My December - Kelly Clarkson
My December Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 244 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The singer's third disc was produced by David Kahne and features an unlikely contribution on bass from Mike Watt (The Minutemen).
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Kelly Clarkson's darker, more personal, riskier third CD.
  2. 80
    Clarkson has never sounded this depressive or spiteful. [Jul 2007, p.112]
  3. "My December" ends up, curiously enough, a pretty freaking fun summer album.
  4. Moving further away from sugar-coated post-Idol fare, Clarkson steps up with more rockers and a few ballads that, while not all destined to be radio hits, are all convincing and emotionally bare.
  5. The tunes come up seriously short on choruses and heavy on the Alanis Morissette references.
  6. She writes in bland generalities... and uses her opulent voice as a battering ram.
  7. The songs just are just way inferior this time around. My December’s fourteen tracks (including the hidden "Chivas") sound like rough sketches fleshed out with Breakaway’s light rock arrangements.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 172
  1. AustinC
    Jun 8, 2009
    Kelly Clarkson has became known as the girl who does incredibly addicting and catchy pop music. Her sophomore album, 'Breakaway,' was all about that. Yes, it was fantastic, and probably one of 2004's best albums. However, 'My December' is much better. At first, it's a shock to hear this deeper, more raw side of Clarkson, but listen closely. Give the album two or three more tries. You'll soon see that 'My December' is easily Kelly Clarkson's best album to date. The lyrics are strong and deep meaningful. Some standouts in the lyrics definitely belong to "Sober." Just check out the first verse: "And I don't know/This could break my heart or save me/Nothing's real/Until you let go completely/So here I ho with all my thoughts/I've been saving/So here I go with all my fear/Weighing on me". Not only are the lyrics simply amazing, but the instrumentals to all the songs are a mature pop/rockers bliss. Some of the best instrumentals can be heard in "Never Again," "Haunted," and "Judas." All have spine-tingling strings and the drums are outstanding. It's raw and real. It's an album you can sit and listen to all the way through without skipping a single track. It's is depressing that the album lacked promo and especially lacked in singles. "Never Again" and "Sober" were the US singles. "One Minute" and "Don't Waste My Time" were international singles, but didn't have very good promo at all. You can thank Clive Davis for that. There were many hits on this album, it's just that people needed time to get used to this side of Clarkson that they weren't used to seeing. Expand
  2. TomásQ.
    Jun 28, 2007
    Definitely Kelly's best CD. I really didn't like it on first listen, but I kept on listening and it grew a lot on me. It's really fabolous, because it's a personal album, Kelly Clarkson was part of the composition of all the songs, she chose the songs of the album. It's Kelly's REAL first album. The best tracks are "Haunted", "Never Again", "Judas" and "Sober". The only ones I don't like are "Irvine" and "Be Still". Expand
  3. MMC
    Jul 11, 2007
    This is a great CD. Very relatable to anyone who has had past realationships that were ambiguous and at a crossroads. Took a few listens be cause I was trying to hear Breakaway. Much growth. Who needs catchy hooks in every song. Tell me a story I can relate to and jam on with meaning. That's what Kelly has done. "Maybe" is a very well written. I think probably the best track. Expand
  4. CarlosD
    Jun 26, 2007
    a KICK-ASS album by kelly, this is an ALBUM not just songs by different producers on a cd like her previous efforts, here she writes on EVERY song. The songs are great, maybe 1 or 2 that really do not work, but overall they are excellent, she shows great range. I praise her for actually being an artist, meaning that she just doesn't wait for the songs to be written for her, she goes and makes her OWN music. My highligts for the cd are: Never Again, Irvine, Maybe, Can I have a kiss, Haunted, Sober and One Minute. Yes, its not anywhere near as catchy as "Since you've been gone" but what is? Expand
  5. ashleys
    Jul 10, 2007
    this album is far from being as bad as what a lot of people are making it out to be. it shows a totally different side to her as a perfromer and a person. what else do people want? its seems like mainstream artists get criticised for not being edgy enough, but then when they try to take a different direction they get slated for not being commercial enough. kelly can pretty much sing anything she wants (even opera apparently), her voice is amazing. it would be so incredibly easy for her to take songs from any professional song writer and have hits with them, but wheres the challenge in that? its boring. if she has the chance to do what she wants and take some control, she can grow as an artist but if not, she could still be singing the same stuff in 10 years time. and that would be a waste of a talent. good job shes defiant really. im giving the album 8 and adding an extra point for her integrity =] Expand
  6. Erica
    Jul 9, 2007
    I have always been a huge fan of Kelly, but this album was a big dissapointment. In previous albums I have loved how I can relate to the songs and each song had different beat to groove to, but all the songs sounded the same here and I didn't find myself interested in the lyrics. Nevertheless, I like 2 of the songs (though in previous albums I have liked an average of all but 2 of the songs), and her voice is strong and solid as always. Not complete trash, but I look forward to a hopefully improved next album. Expand
  7. josema
    Jun 26, 2007
    this makes me sick...

See all 172 User Reviews