Satellite Flight: The Journey to Mother Moon Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Originally an EP, the 10-track album was a surprise midnight release for the hip hop artist.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Brave and futuristic, by venturing into space, Mescudi finally steps out of Kanye’s shadow--with not just one small step, but one giant leap.
  2. Mar 3, 2014
    80
    Scott Mescudi made an EP’s worth of material feel like an album, and he did it without surrendering his artistic integrity in the process.
  3. Mar 3, 2014
    80
    Satellite Flight captures Cudi’s adventure back home to the moon and does it brilliantly.
  4. Mar 3, 2014
    60
    Satellite Flight: The Journey to the Mother Moon occupies a space between what is and what's coming, but Kid Cudi's admired originality falls short and is almost lackluster here in comparison to his previous works.
  5. Mar 18, 2014
    60
    To navigate successfully around a Kid Cudi album, then, is to get really good at squinting at the periphery.
  6. 50
    Simply put, it’s just another Kid Cudi album--a scattered collection of songs developed as a concept album, but never fitting together to form something great.
  7. 33
    Maybe it’s because we’ve grown accustomed to Cudi’s style and the influence it’s had over other artists, but at this point, it just sounds a little bit stale.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16
  1. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    I usually write proper reviews but I'm not even gonna bother for this, too many retards thinking experimental/alternative hip hop music is badI usually write proper reviews but I'm not even gonna bother for this, too many retards thinking experimental/alternative hip hop music is bad because they have nothing like it. KID CUDI IS ON TOP MOTHER **** Expand
  2. Mar 9, 2015
    8
    Satellite Flight is unique to modern hip-hop. It is futuristic sounding not only due to the theme of space travel, but also because it is aSatellite Flight is unique to modern hip-hop. It is futuristic sounding not only due to the theme of space travel, but also because it is a new direction in hip-hop. Kid Cudi is known for his individual style of music, and has applied the theme of space before. Two of his earlier albums, Man on the Moon, and Man on the Moon II were about loneliness and self-reliance and were closer to generic hip-hop. Then came Indicud, which did not use the space theme as much but was much more experimental. Satellite Flight is Kid Cudi's most experimental work so far. The music is made up of only synthesizers and some electric guitar, and of course, Kid Cudi's voice. To me and probably other people it's unlike anything heard before. The first time I listened to Satellite Flight, I thought the album was mediocre and some of the album's structure was awkwardly assembled. After I listened to it a few more times it started to grow on me and felt more organic. The songs are catchy, but not in the traditional way. The album is very melodic, featuring only one song with rapping in it: Too Bad I Have To Destroy You Now. Many of the songs have long instrumental gaps between lyrics, and a few songs like Destination: Mother Moon, In My Dreams 2015, and Return of the Moon Man are completely instrumental. The song lyrics don't have the deepest meanings to them. But as far as originality and just making the songs sound different goes, I'd say Kid Cudi nailed it. Expand
  3. Aug 19, 2015
    8
    Negative reviews are probably coming from the same people that can't stand to pimp a butterfly but are just dickriding. Gotta love theNegative reviews are probably coming from the same people that can't stand to pimp a butterfly but are just dickriding. Gotta love the production and the lyrics.
    A big shout out to Cudi for being one of the reasons not to commit suicide. Can't wait for motm3.
    -breaklimbs
    Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2016
    7
    Satellite Flight is not an album moreso it's an experience. I can say there's only 1 song that I'd listen to while chilling (Going To TheSatellite Flight is not an album moreso it's an experience. I can say there's only 1 song that I'd listen to while chilling (Going To The Ceremony) but if you give this a proper listen (with a drink maybe) you'll find that this is an extremely enjoyable album. Also, there's the fact that Scott released 2 great albums in less than a year. Kid Cudi is probably the most innovative artist of this generation. Every album he releases is different and that's the best part of his music, you never know what you're in for.

    Best song:Going To The Ceremony

    Worst song:Too Bad I Have To Destroy You Now
    Expand
  5. Mar 5, 2014
    4
    “Son, what did you learn in school today?”

    “I learned to never buy another Kid Cudi album without giving it a listen beforehand, Mom.”
    “Son, what did you learn in school today?”

    “I learned to never buy another Kid Cudi album without giving it a listen beforehand, Mom.”

    Yes, fam, I bought this one without listening. Even with Indicud in the books, I trusted Cudi enough to make a 10 track album with quality tracks that made me say “Dat New Cudi doe”, but this did not do that. Instead, I was taken aback by the fact that one of my favorite artists was able to craft a 10 track album with considerable filler. Tracks like “Internal Bleeding” and “In My Dreams 2015” are shockingly included and serve as clear evidence that this was once an EP. The decision to extend this one into an album was extremely poor indeed and serve to show how Cudi’s decision making when it comes to his recent work has suffered. However, there is still hope for Man on the Moon III next year. Tracks like “Going to the Ceremony” show Cudi’s considerable talent and I can see myself adding that to my list of favorite Kid Cudi songs without question. In addition, a track such as “Troubled Boy” continues to prove to me that Cudi is a cocktease in recent years. He licks the tip but does not give you the full blowjob anymore (no homo). The singing on this track is impeccable, but it never reaches its full potential due to Cudi just not adding anything other than what I can only assume is the hook. Finally, his production is solid, I do like it, but please, ditch it for MOTM3 and hand over the keys to Emile, Plain Pat, and Dot da Genius.
    Expand
  6. Mar 5, 2014
    3
    Not sure how, if you're a fan of hip hop, you can like this. Fortunetly hip hop has gone in many directions.But this synth/electronic mysticNot sure how, if you're a fan of hip hop, you can like this. Fortunetly hip hop has gone in many directions.But this synth/electronic mystic sound is NOT hip hop, nor did I like it. Kid Cudi is original and I dig his reach into new things. But there was NOTHING I liked on this CD. Nothing. Pass..... Expand
  7. Dec 16, 2015
    0
    This is by far one of the worst albums I've ever had the displeasure of listening to. Kid Cudi is a talentless hack with a babyd1ck in musicThis is by far one of the worst albums I've ever had the displeasure of listening to. Kid Cudi is a talentless hack with a babyd1ck in music he should not make music ever again.It's basically, a scattered collective of track developed as an idea-driven album, but nothing ever fits. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews