Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth full-length studio release for the Scottish indie rock band was self-produced.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    83
    By expanding its worldview, Franz Ferdinand has very nicely settled onto a path toward career longevity.
  2. Aug 23, 2013
    80
    Franz Ferdinand's Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action is an unapologetically swaggering disco-rock album that refuses to overstay its welcome.
  3. 80
    It’s an album that tries not to shout ‘old school Franz are back’, even though it unmistakably signals that old school Franz are back.
  4. Aug 23, 2013
    70
    Kapranos and co have delivered what is simultaneously ‘just another Franz Ferdinand’ album and one of the indie records of the summer.
  5. Sep 4, 2013
    70
    It’s an album surprisingly even in its delivery, if a little underwhelming in content, somewhat reserved and unquestionably safe.
  6. Last year’s stellar Battle Born, felt considerably more vibrant than Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action ever does.
  7. Oct 4, 2013
    40
    Not a song sticks. It's sheer style that carries this disc, albeit one that sounds great.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    After the album Blood where they strayed away from their roots (already kinda were) they come back with Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action, and they hit the spot. They go back closer to their roots, and it works. Upbeat songs like "Love Illumination" work so well and blend in with the album so well. It brings back memories of their album "Franz Ferdinand". After four years they are back and have fixed themselves up. Hope I can see more of this, I want to see many more albums. This album clearly deserves a 10 out of 10. Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    This album is so good that I still haven't decided with song is my favorite one. The first four tracks (from Right Action to Stand on the Horizon) are very danceable, and all of them should be singles. There are also more introspective ones, like Fresh Strawberries and The Universe Expanded, and the lyrics of both of them, which talk about mortality and transience, are very good.
    Maybe Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action is their best album since the first one.
    Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    This is hands-down one of the best album I have ever heard in my entire life. Almost every track was just downright amazing. Right Action and Love Illumination were two great singles that really started off the album. Evil Eye is not only the best song on the album, but the best song the band has ever made. Stand On The Horizon had a great feel to it. It started off slow in the first 30 seconds or so then went to a punk rock feel and really touched the music critic inside me. Fresh Strawberries has great meanings in its lyrics. Combine the lyrics with the music and it's a great combo. Bullet is my second favorite song out of the album. It really moves you. Like it has a very upbeat rhythm and great guitar/drum patterns. Treason! Animals. has a average beat tempo to it with organ keyboard patterns with a nice guitar riff to it. The Universe Expanded and Brief Encounters weren't really songs in the album that would entertain me. I find them both to be indietronica songs. Not really my type of music. Goodbye Lovers & Friends, the last song on the album, gave me high expectations. And it met my expectations. It is a very nice song on the album and an absolutely perfect way to end the album. It has such a nice introduction guitar riff. Overall, I give it a 10 out of 10. Expand
  4. Feb 25, 2014
    9
    I am a big fan of their debut album that was released back in 2004. For some strange reason, i didn't listen to the second and third albums. Perhaps because it was said by many that they were departures from their original style.

    This album, however, can be considered a return to form. It has the same style, coupled by experimentation in some tracks. The result is a very amazing album, and one of the best to be released in 2013.
    Expand
  5. Sep 18, 2013
    8
    Come on ppl, why such a low score. It's not their best but it's still amazing album after few listens you will just love it. Must say that Evil Eye reminds of No You Girls very much and few more songs sound repetitive but still, album is great. Brief Encounters probably my favorite track from this LP. Collapse
  6. Nov 12, 2013
    8
    I will admit, I was a little disappointed with the last Franz Ferdinand album. But this brings me right back to the excitement I felt when I heard their debut. My only gripe is that the first three tracks on the album have been released in some form as singles. This might not give some the incentive to listen through the entire album, which they should. It is worth it. Expand
  7. Sep 29, 2013
    5
    [5.9] It's interesting, that's for sure, but the spectacle that once was Franz Ferdinand is now a silly pop band that doesn't have consistent or strong songwriting. It's definitely a likable album, I just don't really like the incredibly saturated sound that they've put forth. I much prefer the carefree, simple sound of their debut. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews