My Name Is My Name Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 140 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut solo studio release for the rapper, who began his career as part of the rap duo Clipse, features guest appearances from such artists as 2 Chainz, Big Sean, Chris Brown, Future, Kendrick Lamar, Pharrell, Rick Ross, and Kelly Rowland.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    91
    Pusha T paints a vivid picture of the things he knows best throughout My Name Is My Name.
  2. Oct 8, 2013
    90
    Pusha T is at the top of his game with sharply defined autobiographical tales and defiant, self-aware verses. He often dazzles with his smooth, cold-blooded flow and connects on virtually every song.
  3. My Name Is My Name is one of the best debut albums of the year, but since Pusha T is far from a new artist, he's got a leg-up on many of the newcomers to the genre.
  4. Oct 9, 2013
    80
    The album is an amalgamation of his past trade and his current, and as is fitting for an album from a man whose past is as powdery white as a Colorado winter, it’s dope.
  5. 80
    In My Name Is My Name, Pusha T has produced one of the most diverse and constantly rewarding hip-hop records of the year; twelve tracks tied together by a man at the top of his form and who, quite soon, may yet reach the highest summits.
  6. 75
    The debut solo record from half of the duo the Clipse and member of Kanye West’s G.O.O.D. Music collective is hard and minimal, filled with state-of-the-art beats that pop with bravado.
  7. Dec 11, 2013
    50
    When the beats are sparse he shines, but the album bloats in its middle with too many R&B assisted dramatic gestures and not enough dead eyed and cracked crack music. [Nov 2013, p.66]

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 4 out of 31
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Drake stan trying to discredit "Cocaine" TYRANT the GAWD. Album is AOTY 10/10 you sad ass cac. Pusha delivers best album since YEEZUS b, this reallll
  2. Mar 3, 2014
    10
    This is a great album. Pusha T still talks about the drug game but it still sounds awesome. The beats in this album are amazing. EspeciallyThis is a great album. Pusha T still talks about the drug game but it still sounds awesome. The beats in this album are amazing. Especially numbers on the boards. The two best tracks are: Numbers On The Boards and Nosetalgia. The track I could have done without: Who I Am. I give this album a 10 out of 10. Thanks for reading. Expand
  3. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    My Name Is My Name is one of the best debut albums of the year, but since Pusha T is far from a new artist, he's got a leg-up on many of theMy Name Is My Name is one of the best debut albums of the year, but since Pusha T is far from a new artist, he's got a leg-up on many of the newcomers to the genre. Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    This is an album that really blew me away. Pusha T really delivers with this one. The dark gritty production really compliments the drugThis is an album that really blew me away. Pusha T really delivers with this one. The dark gritty production really compliments the drug dealing lyrcism and Pusha T's snarling, menacing voice. Standout tracks include: "Numbers on the Board", "Suicide", "S.N.I.T.C.H.". Definitely one of my favorite albums this year Expand
  5. Dec 8, 2014
    9
    Calling back to the past of Clipse's 2006 fantastic record, "Hell Hath No Fury," this new "debut" from King Push himself feels like the sequelCalling back to the past of Clipse's 2006 fantastic record, "Hell Hath No Fury," this new "debut" from King Push himself feels like the sequel to that album that we always wanted. As a solo artist, Pusha constantly reminds you, with his wittiest and sharpest lines since going solo, of where he came from and what his life used to be like. Backed by near-flawless production from Kanye West, "My Name Is My Name" paints a dark, yet beautiful picture of cocaine and fame, with cold-blooded flows that fit right into each song. Standout songs for me would be where Pusha is able to flow freely with ice in his veins, such as on the fresh production of "Numbers On The Boards," the slinky sound of "Suicide," and the cocaine thematic "Nosetalgia." Expand
  6. Apr 11, 2014
    8
    Just listened to this album for the first time recently and I have to say I'm really impressed. The production on this album is on point andJust listened to this album for the first time recently and I have to say I'm really impressed. The production on this album is on point and so is his lyrics. Pusha T delivered a strong album with songs such as "Number On The Boards", "Nostalgia","Who Am I"and "S.N.I.T.C.H..Hopefully this album gets nominated for Best Rap Album at the 2015 Grammys. Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2013
    0
    can't just relate to crack music. i am not interested in that life style, the mase flow was ok but i actually thought that was mase rappingcan't just relate to crack music. i am not interested in that life style, the mase flow was ok but i actually thought that was mase rapping on there. i only mess with 3 tracks Expand

See all 31 User Reviews