Sam's Town

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Sam's Town Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 308 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Flood and Alan Moulder handled production for the popular Las Vegas band's second album.

Top Track

When You Were Young
You sit there in your heartache Waiting on some beautiful boy To save you from your old ways You play forgiveness Watch it now- here he comes He... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Crucially, Sam's Town sounds like a complete collection, with a far better strike rate than its predecessor.
  2. "Sam's Town" is a sophisticated sonic metropolis.
  3. Sam's Town works well as a cohesive album, despite its delusions of grandeur.
  4. The Killers album is, whisper it, pretty good in places.
  5. Uncut
    60
    The problem... is that size seems to be used as an excuse for the lack of musical ideas. [Nov 2006, p.102]
  6. Ultimately, they don't come across as unbearably pretentious so much as just really, really misguided.
  7. Of course it is good to be ambitious. Of course the Killers needed to update their sound, given that the 80’s revival is fading away. But their new bombast is a classic case of a young band overreaching to assert its Significance.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 179
  1. BrandonFlowers
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    63?! You're kidding. The most important record of the past twenty years and you think it's a 63? This album's slick, 63?! You're kidding. The most important record of the past twenty years and you think it's a 63? This album's slick, innovative Springsteen/U2 sound has made albums like Born In the U.S.A. and The Joshua Tree totally obsolete. How can you give a 63 to a guy who ripped his image from Rivers Cuomo after getting tired of ripping his image from Duran Duran? Has anyone else tried to recycle New Wave recently? I didn't think so. The least I'll except is a 94. Otherwise, I'm moving to Mars. Critics are idiots. Expand
  2. JerryT
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    I LOVE this CD. The more you listen to it the more you learn. The lyrics are great and so is the sound. Congrats to the Killers for topping I LOVE this CD. The more you listen to it the more you learn. The lyrics are great and so is the sound. Congrats to the Killers for topping their first album. Expand
  3. Sep 30, 2010
    10
    Great follow up too the great Hot Fuss , The Killers certainly dont do things by halfs and the ambition and passion of this album isGreat follow up too the great Hot Fuss , The Killers certainly dont do things by halfs and the ambition and passion of this album is infectious , my favourite tracks are Bling and This River is Wild the Enterlude / Exitlude are a really nice touch and overall this album feels like a journey rather than just a series of (very good) songs with a common theme like Hot Fuss Expand
  4. GGinaThis
    Oct 2, 2006
    9
    This is a very good record. I think only time will allow people to listen to it and stop comparing it to all of the artists that the band This is a very good record. I think only time will allow people to listen to it and stop comparing it to all of the artists that the band said inspired them during the making of Sam's Town. It's lush-- and although I think every one has his right to an opinion I wonder how many critics actully listened to this record in its entirity. I say this because I've listened to it a few times and ultimately, it's good. I'm surprised that some of the crap that has been released recently can receive such raves while this record that truly is from such a new, creative band is panned. Rock and Roll has suffered so much lately-- mostly because there are very few new bands who admit to being rock and roll artists or who strive to be. Thank goodness for bands like Wolfmother.....and thank goodness for the Killers for trying to keep the rock and roll dream alive. Listen with your ears and decide for yourself, if you don't like it, then you don't like it, but don't let critics tell you that you don't. Expand
  5. JonH
    Oct 27, 2006
    8
    Only re-cuts of Mr. Brightside and Somebody Told Me would have generated positive reviws from critics. When an album is as good as Hot Fuss, Only re-cuts of Mr. Brightside and Somebody Told Me would have generated positive reviws from critics. When an album is as good as Hot Fuss, it's too easy to listen to the follow-up and say "this one isn't as good." It doesn't have to be. If Hot Fuss is a 9 with the two big singles being 10s, Sam's Town is an 8. There are no 10s in terms of singles (though When You Were Young is pretty close) but there are a lot more good songs on Sam's Town than on Hot Fuss. Hot Fuss trailed off at the end whereas Sam's Town has solid tunes from start to finish. Anyone who made up their mind about this album without listening to it 10 times should be instantly discredited and forced to go home and give it 9 more listens. GREAT ALBUM. Don't believe the hype. Expand
  6. MichaelC
    Oct 5, 2006
    7
    Definitely not "the best record of the last 10 years" like Brandon Flowers boasted, but good enough. Thoroughly enjoyable and solid. It is Definitely not "the best record of the last 10 years" like Brandon Flowers boasted, but good enough. Thoroughly enjoyable and solid. It is definitely an improvement on Hot Fuss. The standout track is, by far, "Bones" Expand
  7. jimh
    Oct 5, 2006
    0
    no me gusta

See all 179 User Reviews