Native

Native Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 97 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the third full-length studio release for the pop rock band led by singer-songwriter/producer Ryan Tedder.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Interscope
  • Genre(s): Pop, Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock
  • More Details and Credits »

Top Track

Counting Stars
Lately, I've been, I've been losing sleep Dreaming about the things that we could be But baby, I've been, I've been praying hard, Said, no more... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    Mar 26, 2013
    91
    This is chemically pure pop-rock--flavorless, transparent--and potent enough to melt your resistance like battery acid. [29 Mar 2013, p.75]
  2. Jun 11, 2013
    82
    OneRepublic’s latest effort proves that they are at the top of their respective genre, and it may be time to stop looking at them as the prince waiting-in-the-wings and finally hand them that goddamned crown.
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    70
    Tedder reveals a broad palette of stylistic inspiration.
  4. Mar 26, 2013
    70
    The craftsmanship is painstaking and impressive: layer upon layer of glossy keyboards, reverberant guitars and choirlike backing vocals (although Mr. Tedder applies too much obvious Auto-Tune to his leads). But these crystal-palace productions are proud showcases for unctuous, sometimes oddly morbid lyrics.
  5. Mar 26, 2013
    60
    While Tedder can on occasion craft lyrics that strike the perfect balance between simplicity and grandiosity, he flounders a bit too often on Native.
  6. Mar 26, 2013
    50
    The main problem is also the main asset: Tedder himself, a song savant who's a boring and characterless singer.
  7. Q Magazine
    May 13, 2013
    40
    Occasionally, things lift out of the bluster--unfortunately, in the case of Preacher, a terrible lyric--but even the Everybody Wants To Rule The World guitar on Life in Color or the relatively stately synth-pop of Something's Gotta Give can't make Native Anything but a great gas giant of a record. [Jun 2013, p.103]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    Honestly, this is one of the very few albums that I've ever given a full 10/10 score, it's just even better than expected! The music isHonestly, this is one of the very few albums that I've ever given a full 10/10 score, it's just even better than expected! The music is colorful, the vocals are amazing, the melodies seem to lift you up from the ground. Literally one of the best and most uplifting albums to ever grace my ears. Expand
  2. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    I find it really difficult to come to terms with poor "critic" reviews on music. Music, like most things, is about finding appeal with anI find it really difficult to come to terms with poor "critic" reviews on music. Music, like most things, is about finding appeal with an audience; and OneRepublic has aced that. Taking a twist on what made Waking Up such a hit, Native shines as having astoundingly well built songs that combine Tedder's unique voice with moving drum beats and catchy synth weaving. In terms of entertainment value, Native is one of the best albums of the genre to come out in a while. Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    Honestly, I wasn't expecting any good stuff from them when I first heard their single "If I Lose Myself". Not because that song isn't good orHonestly, I wasn't expecting any good stuff from them when I first heard their single "If I Lose Myself". Not because that song isn't good or something but only because they can do better, they are known for much broader view of pop rock genre and they provide the mainstream with fresh sound just like their previous records did. I like Native more than I liked Waking Up. It's better in every possible way. Ryan Tedder is a genius when it comes to melodies, compositions and musical arrangements. Of course, there are average songs, too, but when you listen to great ones, you will be blown away. The drum beat in "Can't Stop" is just marvelous, that song has so much power! The best songs are: Can't Stop; Au Revoir; Counting Stars, I lived; Burning Bridges Something's Gotta Give; Life in Color... oh, what the hell, listen to the whole record! I am proud to admit that OneRepublic is one of my top favorite bands, they make music that gives you a strong feeling, takes you to another level. Expand
  4. Mar 28, 2013
    8
    i didnt listen to rock album like native lomg time ago its energetic deep and brilliant album onerepublic gives us something deserve to be onei didnt listen to rock album like native lomg time ago its energetic deep and brilliant album onerepublic gives us something deserve to be one of the best music in 2013 Expand
  5. Sep 22, 2013
    8
    This album just screams eargasm in all directions. listen to if i lose myself, fast forward to 1:30 turn on headphones with max volume it willThis album just screams eargasm in all directions. listen to if i lose myself, fast forward to 1:30 turn on headphones with max volume it will blow you away. and i also have to mention counting stars, feel again, what you wanted, au revoir, something gotta give and life in color. also that dude can freaking SING man and the instrumentation is really cool aswell! a strong 8!!! Expand
  6. Dec 31, 2016
    7
    OneRepublic's Native is a decent third album that gets better and better with every revisit. This album takes a different musical directionOneRepublic's Native is a decent third album that gets better and better with every revisit. This album takes a different musical direction from their previous albums into a new and colourful sound. Though unfortunately some songs are weaker than others and that affects the album, the best songs being "Feel Again", "If I Lose Myself", "Can't Stop", "Counting Stars", "Preacher", "Life in Colour", "Burning Bridges" and "Au Revoir". Overall, it is a good album with some moments that aren't as pleasurable as others. Expand
  7. Dec 19, 2013
    3
    'Native' is the same from beginning to end, all the songs seems the same, and the singer is the most normal thing you can imagine, you find'Native' is the same from beginning to end, all the songs seems the same, and the singer is the most normal thing you can imagine, you find someone equal without even looking, and better too. Collapse

See all 24 User Reviews