Miracle Mile Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third release for Josh Hodges' indie electronic project was written collaboratively between the Portland, Oregon-based band members.
  • Record Label: Polyvinyl
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Indie Rock, Indie Electronic, Indie Pop, Neo-Psychedelia
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    This album was written collaboratively with the entire band’s input, so there’s a lot of ground covered on these 15 songs, and plenty of room to get lost.
  2. Feb 19, 2013
    As a fully realized collaboration, this record sees STRFKR dimming the lights just a little bit and coming into their own more than ever before.
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    Miracle Mile is the most varied Starfucker joint to date. It’s also one of the prettiest party records you’ll hear this year.
  4. Mar 20, 2013
    Miracle Mile is fun, but the record’s sparse highs also lay bare its lows.
  5. Apr 3, 2013
    It’s hard to tell if the first half of Miracle Mile is really better than the first, or whether it’s just that a kind of boredom sets in at some point during a listen, whether it’s your first or your fifth.
  6. Feb 21, 2013
    Not a far stretch from 2011's Reptilians, Miracle Mile is, sonically speaking, lateral to its predecessors. But it holds enough well-crafted tunes to make for an enjoyable album.
  7. 50
    The vocals remain distorted and drowned out, which can be an interesting effect. Except this record could have used them as an anchor.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Apr 2, 2013
    STRFKR's best album so far, with Reptilians coming in at a close second, these guys keep on getting better and better, this album is packed with 15 songs, and there is not a forgettable one. On Miracle Mile it is becoming clear that the band is moving into a new style and going in a new direction, yes not all of the songs on this album are the danceable joyful songs that we know them for, but instead they are going for more of an Alternative Rock feel, there still are those dance songs that we all know and love, but the other songs such as Golden Light and Nite Rite, really stand out with the new style they are going for and those are two of the best songs on the whole album. This is an amazing album by STRFKR and their best yet. Expand
  2. Feb 25, 2013
    I do round down hence the 8. It is about an 8.4 for me but yeahh... all in all Strfkr (or for some of you older fans), bring us a good album which at times is very danceable but at other times is also slow paced. Some fans might not be keen to this new style but I personally think it works. As early as hearing "beach monster" we find out that Strfkr are trying to reach new horizons. "Golden Night" and "Nite Rite" also show a change of pace in their songs. Golden Light has a melancholic sound all throughout while Nite Rite although long and repetitive, works, and is among the strongest songs. The only negative to me is the length. Some songs which I do not consider the strongest, carry on for too long, and others which I like more are too short, but that varies on the person's music taste of course. I'm still not sure if this album is better than their previous album "Reptilians," but it definitely is a great listen if you want to listen to an album which can be danceable yet slowed down at times. Expand