• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
My December Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 245 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The singer's third disc was produced by David Kahne and features an unlikely contribution on bass from Mike Watt (The Minutemen).
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Kelly Clarkson's darker, more personal, riskier third CD.
  2. 80
    Clarkson has never sounded this depressive or spiteful. [Jul 2007, p.112]
  3. My December isn’t the kind of earth-shattering fuck-you accomplishment that would make this story too good to be true. However, it’s not nearly as bereft of good songs and great moments as some folks would have you believe either.
  4. An uneven album with some tremendous bright spots.
  5. There are no hooks, nothing to suck in the many adults that liked Clarkson's first two records.
  6. Moving further away from sugar-coated post-Idol fare, Clarkson steps up with more rockers and a few ballads that, while not all destined to be radio hits, are all convincing and emotionally bare.
  7. The songs just are just way inferior this time around. My December’s fourteen tracks (including the hidden "Chivas") sound like rough sketches fleshed out with Breakaway’s light rock arrangements.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 173
  1. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    This is (along with Breakaway) one of the best Kelly albums! Is 2013 now, and still is a master piece. Very personal, dark (even though "BRThis is (along with Breakaway) one of the best Kelly albums! Is 2013 now, and still is a master piece. Very personal, dark (even though "BR album" is as dark as this one), rocker and souful. MAYBE is by far a master piece, Irvine, Sober, Haunted, Yeah, Fading are so perfect. I think for the most of people, they have to be in "the mood" for get into it and see its greatness. This album is the reason that I ended for having respect for Kelly as an artist and not just as another poppy singer out there. Many people were influenced by media and got blinded for appreciate all the beauty about this jewel. And if you add the Clive Davis complot, that's why this album "didn't got well" (fyi this album sold over 1Million in US... So, I don't get the hate) and stopped its potencial to be a huge success as it deserved... Orgullosa de ser fan de una artista y verdadera cantante como Kelly So proud to be her fan! Expand
  2. HaleyGina
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    I think this is Kelly's best album yet. I love all the songs, but my most favorite are Hole, Sober, How I Feel, Maybe, Chivas, Never I think this is Kelly's best album yet. I love all the songs, but my most favorite are Hole, Sober, How I Feel, Maybe, Chivas, Never Again, Yeah and Judas. Good for Kelly! I'm glad she fought the good fight. Expand
  3. MARCELAA.
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    I like her last cd´s, but My december rocks, i love it, her music is so real, and she has find her sound, her voice is amazing and now I like her last cd´s, but My december rocks, i love it, her music is so real, and she has find her sound, her voice is amazing and now she is a complete artist, singer/songwriter, she has chosen her way and God has guides her, kelly is on the top of the world and her music with her. God blesses her. Expand
  4. IsraelP.
    Jun 26, 2007
    9
    Finally some real music, Thank God she didnt go all bubblegum teeny bopper stuff!!
  5. J.PJ
    Jul 16, 2007
    9
    I am surpsised by many fans and crtics reactions towards this album. I found this album quite refreshing (even if the topics seem to be I am surpsised by many fans and crtics reactions towards this album. I found this album quite refreshing (even if the topics seem to be overused) because each song had a great quality to them. So what if there aren't any hooks, not all songs rely in one to make it great. I think that the public is not letting kelly grow up to the person she wants to be. But i knw that she is breaking through that. She doesn't want to end up like Tiffany and Cyndi Lauper who's fans kept them from growing up artistically. Its a shame how todays people are actually judging an album by how fun it is, or by how depressing it is. My favourite songs on the album are Sober, Irvine, Judas, Yeah, Chivas, and Hole. Expand
  6. Aug 30, 2013
    5
    Perhaps over acclaimed at the time of its release, My December has aged poorly. With tracks sounding more unpolished than ever before,Perhaps over acclaimed at the time of its release, My December has aged poorly. With tracks sounding more unpolished than ever before, Clarkson's usually superb vocals are squandered in a debris of noise. The track listing is heavily flawed, with poor progression and little attempt at sounding like an album by one of pop's most famous artists of the mid-2000's. Following in the footsteps, or rather shadow, of Breakaway, My December struggles to categorize itself as more than Clarkson's "dark period", with divinely written Be Still, Maybe, Can I Have A Kiss, Sober, and Irvine, all being ensnared by crude production and poor lyricism in Judas, Haunted, One Minute, and the shrill delivery of Don't Waste Your Time. Perhaps best remembered as the album where a pop star dared to defy her management, it works best at proving that pop stars don't always don't best. Expand
  7. josema
    Jun 26, 2007
    0
    this makes me sick...

See all 173 User Reviews