minutes on this album wereOnly good about this album is that it is different from HT and Meteora. Songs like WHAT I'VE DONE, NO MORE SORROW and GIVEN UP are really amazing but songs like IN BETWEEN and HANDS HELD HIGH really sucks.This album is not a masterpiece or amazing. I am a linkin park fan that's why I liked this album but I cannot love. After first 6 songs the remaining minutes on this album were nightmare (except NMS). Expand
  26. Dec 22, 2013
    9
    Maybe not like the older ones with "Hybrid Theory" and "Meteora", but it does not claimt to be and even if many older fans doesn't like it, that means not that this is a bad album. No, it is even an excellent album with many earwigs from the radio ("What I've done" or "Shadows of the Day") and rocky new-metal songs ("Bleed it out", "Given Up" or "No more sorrows"). "Bleed it out" avtuallyMaybe not like the older ones with "Hybrid Theory" and "Meteora", but it does not claimt to be and even if many older fans doesn't like it, that means not that this is a bad album. No, it is even an excellent album with many earwigs from the radio ("What I've done" or "Shadows of the Day") and rocky new-metal songs ("Bleed it out", "Given Up" or "No more sorrows"). "Bleed it out" avtually even is one of my favourite songs of all times for a reason. Every song is catchy, good and creative, while there are no misses. Expand
  27. Aug 31, 2010
    5
    I give these guys credit for trying something new. Unfortunately about half of the songs I really could not like despite I tried my best but they all sounds kind of the same. The other half of the songs were solid and awesome. Despite having some disappointment in it I felt that it was worth my money to buy and I am excited about the next album
  28. Nov 14, 2011
    5
    Really just proves how mainstream LP has gotten, They have left their unique sound for now a generic rock/pop band sort of feel and it disapoints. While you may enjoy the track, Any fan of the old LP will be disapointed with it.
  29. DeepeshB.
    Jul 16, 2009
    10
    There is no problem linkin park changing genre....its just that in minutes to midnight they showed the people their lyrical depth....as far as political shift is concerned....even people`s beloved green day has also been rebuking the system...capacity crowds in minutes to midnight tour proves dat people loved their third album too.
  30. Apr 20, 2012
    4
    I enjoyed the first two, this one was rather dissapointing. Despite the albums best "Bleed it out", the lyrics were repetitive amd the album was boring. I recommend Three Days Grace's upcoming 2012 album over the Linkin Park record coming this year.
  31. Jun 2, 2013
    6
    A change in their sound, not really for worse though. Some of the songs are really forgettable, but there are some strong points. I think the softer songs are the worse part of this album, and the harder/heavier songs come of as the stronger.
  32. Jan 29, 2011
    3
    This is crap compared to the previous 2 linkin park albums. There are three good songs on the album [What I've Done, Bleed It Out and No More Sorrow]. This is very bad compared to every song on hybrid theory being AMAZING and almost the same for Meteora. Just download the three i mentioned.
  33. Jan 5, 2011
    2
    I cried when I first listened to this album. Not because it's that bad, because it's by Linkin Park. When they released Meteora in 2003, I thought they had stuck to nu metal, unlike bands like Papa Roach. But then this came out... This... Well it's an okay album, just not an album suited for Linkin Park. I rarely (if ever) heard Chester scream in this album, even though that's his greatestI cried when I first listened to this album. Not because it's that bad, because it's by Linkin Park. When they released Meteora in 2003, I thought they had stuck to nu metal, unlike bands like Papa Roach. But then this came out... This... Well it's an okay album, just not an album suited for Linkin Park. I rarely (if ever) heard Chester scream in this album, even though that's his greatest talent. A screamer you can actually understand! How often do you get that? Yes, I'm pointing at you Slipknot! And only two songs have rap. TWO!! Poor Mike Shinoda, stuck with his rhythm guitar or whatever. On my list of all the bands I have, LP as nu metal scored #1, while LP as altern rock scored... #29. Maybe that's why I'm so upset at this album. They were my favorite band...

    FYI- I love Slipknot, both as nu and heavy metal. I also still love Papa Roach, despite their switch to hard rock.
    Expand
  34. RyanS.
    May 21, 2007
    8
    "Minutes to Midnight" is a good album, though, not necessarily a great one. The first 6 or so tracks are top-notch; each has simple yet meaningful lyrics, sly production, and impressive vocal work. Unfortunately, as the album unfolds, the later-tunes tend to drag, and dare I say, bore.
  35. SteveM.
    May 9, 2008
    0
    Terrible. A mature new sound? Only if their last albums were 3 months old. This political sophistry mixed with dull "boy band" music doesn't work. They've lost whatever "edginess" they had, and to make up for it they drop the f-bomb like they just learned the word. I'm not joking, they sound like those straight-edge kids you knew in high-school who, the first time they Terrible. A mature new sound? Only if their last albums were 3 months old. This political sophistry mixed with dull "boy band" music doesn't work. They've lost whatever "edginess" they had, and to make up for it they drop the f-bomb like they just learned the word. I'm not joking, they sound like those straight-edge kids you knew in high-school who, the first time they cursed, stuttered over the word. LP fans do yourself a favor and hold on to Hybrid Theory and Meteora, but forget M2M. Expand
  36. MarkJ.
    Dec 5, 2007
    6
    Linkin Park needs to stick to what they do best -- nice sounding, radio-ready nu-metal. Attempting to find a place where they are anything more then that is a disservice to the fans of the original material. 6 points for What I've Done and Bleed It Out, the only two songs that feel like Linkin Park.
  37. andreh
    May 20, 2007
    8
    ladies and gentlemen....i hate to burst your bubble, but we dont own linkin park. this is their music. this is the only cd in like a year that i have become excited about. music in genral is declining, we all need to take a step back.
  38. maplejet
    May 25, 2007
    6
    Not a great album, but not an entire failure. However, it's a splitting point for LP's fanbase as expect a lot of fans to leave...they'll get new fans though from the other songs.
  39. BurtAherne
    May 26, 2007
    0
    Its sounds like a load of retards trying to fuck a doorknob
  40. hojnk
    May 30, 2007
    1
    Poor effort. Not explosive, every passe
  41. ashikau
    May 30, 2007
    1
    I always loved LP..When I hear their sond like Papercut,Pnts of Auright,Crawing and many songs from Meteora they gav me a feeling which I never get from another band.But with this album 'Minutes to Midnite' LP has lost their identity.They sound like typical rock band..I
  42. CraigW
    May 30, 2007
    8
    Unfortunately, too many fans said, "We want more of the same!" from Linkin Park -- but if they did that, they would be accused of being an unadaptable band. So don't listen to any review that says, "Linkin Park turned their back on what got them big." What got them big is no longer big -- the band knew they had to evolve to survive. They also knew they were largely in a "no-win Unfortunately, too many fans said, "We want more of the same!" from Linkin Park -- but if they did that, they would be accused of being an unadaptable band. So don't listen to any review that says, "Linkin Park turned their back on what got them big." What got them big is no longer big -- the band knew they had to evolve to survive. They also knew they were largely in a "no-win situation" with it, impossible to please everyone while they evolved their sound. The results are largely impressive -- the album has more depth and meaning than Meteora and, despite not being "workout music", will please almost any *true* Linkin Park fan. The often-emo sounds of the "new" Linkin Park are still for the large part very good music. Expand
  43. ErnieM
    May 30, 2007
    3
    I like it when a band tries to expand and experiment and I applaud the effort but this album is a dismal failure. They experimented to sound like nothing more than a number of boring bands already out there!
  44. SammyR
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    Fuck any one person that says they hate this perfect album! The Rolling Stone is right/ they tried to change their sound and they did it perfectly! New Musical express and NOW are such dooshbags, they can suck everybody who made comments here's dick!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  45. AaronM
    Jun 2, 2007
    10
    These people giving the album a "0," are pretty pathetic. It's one thing to dislike an album, but to straight up trash it is childish. Anyway, the albums actually pretty good if you listen to it more than once (maybe 3 or 4 times). With such a radical change, it takes awhile to sink in. Good Job LP!
  46. ChristopherA
    Jun 5, 2007
    4
    Only two tracks from this album found themselves worthy to be put on my mp3 player. I have always loved Linkin Park, but this album tries my faith...
  47. Akshayilovelp
    Jun 5, 2007
    9
    very very interesting some of the songs are old lp and some are a new style rapcore was getting old and well this is a gr8 sound.
  48. johns
    Jun 7, 2007
    2
    linkin park? i cant imagine anyone older than 15 listening to them. 2 ok songs on the cd but thats it. shame.
  49. JasonL.
    Jul 17, 2007
    1
    I give it a 1 for the cool way the cd flexed past 45 degrees before it shattered.
  50. IhateLinkinPmorethanOsamaBinLaden
    Jul 25, 2007
    0
    the WORST BAND EVER in the history of music, and i've heard winger, nickelback, and milli vanilli too.
  51. MM
    Jul 30, 2007
    2
    Long-time LP fan... ex-fan now. This is an HORRIBLE CD: all that sound that made LP to be "Linkin Park" has disappeared in an ocean of pop tunes! Terribly bad CD.
  52. zofied.
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    loooove it
  53. tenchuz
    Aug 4, 2007
    0
    what the hell they went from kick ass to kick the can whats wrong with their lives now? the CD bites because i said so and thats my opinion and whats with the radio friendly shit anyways? GET REAL JOBS & LEAVE SINGING TO THE PROS YOU KNOCK OFFS!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  54. RaviT.
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    Shit what the others have said.This is the bestt album I have ever listened.If you have no taste then don't vote!
  55. ThomasL
    Jun 2, 2008
    10
    I absolutely LOVE reading what all the critics thought when the album was first released. Those guys that gave this album a 20, we should all make a note of who they are and make certain to NEVER read their magazines or web sites again. Minutes to Midnight has already touched the lives of so many people that it will be a classic for them forever. These "so-called" professional critics, I absolutely LOVE reading what all the critics thought when the album was first released. Those guys that gave this album a 20, we should all make a note of who they are and make certain to NEVER read their magazines or web sites again. Minutes to Midnight has already touched the lives of so many people that it will be a classic for them forever. These "so-called" professional critics, well, obviously they are so out of touch with what is real they do not deserve our support. I hope the band doesn't waste their time, as i just did, reading the opinions offered by these hacks. Expand
  56. StiffyT
    Apr 1, 2010
    0
    Terrible listen. Perhaps the only thing worse than this album is the ego of the band members. In 2010, a brave Shinoda claims that LP's new album will be so great, they will need a new genre name for it. "Poor" would be quite fitting.
  57. JohnnyB
    May 11, 2007
    10
    Although a much different style to the other linkin park albums, this lives up to the high expectation presented by the other 2. The first thing to notice is the lack of rapping, but this is made up by the quality of it one the few tracks that this is included and the overall quality of the album
  58. MikeN
    May 16, 2007
    7
    This album was not what I was expecting but it ain't that bad. The Bush bash was welcome but too cliché for my taste. Their weakest album but still ok.
  59. Brian
    May 16, 2007
    4
    Lacking the excitement of the first two, and all the politics in this album don't help too. Not to offend, they're no Michael Stipe.
  60. BobM
    May 16, 2007
    7
    The CD is not garbage and Linkin Park did do less raping on this but if you wanna hear more Mike Shinoda then go play some Fort Minor songs (Fort Minor is dope btw). The feal of this compared to there other albums is definitely different and I found the more I played it the more I liked it. Dont expect to press play and fall in love with this, it's more of a press play and play all The CD is not garbage and Linkin Park did do less raping on this but if you wanna hear more Mike Shinoda then go play some Fort Minor songs (Fort Minor is dope btw). The feal of this compared to there other albums is definitely different and I found the more I played it the more I liked it. Dont expect to press play and fall in love with this, it's more of a press play and play all the songs more then once to let it grow on you type CD. The door is open for LP and now they can go any direction they want... Expand
  61. NeilL
    May 16, 2007
    9
    This is actually becoming my favorite Linkin Park album pretty fast. Don't listen to these critics. It's an enjoyable, great album to kick off the summer with.
  62. jeremyh
    May 16, 2007
    3
    nothing spectacular, and a far cry from the Linkin Park we have known and grown to love.
  63. ZooTrain
    May 17, 2007
    2
    I love how people are surprised that this album is terrible. Linkin Park has always been awful...
  64. OmarK
    May 17, 2007
    8
    Well... the album is different but this doesn't mean it's not very good. After a couple of playbacks, you'll find it quite amusing and deep
  65. AllenO
    May 17, 2007
    4
    They gave in to the industry...plain and simple. None of their originality shines in this album. Probably the person to thank for this is producer, Rick Rubin. Let one person produce all the music and it will all sound the same (i.e. Timbaland). The only way to save this album is if they completely remixed it and called the album "Sorry For The Crappy CD....All Sales Final."
  66. JoshW
    May 17, 2007
    2
    Here we go another Metallica trying to make a "change" in their sound. It SUCKS! Hope they get horrible reviews and go back to Hybrid Theory style.
  67. akagloomyakagloomy
    May 17, 2007
    10
    Great!
  68. mattl
    May 17, 2007
    0
    This album is so bad I threw it out the window after 15 mins. I can't believe I wated 5 years for junk. I was the biggest die hard LP fan and I am so disapointed. The music sounded like stuff they maybe made the first month they started there band and just edited it a little and produced crap so they can make some fast cash since they spent there money the past few years not doing This album is so bad I threw it out the window after 15 mins. I can't believe I wated 5 years for junk. I was the biggest die hard LP fan and I am so disapointed. The music sounded like stuff they maybe made the first month they started there band and just edited it a little and produced crap so they can make some fast cash since they spent there money the past few years not doing anything. All but one song are slow slongs that have no amp to it. I would rather listen to a Color Me Bad album 24 hours a day for the rest of my life then hear this junk a for second. Linkin Park is another Limp Bisket. You both suck. Expand
  69. KyleK
    May 17, 2007
    10
    After being a devout Linkin Park follower for the last few years, I am convinced that this is their best album ever. Sure, they went a completely different direction with this one, but I am glad to see that they don't have to scream to make great music. I am sure that they will probably return to their old sound in the future, but I am mesmerized by this fantastic album.
  70. JosephK
    May 17, 2007
    5
    mediocre. Obviously they've tried so hard to come up with this record, but those efforts are unfortunately nothing new. Nu-metal is nothing new, and what's worse is that they're trying to catch up by trying to go emo, which is also nothing new. Hopefully their next album will bring out the more progressive side of the band. Who knows, another 3-4 years?
  71. PeteN
    May 18, 2007
    10
    Amazing
  72. RichP
    May 18, 2007
    0
    Linkin Park were always terrible!!! This is the worst album I have ever heard.
  73. ChrisM
    May 18, 2007
    3
    They've certainly lost their unique original style, and in turn have produced something much less desirable. Some of the songs may be deep, but the presentation and sound is completely different from what Linkin Park produced years ago. They've changed their style for the worse.
  74. BrianP
    May 18, 2007
    4
    I don't know why they felt like they had to abandon their roots (for the most part) on this album. Rap/rock may be way past it's shelf date, but LP was one of the bands that stood out in the crowd. This album sounds relatively tame. I could only find 3 decent tracks in the set!
  75. BronJ
    May 19, 2007
    3
    Bad. Sounds like there's way too much 'Fort Minor' in the music yet not enough of Mike Shinoda. Their stuff on the other CDs mighta been cheesy but at least it works. They try to be so different here and it just sounds bad. Where is the RAP METAL that we all know and love?!!?
  76. Tarindel
    May 21, 2007
    6
    It's not a horrible album, but it's not a great album either. It's pretty disappointing coming on the heals of the phenomenal Meterora. It sounds like of like Linkin Park does U2. And no, that's not a complement.
  77. LukeW
    May 21, 2007
    10
    Linkin park is a great band!!! No Matter what any critic says A true Fan will love this.
  78. MattD.
    May 22, 2007
    4
    They've gotten away from the annoying rap/rock genre, only to not develop a style of their own. They don't have the talent to sound like good imitators.
  79. JoeyR
    May 23, 2007
    8
    Solid album from start to finish. It has a good variety, definitely check it out.
  80. MartinP
    May 24, 2007
    10
    Once you get past the initial shock of how much they've changed, you'll discover that this is an excellent, excellent album.
  81. fucklp
    May 24, 2007
    0
    this band just sucks. and they're back with another another shitty album. the end of linkin park!
  82. RichardO
    May 24, 2007
    10
    This album is not as hard as the previous one but it is still an excellant album. The lyrics are reli gud and a change in style is always good. 10/10 for this album any day.... Linkin Park is the best band ive heard
  83. JeremyI
    May 26, 2007
    0
    Their best album was Hybrid Theory hands down, this..well this isn't that, they tried to mature but they went for the worse.
  84. RobertN
    May 26, 2007
    2
    A HUGE disappointment. I love LP and I enjoyed every single track on Hybrid Theory and Meteora. I thought that this was going to be gold and now I am looking for any way to sell this CD. Their songs have lost the energy and the flavor that made them so popular. While I did enjoy "What I've Done," most everything else is just garbage. I really hope this is just a phase....really, really.
  85. TimB
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    Some of these reviews are just plain funny. Mainly because the (professional) reviewers contradict themselves. They say MTM isn't as good as their other albums, which is strange, because if I remember correctly, they've always hated LP. Don;t listen to their biased bullshit this album is really enjoyable if you just give it a chance.
  86. NickC
    Jun 14, 2007
    8
    They've changed their sound, but I like it. At first it didn't sound all that good - but it definitely grew on me. Great album, imho..
  87. TraceA
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    Any fan of Linkin Park will honestly tell you this album is there best. It almost matches Hybrid Theory.
  88. CraigO
    Jun 1, 2007
    7
    A true "meh" album. I liked it, but didn't love it, not like Hybrid Theory or Meteora. A very different feel to the whole thing - more mature and calm, which isn't bad, but not what I expected. And while it's great to see the band try to take a political stand, it's not so great when that stand is on topics that have already been done to death. Sadly, they've just A true "meh" album. I liked it, but didn't love it, not like Hybrid Theory or Meteora. A very different feel to the whole thing - more mature and calm, which isn't bad, but not what I expected. And while it's great to see the band try to take a political stand, it's not so great when that stand is on topics that have already been done to death. Sadly, they've just now become another group to jump on the Bush-bashing bandwagon... Expand
  89. B.Aliano
    Jun 18, 2007
    8
    I can understand why fans are complaining. The genre is altered a little bit. Linkin Park really changes, but hey, changes are good, and is not really like a change, but more like an improvement and a new style. To be honest, this album isn't the best from LP. But it's still close enough from excellent.
  90. jonathans.
    Jun 2, 2007
    10
    Seeing as Linkin Park is my first and favorite band, I have to admit that I literally cannot not like anything they do. I bought the special edition album the second Best Buy opened, and listened to it immediately. Brilliant. Fantastic. Perfect. Et cetera. Yes, they have changed some with Shinoda only on a few songs, but you can still tell it is Linkin Park, and it's really not too Seeing as Linkin Park is my first and favorite band, I have to admit that I literally cannot not like anything they do. I bought the special edition album the second Best Buy opened, and listened to it immediately. Brilliant. Fantastic. Perfect. Et cetera. Yes, they have changed some with Shinoda only on a few songs, but you can still tell it is Linkin Park, and it's really not too different from their other work if you think about it. Just imagine an album where two-thirds of the songs are in the style of "My December" and "Easier to Run". I don't see why people are complaining and saying they want the "old" Linkin Park back-- they're still the best. Every single track on the CD is perfect, not just "What I've Done", and I can't place any above the others. But I do admit taht "Hands Held High" and "The Little Things Give You Away" gave me goosbumps (the first is about the war and is very poignant, while the latter is about Hurricane Katrina). For those looking for the rap-rock sound, only one song on the album follows that style, which is "Bleed It Out". The other two songs that are nu-metal are "Given Up" and "No More Sorrow", which have the kind of energy and screaming from their previous work. Oh, and when you listen to "Given Up", take note of Chester's incredible 17 second scream (remniscent of Maynard's 15 second scream on "The Grudge" from Tool's Lateralus). There's really nothing I can say to explain how perfect the album is, and it was definitely worth the four and a half years it took. And, if people are complaining about how long it took for it to came out, look at how much work they spend trying to make sure us fans get their very best: they spent an entire year doing nothing but making the album (the other years they wre on tour and coming up with some new sounds), and they had 100 song ideas and narrowed it down to 12 (or 13 if you include the separate "No Roads Left (But One)", where Shinoda sings again as in "In Between", and proves he is a good singer and rapper). So all you people who call themselves "fans" and are complaining about the CD, you were never fans of Linkin Park, you were just fans of the sound. Any true fan will love this to death, trust me, I know. Oh, and the band is not a sellout, sellouts are bands who stop making the music they like or change their sound for money or to try and get mainstream-- neither of which Linkin Park did. So please buy this album, don't steal it off a site or anything. Try and have respect for the band and the absolutely incredible amount of work and time they put into this album. Expand
  91. Sascha
    Jun 2, 2007
    1
    I'm very disappointed with this album, Linkin Park WAS one of my favourite bands, this album is so.... different, it's like U2 or every other rock album, Linkin Park is known for their own cool rap/metal/nu-metal sound, this album has more chester in it than anythin else, where are the cool riffs, the usual hooks, rappin and the Mike Shinoda SFX, it's all gone, this band I'm very disappointed with this album, Linkin Park WAS one of my favourite bands, this album is so.... different, it's like U2 or every other rock album, Linkin Park is known for their own cool rap/metal/nu-metal sound, this album has more chester in it than anythin else, where are the cool riffs, the usual hooks, rappin and the Mike Shinoda SFX, it's all gone, this band aint even Linkin Park, only thing i can hope for is the next Fort Minor album, hope that aint gon' be a mistake, i give this album 1 star just because of the respect I have for Mike Shinoda and the past great albums the band has made Expand
  92. ChrisB.
    Jun 30, 2007
    2
    A 2 because I know it's work to actually record an album. But man, there's absolutely no creativity here. Bar chords are an embarassment. Even the quality of the recording sucks.
  93. johnn
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    Under rated and very good!
  94. AustinM
    Jun 7, 2007
    8
    It will disappoint the old LP fans because they resolved their daddy issues and write songs that go much deeper than the previous albums that are loaded with teenage angst. "Minutes" is definately one to listen to 3 or 4 times before making up your mind. All in all, probably my favorite album so far this year...
  95. ALee
    Jun 7, 2007
    7
    I think this is a great album from the band. They have matured and I love the new sounds they have made for the new material
  96. PaulK
    Jun 7, 2007
    2
    The whole album is a huge disappointment. I found only three tracks worthy of keeping on my computer and none worthy of my ipod. They have changed to sound more like the horrible pop we hear all the time on the radio.
  97. ChiiN
    Jun 8, 2007
    9
    OMGG I Love Linkin Park~!! Their new album is so cool~! I have "What I've Done" playing in my head/or ipod 24/7 I still love "Somewhere I Belong~!"
  98. JimboH
    Jun 9, 2007
    5
    The variety on the CD favors buying the tracks individually after you listen to a preview because there are only 2 nu-metal songs, a couple songs that sound like a few of the other songs you hear this year, some that sound... different, and one thats not really much of a song. Definately a more mature sounding CD, but maybe thats not what everyone is listening for.
  99. BernS
    Jul 16, 2007
    8
    I didn't like this the first time I heard it because it wasn't more of the same which is what I was hoping for. Thankfully I gave it a chance and although there are only 3 or so really heavy songs, they do all of the 'new' stuff well (don't remember even hearing a guitar solo on their previous albums). Just make sure you give Valentine's Day a skip whenever I didn't like this the first time I heard it because it wasn't more of the same which is what I was hoping for. Thankfully I gave it a chance and although there are only 3 or so really heavy songs, they do all of the 'new' stuff well (don't remember even hearing a guitar solo on their previous albums). Just make sure you give Valentine's Day a skip whenever it comes along, because that is the one embarrasment in there. Expand
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. The California rap-rockers are stymied by their decision to stay roughly within the shrieky boundaries of their genre (albeit with less emphasis on the rap).
  2. Amid the stabs at growth, every new effect sounds borrowed.
  3. As you might imagine, the band’s emo makeover doesn’t always go smoothly.