Sam's Town - The Killers
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 275 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 275

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 8, 2012
    8
    Very strong follow up to their anthem filled debut album. This is a big rock record, less British Indie and more American ROCK than Hot Fuss. A big step toward the U2 sound can seen here. Takes a bit longer to get into than Hot Fuss but it's a really good record. Maybe a great song or 2 short of getting a 9 or 10.
  2. Feb 2, 2012
    8
    I enjoyed this album. It exceeds there predecessor. The Killers experimented a lot on Sam's Town and all of it sounds great. "For Reason's Unknown" is the best track on the album. All In All, Sam's Town is a great album. B+
  3. j30
    Nov 8, 2011
    7
    A really topsy turvy album with some really great songs like Read My Mind and When You Were Young, but with some dull songs like This River Is Wild and Bling (Confessions of a King).
  4. Sep 26, 2012
    8
    They fixed most of the mistakes in their debut and released 'Sam's Town' then, which is a powerful alternative rock album with good music and good lyrics. Of course also the really good voice of lead singer Brandon Flowers! The Enter- and Exitlude are great; I just like the whole concpet of the album. 'When We Are Young' is the only top song, but all songs complement each other to a veryThey fixed most of the mistakes in their debut and released 'Sam's Town' then, which is a powerful alternative rock album with good music and good lyrics. Of course also the really good voice of lead singer Brandon Flowers! The Enter- and Exitlude are great; I just like the whole concpet of the album. 'When We Are Young' is the only top song, but all songs complement each other to a very good album! Expand
  5. Aug 22, 2013
    4
    [4.6] The Killers have a bad habit of losing interest in their own music, which doesn't help the experience of the listener. Sam's Town doesn't do anything interesting with a genre that is seriously worn out.
  6. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    The second album is generally the hardest to make. Here we have an ambitious desire of releasing a rock 'n' roll album to become a classic. The thing is that it failed to do that... for most people. While it's not my favorite The Killers album, nor my second favorite, it has all that was needed to breakthrough as an instant classic. "When You Were Young", the lead single, proved to be pureThe second album is generally the hardest to make. Here we have an ambitious desire of releasing a rock 'n' roll album to become a classic. The thing is that it failed to do that... for most people. While it's not my favorite The Killers album, nor my second favorite, it has all that was needed to breakthrough as an instant classic. "When You Were Young", the lead single, proved to be pure rock 'n' roll with depth and strength. "Read My Mind", the best song here, proves to be deep and magical, one of the best songs The Killers have ever made. The title track is strong, just as "Bling", a bipolar rock and roll track that requires you to be prepared for huge moments and minimalistic moments within the same song. "Why Do I Keep Counting?" is another highlight here. But Sam's Town wouldn't be Sam's Town without the epic interludes "Enterlude" and "Exitlude". Highly recommended for people looking for real rock 'n' roll. Expand
  7. Dec 15, 2012
    7
    Sam's Town is a really good album it just lacks the variety of many of the other Killers albums. It has great songs but some of the songs are really nothing special. I would however still highly recommend it.
  8. Oct 19, 2011
    8
    Good album. It's not nearly as good as Hot Fuss but it never dwindles and has some great moments. It's unnecessaryily short, making it a bit insignificant after a while, though
  9. May 26, 2012
    5
    While I didn't think this album was awful, I found it weak when compared to Hot Fuss and Day & Age. I found the majority of the songs on this album to be dull and lacking hooks to make them memorable. I think this album will leave a poor impression on someone who picks this up as their first Killers album, and would recommend either Hot Fuss of Day & Age as a starting point.
  10. Sep 30, 2010
    10
    Great follow up too the great Hot Fuss , The Killers certainly dont do things by halfs and the ambition and passion of this album is infectious , my favourite tracks are Bling and This River is Wild the Enterlude / Exitlude are a really nice touch and overall this album feels like a journey rather than just a series of (very good) songs with a common theme like Hot Fuss
  11. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    If you like the sounds The Killers can produce then I do believe you'll just love this. To be honest, I love hating band's 2nd albums but I just couldn't hate this. For a start, 'Sam's Town' has an extremely strong track list all the way trough, reminiscent of albums such as 'American Idiot', 'Nevermind' or maybe 'Passive Me, Aggressive You' in that respect. The songs 'Sam's Town',If you like the sounds The Killers can produce then I do believe you'll just love this. To be honest, I love hating band's 2nd albums but I just couldn't hate this. For a start, 'Sam's Town' has an extremely strong track list all the way trough, reminiscent of albums such as 'American Idiot', 'Nevermind' or maybe 'Passive Me, Aggressive You' in that respect. The songs 'Sam's Town', 'Enterlude', 'Uncle Jonny', 'For Reasons Unknown' and especially 'My List' really stand out to me as memorable 21st century tracks which is a pretty big deal in my book. Although there has been a lot of people saying that this album goes the places 'Hot Fuss' didn't even attempt to go, I really believe that the sound of the The Killers hasn't really changed much. It's all in perfect balance in my opinion meaning, they change up enough to keep it interesting but still keep that devilish, vibrant, cold & bouncy sound we fell in love with in 'Hot fuss'. I really can't fault this album, it obviously hasn't inspired an uprising or captured a huge audience, I mean it hasn't taken music to that place that artists such as Dylan and Hendrix were able to master and for purely that reason this album doesn't achieve the 10 out of 10. Fantastic album though!â Expand
  12. Sep 25, 2013
    8
    Definitely the most underrated Killers album to date. When people think back to this album many will only remember the single "When You Were Young", but songs like "For Reasons Unknown" and "Bones" suggest that this album is much more full than you remembered.
  13. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    I don't know what some people were smoking when they wrote their reviews for Sam's Town?! This is one of THE best albums I have heard in quite some time. Most, if not all, tracks are epic in their own way, shape, or form. The bonus tracks, as per the usual, are probably the weaker portion of the album with Daddy's Eyes and Where the White Boys Dance, which aren't even that bad of songs.I don't know what some people were smoking when they wrote their reviews for Sam's Town?! This is one of THE best albums I have heard in quite some time. Most, if not all, tracks are epic in their own way, shape, or form. The bonus tracks, as per the usual, are probably the weaker portion of the album with Daddy's Eyes and Where the White Boys Dance, which aren't even that bad of songs. The majority, however, are excellent, classic Killers tracks! My favorites are definitely Bling (Confession of a King), For Reasons Unknown, Read My Mind, My List, This River is Wild, and, my absolute favorite, Why do I Keep Counting?. That's me being modest and half the tracks of the standard album. I will agree with what some have said on here already, that it is a grower album. The hard sound didn't agree with me so much at first, but after listening to that album a few times, it definitely finds a way into your auditory canal, in the best way possible. This album, in my opinion, is the epitome of Killers greatness! 10/10 hands down! Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
  1. 60
    The problem... is that size seems to be used as an excuse for the lack of musical ideas. [Nov 2006, p.102]
  2. Crucially, Sam's Town sounds like a complete collection, with a far better strike rate than its predecessor.
  3. 80
    It is very good.