Nothing But the Beat - David Guetta
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 70
  2. Negative: 15 out of 70

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 29, 2011
    9
    I have heard the entire album and assessing it is generally good, there are many styles of music, and many potential hits. I think he has done a good job for me is a great CD but must be heard to appreciate it.
  2. Aug 29, 2011
    5
    Despite the catchy singles, David Guetta made an awful job on this follow-up to 'One Love'. He is becoming a dance-pop version of previous hitmaker, Timbaland. Only Titanium is a really good surprise in the album, with the Afrojack-helped song. (I did not listen to the instrumental CD)
  3. Aug 31, 2011
    8
    As listening to this album you can really hear the lack of originality. Almost all songs remind of another song that you could hear on Top40 radio in the past 2 years (Night Of Your Life - Only Girl; Nothing Really Matters and Repeat - I Gotta Feeling; Turn Me On - S&M...). If we get over that, we have a generic pop record with club bangers and popular artists from today's music scene. In my opinion, the best songs are Where Them Girls At, Turn Me On & Without You. Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2011
    10
    I think David Guetta have done a very well-done job with this new album, yes it's true the album has a pair or three lack-rhythm songs, but most of them are full of rhythm, in addition there are different styles of music, each with a very good reference.
  5. Feb 3, 2012
    3
    This album is not good. Not at all. Yes, some songs are kind of catchy. But there's nothing that makes this album "stand out". It's all very plain, it lacks passion, it's got no unique sound, there's nothing that moves you to listen to it again. Don't buy this album. I made the same mistake and I can tell you, it's a waste of your money.
  6. Sep 12, 2011
    8
    I feel that Guetta has crafted an impressive follow up album to his last successful project. His production skills are exceptional and the effort contains amazing artists that range in genres from Jessie J to Nicki Minaj to Chris Brown. While not all tracks are perfect most of the album is pure dance/pop ear candy that will get people on their feet! Some amazing vocals and beats are featured, what's not to like? For my full review head to http://albumconfessions.blogspot.com/2011/09/david-guettas-nothing-but-beat.html Expand
  7. Sep 1, 2011
    8
    It is exactly what is expected from David Guetta. A lot of his songs are lyric-less and that's his style so you can't be mad. The songs with lyrics are all hits for sure. So that's around 12 songs. An album for a lot of artists. So all together great job, makes me want to boogie!
  8. Sep 3, 2011
    8
    Following "One Love", which was a great record, David Guetta did not have an easy job repeating it's success. But I must admit it, after listening closely to this album, I have to say it's a pretty solid record. "Titanium" feat. Sia completely amazed me, as I find it the highlight of this album. All in all, great album for listening in your car while on your way to the nightclub with your friends, or at a party, or anywhere basically. A solid 8. Expand
  9. Aug 29, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers. The album is eh. i kinda like it. it's good, and my basically favorite 2 songs are on it (night of your life and where dem girls at). So yeah he's been nominated for 7 things, won 10 awards, and in 2009 got third place for top 100 DJ's and again in 2010 in second place! He is really popular. So this album deserves a 7. Collapse
  10. Sep 21, 2011
    4
    Lowest common denominator house music for iPods and car radios. There's no flair or passion, just a drum machine beat to mostly mediocre samples from recent high-charting music.
  11. Jan 7, 2013
    8
    Let's face it, David Guetta is transforming himself into a French equivalent of Timbaland. Artists flocked to work with him, and you can't deny that some of his singles in this album are so strong that it's worth the price of admission. Case in point is Titanium, one of the strongest electro ballad in recent years. Turn Me On also cements Minaj's dance genre credibility. Fans may dislike him for going Pop, but you can't deny that Guetta is one of the strongest producer in the market today. Expand
  12. Mar 5, 2012
    3
    This is what any decent person would call absolutely awful and a discrace to music but it appears that Guetta has fans who are able to read to get onto Metacritic.
  13. Jun 6, 2012
    10
    Really Amazing Album!
    Every Song Is Freakin Awsooomomee!
  14. Sep 19, 2012
    5
    The instrumentals are well-made and diversified, but the "normal songs" are far too mainstream. The beats are dreary and only few of the singers impressed me. The two features of Sia are nice songs, but Jack Back's 'Wild Ones Two' is a hard low mark. Blame David Guetta for letting that guy come on his album - terrible remix. 'Where Them Girls At' is awesome and 'Play Hard' is some nice difference to other of his songs, but all in all it's too much pop and too little house. Expand
  15. Mar 9, 2013
    4
    Only one single is acceptable, but all the singles haves instrumental chorus, no new concepts, I'm tired of that, try something new, to make people dance for hours, to innovate.
  16. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    Really happy with his self-relating song "Without You" on this album. Him and Usher did a really, really nice job with it. I can relate to it so much, and this is why I got hooked on it. If you ever need a song to listen to, please just look it up and listen to it. It is a great song.
  17. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    Strong beats and insistently catchy lyrics. David Guetta shows he is a true master of a disc jockey. Very good artists are featured on this album who perfectly suited their songs. Stand out tracks include "Titanium," which features the angelic sounding Sia Furler, "Turn Me On," blasting "ear"gasmic vocals by the one and only Nicki Minaj. "Where Them Girls At," "Repeat", "Little Bad Girl" and I Just Wanna are among other stand outs. My one comment would be for the high use of auto-tune and other voice processing. Expand
  18. Apr 21, 2013
    3
    I did not like this album and i am disappointed that i spent money on it. I brought because of a few good songs such as where them girls at and titanium. But overwise the album is poor. Most of the songs are average filler, a few weak and a few were dreadful. The second disc is really boring as it is pure dance music which i don't even listen to. A big disappointment.
  19. Oct 31, 2013
    8
    I actually really like this album. I am usually not the type for dance music but this has awesome beats to it and with some pop touches on it makes it candy to me. Without you and titanium are essential downloads.
  20. Jul 10, 2014
    6
    Este álbum solo se salva por alguna que otra canción medio decente. Bastante pobre comparado con el anterior álbum a este, sin duda bastante mas recomendable que este.
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. With four-on-the-floor dance music the nearest the actually popular pop world came to mindless rocking out in 2011, I only wish it had a few "I Gotta Feeling"s.
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    20
    It's fine that none of this is the least bit subtle. Memorable, or anything other than baseline catchy, is another thing entirely. [#81, p. 56]
  3. Sep 27, 2011
    40
    Nothing But the Beat is in many ways a showcase of everything that is bad about pop music in 2011: derivative, novelty, shallow, rushed, Auto-Tuned to the ends of the earth and thoroughly uninteresting.