Pink Friday Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 353 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After making an explosive debut appearing on other artist's songs, rapper Nicki Minaj finally releases her debut of electro-infused, bold, and hook-heavy hip-hop.
Buy On

Top Track

Super Bass
This one is for the boys with the booming system Top down, AC with the cooling system When he come up in the club, he be blazin' up Got stacks on... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Half rapping and half singing, half bragging and half kowtowing, brazening a "punt" rhyme here and proclaiming commonality with "girls that never thought they could win" there, she's proud to be shameless, with the hooks to back it up.
  2. Dec 9, 2010
    80
    No matter how many boasts and taunts she drops, it's clear Minaj is proud of how far she's come.
  3. 75
    Pink Friday shows Minaj is on the cusp - considering her facility with accents, she could be the perfect person to find a new patois, one that's built of separate musical languages but without breaking any of them down.
  4. Dec 9, 2010
    70
    Pink Friday isn't a classic by any means, then, but when Nicki Minaj is on fire nobody in hip hop – male or female – can extinguish her bright-burning talents.
  5. Dec 9, 2010
    64
    Pink Friday, while certainly far from profound, is neatly rooted in predictability and vulgarity. But then again, would we have Minaj any other way?
  6. Dec 15, 2010
    60
    Living up to expectations is tough, especially ones as high as those that have been hovering over Minaj throughout 2010. But it's hard to see who actually wanted to hear a record like this, stripped of curiosities and bombast, that leaves the biggest talent in hip hop with more to prove than ever.
  7. Jan 5, 2011
    30
    Pink Friday is a real shame, albeit a very well-marketed one, and since it's found its niche, it's no surprise the album was a fair success for Minaj.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 79
  2. Negative: 16 out of 79
  1. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    One of the most awaited albums of 2011 and it did not disappoint. The album is consistent, charming, makes everyone know who Nicki Minaj is.One of the most awaited albums of 2011 and it did not disappoint. The album is consistent, charming, makes everyone know who Nicki Minaj is. It has attitude and amazing lyrics. She can definitely compete with the likes of Eminem, Jay-Z and Lil' Wayne. The highlights of the album include "Roman's Revenge", "Did It On'em", "Super Bass" and "I'm The Best". Expand
  2. Jun 9, 2014
    10
    This album is my all time favorite! This is a classical hip-hop album that's filled with so much diversity and epic flow. I still listen toThis album is my all time favorite! This is a classical hip-hop album that's filled with so much diversity and epic flow. I still listen to the full album at least twice a week, even though it's almost 3 years old now. I will never get enough of Nicki. She is THE QUEEN of Hip-Hop & RAP. Expand
  3. Jan 10, 2016
    10
    This debut album from Miss Minaj Putted Rap & Hip Hop back on the map. This album is the perfect combination of Rap, Hip Hop and Pop. Let'sThis debut album from Miss Minaj Putted Rap & Hip Hop back on the map. This album is the perfect combination of Rap, Hip Hop and Pop. Let's not forget the impact of Super bass on the charts. Who dislikes this album is doesn't want to admit Nicki saved the Rap industry and are uneducated. That's all. Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2010
    7
    This album was okay. I like her music style she mix pop dance rnb hip hop rap and electro on this album.I think this is a nice album to getThis album was okay. I like her music style she mix pop dance rnb hip hop rap and electro on this album.I think this is a nice album to get better than what i expected. I thought this album was going be just like her mixtapes. I enjoy all the songs on this album. She really shock me with this album. This album was good compare to what I thought it was going. This album is a chart topper and its on my top 20 list for album of the year Expand
  5. Jan 6, 2016
    7
    Um álbum mix de pop e rap. Nicki não atendeu a cobrança por qualidade visto suas mixtapes, mas o álbum tem seus momentos de genialidade, comoUm álbum mix de pop e rap. Nicki não atendeu a cobrança por qualidade visto suas mixtapes, mas o álbum tem seus momentos de genialidade, como "moment 4 life", "your love" e "fly", que é a melhor música do álbum. Expand
  6. Sep 23, 2011
    5
    Nicki Minaj is at her peak when she was featured on Trey Songz's "Bottoms Up" or Kanye West's "Monster." However, not one song on her albumNicki Minaj is at her peak when she was featured on Trey Songz's "Bottoms Up" or Kanye West's "Monster." However, not one song on her album showcases her ferocious rapping as her features once did. In songs like "Your Love", "Super Bass", "Right Thru Me", "Blazin", and "Check It Out", Minaj seems to live in a delusive world where she believes she can sing. Unfortunately, this should be a rap album, not a pop album. The chorus of her solo songs are really weak. In "Blazin'", she repeats "I fly high...I'm blazin'" 8 times per chorus, and the last minute and a half is her repeating these 6 same words over and over again. If she doesn't have the voice to sing, she should do what most other rap stars do: find someone that can or don't even try. Rihanna and Bedingfield already steal the show on the songs they are featured one, and arguably the other rap features upstage her as well. This wasn't the album we were all expecting; she goes more bubblegum pop than she should have. Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    What the hell is this? Absolute rubbish. No creativity or originality upon the lyricism or topics of songs. It seems as if Nicki dipped inWhat the hell is this? Absolute rubbish. No creativity or originality upon the lyricism or topics of songs. It seems as if Nicki dipped in lil' kim's lyricism and flow and tried to take it, making as less impressive attempt it shows a distasteful approach upon her album. With the success it has gained, when listening to the album, it seemed obsessive and constantly directed to Lil' Kim. Nicki Minaj is a poor imitation of Lil' Kim and lady gaga, She is overrated and has to focus on her lyric and creativity. She fell short and made a disappointing album. Not impressed one bit. Poor Poor approach to hip hop. Expand

See all 79 User Reviews