• Record Label: Merge
  • Release Date: Oct 29, 2013
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 583 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 583
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 27, 2014
    8
    Being an Arcade Fire album is never easy and ever since their debut expectations are always massive whenever this band do anything. Stylistic changes were hinted at during the making of "Reflektor" and while there is a noticeably more dancy feel to this album, this is mainly down to James Murphy's presence who really only provides a light cover over what is essentially an instantlyBeing an Arcade Fire album is never easy and ever since their debut expectations are always massive whenever this band do anything. Stylistic changes were hinted at during the making of "Reflektor" and while there is a noticeably more dancy feel to this album, this is mainly down to James Murphy's presence who really only provides a light cover over what is essentially an instantly recognisable Arcade Fire sound. "Reflektor" strikes a balance between experimentation and crowd pleasing and achieves pretty much everything that the band would have looked for from the record. One criticism I had of last album "The Suburbs" was that it was too long by 2 or 3 tracks but in reality the length of the record wasn't the problem it was that the quality dropped a little on a couple of the 16 tracks. "Reflektor" is similar in overall length and with 13 tracks overall has no weak track however I do think the band could have edited the album so that it would have easily fitted on one disk without any detriment to the listening experience. Overall, "Reflektor" is a triumph and stands up well next to Arcade Fire's back catalog. Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2013
    8
    Arcade Fire have come a pretty long ways at this point in their musical career. Three sprawling records in less than ten years, and now we have Reflektor, their 4th studio album. I was skeptical on first listen, but this is the perfect record to analyze and listen too multiple times before you make your final verdict. Reflektor might be Arcade Fire's least best record, but what aArcade Fire have come a pretty long ways at this point in their musical career. Three sprawling records in less than ten years, and now we have Reflektor, their 4th studio album. I was skeptical on first listen, but this is the perfect record to analyze and listen too multiple times before you make your final verdict. Reflektor might be Arcade Fire's least best record, but what a beautiful, curveball of a record it is. Opens up with "Reflekor", a brilliant track where immediately James Murphy's production style is sprinkled throughout this entire album. This LP is split between two CD's, the first one I found very rock influenced, whereas the second disk I found pretty brooding, very dark in lyrical content mainly.

    All In All, Reflektor is an album I really had to listen to more than a few times to make my mind up about. This record will divide Arcade Fire fans, especially if they aren't used to bands changing their sound and starting over on a creative difference. As for me, Arcade Fire has made a brilliant follow-up to The Suburbs. B+
    Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2013
    8
    I like the spirit, ambition, lyrics and melodies of this album. It is something different from Arcade Fire's other albums and that's a good thing. That it was produced by James Murphy of LCD Soundsystem fame was a smart move. He gives the thing an extra punch of movement where it needs it. However, I found a copy of Handsome Furs' 2009 album "Face Control" at the thrift store, and I put itI like the spirit, ambition, lyrics and melodies of this album. It is something different from Arcade Fire's other albums and that's a good thing. That it was produced by James Murphy of LCD Soundsystem fame was a smart move. He gives the thing an extra punch of movement where it needs it. However, I found a copy of Handsome Furs' 2009 album "Face Control" at the thrift store, and I put it on right after listening to this new AF album and it sounded exactly the same!?! Left me scratching my head. However, this is a good new AF album, but I would have preferred that they put it all on one disc. There's no real vital reason really for this album to be a double LP, CD. Expand
  4. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    I took "Uger's" advice and listened to this album more than once, and i'm glad i did. On the first hearing, i would have given this album an 8 or 9. But now, it deserves nothing less than a 10. I guess the more you listen, the more hidden gems in the tracks that you discover.

    James Murphy's influence is crystal clear in the title track as well as other ones. I was a fan of his since the
    I took "Uger's" advice and listened to this album more than once, and i'm glad i did. On the first hearing, i would have given this album an 8 or 9. But now, it deserves nothing less than a 10. I guess the more you listen, the more hidden gems in the tracks that you discover.

    James Murphy's influence is crystal clear in the title track as well as other ones. I was a fan of his since the glory days of LCD Soundsystem. Arcade's Fire collaboration with him resulted in a brilliant record that will go down as their best so far, one of the best of this decade and all decades.

    Some people call this album Arcade FIre's version of Radiohead's Kid A. I couldn't agree more. It's totally different from their previous output, The Suburbs. They could have just played it safe, and created more of the same, They could have gotten away with it too, especially since they had already achieved commercial success.

    But they didn't. They went and came back with something new and beautiful. It's why i deeply respect this marvelous band.
    Expand
  5. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    The thing I love the most about singers or bands is the feel and/or need of changing and evolving. That's what Arcade Fire did with this tremendous album: express things through other perspectives, other instruments, other rhythms. Take a risk may mean a fall-down; or a superb acclaim: and we all know how it turned out for these canadians! This band made everything so perfect andThe thing I love the most about singers or bands is the feel and/or need of changing and evolving. That's what Arcade Fire did with this tremendous album: express things through other perspectives, other instruments, other rhythms. Take a risk may mean a fall-down; or a superb acclaim: and we all know how it turned out for these canadians! This band made everything so perfect and peacefully harmonic, that the music just speaks for itself, and loving this double-original-album is (in my opinion) not a choice. Is an obligation. Expand
  6. Aug 27, 2014
    7
    lolololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololo
  7. Mar 16, 2017
    8
    You want the long version or the short version? Short version is: It's good dance-rock. Get the album. Long version:
    Arcade Fire have gone with something different here, and it... kinda works. It does on most of the songs. Most of the songs are an 8-9, but then again songs like Flashbulb Eyes are there. It's not bad, it's just... not especially good.
    I like the dance-rock here, keep at
    You want the long version or the short version? Short version is: It's good dance-rock. Get the album. Long version:
    Arcade Fire have gone with something different here, and it... kinda works. It does on most of the songs. Most of the songs are an 8-9, but then again songs like Flashbulb Eyes are there. It's not bad, it's just... not especially good.

    I like the dance-rock here, keep at it Arcade FIre.
    Expand
  8. Jan 18, 2014
    8
    At first I really did not care for it but after listening to a few times, It's really grown on me. Reflektor features a lot of soon to be classic Arcade Fire songs such as Reflektor, Here Comes The Night Time, Awful Sound, It's Never Over, Porno, and Afterlife.

    Like Uger said, You will want to listen to it a few times before judging because on the first-second listen, I didn't care for
    At first I really did not care for it but after listening to a few times, It's really grown on me. Reflektor features a lot of soon to be classic Arcade Fire songs such as Reflektor, Here Comes The Night Time, Awful Sound, It's Never Over, Porno, and Afterlife.

    Like Uger said, You will want to listen to it a few times before judging because on the first-second listen, I didn't care for it. By the fifth, I loved it.
    Expand
  9. May 28, 2014
    7
    It quite lacks the depth that made the first three AF albums quite memorable and the music is changing here, but the change is good. AF is one of the best bands in the world. :))))))))))
  10. Apr 15, 2014
    8
    Simply sounds like some kind of greatest hits compilation. Reflektor's title track is overly long, and waiting for it to finish will be a true achievement. But after that massive mistake, you won't regret staying the night for more Arcade Fire.
  11. BKM
    Oct 30, 2013
    8
    It will probably take time for the dust to settle around Arcade Fire's newest release before its place in their catalog can be properly assessed. For now, it's a big, ambitious and entertaining rock record from one of the biggest and best bands in the world. The most surprising aspect of it all is that despite its lengthy running time and experimental flourishes, Reflektor never feelsIt will probably take time for the dust to settle around Arcade Fire's newest release before its place in their catalog can be properly assessed. For now, it's a big, ambitious and entertaining rock record from one of the biggest and best bands in the world. The most surprising aspect of it all is that despite its lengthy running time and experimental flourishes, Reflektor never feels dull or inaccessible. Expand
  12. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    A sonic overload of everything Arcade Fire stands for, with some new electronics to boot, Reflektor is an album of incredibly deep meaning and tracks that reach as close to perfection as humanly possible. Personally, I find the way they have incorporated dance beats and the story of Orpheus into their typical message of isolation is such genius that comparison to their past albums does notA sonic overload of everything Arcade Fire stands for, with some new electronics to boot, Reflektor is an album of incredibly deep meaning and tracks that reach as close to perfection as humanly possible. Personally, I find the way they have incorporated dance beats and the story of Orpheus into their typical message of isolation is such genius that comparison to their past albums does not seem fair to those albums. The only weakness the album could possibly have is its length, but the ease at which the tracks travel makes even the eleven minute Supersymmetry seem to fly by at the pace of a song a third of its length. No doubt, even among the masterpieces that liter Arcade Fire's existence, this is the best thing they have ever done. Expand
  13. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    Seems like some critics were really in hurry to knock this one down...could live without tape rewinding but otherwise this is a great album,especially slower and sublime disc 2.
  14. Nov 16, 2013
    8
    This album is well articulated, thoughtful piece of art. Reflektor the single, was released months in advance and I loved the track and it's disco influence and I was already geared up for the album. The lyrical content is always important with Arcade Fire and I love what they talk about here and how they discuss it. My only critique would probably be the very end with supersymmetry. IThis album is well articulated, thoughtful piece of art. Reflektor the single, was released months in advance and I loved the track and it's disco influence and I was already geared up for the album. The lyrical content is always important with Arcade Fire and I love what they talk about here and how they discuss it. My only critique would probably be the very end with supersymmetry. I had saw that it was 11minutes and was excited to hear what they explore but the last 2 3 minutes was this annoying sound that just continued to a halt. And that was the ending of the album. Other than that, it was a great album with great songs. Expand
  15. Nov 20, 2017
    10
    Один из лучших рок альбомов выпущенных в 2010-х годах.Arcade Fire-это пример того,как группу не испортили различные награды и премии,а лишь наоборот раззадорили их.
  16. Oct 29, 2013
    8
    In Reflektor Arcade Fire present a dark influence in their music the existentialism in all the phases, the reflective age, the future & the past, they innovate and create their own genre in all of the epic tracks This excellent compendium is an incredible change but they always have that inusual power for make amazing records changing their sound and never fails.
    In four albums this
    In Reflektor Arcade Fire present a dark influence in their music the existentialism in all the phases, the reflective age, the future & the past, they innovate and create their own genre in all of the epic tracks This excellent compendium is an incredible change but they always have that inusual power for make amazing records changing their sound and never fails.
    In four albums this band have created worlds, the world of death and alienation, the world of religion and paranoia, the world of suburbs and childhood, and now a world of 'The present age is one of understanding, of reflection, devoid of passion, an age which flies into enthusiasm for a moment only to decline back into indolence. Action and passion is as absent in the present age as peril is absent from swimming in shallow waters' the philosophy of Søren Kierkegaard and Haitian rara music.
    The return of Arcade Fire is glorious and rich a great album that always be in our memory it's one of the best released in this amazing year. 8.5/10
    Expand
  17. Nov 1, 2013
    8
    My first non hip-hop review comes from an album that many, including myself, have long been anticipating. It's been 3 years. That means we NEED another Arcade Fire record. The first listen I got was when the album was leaked by the band for 24 hours, and I didn't have much of an opinion, since I only got 1 listen. Now that it's released, I took 'Uger's' advice, and listened to it 4 or 5My first non hip-hop review comes from an album that many, including myself, have long been anticipating. It's been 3 years. That means we NEED another Arcade Fire record. The first listen I got was when the album was leaked by the band for 24 hours, and I didn't have much of an opinion, since I only got 1 listen. Now that it's released, I took 'Uger's' advice, and listened to it 4 or 5 times. CD1 is a very strong outing, featuring probably my LEAST favourite track, 'Flashbulb Eyes', but thankfully for the album, it didn't reach the 3 minute mark. However..... CD2 reallly caught me of guard. In my opinion, Awful Sound (Oh Eurydice), It's Never Over (Hey Orpheus), and Afterlife are all top 10 tracks by the band, ever. I'm not one to review an album's deeper meaning or try to explain it, but as always, Arcade Fire covered many interesting, and unique topics. Overall: 91/100

    Favourite Tracks: Reflektor, Here Comes The Night Time, Joan Of Arc, Here Comes The Night Time II, Awful Sound (Oh Eurydice), It's Never Over (Hey Orpheus), Porno, Afterlife

    Least Favourite Tracks: Flashbulb Eyes,
    Expand
  18. Feb 15, 2014
    9
    http://bit.ly/NOJ7H1 Arcade Fire have easily, delivered one of the most ambitious and interesting records of the year. The songwriting and performance skills we have come to expect from the band are better than ever. While some of the songs running times are unnecessarily long it doesn't detract too much from this quality release from this quality band.
  19. Feb 21, 2014
    9
    I believe it's safe to say that Arcade Fire knocked everyone off their feet, for good or for bad, with "Reflektor." While some may describe it as dreamy and ethereal, I would go even further and describe the experience as being trapped in a dream, eternally twisting and turning in a unique ethos that is both distant and hauntingly internal. "Reflektor" radiates with artistic brillianceI believe it's safe to say that Arcade Fire knocked everyone off their feet, for good or for bad, with "Reflektor." While some may describe it as dreamy and ethereal, I would go even further and describe the experience as being trapped in a dream, eternally twisting and turning in a unique ethos that is both distant and hauntingly internal. "Reflektor" radiates with artistic brilliance and a vision that borders choreographed physicality and delirious abstraction. Arcade Fire seamlessly incorporate danceable percussion, soft rock stylings and delicate electronic touches to create a transcendental musical experience. They cover a wide range of themes in their lyrics, including Greek mythology, existentialism, the afterlife, and simply having a good time, and they're all relevant – no filler lyrics. With "Reflektor," Arcade Fire have proven that, no matter what direction they take, they will always have pure mastery over their medium.

    FINAL SCORE: 95 (almost perfect ----------o---------- perfect)
    Expand
  20. Mar 11, 2015
    9
    Il en a fait du chemin ce petit groupe de Montréal. En 2011 c’était plutôt Who the **** Is Arcade Fire? Que s’est-il passé depuis deux ans pour qu’Arcade Fire devienne un groupe majeur et planétaire ? En dépit de l’évolution fulgurante de la musique Indie, le groupe montréalais s’est démarqué en continuant d’œuvrer sur la scène underground en plus d’utiliser sa notoriété pour mener à termeIl en a fait du chemin ce petit groupe de Montréal. En 2011 c’était plutôt Who the **** Is Arcade Fire? Que s’est-il passé depuis deux ans pour qu’Arcade Fire devienne un groupe majeur et planétaire ? En dépit de l’évolution fulgurante de la musique Indie, le groupe montréalais s’est démarqué en continuant d’œuvrer sur la scène underground en plus d’utiliser sa notoriété pour mener à terme des projets spécifiques et typiquement AF. Les clips interactifs, les courts-métrages et autres spectacles secrets font maintenant partie intégrante du projet. Cela ne constitue cependant pas une place au top du palmarès. L’engouement qui a découlé du méga projet marketing derrière l’album a servi l’album dans le sens ou même avant sa sortie, c’était déjà une entité solide et distincte. Mieux encore, l’album nous a été présenté comme un véritable évènement. Sa diffusion en simultané sur Youtube, en plus d’avoir contrecarré à court terme les fuites sur internet, a permis au monde entier de profiter de l’album en même temps. Un tour de force si nous prenons en considérations le rythme incessant du 21e siècle. Ils, pour reprendre les mots d’un chroniqueur, nous ont offert un moment. C’est vrai. Impossible de ne pas parler de l’album en tant que tel. Contrairement aux autres œuvres présentées dans ce top 10, pas besoin d’une douzaine d’écoutes pour apprécier la nouvelle direction empruntée par le groupe. Réparti sur deux albums, Reflektor offre deux types d’états d’âme. Le premier, plus confortable et enivrant alors que le deuxième est plus pointu et revendicateur. La touche de James Murphy est à la fois omniprésente mais discrète. Il m’apparait évident qu’il a servi l’authenticité du nouveau son d’Arcade Fire plus que les compositions en général. Reflektor est un produit dérivé des réalités qu’avait à offrir l’année 2013. Il faut croire qu’Arcade Fire était vraiment pile dans le temps. Expand
  21. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    Reflektor is a solid album that maintains Arcade Fire's tradition of poignant and powerful songwriting. On top of its lustrous lyrics, Reflektor contains songs that effectively blend Win Butlet and Regine Chassagne's vocals, creating beautiful melodies in tracks like 'Afterlife' and 'It's Never Over (Oh Orpheus)'. Unfortunately, the album lacks the instrumentals that made The Suburbs soReflektor is a solid album that maintains Arcade Fire's tradition of poignant and powerful songwriting. On top of its lustrous lyrics, Reflektor contains songs that effectively blend Win Butlet and Regine Chassagne's vocals, creating beautiful melodies in tracks like 'Afterlife' and 'It's Never Over (Oh Orpheus)'. Unfortunately, the album lacks the instrumentals that made The Suburbs so moving. Only 'Normal Person' matches the instrumental standards of the Suburbs, with smooth drums and guitar riffs powering the ear-gasmic chorus. Still, it is, overall, an album worth adding to one's collection. Expand
  22. Jul 2, 2017
    9
    Una vez mas Arcade Fire me sorprende con un disco que se disfruta de principio a fin. Esta banda conformada por talentosos musicos reflejan una vez mas lo apasionado que son haciendo musica. La produccion y las liricas son muy agradables al odio.
  23. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Just more fabulous music from the fantastic... ARCADE FIRE!!! As Jonathan Ross puts it. This record was something I was awaiting for a long time! The wait was worth it! This is their best album right here!
  24. Dec 29, 2013
    8
    8.5/10. I was fearing the worst before hearing anything off this album. But I love it. Unexpectedly, it actually has some of Arcade Fire's finest moments, like the throbbing pulse of "It's Never Over" and the majestic pop of "Afterlife". The rockist "Normal Person" builds up to a satisfying crescendo, and the closing track "Supersymmetry" lulls beautifully before going on a bit too long8.5/10. I was fearing the worst before hearing anything off this album. But I love it. Unexpectedly, it actually has some of Arcade Fire's finest moments, like the throbbing pulse of "It's Never Over" and the majestic pop of "Afterlife". The rockist "Normal Person" builds up to a satisfying crescendo, and the closing track "Supersymmetry" lulls beautifully before going on a bit too long with the tape hiss afterwards. Expand
  25. Nov 1, 2013
    7
    There are parts of this album I really like and there are others that just don't do it for me. I think what's causing a lower rating on this one is that every other Arcade Fire album before this I could listen to and enjoy every track, there are a few on Reflektor I don't care for. Some of the tracks sound earlier similar so I would've liked to see a bit more variety while sticking to theThere are parts of this album I really like and there are others that just don't do it for me. I think what's causing a lower rating on this one is that every other Arcade Fire album before this I could listen to and enjoy every track, there are a few on Reflektor I don't care for. Some of the tracks sound earlier similar so I would've liked to see a bit more variety while sticking to the overall themes of the album. Still a huge fan of the band and will definitely see them again on tour but I think this is probably their weakest overall effort. Expand
  26. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    I dare you not to dance. A fantastic blend of varied musical style. Each song contains fascinating progressions but retain a pop sensibility. This is good. This is really, really good.
  27. Apr 16, 2014
    8
    ''Reflektor'' é o mais novo album da banda canadense Arcade Fire e mesmo sendo o último, é um dos melhores discos que a banda ja produziu. O album mostra um Arcade Fire diferente do album antecessor, ''The Suburbs'', mas consegue ser tão bom quanto ele, afinal estamos falando de uma das melhores bandas atuais. Não há muito o que falar sobre esse album e suas caracteristicas a nao ser dizer''Reflektor'' é o mais novo album da banda canadense Arcade Fire e mesmo sendo o último, é um dos melhores discos que a banda ja produziu. O album mostra um Arcade Fire diferente do album antecessor, ''The Suburbs'', mas consegue ser tão bom quanto ele, afinal estamos falando de uma das melhores bandas atuais. Não há muito o que falar sobre esse album e suas caracteristicas a nao ser dizer que ele é incrível e traz boas sensações e sentimentos para quem o escuta mostrando ser uma grande obra de arte de 2013. Expand
  28. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Ok it has happened this past week. Arcade Fire have nudged Radiohead out as my favorite band. The real amazing thing is that these songs sound so natural for Arcade Fire even though it is such a musical departure from their previous material. They are making the most important musicin the world right now and Radiohead will have to up their game after KOL to keep up. Arcade Fire can doOk it has happened this past week. Arcade Fire have nudged Radiohead out as my favorite band. The real amazing thing is that these songs sound so natural for Arcade Fire even though it is such a musical departure from their previous material. They are making the most important musicin the world right now and Radiohead will have to up their game after KOL to keep up. Arcade Fire can do no wrong. Expand
  29. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    It would have been perfect album if not for these few minor flaws:

    - Songs performed on HCTNT 22 minute TV special (HCTNT, We Exist and, especially, Normal Person) actually sound better than their album versions - Supersymmetry is a bit of letdown for me as for a closing track. It starts great but after first few minutes its getting worse and staying like that till the end. We remember
    It would have been perfect album if not for these few minor flaws:

    - Songs performed on HCTNT 22 minute TV special (HCTNT, We Exist and, especially, Normal Person) actually sound better than their album versions
    - Supersymmetry is a bit of letdown for me as for a closing track. It starts great but after first few minutes its getting worse and staying like that till the end. We remember outro songs from previous LP's so you should know what I mean.
    - Could have been a little longer. I know it's 75 minute album, but I was hoping same amount of tracks as The Suburbs (probably im just sad it ends to early when I want more and more )

    I rank it on the same level as Funeral and Neon Bible, which means, The Suburbs is still my favorite. Don't get me wrong all these albums deserve 10, but since there is no higher score that I could link up to The Suburbs I'm forced to grade it slightly lower (9+ perhaps
    Expand
  30. May 15, 2014
    7
    Musically, Reflektor may be AF's most diverse album to date, full of unpredictable twists and turns that keep you hooked even when the songs themselves start to lag. However, as good as AF are, the benefits do not outweigh the one glaring problem beneath this album: the lack of focus, of harmony. Every other AF album works like a story, with every song tying in to one concentric goal. OnMusically, Reflektor may be AF's most diverse album to date, full of unpredictable twists and turns that keep you hooked even when the songs themselves start to lag. However, as good as AF are, the benefits do not outweigh the one glaring problem beneath this album: the lack of focus, of harmony. Every other AF album works like a story, with every song tying in to one concentric goal. On Reflektor, it seems at times that AF are trying to do that, but it's never clear if this is supposed to be Haitian music or "Rock 'n roll" or whether its theme is concerned with social isolation or break-ups or ranting against Western missionaries. The lyrics are clunky and witless, a huge disappointment considering how much emotion and heart was put into The Suburbs. It's not a bad album, but the lack of focus makes it feel schizophrenic at cluttered. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Magnet
    Dec 18, 2013
    90
    The double-disc, dual volume album that results is one that finds the Canadian seven-piece sounding liberated, from stylistic and budgetary constraints both. [No. 105, p.52]
  2. Dec 16, 2013
    80
    As it stands, Reflektor is Arcade Fire’s most diverse and sonically interesting work to date.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    67
    As a whole, there are throwaway tracks ("Porno") and overstayed welcomes (ambiguous anthem "We Exist"), Butler playing roulette with themes: the pains of indie rock ("Normal Person"), star-crossed Greek mythology ("Awful Sound [Oh Eurydice]," "It's Never Over [Oh Orpheus]"), and existential despair ("Afterlife").