• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Oct 3, 2006
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 310 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 310

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 30, 2010
    10
    Great follow up too the great Hot Fuss , The Killers certainly dont do things by halfs and the ambition and passion of this album is infectious , my favourite tracks are Bling and This River is Wild the Enterlude / Exitlude are a really nice touch and overall this album feels like a journey rather than just a series of (very good) songs with a common theme like Hot Fuss
  2. PC
    Nov 19, 2006
    9
    I must admit, when I first listened to this album I thought it was utter crap. It was too loud and sounded like they were trying so hard to be great that they crammed everything they counld into these tracks. And then somewhere along listening to the album all the different melodies and sounds seperated into something I could actually listen to. To be honest, I dont really like any recent I must admit, when I first listened to this album I thought it was utter crap. It was too loud and sounded like they were trying so hard to be great that they crammed everything they counld into these tracks. And then somewhere along listening to the album all the different melodies and sounds seperated into something I could actually listen to. To be honest, I dont really like any recent ablums, I'm more of a classic rock guy listening to artsits like ELP, Yes, The Beatles and Pink Floyd. This album echoes the sounds of those great bands that today's young have forgotten about. How many people today know that Meatloaf was something other than a food? Sam's Town is a very musically complicated disc. It takes many listens to actually see some of the brilliance behind some of the tracks. It just takes some time to see that brilliance, something critics dont have time to do. Hence the bad reviews Expand
  3. Guidov.
    Jun 30, 2007
    3
    I really don't get this band and their rising popularity. What's special about this? It's pretentious, it doesn't really rock the balls out of your pants and the musicians are nothing special.
  4. CarlB
    Jul 19, 2007
    5
    Very mediocre. I do not understand why this band are so popular when people like Mark Lanegan are hardly noticed.
  5. JoshK.
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    One of my favorite albums. It is as good as Hot Fuss, but it takes a few listens to see it. After that you'll notice how every track except the two enter and exit tracks are completely unique.
  6. Bryan
    Oct 10, 2006
    6
    Took me 4 spins to accept what it was, but once I got over that it wasn't a Hot Fuss clone, I learned to deal with the new style. A couple good singles, the "Sams Town" theme is stupid and obnoxious, definitly a couple of lyrical problems in some songs (Re: title track) but just not a very good album in general. Summary: give it a chance, but it's definitly not for everyone
  7. ZackA
    Oct 3, 2006
    8
    Definitely I would say it is a better album as a whole than Hot Fuss. It does have a few awkward moments, but the great moments are really great. Some of the songs are more like 2 or 3 songs shoved down into one. They almost underuse some great riffs. But still, I would say it is growth for The Killers, no matter what anyone says. I think they're still going places. Standouts are Definitely I would say it is a better album as a whole than Hot Fuss. It does have a few awkward moments, but the great moments are really great. Some of the songs are more like 2 or 3 songs shoved down into one. They almost underuse some great riffs. But still, I would say it is growth for The Killers, no matter what anyone says. I think they're still going places. Standouts are "This River Is Wild," "Bling (Confessions of a King)," and "Bones." Expand
  8. robbys
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    Brilliant from the first to last track.Has to be albm of the year if not decade!!!
  9. gregor
    Oct 5, 2006
    9
    They will lose a few fans due to the new direction, but a fantastic album nevertheless even if it is a little daunting at first.
  10. NellyZ
    Oct 9, 2006
    10
    I Love it, it has great songs and who cares what the critics say.
  11. GunnarS.
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    This is the really best of The Killers! Amazing album!
  12. JohnN
    Oct 10, 2006
    7
    This is an ok effort You have Bling which is excelent easily the standout track and Sam's Town, when we were young, the River is Wild which are all top tracks also. However Bones which most seem to like is awful but why do I keep counting is one of the worst songs I have ever heard it flat out sucks. The rest of the tracks are samesy and do not stand out.
  13. colinw
    Oct 18, 2006
    10
    i was unimpressed originally, but the album has really grown on me. songs such as "why do i keep counting," "the river is wild" and "Bling (confession of a king)" have become particular favorites of mine, to join "While you were young" and the enter/exitludes. overall, a very satisfying album.
  14. TreyS
    Oct 2, 2006
    1
    How far down will Brandon's ego take the band?
  15. CWhit
    Oct 20, 2006
    9
    Anyone who doesn't appreciate the lyrics on this album has never heard of a metaphor - which apparently includes most of the reviewers..
  16. randolfl
    Dec 4, 2006
    7
    On first listen there's enough about Sams Town to draw the listener in. Fans will instantly recognize Flowers' distinctive vocal tones while newcomers are likely to turn their ear to its urgency and energy. This is the bands strength; a telling energy infused with a kind of spiritual yearning and professional desire to go all the way. Throw in the big band theatrics and the On first listen there's enough about Sams Town to draw the listener in. Fans will instantly recognize Flowers' distinctive vocal tones while newcomers are likely to turn their ear to its urgency and energy. This is the bands strength; a telling energy infused with a kind of spiritual yearning and professional desire to go all the way. Throw in the big band theatrics and the recipe except for its most crucial elements is almost complete. Authenticity is something aspiring bands, especially those in their early years, need to build. Its rare abnyone arrives fully formed. In Sams Town there is more ambition than authentic greatness but the let don is still leaves plenty of room for hope. I think The Killers have it in them to make a great rock and roll record, Flowers just has to find the right place inside himself to come up withh lyrics and the delivery. Less U2 now, more Springsteen 30 years ago. Expand
  17. AlexA
    Oct 27, 2006
    9
    Sounds epic. Brandon Flovers and co. are the new U2, that's for sure!
  18. JordanC
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    An album filled with wonderful catchy moments, hummable tunes and fantastic lyrics. More rounded than Hot Fuss, more of a story, and in my opinion, better.
  19. Giterdone
    Oct 3, 2006
    4
    lousy...the gig is up fellas
  20. TomL
    Oct 3, 2006
    5
    This album is no where near as good as the first one i have waited 2 years and im not happy but its not bad enough to give it less that five
  21. MC
    Oct 3, 2006
    2
    I recently them perform on SNL....when i heard Flowers "attempting" to sing I lost whatever small amount of respect I had for them. It was embarassing to watch him. This album has just cemented that. totally over-hyped hacks.
  22. dylan
    Oct 3, 2006
    4
    A mediocre record by a band whose ambition has far outstripped it's songwriting and vocal talents.
  23. JoeW
    Oct 4, 2006
    7
    pretty good all in all, takes a while to get into but after about the third listen you know all the songs and all the hooks. However the ending is pretty poor and that is why i am only giving it a 7
  24. Marc
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    Dangerous departure from the first album. But they succeedded in making something more lasting and rewarding for listeners who get it. It has a kind of urgency, that makes it sound like they are playing for their lives, like Flowers voice that sounds like it's just one high note away from breaking. It's heartfelt and more honest than the first album. Less posturing, more music.
  25. MichaelC
    Oct 5, 2006
    7
    Definitely not "the best record of the last 10 years" like Brandon Flowers boasted, but good enough. Thoroughly enjoyable and solid. It is definitely an improvement on Hot Fuss. The standout track is, by far, "Bones"
  26. staystay
    Oct 5, 2006
    9
    Just give it a chance. This record is very good.
  27. JakeM.
    Oct 5, 2006
    2
    So if we were rating this on the Unintentional Comedy Scale, it would be a 10 out of 10. But let's keep this legit - this is junk, pure and straight up.
  28. TrevorH
    Oct 6, 2006
    9
    Oh dear... the cynics won't like this at all. That too-cool-for-school posse of world weary Serious Music Fans are bound to sneer at the naive ethusiasm on display here. Unfashionable themes of optimism and dreaming of better thing are grabbed and held tight. Pre-corporate Springsteen comes to mind. It may not have the depth of Born To Run, but it has it's soul in excess
  29. human
    Oct 9, 2006
    6
    A vast improvement which isn't saying much since this band is responsible for the worst radio hit of the decade (Somebody Told Me) so far. I checked this out due to morbid curiosity of their new Boss-influenced sound. If they were trying for Springsteen they really missed the mark. What they did come up with is pretty enjoyable. If you were wonding what Bon Jovi jamming with Sparks A vast improvement which isn't saying much since this band is responsible for the worst radio hit of the decade (Somebody Told Me) so far. I checked this out due to morbid curiosity of their new Boss-influenced sound. If they were trying for Springsteen they really missed the mark. What they did come up with is pretty enjoyable. If you were wonding what Bon Jovi jamming with Sparks would sound like, you can quit wondering. I give it a B for bombast. My prediction is that this will be a relative flop and they will go back to lipgloss. Expand
  30. AlexE
    Oct 9, 2006
    8
    It's hard to reach the soul of the songs through all this bombast & overproduction; but it's also hard to not let it win you over, once you've been there. Brandon Flowers delivers a perfomance that should have been given much more room to shine. Excellent!
  31. BobM
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    Not as good as Hot Fuss, but an amazing album nonetheless.
  32. DavidM
    Jan 29, 2007
    8
    With this album the Killers strike me right in my heart. I realy love the lyrics and melody and the way that it feels like a unity.
  33. JerryT
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    I LOVE this CD. The more you listen to it the more you learn. The lyrics are great and so is the sound. Congrats to the Killers for topping their first album.
  34. Jeroen
    Aug 31, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums I have. (only listened to it since 3 weeks).. Am listening now for 3 weeks to it. That happens rarely. Category new one from Kings of leon...Very very good.
  35. AnnM
    Sep 8, 2008
    10
    Sams Town is definitely as good as Hot Fuss. This is the only band that has captured my heart. Some of the critics must be listening with their ears closed.
  36. K.C.S
    Oct 11, 2006
    9
    Fantastic. I've had the same impressions as the rest who like the album. Of course critics don't like it, its listenable. I also agree that "Bones" is not the strongest song on the album and should not be the next single. But, am I the only one who thinks that "Why Do I Keep Counting?" is the catchiest, most radio friendly track on the disc? The first thing that came to mind Fantastic. I've had the same impressions as the rest who like the album. Of course critics don't like it, its listenable. I also agree that "Bones" is not the strongest song on the album and should not be the next single. But, am I the only one who thinks that "Why Do I Keep Counting?" is the catchiest, most radio friendly track on the disc? The first thing that came to mind when hearing the album was Springsteen. Nothing wrong with that. Expand
  37. JamesT
    Oct 12, 2006
    10
    Are these guys aiming too high? Certainly. But some of the best rock albums of all time have come from musicians aiming too high. I think that this is one of them.
  38. faheemh
    Nov 4, 2006
    8
    If u hear it long it sounds like a spoof album (if theres such a thing). The lyrics are overreaching yet shallow. Musically its not uniquely Killers. The album starts out at a frenetic tempo but gets muddled towards the end.But I still give it 9/10. Why? It is just unbelievably addictive. I hear the title track atleast 10 times every day. Read my mind, bling, When u were young, Reasons If u hear it long it sounds like a spoof album (if theres such a thing). The lyrics are overreaching yet shallow. Musically its not uniquely Killers. The album starts out at a frenetic tempo but gets muddled towards the end.But I still give it 9/10. Why? It is just unbelievably addictive. I hear the title track atleast 10 times every day. Read my mind, bling, When u were young, Reasons unkown all rock. Hot Fuss is a nigh on impossible album to follow up. But Sams town comes really close. Go for it. Expand
  39. RAGGAM
    Oct 17, 2006
    1
    Bad, boring, installed into a stardom that ironically have killed them. People use to talk about their new sound as a disguise that you can buy, but in music the real good things dont work like that. And this album is simply bad.
  40. GrahamV
    Oct 10, 2006
    9
    Well said, Trevor H. It's hilarious how ambition is lauded in hip hop and scowled at in rock 'n' roll. This is an ambitious rock album toying with big, non-ironic themes and the sounds of some of the biggest bands of the last 20 years. That makes the frustrated-musician set uncomfortable. This is a powerhouse album that, granted, shoots too high, but largely hits the Well said, Trevor H. It's hilarious how ambition is lauded in hip hop and scowled at in rock 'n' roll. This is an ambitious rock album toying with big, non-ironic themes and the sounds of some of the biggest bands of the last 20 years. That makes the frustrated-musician set uncomfortable. This is a powerhouse album that, granted, shoots too high, but largely hits the target. When hope and faith become bad words in rock, we're really in trouble. Go cower in your bedroom with Morrissey if you don't like this. Expand
  41. James
    Oct 17, 2006
    3
    I've given it a week, but I cannot get past the 7th grade lyrics. Couple those embarrassing lyrics with the ultimately boring music and you have a classic sophomore slump. I guess the only question now is whether it's merely a critical or both critical and commerical disappointment. If it's the latter, then they'll get their third album out within the next 15 I've given it a week, but I cannot get past the 7th grade lyrics. Couple those embarrassing lyrics with the ultimately boring music and you have a classic sophomore slump. I guess the only question now is whether it's merely a critical or both critical and commerical disappointment. If it's the latter, then they'll get their third album out within the next 15 months...if they're smart. Expand
  42. Al
    Oct 2, 2006
    10
    Amazing
  43. GGinaThis
    Oct 2, 2006
    9
    This is a very good record. I think only time will allow people to listen to it and stop comparing it to all of the artists that the band said inspired them during the making of Sam's Town. It's lush-- and although I think every one has his right to an opinion I wonder how many critics actully listened to this record in its entirity. I say this because I've listened to it a This is a very good record. I think only time will allow people to listen to it and stop comparing it to all of the artists that the band said inspired them during the making of Sam's Town. It's lush-- and although I think every one has his right to an opinion I wonder how many critics actully listened to this record in its entirity. I say this because I've listened to it a few times and ultimately, it's good. I'm surprised that some of the crap that has been released recently can receive such raves while this record that truly is from such a new, creative band is panned. Rock and Roll has suffered so much lately-- mostly because there are very few new bands who admit to being rock and roll artists or who strive to be. Thank goodness for bands like Wolfmother.....and thank goodness for the Killers for trying to keep the rock and roll dream alive. Listen with your ears and decide for yourself, if you don't like it, then you don't like it, but don't let critics tell you that you don't. Expand
  44. moooochhahhahha
    Oct 24, 2006
    7
    Good album but nothing stands out bones sounds like some crap from the magic numbers and you dont really get to hear the rest of the band as it is seems to be based around brandon cant touch hot fuss and some of its songs i find sams town have turned away from what it did in hot fuss and have just become something which i no longer think sounds great.
  45. Mycroft
    Oct 26, 2006
    5
    It's not a bad record, it's just that for a band that has their aspirations they sure sound average. And it does not bode well that the remixes of When you were young are better than the original or any of the other tracks on the album.
  46. JosephA
    Oct 20, 2006
    8
    It may not be "The best rock album in 20yrs." as the band proclaimed, and its definitely not "Hot Fuss 2" as many seem to have wanted, but I can't stop listening to it. I think its a great rock album, certainly one of the best since "Hot Fuss". It's very different from "Hot Fuss" and very ambitous. The lyrics seem a bit convoluted at times, and I can't really tell what some It may not be "The best rock album in 20yrs." as the band proclaimed, and its definitely not "Hot Fuss 2" as many seem to have wanted, but I can't stop listening to it. I think its a great rock album, certainly one of the best since "Hot Fuss". It's very different from "Hot Fuss" and very ambitous. The lyrics seem a bit convoluted at times, and I can't really tell what some of the songs are about, but the melodies and overall grandeur have me hooked. Expand
  47. CandaceS
    Oct 20, 2006
    10
    This album is nothing short of amazing. As a fan of Hot Fuss it's easy to see how much they've grown as songwriters and musicians.
  48. schmackoM
    Oct 3, 2006
    6
    Well, yes, it's a blatant, kinda-dull play at injecting some ol-fashioned Americana into the band
  49. GGRanger
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    Good Record.
  50. GaborA
    Oct 3, 2006
    1
    It's hard to say what direction the killers stepped in considering they started off at terrible and landed in abysmal. As musicians they can be considered psuedo retards. As venture capitalists, however, they are geniuses. Eat this one up too america.
  51. matt
    Oct 3, 2006
    4
    See the New York Times and Pop Matters reviews...then remind yourself that Hot Fuss was a near perfect pop album and hope next time around these guys will play to their strengths.
  52. RichardC
    Oct 3, 2006
    8
    It is not as good as Hot Fuss, but it does have a few very catch songs on the album that make it a worthwhile listen. The lyrics are generic and bland, but I pay more attention to the "music" of albums, and in this regards, Sam's Town is pretty decent. That being said, it is inconsistant, and there are some tracks that I just hate. Overall: 7.6/10, but since there is no decimal It is not as good as Hot Fuss, but it does have a few very catch songs on the album that make it a worthwhile listen. The lyrics are generic and bland, but I pay more attention to the "music" of albums, and in this regards, Sam's Town is pretty decent. That being said, it is inconsistant, and there are some tracks that I just hate. Overall: 7.6/10, but since there is no decimal increments, I will round up my metacritic rating to 8/10 Expand
  53. Den
    Oct 3, 2006
    3
    Much more fun the last time. The killers are best when being clever with a smile, when showing a sense of humor. Sam's Town drowns in self-importance and buckles under the weight of their heros, namely Bruce Springsteen, U2, Morrissey, and Depeche Mode. Better luck next time!
  54. ShawnM
    Oct 3, 2006
    7
    I'm a big fan of Hot Fuss, and I love the direction that The Killers took with this album, instrumentally. But Flowers' voice is definitely showing its weakness here. Hard not to recommend, but sometimes hard to listen to.
  55. elliot
    Oct 30, 2006
    9
    The critics who trashed this album are dead wrong. It is more complete, nuanced and more consistently good throughout vs Hot Fuss. A more grown up band just having fun. After reading the reviews I hesitated buying it but after listening to the tracks for over a week I am sure this will be a favourite from 2006. The RS review was particularly off...
  56. Jon
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    I absolutely love this album. Like it more than the frist album. I think it's more solid start to finish. I hear more U2 than Springsteen or Queen.
  57. Sean
    Oct 4, 2006
    1
    This album is terrible. Bruce Springsteen should sue The Killers for damaging his legacy. Wow, just wow.
  58. BrandonFlowers
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    63?! You're kidding. The most important record of the past twenty years and you think it's a 63? This album's slick, innovative Springsteen/U2 sound has made albums like Born In the U.S.A. and The Joshua Tree totally obsolete. How can you give a 63 to a guy who ripped his image from Rivers Cuomo after getting tired of ripping his image from Duran Duran? Has anyone else 63?! You're kidding. The most important record of the past twenty years and you think it's a 63? This album's slick, innovative Springsteen/U2 sound has made albums like Born In the U.S.A. and The Joshua Tree totally obsolete. How can you give a 63 to a guy who ripped his image from Rivers Cuomo after getting tired of ripping his image from Duran Duran? Has anyone else tried to recycle New Wave recently? I didn't think so. The least I'll except is a 94. Otherwise, I'm moving to Mars. Critics are idiots. Expand
  59. C.Mick
    Oct 5, 2006
    10
    I remember when Hot Fuss came out and American Critics Ripped it as an 80's pastiche. Then the Killers became huge and the same critics attempted to leap on the bandwagon at the last minute. This band writes great songs, looks great, girls love them - who cares what the dateless nerds who read pitchfork think
  60. KatyD
    Oct 5, 2006
    4
    Impossible to followup a great CD like Hot Fuss but this effort is pretty bad. Listening to most of the songs I think to myself "I would turn the station in a heartbeat if I heard this on the radio." A few songs are okay but overall it's very disappointing.
  61. Joris
    Oct 6, 2006
    9
    Brilliant! Bling (Confession of a King) does forget Mr. Brightside immediately. When We Were Young has to be the best single in ages.... Other standout tracks are the growing For Reasons Unknown and My List. Great effort, love the Ziggy Stardust exitlude and it's more consistent than Hot Fuss.
  62. stephenb
    Oct 6, 2006
    2
    "hot fuss" was damn near perfect. how did they go so horribly wrong on this album? bye bye simplistic catchy pop hooks. this album sounds like meatloaf and andrew lloyd webber wrote a musical about america. very disappointing.
  63. MichaelR
    Oct 6, 2006
    4
    Everyone expected BIG BIG things from this album, being that 'Hot Fuss' sold over 5 million copies...I too could not wait for Sam' Town. Now that I have listened to it for two days, i'd appreciate The Killers to take the album, keep about 3 or 4 songs, and go back to the studio and make better, CATCHIER songs...WAY TOO MANY FILLER SONGS HERE!!! good songs on the album: Everyone expected BIG BIG things from this album, being that 'Hot Fuss' sold over 5 million copies...I too could not wait for Sam' Town. Now that I have listened to it for two days, i'd appreciate The Killers to take the album, keep about 3 or 4 songs, and go back to the studio and make better, CATCHIER songs...WAY TOO MANY FILLER SONGS HERE!!! good songs on the album: "When you were young", great song "Bones", bowie/the cure-like and fun "The River is Wild" fast fun song "Sam's Town" Expand
  64. Noj
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    I'd say it's pretty clear from the reviews that the only people that don't like this album are stuck up indie guys who can't like any band that is also liked by more than 100 people or by someone who has some sort of bone to pick with Flowers. The album to me is great. It is more solid from the beginning to the end than Hot Fuss. Sure there's no Mr. Brightside but I'd say it's pretty clear from the reviews that the only people that don't like this album are stuck up indie guys who can't like any band that is also liked by more than 100 people or by someone who has some sort of bone to pick with Flowers. The album to me is great. It is more solid from the beginning to the end than Hot Fuss. Sure there's no Mr. Brightside but there's a lot of really good solid songs on this album. I haven't stopped listening to it since I got it. Expand
  65. DrewN
    Oct 7, 2006
    9
    I have to say that I've liked the Killers in the past, but I was never an avid fan. I thought their music was catchy, but not especially clever. Well I'm over that now, I'm a true fan. I'd had my doubts over this album, and the band's turn towards more serious sounds. I even thought the first single was "boring" on the first few listens. But this is not music that I have to say that I've liked the Killers in the past, but I was never an avid fan. I thought their music was catchy, but not especially clever. Well I'm over that now, I'm a true fan. I'd had my doubts over this album, and the band's turn towards more serious sounds. I even thought the first single was "boring" on the first few listens. But this is not music that hits you instantly. It quietly (but ever so slyly) works its way into your head, until you realize you're singing these songs at the top of your lungs. A must-buy album of the year. Standout tracks: When You Were Young, Bones, Sam's Town, Bling (Confessions of a King), For Reasons Unknown (which is my personal favorite) Expand
  66. JimS
    Oct 7, 2006
    10
    I have been a Killers fan since their debut album, and I was always surprised by how poorly their songs are received by critics. This is the best album of the year to date, no questions asked. Sure its short, and maybe it has too many cliches. But there are so many songs which on this album which would make my top 20 of the year, period. Sheer musical brillance.
  67. ThriftyT
    Oct 9, 2006
    8
    If you're too cool to listen to any band that plays to more than a club full of people, forget about the Killers' Sam's Town. The sound is big, the production is grandiose, the vocals uplifting, and the hooks are unrelenting. This is a big-time rock album by a big-time rock band.
  68. DaveT
    Oct 9, 2006
    8
    i hate Bones, other wise the album has grown on me.
  69. rp
    Oct 9, 2006
    8
    Why criticize this album? It is different, not as catchy as hot fuss, but I like it. It is just a more complete album with also more "rock" songs and not only catchy songs.
  70. JMo
    Sep 28, 2006
    2
    The cracks are showing on this album...Flowers was obviously hoping that his delicate voice could touch Springsteen or Mercury (Freddie that is) and the simple fact is...it can't. The Killers shoulda stuck with what they knew best.
  71. sindym
    Feb 10, 2007
    10
    I love this album, but it take a couple of listens before individual songs stood out to me. I loved hot fuss and i feel a little sad that they have left that part of their lives behind. I love both albums, but they sound like two different bands. My two favourite bands.
  72. PalomaM.
    Jul 9, 2007
    9
    It took me some time to fully appreciate it, but now it's definitely one of my favourite albums: catchy chorus, good guitars, lyrics with something to say... If I had to point something not so good, maybe I'd say it's a bit "overproduced".
  73. scottw.
    Aug 19, 2007
    8
    They are true pop rockers and this album proves it. An other one thats a must buy for todays rock fans.
  74. MislavF.
    Aug 9, 2007
    4
    I honestly got so tired of the cheese of this album that I turned it off on the last track, not even a full listen.
  75. KaseyM.
    Sep 14, 2007
    10
    An All-time favorite album!! (and Im picky when it comes to lyric and vocal creativity) The album is full of character and energy that most artists today are lacking... plus the concert was absolutely amazing! Seeing Sam's Town live was the highlight of my concert-filled summer and I enjoyed it so much I'm driving to Texas to see it again! Rolling Stone should fire the critic An All-time favorite album!! (and Im picky when it comes to lyric and vocal creativity) The album is full of character and energy that most artists today are lacking... plus the concert was absolutely amazing! Seeing Sam's Town live was the highlight of my concert-filled summer and I enjoyed it so much I'm driving to Texas to see it again! Rolling Stone should fire the critic who gave Paris Hilton a better review than Brandon Flowers and The Killers. Expand
  76. BenH
    Feb 20, 2008
    10
    At first I said "This album is terrible" but the more I listened to it i realized what musical genius it is. It is the best album that has ever been created, it just takes you listening to it ten times to realize it.
  77. AidanK
    Mar 8, 2008
    8
    Hot fuss was frustrating and frequently switched between brilliant and rubbish, this one however is a joy from begining to end. A really good effort.
  78. CamiJ
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    This CD is rock heaven; I love everything about it. I think it's impossible to find any genuine flaws in both the songs and the band, and it's for that reason that I will support them to the end.
  79. DeanM.
    Aug 20, 2009
    10
    I agree totally with Brandon Flowers, this is possibly the best album of the last 20 years, so far, a fears rival of their first album hot fuss, its yet another great album from the Las Vegas Superstars !
  80. melissam
    Oct 1, 2006
    8
    takes a few listens to fully appreciate the album. when you were young, is the best track on the album.
  81. matta
    Oct 12, 2006
    5
    Pretty embarrassing. Hot Fuss was a good record (good not great) that just got overplayed. When I heard the bad press for this record, I wasn't willing to just jump on the bandwagon of Killers-haters. Then I saw the When You Were Young video and it was a solid single, and I thought that this record might actually be good. I was wrong. Aforementioned single is the only really good Pretty embarrassing. Hot Fuss was a good record (good not great) that just got overplayed. When I heard the bad press for this record, I wasn't willing to just jump on the bandwagon of Killers-haters. Then I saw the When You Were Young video and it was a solid single, and I thought that this record might actually be good. I was wrong. Aforementioned single is the only really good track with a few other okay ones, but the lyrics are all-around awful (not that they were amazing on Hot Fuss, but still, this is just so much worse). Really, this metacscore is pretty fair, and maybe even a little generous. Expand
  82. Cat
    Oct 13, 2006
    10
    I love the new sound. Just an all together feel good album.
  83. DaveK
    Oct 15, 2006
    2
    Emo meets Springsteen with a closed head injury lyrics. Lacks the zeal of Hot Fuss and the updated-retro alternative fun. Sam's sounds clunky, over-dramatic and joyless. The change in sound is unfortunate, a backlash is coming.
  84. MIchaelF
    Oct 15, 2006
    9
    Excellent follow up. Anyone who compares this to Hot Fuss needs to actually listen to both albumes. Definite maturation in the lyrics, much more even in tone and sound than the first album. Don't know about aiming too high, but they have acheived a great follow up.
  85. duncanf
    Oct 16, 2006
    9
    this cd has what most don't. it has class and it'soriginal unlike most cd's that i have listened too.
  86. Megakraak
    Oct 16, 2006
    5
    Well, Flowers said this new album will be more "american" than 'Hot Fuss'. So what's new? 'Sam's Town' is a strange album and many times songs can be repetitive. We can find some interesting musics, not many, with a lot of bizarre influences... Meat Loaf?!!? Waterboys? 2 years ago, The Killers were the best "british" band; now they inverted that and are Well, Flowers said this new album will be more "american" than 'Hot Fuss'. So what's new? 'Sam's Town' is a strange album and many times songs can be repetitive. We can find some interesting musics, not many, with a lot of bizarre influences... Meat Loaf?!!? Waterboys? 2 years ago, The Killers were the best "british" band; now they inverted that and are trying to be the best american band... they intend! Not sure if they will. Originality decreases. Expand
  87. BrianL
    Oct 18, 2006
    9
    This album is fun, catchy, and motivating. Does that count for anything? Do albums have to be artsy and challenging to get critical support, or can they just be enjoyable. Boy I hate music critics. Don't read the reviews: hear it yourself.
  88. DukeC
    Oct 2, 2006
    9
    At first I didn't believe that this album was as good as Hot Fuss. But after about six-seven listens, I now believe think that it is better than Hot Fuss. The only weak songs on the album are "Why Do I Keep Counting" and "Uncle Johnny"; both seem uninspired.
  89. bb
    Oct 23, 2006
    8
    making a killer second album after such a popular and awesome, smash breaking first album, is always hard, and most of the time not so succesful...the killers have done a decent job, the thing is that most of the fans/listeners were used to the 'hot fuss' sound, and had expectations on the new album somewhere along those lines, but the killers went a new way. this is confusing making a killer second album after such a popular and awesome, smash breaking first album, is always hard, and most of the time not so succesful...the killers have done a decent job, the thing is that most of the fans/listeners were used to the 'hot fuss' sound, and had expectations on the new album somewhere along those lines, but the killers went a new way. this is confusing and new and like...yea...the fans/listeners were probably like: "wtf? this is just plain shit....*further insults*"...but in the realistic world nothing can be liked given only one chance, so after some listens to this new album, i've grown to like my visits in sam's town... Expand
  90. RichS
    Dec 4, 2006
    9
    Good CD, different than first one so some may not like it. It has a good variety of songs.
  91. amelia
    Oct 25, 2006
    9
    Loved it. It may not be Hot Fuss and does take 2 or 3 listens to appreciate it but so worth it. Thankyou Mr Flowers for a great album :)
  92. JohnB
    Oct 3, 2006
    8
    It's not Hot Fuss, but it's still the quality I expect from them. Definitely hints of the Cure and Simple Minds. Some critics just seem to want to hate on them, taking shots at the song writing and such, but the one thing I think they overlook is that the Killers appeal stems primarily from how they make you feel. I just want to turn it up, sing along, and shift into fifth.
  93. DenmarkJ
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    I don't get the reviews that say it is not as good as Hot Fuss. Sure, there is no sequal to Mr. Brightside, and I'll admit that I misssed that at first. But it is such a stronger album track for track, and unlike Hot Fuss, gets strongest toward the end. Thanks Killers!
  94. drewr
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    i love this band and i love this album
  95. EricW
    Oct 3, 2006
    3
    Ouch. Watch The Killers crash and burn, blue-collar style.
  96. SB
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    While this album makes me wince at a couple of points, i still can't help but be so stoked. They had me at "When You Were Young".
  97. ToddW
    Oct 3, 2006
    5
    Ahhh, The Killers. A dumbed-down, less angular, more predictable, way less astute Franz Ferdinand. Just what we all need, right? For all you soccer moms (and dads!) out there who can't stop humming along to these tired, regurgitated, elementary melodies, how does it feel to be in the same social strata as the circle of prepubescents on the playground of your local junior high school? Ahhh, The Killers. A dumbed-down, less angular, more predictable, way less astute Franz Ferdinand. Just what we all need, right? For all you soccer moms (and dads!) out there who can't stop humming along to these tired, regurgitated, elementary melodies, how does it feel to be in the same social strata as the circle of prepubescents on the playground of your local junior high school? I guess someone had to come along and make you all feel "hip" again, no? Go back to rockin' the Coldplay in your SUVs; the Killers are D.O.A. Expand
  98. DarenWixson
    Oct 3, 2006
    9
    I just bought the CD on-sale, I'm on track 7, had to see the reviews on Metacritic right-away anticipating a great review! Much Better then the 63 the critics gave! I agree with Mojo "An action-packed blockbuster.", we it grow on you, we'll have to wait and see!
  99. MattD.
    Oct 3, 2006
    8
    Not quite as good as Hot Fuss, but no sophomore slump. The Springsteen/U2 sound, when combined with the Killers' new wave touches, makes Sam's Town more than just a copy. The album's end is a little weak, but by then you've had a fun time.
  100. BrendanM
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    Brilliant
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Uncut
    60
    The problem... is that size seems to be used as an excuse for the lack of musical ideas. [Nov 2006, p.102]
  2. Crucially, Sam's Town sounds like a complete collection, with a far better strike rate than its predecessor.
  3. 80
    It is very good.