• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Jul 10, 2007
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 315 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 315

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. rogers.
    Jul 10, 2007
    0
    very boring!
  2. RJM.
    Jul 13, 2007
    2
    the fact is, this album might be pretty good if someone else wrote the lyrics. paul banks' lyrics have always been bad, but before now they somehow stayed beneath the surface and didn't overtake the songs. now, on 'our love to admire'--the title itself is horrible, as well as the album cover--the lyrics stand out, and they are just downright abysmal. lines like this the fact is, this album might be pretty good if someone else wrote the lyrics. paul banks' lyrics have always been bad, but before now they somehow stayed beneath the surface and didn't overtake the songs. now, on 'our love to admire'--the title itself is horrible, as well as the album cover--the lyrics stand out, and they are just downright abysmal. lines like this are plentiful: "And now I select you, slow down I let you; see how I stun, see how I stun." dear god. this review is coming from someone whose favorite album ever is 'turn on the bright lights'. fuck this shit. interpol is finished. Expand
  3. markb.
    Jul 5, 2007
    0
    boring
  4. interpolfannyc
    Jul 7, 2007
    3
    since i'm a pretty ferocious follower of interpol's past works, i have given this album 20 solid listens so far to see whether i could connect with it like i did with their past two LPs. unfortunately, i remain highly disappointed. not the direction i personally envisioned them taking, but it could just be my biased ear.
  5. johnj
    Jul 11, 2007
    0
    Horrible album, compared to their previous albums. It sounds stale, dated and old.
  6. MattC.
    Jul 12, 2007
    1
    I am tired of Interpol.
  7. mandyk.
    Jul 6, 2007
    0
    overrated album, listen to bauhaus!
  8. TommyL
    Jul 7, 2007
    0
    Possibly the most overrated band of our time. Some of the most boring and repetitive music I've ever had the misfortunate pleasure of hearing.
  9. SommerR.
    Jul 11, 2007
    0
    Their worst album, and of the year too, buy the Linkin' Park album, is better!
  10. BodegaN.
    Jul 13, 2007
    0
    Pure turd.
  11. YampierM.
    Jul 9, 2007
    3
    Our Love to Admire lacks everything that made Interpol exciting and relevent. Instead it's filled with pointless songs that never evolve into anything substantial. The urgency and focus present in the previous albums is not only gone, but it's hard to believe that they were made by the same band. At best Our Love to Admire is a mediocre collection of b-sides.
  12. KennethC.
    Oct 14, 2007
    2
    I can't believe we waited for this. The mystery that was once interpol seems to have finally come to light. Dark shape shifting lyrics have given way to undercooked half sarcastic lyrics. The music seems to be exactly what one might expect and the melodies are mediocre at best.
  13. SandraC.
    Jul 11, 2007
    2
    i felt sick after listening to this album. it's just missing...a lot. and what is there gets extremely tedious on repeated listens. the only bright spot is the heinrich maneuver, so i'm giving this 2 because it's the number of good songs on this (pioneer to the falls is growing on me). i love interpol as much as the next person who grew up with turn on the bright lights, i felt sick after listening to this album. it's just missing...a lot. and what is there gets extremely tedious on repeated listens. the only bright spot is the heinrich maneuver, so i'm giving this 2 because it's the number of good songs on this (pioneer to the falls is growing on me). i love interpol as much as the next person who grew up with turn on the bright lights, but maybe it's time to let it all go. FUCK. Expand
  14. KayR.
    Jul 12, 2007
    3
    It really does sound like the band is out of ideas -- and any they had have been pilfered and done better by Editors.
  15. AllanD
    Jul 29, 2007
    3
    Disappointing album. Don't waste your time. New fans, compare to their first album "Turn on the Bright Lights" which is actually good.
  16. TBONE
    Nov 22, 2007
    3
    Not great. Maybe 3-4 medicore songs. Pass on this one.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. The black-clad New York quartet still sounds inflexibly menacing, grasping tighter than ever to its doomy post-punk influences and delving further into frontman Paul Banks's emotional unrest.
  2. Our Love to Admire fleshes out the dark edges of Interpol's sound to create a polished, muscular-sounding record that teems with life and bristling potency.
  3. With giant gyrating reverberated guitars and a grandiose brass section, this is the sound of a rock band attempting the sweeping gallantry of Sibelius or Tchaikovsky and getting away with it. It represents a smugly victorious ending to what is a phenomenally strong and well-polished album.