Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
Buy On
  1. Last year’s stellar Battle Born, felt considerably more vibrant than Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action ever does.
  2. Sep 12, 2013
    60
    Even ignoring the tectonic shifts in music over the past decade, this is by no means a novel or inventive album.
  3. Aug 29, 2013
    60
    RTRWRA neatly combines those familiar chantable choruses, punchy guitars, pleasant harmonies and simple, clever lyricism--all in all, a great vehicle for that smooth, too cool croon of singer Alex Kapranos.
  4. Aug 26, 2013
    60
    A solid if uneven combination of tight, compact punkish rompers and meandering light rock offerings.
  5. Aug 23, 2013
    60
    Largely, Right Thoughts is business as usual--a steady, reliable and often invigorating business, but one that constantly, frustratingly hints that it’s capable of more.
  6. 60
    In a year already host to some brilliant albums, it seems tired and dated.
  7. Aug 22, 2013
    60
    These lyrics are all...wordy.
  8. Aug 21, 2013
    60
    While there are individual moments that are up there with the band’s best, Right Thoughts falls short of the return to form the opening tracks suggest.
  9. Alternative Press
    Aug 12, 2013
    60
    Their fourth album, Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action is just as resolute as the title. [Sep 2013, p.88]
  10. Aug 26, 2013
    54
    While Right Words achieves a baseline level of quality or at least competency with the exception of “Goodbye Friends and Lovers” and "Love Illumination", they lack the conviction to take most of their lesser ideas to the realm of being unpleasant rather than kinda boring.
  11. The experimental mindset is evident in moments of Right Thoughts, but only a select few, and like Tonight, it’s most prominent on the last few tracks.
  12. Oct 4, 2013
    40
    Not a song sticks. It's sheer style that carries this disc, albeit one that sounds great.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    This is hands-down one of the best albums I have ever heard in my entire life. Pretty much every track was just downright amazing. A fantasticThis is hands-down one of the best albums I have ever heard in my entire life. Pretty much every track was just downright amazing. A fantastic album by a fantastic band, no doubt. Full Review »
  2. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    After the album Blood where they strayed away from their roots (already kinda were) they come back with Right Thoughts, Right Words, RightAfter the album Blood where they strayed away from their roots (already kinda were) they come back with Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action, and they hit the spot. They go back closer to their roots, and it works. Upbeat songs like "Love Illumination" work so well and blend in with the album so well. It brings back memories of their album "Franz Ferdinand". After four years they are back and have fixed themselves up. Hope I can see more of this, I want to see many more albums. This album clearly deserves a 10 out of 10. Full Review »
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    This album is so good that I still haven't decided with song is my favorite one. The first four tracks (from Right Action to Stand on theThis album is so good that I still haven't decided with song is my favorite one. The first four tracks (from Right Action to Stand on the Horizon) are very danceable, and all of them should be singles. There are also more introspective ones, like Fresh Strawberries and The Universe Expanded, and the lyrics of both of them, which talk about mortality and transience, are very good.
    Maybe Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action is their best album since the first one.
    Full Review »