Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 83 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth full-length studio release for the Scottish indie rock band was self-produced.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    By expanding its worldview, Franz Ferdinand has very nicely settled onto a path toward career longevity.
  2. Aug 23, 2013
    Franz Ferdinand's Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action is an unapologetically swaggering disco-rock album that refuses to overstay its welcome.
  3. 80
    It’s an album that tries not to shout ‘old school Franz are back’, even though it unmistakably signals that old school Franz are back.
  4. Aug 23, 2013
    Kapranos and co have delivered what is simultaneously ‘just another Franz Ferdinand’ album and one of the indie records of the summer.
  5. Sep 4, 2013
    It’s an album surprisingly even in its delivery, if a little underwhelming in content, somewhat reserved and unquestionably safe.
  6. Last year’s stellar Battle Born, felt considerably more vibrant than Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action ever does.
  7. Oct 4, 2013
    Not a song sticks. It's sheer style that carries this disc, albeit one that sounds great.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    This album is so good that I still haven't decided with song is my favorite one. The first four tracks (from Right Action to Stand on the Horizon) are very danceable, and all of them should be singles. There are also more introspective ones, like Fresh Strawberries and The Universe Expanded, and the lyrics of both of them, which talk about mortality and transience, are very good.
    Maybe Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action is their best album since the first one.
  2. Aug 29, 2013
    After the album Blood where they strayed away from their roots (already kinda were) they come back with Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action, and they hit the spot. They go back closer to their roots, and it works. Upbeat songs like "Love Illumination" work so well and blend in with the album so well. It brings back memories of their album "Franz Ferdinand". After four years they are back and have fixed themselves up. Hope I can see more of this, I want to see many more albums. This album clearly deserves a 10 out of 10. Expand
  3. Jul 29, 2014
    This is hands-down one of the best albums I have ever heard in my entire life. Pretty much every track was just downright amazing. A fantastic album by a fantastic band, no doubt. Expand
  4. Feb 25, 2014
    I am a big fan of their debut album that was released back in 2004. For some strange reason, i didn't listen to the second and third albums. Perhaps because it was said by many that they were departures from their original style.

    This album, however, can be considered a return to form. It has the same style, coupled by experimentation in some tracks. The result is a very amazing album, and one of the best to be released in 2013.
  5. Aug 20, 2014
    Franz Ferdinand have always had a talent for writing quirk and catchy pop songs and this talent is as evident as ever on this, their 4th studio album. "Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action" has the trademark Franz sound and is especially close in style to their excellent debut. While some might lament the perceived lack of stylistic progression, the main point is that this is highly enjoyable pop music and should be appreciated on its own merits. The highlights for me include "Love Illumination", "Stand on the Horizon" and "Bullet". This album is as strong and consistent as the best work to be found in their back catalog so if you like what they've done before you are sure to appreciate this album. Expand
  6. Nov 12, 2013
    I will admit, I was a little disappointed with the last Franz Ferdinand album. But this brings me right back to the excitement I felt when I heard their debut. My only gripe is that the first three tracks on the album have been released in some form as singles. This might not give some the incentive to listen through the entire album, which they should. It is worth it. Expand
  7. Sep 29, 2013
    [5.9] It's interesting, that's for sure, but the spectacle that once was Franz Ferdinand is now a silly pop band that doesn't have consistent or strong songwriting. It's definitely a likable album, I just don't really like the incredibly saturated sound that they've put forth. I much prefer the carefree, simple sound of their debut. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews