• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Jul 10, 2007
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 315 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 315

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ZinD.
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    Everybody who awaited this third album shouldn't be dissapointed, but ratherly satisfied.For we all should know that the first and the second album were NOT ment to be replicas, but different arts of creations.
  2. MathieuP
    Jul 23, 2007
    8
    For my opinion, far better than Antics but it will be hard to reach the quality of Turn on the Bright Lights
  3. BrendanN
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    This album is so amazing that one more song of this quality would be almost earth-shattering. I get chills during every song, and there are several moments on the album that are so gorgeous to hear that I wouldn't be surprised if multiple listens bring tears of joy to my eyes.
  4. LouA
    Jul 9, 2007
    7
    Some of the songs on this record are more memorable than Antics; however, it's not as consistent. A few "filler" tracks, as well as a lack of improvement in Paul Banks' lyrics, prevent this record from being a classic like its debut. The rhythm section seems to be subdued this time around; however, Banks' improved vocal range helps carry the melody of a few songs (i.e. Pace Some of the songs on this record are more memorable than Antics; however, it's not as consistent. A few "filler" tracks, as well as a lack of improvement in Paul Banks' lyrics, prevent this record from being a classic like its debut. The rhythm section seems to be subdued this time around; however, Banks' improved vocal range helps carry the melody of a few songs (i.e. Pace is the Trick and Wrecking Ball) and the album sounds more cinematic than TOTBL. I recommend this album; however, don't expect it on too many best lists of 2007. Expand
  5. BazzaDazza
    Jul 9, 2007
    8
    Great opening for 6 or seven trackes let down by the last 2/3 - have teh feeling these songs would play live fantastically
  6. KG
    Jul 10, 2007
    8
    don't know if i love it as much as antics yet. it's got that something that keeps bringing me back to it though, bringing out new details in each listen. damn impressive though, permission to wait as long for the next one.
  7. ThijsM
    Jul 10, 2007
    8
    Never heard of the band before, but I bought the album based on some soundbites on myspace. Their sound has grabbed me; epic, explosive and powerful. Bit like a massive wave hitting you....Great stuff
  8. ges.
    Jul 16, 2007
    9
    a great album by the best band of the last 5 years...
  9. SaraB.
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    A muscular, bipolar stomper of an album.
  10. ZacharyS
    Jul 10, 2007
    9
    Its a super great album...however there are parts that don't hook me like some of the old Interpol did, but overall and personally, this is my favorite Interpol album...it's great to see them change a bit...and have Paul sing a little more than drone...
  11. MartinB.
    Jul 19, 2007
    10
    Like Natasha D. said - every listen is more and more rewarding. "Pace is the Trick" and "Pioneer to the Falls" make it worth the price of admission alone. I think, judging from this album's reception more than ever, that you either like Interpol's sound as-is, or you don't.
  12. MarioR
    Jul 28, 2007
    9
    This is the best Interpol album to date
  13. JimJ
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    I don't see how people can think the Editors are just as good or better than Interpol. This album blows the competition away.
  14. Thompson
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    The best album I've heard since Arcade Fire's The Funeral. Our Love To Admire is another fine achievement by Interpol.
  15. AndréT.
    Jul 7, 2007
    10
    Really pleasant... The better of the 3 album's.
  16. PoloK.
    Jul 7, 2007
    10
    I will admit I wasn't expecting great things from this album. I thought Turn On The Bright Lights was great, but felt that Antics was a step back. I feared that Interpol would lose their way artistically and release a sub-par commercial record. I was wrong. Very very wrong. This is the best album that Interpol have released without a shadow of doubt. It is immense. It is artistic. It I will admit I wasn't expecting great things from this album. I thought Turn On The Bright Lights was great, but felt that Antics was a step back. I feared that Interpol would lose their way artistically and release a sub-par commercial record. I was wrong. Very very wrong. This is the best album that Interpol have released without a shadow of doubt. It is immense. It is artistic. It is beautiful. I love it and so will you. Expand
  17. AdamK.
    Jul 8, 2007
    8
    Better and stronger than Antics... little worse than Turn On The Bright Lights. By the way; one of the most interesting "guitar experiences" this year...
  18. EoinO.
    Jul 9, 2007
    8
    Better than Antics, they're starting to strive for a new sound, and it's working for me
  19. allanc.
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    a enjoining disc, one of the best albums in the world of indie in 2007,
  20. erick.
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    It's tops, I get goose bumps throughout the whole album as I do on the their first two albums.
  21. BobB
    Aug 2, 2007
    8
    solid record. streets ahead of antics. indie wankers are full of excrement.
  22. BillB
    Aug 24, 2007
    8
    Our love to Admire is another great addition to their lineup of magical albums. I don't know if it beats Antics, but it sure is close!
  23. Shes_soLoose
    Aug 31, 2007
    9
    I'm in a minority here, as I did NOT like either Turn on the bright lights or Antics. The first one had some glacial heart to it, but it was too obsessively repetitive hence ultimately boring (although Obstacle 1 was admittedly great); Antics on the other hand was poppier and even less interesting. I was pleasantly surprised by this record. It is top-heavy and not at all flawless, I'm in a minority here, as I did NOT like either Turn on the bright lights or Antics. The first one had some glacial heart to it, but it was too obsessively repetitive hence ultimately boring (although Obstacle 1 was admittedly great); Antics on the other hand was poppier and even less interesting. I was pleasantly surprised by this record. It is top-heavy and not at all flawless, BUT not only I like The Heinrich Maneuver, The Scale, Lighthouse and No I in Threesome; I also think that Pioneer to the Falls is one of the very best songs written by anybody in this decade. For that alone, Interpol deserve big kudos, but the album on the whole is, as full of high and lows as it is, a very good one nonetheless. My pick for 2007 thus far. Expand
  24. VladyE
    Aug 9, 2007
    10
    Our Love to Admire is my favorite Interpol album by a hair. Tracks 1-6 are amazing, as is "Rest my Chemistry." "Pace is the Trick," "Pioneer to the Falls," and "Heinrich Maneuver" are almost at the level at the unbelievable top three tracks on Antics- "Evil," "Narc," and "Slow Hands." It tails off a bit at the end, but edges out Antics by a bit. AWESOME.
  25. HC
    Feb 20, 2008
    7
    There certainly are thrilling moments on this album, but I'm not sure of the direction they took things.
  26. TroyH
    Sep 20, 2008
    10
    If you haven't heard interpol I suggest you start here. Might not be my favorite album of thier's but it is as good as any of them. I'm glad these guy's make music.
  27. DarcyC
    Oct 5, 2007
    8
    Can't compare to TOTBL, however the haunting throb of Pioneer to the Falls makes the whole album worthwhile.
  28. EricoM.
    Jul 11, 2007
    9
    It's a great album. I think if you don't like the style, don't vote or critic. I love the Interpol's depressin songs and lyrics. If you don't shut up. Go listen Fergie or some American Idol singer and be happy
  29. ToddW.
    Jul 10, 2007
    7
    Interpol has reached a point in their career where their latest offering was anticipated with all the hype reserved for an Arcade Fire, or maybe even a Radiohead. Would that Our Love To Admire match the hype, but it doesn't. The album opens with one of the best songs they've ever done, Pioneer to the Falls, but then the rest of the album relies on lead guitarist Daniel Kessler Interpol has reached a point in their career where their latest offering was anticipated with all the hype reserved for an Arcade Fire, or maybe even a Radiohead. Would that Our Love To Admire match the hype, but it doesn't. The album opens with one of the best songs they've ever done, Pioneer to the Falls, but then the rest of the album relies on lead guitarist Daniel Kessler to carry the melodies, and this from a band that built its reputation on everyone being able to pick up the baton with alacrity. There's too much of the bombast of Antics, without any of its sporadic OMG moments, and not enough of the space, darkness, and overarching melodic subtlety that made Turn On the Bright Lights one of the best debut albums ever. Wrecking Ball and the closing song, The Lighthouse, give one hope for the future of this obviously important New York City band, but if they want to be admired, they'd better fall back in love with shared melody and tales from the mean streets they once mined so beautifully. Expand
  30. JadH
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    Awesome cd .. it took 2 listens to grow on me. Personal favorites are Pace is the Trick, The Scale, Rest My Chemistry, and Pioneer to the Falls. These critics are retarded ... I guarantee they never give cds more than 1 listen and they love to be pompous jerks (ahem Pitchfork ahem). Id say that what users say is more accurate to how the cd really is.
  31. DaveH.
    Jul 10, 2007
    7
    This a decent album. It's definitely Interpol, as the Pitchfork reviewer mentioned, there is a considerable lack of Carlos D on bass and Sam F on the drums. The orchestration is a new touch for these guys, but I miss the bass guitar. This album mostly sounds like vocals and lead guitar which gets tiring after about three songs. Decent album but not great.
  32. AG.
    Jul 11, 2007
    8
    The National gets rave reviews and this is panned. . . (sigh) Got to love critics. . . .
  33. NikkiG
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    Brilliant! I was not to impressed with antics... but a band's 2nd cd always seems to be a low point in their career. Defintaley not as good as Turn on the Bright Lights, but I am glad that it is not just rippin on the success of that cd to make a TBL part 2. Though their growth may have taken them into a new direction while many want them to standstill in the glory of that one Brilliant! I was not to impressed with antics... but a band's 2nd cd always seems to be a low point in their career. Defintaley not as good as Turn on the Bright Lights, but I am glad that it is not just rippin on the success of that cd to make a TBL part 2. Though their growth may have taken them into a new direction while many want them to standstill in the glory of that one album... I am just happy to have something new to listen to that is pleasurable! Expand
  34. BrandonC.
    Jul 12, 2007
    8
    I don't know what everyone is complaing about, it's an Interpol album. I think every review should just simply say "It sounds like an Interpol album." If you like Interpol you will like this CD. If you don't you won't. Duh.
  35. [Anonymous]
    Jul 14, 2007
    9
    fucking great album
  36. DylanS
    Jul 10, 2007
    9
    Damn good CD, go out and buy it. Just as good (if not better) than Bright Lights, which I feel was always vastly overrated. Disregard any reviews here that are negative, musical purist always get pissy when a band goes major label -- trust me it aint bad. If anything Interpol going major label, and thus insane, has stopped them from the banality of their last 2 CDs and allowed them to Damn good CD, go out and buy it. Just as good (if not better) than Bright Lights, which I feel was always vastly overrated. Disregard any reviews here that are negative, musical purist always get pissy when a band goes major label -- trust me it aint bad. If anything Interpol going major label, and thus insane, has stopped them from the banality of their last 2 CDs and allowed them to create something quite beautiful. Expand
  37. NadirtL.
    Jul 10, 2007
    9
    Maybe more enjoyable than Antics. A fantastic record with instant classics: Pioneer To The Falls, No I In Threesome, Pace Is The Trick, Rest My Chemistry, Mammoth, Wrecking Ball and Lighthouse. Don't get caught up in the "big label= bad record" cliche evaluation. TOTBL was and is insurmountable, but show me another band that can bust out an album like Admire. Every song different, Maybe more enjoyable than Antics. A fantastic record with instant classics: Pioneer To The Falls, No I In Threesome, Pace Is The Trick, Rest My Chemistry, Mammoth, Wrecking Ball and Lighthouse. Don't get caught up in the "big label= bad record" cliche evaluation. TOTBL was and is insurmountable, but show me another band that can bust out an album like Admire. Every song different, and unlike anything else any other band is putting out. Giddy! Expand
  38. EdwardS.
    Jul 17, 2007
    10
    This cd is fucking GREAT, screw all the critics, they like listening to queer shit! Viva Interpol!!!!!!!
  39. NatashaD.
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    Grows on me with every listen. People complaining that the album "Still sounds like Interpol" confuse me. Is that a bad thing?
  40. AramisG
    Jul 20, 2007
    7
    Hmmm, a lot of good work went into this album, but I think internal stressors within the band (certain members facinations to hip hop, movie making, etc...) have led to an album that doesn't quite feel commited. The hooks, breaks and changes aren't as energetic as before. Also why would they down play the rythm section (one of their strong points)? Well whatever, it is here and Hmmm, a lot of good work went into this album, but I think internal stressors within the band (certain members facinations to hip hop, movie making, etc...) have led to an album that doesn't quite feel commited. The hooks, breaks and changes aren't as energetic as before. Also why would they down play the rythm section (one of their strong points)? Well whatever, it is here and it is pretty good, just not as great as everyone anticipated. Hopefully these rich whinners will stop breaking up every two seconds, pursuing irrelevant hobbies and realize how lucky they are to have formed such a popular band. Get back to work. Expand
  41. benk.
    Jul 20, 2007
    7
    three brilliant songs; all in all interpol do what they're best at; no use for a third album if you have the first and second.
  42. Daniel
    Jul 29, 2007
    10
    Round, beautiful short-novel
  43. OliverR.
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    What's remarkable about this album is it's ability to completely change what you thought Interpol was. Critics often use the phrase "maturest album to date", in the case of Our Love To Admire, this statement is inherently true. Perhaps their darkest, most claustrophobic release, but easily their most consitent and thefore their most birlliant. Magic.
  44. RonnieD
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    BEST ALBUM OF THE YEAR. I don't have to listen to anything else. This band has gone above and beyond in every possible way to create this glorious masterpiece. Interpol you now belong in list of the greatest bands of all-time.
  45. Drake
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    The best post-punk/Alternative rock album since the Cure's classic "Disintegration" came out and blew everyone away. Interpol has done the unthinkable...they've made three great albums in a row. Which is a very hard thing to do nowadays especially with the crap that's out in music, right now. Best songs on the album are without a doubt--Pioneer to the Falls, No I in The best post-punk/Alternative rock album since the Cure's classic "Disintegration" came out and blew everyone away. Interpol has done the unthinkable...they've made three great albums in a row. Which is a very hard thing to do nowadays especially with the crap that's out in music, right now. Best songs on the album are without a doubt--Pioneer to the Falls, No I in Threesome, Pace Is the Trick, Who Do You Think?, All Fired Up, Lighthouse, but with Interpol all there songs are always good. Hopefully this album is a huge hit, cause, this band deserves it. Thank you Interpol. Expand
  46. CarlS.
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    *&$! this is a masterpiece record. After so much disappointment over releases from bravery and the editors, this is is an amazingly rich release. They have lost none of their drama and parts of this album exceed the first. It's also a welcome relief after Antics, which took a while to appreciate. "My god" indeed.
  47. Gill
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    A definite contender for album of the year, it's so good. Interpol has taken Alternative rock to whole another level with this album. Simply incredible music!
  48. Allan
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    their best yet
  49. NeilP
    Jul 6, 2007
    9
    Maybe its better than Antics. This was a very enjoyable listen. Listen to Pace Is the Trick.
  50. JoeR.
    Jul 7, 2007
    9
    Fantastic album.
  51. koertg.
    Jul 7, 2007
    10
    Simply an amazing album! Every song definitely has its place on the album, and the songs sound well layered and heart-crafted. Interpol IS the best in its kind!
  52. stuc.
    Jul 7, 2007
    10
    Interpol can do no wrong! they keep on getting better, when will it end? not any time soon i suspect
  53. JAVIERM.
    Jul 7, 2007
    10
    Negritud afianzada. Su "disintegration" particular, solo hay dos crupos en el mundo capaz de ejemplificar la austeridad de estos tiempos.
  54. AndreaD.
    Jul 8, 2007
    9
    awesome
  55. christianp.
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    Their best yet! The band continues to improve and explore. Bigger and brighter than Antics and tighter and more focused than Turn on the Bright Lights. So far, it is second only to The National for album of the year.
  56. DieterK.
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    Framed by the hypnotizing and majestic "Pioneer" and the irritating "Lighthouse" they present nine mostly great tracks that finally make the notorious questions regarding their stylistic influences sound ridiculous. This is Interpol, plain and musically expanded, and to my mind it sounds awesome.
  57. TylerD.
    Jul 9, 2007
    8
    This is a great album. People always are expecting bands to keep changing (like Radiohead), and that is great/necessary and all, but once in a while, I want to have a band that I know will sound consistent. Interpol is like that. This album may sound just like other songs in the past, but that is why I like them. I know I can hear "classic" Interpol, while still getting "new" Interpol. This is a great album. People always are expecting bands to keep changing (like Radiohead), and that is great/necessary and all, but once in a while, I want to have a band that I know will sound consistent. Interpol is like that. This album may sound just like other songs in the past, but that is why I like them. I know I can hear "classic" Interpol, while still getting "new" Interpol. Does that make any sense? I'm just rambling... Expand
  58. MM
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    This is album is so great that it nearly brought me to tears the first time I heard it, especially listening to PTTF and Pace Is the Trick. WOW!! Album of the year, no doubt about it. I also smell Grammy's for the boys. You deserve it.
  59. emilyw.
    Jul 9, 2007
    9
    Tiny Mix Tapes has officially lost it. If you need any proof of that, just give a listen to around 90% of the albums they give glowing reviews to. They are shit. And not shit in the way the TMT reviewer of this album considers Interpol's new, amazing record to be. Shit like really ambient, electronic, nonsense garbage, where people like the reviewers at TMT think they have covered Tiny Mix Tapes has officially lost it. If you need any proof of that, just give a listen to around 90% of the albums they give glowing reviews to. They are shit. And not shit in the way the TMT reviewer of this album considers Interpol's new, amazing record to be. Shit like really ambient, electronic, nonsense garbage, where people like the reviewers at TMT think they have covered their asses by praising it because if you say it's bad, they will just counter with, "You just don't get it." Well, maybe you can get this TMT reviewers: this album is brilliant and you are fucking retards. You can keep your Juana Molina and other progressive electronic shit. I'll just stick with bands that make great music. Expand
  60. robertg.
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    OTLA could be my top album of the year (other contenders: The National, Blonde Redhead, Twilight Sad, Of Montreal, Modest Mouse). However, Interpol is my favorite band, so I may like them more than most. I like OLTA better than Antics but not as much as Turn On The Bright Lights, which may be my favorite album ever. Much like the National's Boxer, numerous llistens are required to OTLA could be my top album of the year (other contenders: The National, Blonde Redhead, Twilight Sad, Of Montreal, Modest Mouse). However, Interpol is my favorite band, so I may like them more than most. I like OLTA better than Antics but not as much as Turn On The Bright Lights, which may be my favorite album ever. Much like the National's Boxer, numerous llistens are required to form an opinion. Another masterpiece by Interpol. Expand
  61. Alex
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    Its Good. Better then Antics. I thought they were gonna screw up this album big time, but I was wrong.
  62. RayF.
    Jul 9, 2007
    9
    This is easily their most polished, cutting and haunting album to date. With this release Interpol finally prove they're more than Joy Division wannabees. Their angst is the real deal.
  63. ChrisE.
    Jul 9, 2007
    9
    such a good album , pace is the trick "the track".. it has a great opening too, but nothing like "untitled"..
  64. kg
    Jul 9, 2007
    8
    it's good, as good as antics on the whole, but not as good as "bright lights" on the whole (probably nothing ever will be). there's a black and white celebration for me between the good/listenable songs on OLTA and the bad ones: the good songs: pioneer (fascinating, intense) heinrich (catchy solid rock tune) mammoth (great vibe, pulsating goodness) pace (great linear approach, it's good, as good as antics on the whole, but not as good as "bright lights" on the whole (probably nothing ever will be). there's a black and white celebration for me between the good/listenable songs on OLTA and the bad ones: the good songs: pioneer (fascinating, intense) heinrich (catchy solid rock tune) mammoth (great vibe, pulsating goodness) pace (great linear approach, my fav on the disc, really comes together nicely to create a dim feel) fired up (title says it all, the song fires you up) chemistry ( repetitive goodness, nice moderate pace) who do you (catchy upbeat, does what C'MERE could only partially achieve) meanwhile the bad, which do nothing for me at all: no i in 3some (booorrrrinng, yawn) scale (feels unnecessary with "chemistry" already present wrecking ball (starts good and just dies after verse two) lighthouse (wow, it's simply noise to me) Expand
  65. DamienD
    Aug 1, 2007
    10
    The greatest achievement of 07. A brilliant return by Interpol!
  66. ErikR
    Aug 1, 2007
    9
    Excellent album!!!
  67. Yannis
    Aug 13, 2007
    9
    Don't let the critics disappoint you. This is an album of great musical depth. Needs some listens to reveal all of its beauty, but then it turns into pure aural pleasure. The guitar work is haunting, the structure of the songs wisely designed. It lacks the spontaneity of "Antics", but then, make no mistake: this is not punk. I would say it is rock near the borders of classical and Don't let the critics disappoint you. This is an album of great musical depth. Needs some listens to reveal all of its beauty, but then it turns into pure aural pleasure. The guitar work is haunting, the structure of the songs wisely designed. It lacks the spontaneity of "Antics", but then, make no mistake: this is not punk. I would say it is rock near the borders of classical and soundtrack music. Expand
  68. ShaneR
    Aug 21, 2007
    9
    It takes some time for your brain to work out all the little musical niggles in each song, and before this development happens, the album is a struggle to listen to, but after this happens, you have an album that, in my opinion, is unparallel to anything recently available in the charts. Banks' lyrics are unfortunately not as inspiring as the previous two albums, some of them are It takes some time for your brain to work out all the little musical niggles in each song, and before this development happens, the album is a struggle to listen to, but after this happens, you have an album that, in my opinion, is unparallel to anything recently available in the charts. Banks' lyrics are unfortunately not as inspiring as the previous two albums, some of them are really bad actually, but this does not take anything away from the listening experience on offer here for me. "Pioneer to the Falls", "Pace is the Trick" and "Wrecking Ball" are stunning. "All Fired Up" is the only disappointing, skip-able track here for me. Expand
  69. jeffr
    Aug 2, 2007
    9
    takes a few listens - around the 5th or 6th go-around, i began to "get" the album, and stop wishing it was antics 2. it's really a fantastic record, every song is a keeper and is independently memorable. I guess i differ from the majority in feeling like it's not all that much like the other two - it feels like a solid departure, while still retaining what is classically interpol.
  70. benf
    Aug 4, 2007
    10
    3rd masterpiece in a row by the greatest band ever.
  71. JyotirmayaD
    Aug 4, 2007
    7
    One of the most anticipated albums of 2007, and it is very satisfying... Interpol are going with their flow and adding new melodies and instrumentals which makes their sound fresh -- it shows them trying new things with much success. Bravo!
  72. XY
    Oct 8, 2008
    10
    Not quite on the level of classic as "TOTBL" and "Antics" but still one of the best all around albums of 07. "No I in Threesome", "Pace is the Trick", "Rest my Chemistry", & "The Lighthouse" are among some of the best songs they've ever written. So, for that alone this a 10.
  73. KyleL
    Feb 3, 2008
    8
    The ratings keep going down! Turn On The Bright Lights: 10 Antics:9 Our Love To Admire: 8.
  74. JuliaAnderso.n
    May 2, 2008
    9
    Amazing, best album so far! Much more depth, letting Carlos use his talents in other ways.
  75. RushanM.
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    Gem of a album, pure gem.
  76. MR
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    OLTA cements Interpol's status as the best rock band of this decade. Joy who?
  77. BrianV.
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    Another great, entirely cohesive effort from Interpol. Keep it up, boys!
  78. MikeW.
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    It blends together the ethereal feel of TOTBL with the more singalong nature of Antics to perfectly advance the Interpol sound. It DOES take time to get under the skin, which a few of these reviewers clearly haven't got enough of, but rewards the patient.
  79. rayray
    Jul 11, 2007
    8
    It was pretty hard rating this album. They are at their best on maybe 6 songs, and are pretty bad on the rest. The sound is closer to Antics that I wished it was, but in my opinion it is still stronger than their latest release without being as good as their first (they will probably never record an album as good as TOTBL).
  80. MJB
    Jul 11, 2007
    7
    I never much cared for Interpol, but overall, this is my favorite album of theirs. It's the one that's easiest to take as a cohesive whole, and there are a few songs that shine ("No I In Threesome," "Pioneer To The Falls").
  81. tonys
    Jul 11, 2007
    7
    not as good as antics or turn on the blinking lights, but definatly still a good album. I enjoyed it, you should give it a listen :) interpol rocks
  82. LauraC
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    They've evolved as a band, and it isn't a bad thing.
  83. Allan
    Jul 11, 2007
    9
    their best yet
  84. MiguelM.
    Jul 11, 2007
    9
    Definitively a change from the previous albums but not a bad one! Songs take a little more time to sink in but the provoking lyrics help. I think the band is really up to something and listineng to Our Love to Admire makes me feel like I'm witnessing something great unravel.
  85. NickE
    Jul 11, 2007
    8
    I like some of the things they tried on this album - adding more instruments and trying to add texture to their sound - and they get bonus points from me for titling a song "No I in Threesome". Nonetheless, in many respects this is more of the same (not necessarily a bad thing if you sound like Interpol). I think some of the negative comments and reviews suggest that people had misplaced I like some of the things they tried on this album - adding more instruments and trying to add texture to their sound - and they get bonus points from me for titling a song "No I in Threesome". Nonetheless, in many respects this is more of the same (not necessarily a bad thing if you sound like Interpol). I think some of the negative comments and reviews suggest that people had misplaced expectations for this album. Yes, there are some complete dud songs on here, and yes, Banks' lyrics are often embarrassingly awkward and gauche. But every Interpol album has been like that - half the tracks are killer, half are forgettable. The worst thing you can say about this one is that they haven't made a huge leap and this isn't the "OK Computer"-like masterpiece we'd all love for this band to make. Expand
  86. MycroftW.
    Jul 11, 2007
    7
    Joy Division never made it past two records, so, who knows, maybe their third would have start to sound average as well. A few bright lights on this, but for the most part I'm left hoping that a modern day Arthur Baker can help these guys record their own Blue Monday
  87. DD
    Jul 12, 2007
    10
    Another milestone by Interpol.
  88. solso
    Jul 12, 2007
    9
    It does have a few duds but the others make up for it. Pace is the trick is one of interpols best. And yes the critics are retarded i read one of the reviews and they incorrectly quoted the lyrics
  89. 1010
    Jul 12, 2007
    10
    10
  90. fanfanfan
    Jul 14, 2007
    10
    some of these review are senseless..."not the direction i personally envisioned them taking"??? thank god it isn't up to you, it is up to the band. thank you interpol for one of the years best albums. the songs are exciting, dense, and captivating. and to "Ian C.", I would reverse the scores you gave each album (but make antic even higher). their first album had a handful of great some of these review are senseless..."not the direction i personally envisioned them taking"??? thank god it isn't up to you, it is up to the band. thank you interpol for one of the years best albums. the songs are exciting, dense, and captivating. and to "Ian C.", I would reverse the scores you gave each album (but make antic even higher). their first album had a handful of great songs and a lot of forgettable joy division rip offs. antic tightened it up and now they are exploring with a sound they have mastered. i'm sorry ian, go hang yourself (again). Expand
  91. MeatB.
    Jul 14, 2007
    10
    This is one heck of an album! Definitely worth the long 3 years wait. OLTA is just as good as TOTBL and Antics, don't listen to what the critics say. Interpol is clearly one of the best bands in the world.
  92. BrendanH
    Jul 14, 2007
    9
    Love it...expansive production, great songs. Totally disagree about the rhythm players being A.W.O.L. Carlos contributes some fine, menacing lines throughout, and Fogarino is excellent as usual. I think the problem that the "1 listen" reviewers are having is that this is a much more restrained and subtle record than, say, the new White Stripes. Not a record that needs to beat you over the Love it...expansive production, great songs. Totally disagree about the rhythm players being A.W.O.L. Carlos contributes some fine, menacing lines throughout, and Fogarino is excellent as usual. I think the problem that the "1 listen" reviewers are having is that this is a much more restrained and subtle record than, say, the new White Stripes. Not a record that needs to beat you over the head to make its point, more like a slow burn. One of the best of the year, so far. Expand
  93. MarkB.
    Jul 14, 2007
    7
    Personally I don't think Our Love To Admire is as good as TOTBL or Antics. But it is still a good solid listen. It took me a few listens to really get into it. But now I can't stop listening to it. The difficult third album has arrived. Some love it, some hate it. It's not a masterpiece in my opinion, but still a record you should own if you enjoyed the previous two.,
  94. SamF.
    Jul 17, 2007
    9
    One of the albums of the year
  95. KevinO.
    Jul 17, 2007
    7
    Its ok, not great. It lacks the cuts, breaks and climaxes of antics. A little disappointing considering the time it took to get it out there.
  96. JonB
    Jul 21, 2007
    10
    This is the 1st Interpol album I have bought. I know that this is a wicked album so I really couldn't care less what anyone else thinks. Pace is the Trick is my favourite track. Ace.
  97. PaulF
    Jul 20, 2007
    9
    this album is full of soaring guitars and melodies that make your insides feel like they're about to explode. interpol have made an album that fills the listener with feelings of invincibilty and heart ache at the same time...
  98. RodrigoD.
    Jul 23, 2007
    10
    Darkly Perfect!!!
  99. LuisZ
    Jul 24, 2007
    10
    Great Album, darker than Antics.
  100. SteveK
    Jul 27, 2007
    9
    Interpol maintain a unique style that distinguishes them from a lot of the other stuff out there. The new record is more commercial then the earlier ones but certainly among the best albums of the year. Almost all songs are good.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. The black-clad New York quartet still sounds inflexibly menacing, grasping tighter than ever to its doomy post-punk influences and delving further into frontman Paul Banks's emotional unrest.
  2. Our Love to Admire fleshes out the dark edges of Interpol's sound to create a polished, muscular-sounding record that teems with life and bristling potency.
  3. With giant gyrating reverberated guitars and a grandiose brass section, this is the sound of a rock band attempting the sweeping gallantry of Sibelius or Tchaikovsky and getting away with it. It represents a smugly victorious ending to what is a phenomenally strong and well-polished album.