Speakerboxxx/The Love Below

  • Record Label: La Face
  • Release Date: Sep 23, 2003
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 281 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 281

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MalikM.
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    This IS THE GREATEST ALBUM I EVER HEARD ANDRE 3000 IS A MUSICAL GENIUS
  2. rickr
    Oct 16, 2003
    10
    holy what? this cd is too funky-fresh to exist. i dont believe its real....i wanna concieve my first child to this album.
  3. AaronH
    May 9, 2007
    8
    Good music is not self indulgent. If you're looking for gangsta, this isn't it. Please, if gangsta is what you're looking for, by all means, buy a 50 Cent album. If you like R&B that borders on jazz, The Love Below has its moments. In fact, it has enough moments that someone like me, who generally avoids hip-hop, bought the album. As for the comparisons to Prince--the Good music is not self indulgent. If you're looking for gangsta, this isn't it. Please, if gangsta is what you're looking for, by all means, buy a 50 Cent album. If you like R&B that borders on jazz, The Love Below has its moments. In fact, it has enough moments that someone like me, who generally avoids hip-hop, bought the album. As for the comparisons to Prince--the resemblance is superficial. Andre 3000 is in his own territory here. Expand
  4. ChristopheH
    Oct 8, 2003
    9
    Big Boi and André, you guys rule! This is fun from start to end!!!
  5. bigboi
    May 26, 2004
    10
    exelent cd. loved every 39 songs. outkast fan rejoice, they have done it again!!!
  6. richardj
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    Tell me a better album that crosses over like this record does! I haven't bought a new album since this apart from the follwoing Lina's The Inner Beauty Movement and Guillemots-Through the Windowpane, as everything i have heard pales in comparison, musically. I buy a lot of old-skool records but this contempoary classic keeps Hip-Hop fans satisfied, pop/r & B fans have something Tell me a better album that crosses over like this record does! I haven't bought a new album since this apart from the follwoing Lina's The Inner Beauty Movement and Guillemots-Through the Windowpane, as everything i have heard pales in comparison, musically. I buy a lot of old-skool records but this contempoary classic keeps Hip-Hop fans satisfied, pop/r & B fans have something meaningful for a change, plus old skool fans of Prince/Funkadelic and Sly Stone now have the next artist who can carry on the mantle! THat artist is Andre 3000! if anyone slates this album as far as I'm concerned you can't know much about music writing and quality! (the quality! not dribble like Mariah Carey, James Blunt, Kelly Clarkson) The only album to me what competes in writing to this is Lina's The Inner Beauty Movement! Expand
  7. DanA
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    Funking amazing album. Can never stop listening to it. The Love Below is genius, and Speakerboxxx is like an extension to the previously awesome style Outkast has been known for. A classic.
  8. LourdesR
    Oct 10, 2003
    10
    I think im in love again. Stank you, Smelly much.
  9. CJMcIntosh
    Oct 11, 2003
    10
    Awesome. These guys are so cool it's insane.
  10. NathanM
    Nov 2, 2003
    9
    Close To Perfection...The Album Of The Year, Hands Down. Take Off Your Cool!
  11. GeorgeMichael
    Oct 6, 2003
    10
    AMAZING! ALBUM OF THE YEAR!!!
  12. PaulF
    Oct 7, 2003
    10
    This is one of my favorite albums ever, and i almost never listen to rap. Speakerboxxx didn't do as much for me (not really a big rap fan), but I'm gonna give it another couple listens. The Love Below made it totally worth buying.
  13. NseE
    Dec 25, 2003
    10
    I thought 'Elephant' by The White Stripes was album of the year, then this came along. Awesome!!! Every track is a classic, and the humerous interludes ('God', 'Where are my panties') are a scream. Standouts include the lyrically superb 'War', 'Hey ya', 'Happy valentine's day', 'Spread', 'Flip flop rock', I thought 'Elephant' by The White Stripes was album of the year, then this came along. Awesome!!! Every track is a classic, and the humerous interludes ('God', 'Where are my panties') are a scream. Standouts include the lyrically superb 'War', 'Hey ya', 'Happy valentine's day', 'Spread', 'Flip flop rock', 'Reset', 'Knowing, the hidden jazzy track, everything. A classic that defies categorisation. Brilliant!!! Expand
  14. Jan 4, 2013
    8
    This is not one album by Outkast, rather, it's two solo albums sold together as a group album. One is by Big Boi and the other is by Andre 3000. Unfortunately for Big Boi, 3000's record is so compelling and overwhelming that no one has time for Big Boi's album. 3000 clearly stands out, releasing an album the completely moves beyond the boundaries of hip-hop into Prince-esque territory,This is not one album by Outkast, rather, it's two solo albums sold together as a group album. One is by Big Boi and the other is by Andre 3000. Unfortunately for Big Boi, 3000's record is so compelling and overwhelming that no one has time for Big Boi's album. 3000 clearly stands out, releasing an album the completely moves beyond the boundaries of hip-hop into Prince-esque territory, combining jazz, funk, soul, pseudo-rock and hip hop into one fascinating album that has left fans thirsty for a new solo album from 3000 since 2003. Overall, Speakerboxxx/The Love Below is another astounding Outkast album, yet one could say it started the divide that has left Outkast on a hiatus ever since their mediocre followup record Idlewild was released. Expand
  15. ShaanS
    Mar 28, 2007
    7
    Pales in comparison to Stankonia. Not the genre molding album the critics claimed it to be. They must have needed a rap album to their top 10 lists to diversify.
  16. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    While Speakerboxxx is certainly a strong hip hop record, The Love Below is without a doubt the most innovative r&b album in years, and is perhaps the best album of any style of music for the entire decade 2000-2009. Pure musical genius.
  17. AsafoS
    Oct 12, 2003
    10
    This album is incredible. Both artists continue Outkast's hard-paved legacy. One thing remains evident...they are perfect complements to one another musically, and would be longer lived as a group.
  18. Julian
    Oct 5, 2003
    10
    Wow...the love below is the SHIT!
  19. ShaunP
    Oct 5, 2003
    10
    Pure Hip-Hop!!! Both albums tell the story of Hip-hop and where it's heading. It's a great break from the cookie cutter garbadge out now!!!
  20. ChrisC
    Sep 23, 2003
    10
    This album has got to be tha best of all tha outkast collection. If you've never heard outkast pick this album up... Believe me ya'll thank me latta
  21. DJIght
    Oct 10, 2004
    10
    The Love Below is the greatest album i have ever heard period. If Outkast just released TLB then it would be perfect, but they made it even more perfect by adding a godd album that is titled SpeakerBoxxx
  22. leah
    Oct 14, 2004
    9
    this was a great cd i loved the love below but was not a big fan of speakerboxxxx but was still great
  23. HeatherL.
    May 27, 2004
    10
    Nothing beats it!
  24. GlenC
    Oct 1, 2003
    10
    Both CDs are excelent, they havent even left my cd player since i purchaced them!
  25. DavidCharlesB.
    Oct 12, 2003
    10
    Excellent album by OutKast, Better than Stankonia, but not as good as Atliens, but then again Atliens is the best album ever. Just buy this and enjoy it.
  26. Phily-EagleFan
    Oct 15, 2003
    10
    This double album is on another level and if you can't feel it you don't know what music is!! Just spread for me!!!!
  27. bowwiziefisshel
    Nov 5, 2003
    10
    who ever said this cd sucks something is wrong wit u .my favorite song is prototype.he can really sing fo rell do!!!!! also she lives in my lap is so tite!!! i cant stop listening to his cd spaekerboxx is ok too peace out yyall!!!!
  28. RussW
    Oct 2, 2003
    10
    One of the best albums this year!
  29. JoelB
    Oct 20, 2003
    10
    infuckincredible
  30. LarryT
    Oct 20, 2003
    10
    Whats there to say that hasnt been said They wrecked on the 2 disks
  31. someoneanotherlastchicken
    Oct 8, 2003
    9
    great cd. Speakerboxxx gets an 8.5, while The Love Below gets at 10, so I comprimised with a 9.
  32. PeterG
    Oct 8, 2003
    10
    Outkast just keeps getting better and better, not just taking hip-hop to a new level, but bring soul music back to were it used. I suggest everyone listen to it with an open mind.
  33. JonR
    Oct 8, 2003
    10
    I love these 2 guys.. never heard a record even near their quality!!
  34. AlexC-Smith
    Sep 17, 2003
    10
    cd of the year. waaaaahhh
  35. oler
    Sep 18, 2003
    10
    album of the year. no doubt.
  36. amboselia
    Sep 21, 2003
    10
    uncut black soul of the past...not some water down what rapper think white people want to here b.s......they ( meaning outkast) wont have to worry about people making comparsion to other albums cos they aint much to compare it too. they sound like no rap group in history you cant play these songs out its impossble .....this is probably the only music period they has caught up to the uncut black soul of the past...not some water down what rapper think white people want to here b.s......they ( meaning outkast) wont have to worry about people making comparsion to other albums cos they aint much to compare it too. they sound like no rap group in history you cant play these songs out its impossble .....this is probably the only music period they has caught up to the present times ...all these dead beat singers do is bite off old beats and sing song about what ever white people want fancy cars fancy women and a lot of money....any way it makes proud to be black when i here music like this.....cant no white cat come behind them and copy because they have no rhthem big up outkast one love black power Expand
  37. TavaresS
    Sep 25, 2003
    10
    If I could give it a 20 I would. Both CDs are innovative and creative. Definitely album of the year and raises the bar for music across all genres. The re-evolution is upon us!
  38. AaronB
    Sep 25, 2003
    10
    I will have to say I was disappointed when I heard Andre wouldn't be rapping on this upcoming album, but now that i have been listening I am in love with this cd. Big Boi brings more of the same Outkast goodness while Dre takes a leap and I think his stuff is incredable. This album is so original for a hip-hop album that no wonder they keep gettting nominated for awards.
  39. Listner
    Sep 25, 2003
    10
    Ill admit when i first hey ya I was like what the hell but i kept listening to both cds and i think this is the best album i bought by far it.
  40. ByroniusPunk
    Sep 26, 2003
    10
    I don't like most hip-hop, and I especially dislike the cutesy-poo (or alternately thug b.s.) skits that come between songs. OutKast is truly in a class of its own. The skits are on point, as is the rest of the double CD set. This is a masterpiece...Probably the best of 2003.
  41. natashas
    Sep 26, 2003
    10
    i love the cd especially dre's because he has a lot of nice beats and words in his songs. the love below makes you wanna love somebody and speakerboxxx just makes you wanna go out and party somewhere also the lil interlude with his song is very nice his son sounds real cute!
  42. epr_paradox
    Sep 28, 2003
    10
    andre 3000's love below is some of the most original music released in this decade. together with speakerboxxx this 2 disk set stands as a much needed burst in hip hop evolution.
  43. DaveMac
    Sep 28, 2003
    10
    Deffinitely listen to Dre's cd more than once, GIVE IT A CHANCE BABY. Big Boi's is likable from the start but Dre's casts a spell on you over time. GREAT ALBUM(s)
  44. jason
    Sep 29, 2003
    9
    Big Boi's cd is just a great hip-hop album, with great track after great track. It's true that Andre's disc is weird. But it's also true that with each listen it gets better and better. These two cds make the perfect combination.
  45. agentf
    Sep 29, 2003
    10
    Either cd could be candidate for album of the year, though short on tracks featuring both dre and big boi. This is really two excellent solo albums... dre's cd is very likely to be misunderstood and unappreciated by some.....but it is nothing short of genius!!!!!
  46. AndrewC
    Sep 30, 2003
    9
    Not as good as Stankonia or Aquemini, but still outstanding. The only thing that hurts the discs are that dre's songs are very repititious and big boi taints his work with rappers that aren't up to par with himself (ludacris).
  47. JonC
    Feb 17, 2004
    10
    good!!!!!!!!!!!!
  48. andreal
    Apr 9, 2004
    10
    This cd is awesome! There is not one song on it that isn't great! This is an album for everyone! Big boi fans and Andre fans will all love it!! As a matter of fact, I don't personally know anyone who does not own and love this cd or that is dying to get it! Outkast's music s fun and FABULOUS, and just makes you want to dance!!!! If you don't already have this wonderful This cd is awesome! There is not one song on it that isn't great! This is an album for everyone! Big boi fans and Andre fans will all love it!! As a matter of fact, I don't personally know anyone who does not own and love this cd or that is dying to get it! Outkast's music s fun and FABULOUS, and just makes you want to dance!!!! If you don't already have this wonderful cd, go get it pronto!! I'm sure if you have any sense of good music,you will adore this cd as much as I do!!!!!!! It's a perfect 10!!! Expand
  49. drphil
    May 5, 2004
    10
    thumbs up!
  50. EmilyD
    May 9, 2004
    10
    brilliant
  51. freds
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    The Greatest album I've heard since the White album
  52. JonF
    Sep 11, 2005
    10
    Big Boi, and Andre 3000 are to Atlants, and the whole south for that matter what Dr.Dre, and Snoop were to the West Coast scene, and Biggy Smalls to N.Y. Big Boi's intelligent, yet witty rhymes on "Speakerboxxx" mixed with Andre's talented, heartfilled lyrics on "The Love Below", leave you craving for more. This is a set no rap or hip hop fan should be without. 2 years later, I Big Boi, and Andre 3000 are to Atlants, and the whole south for that matter what Dr.Dre, and Snoop were to the West Coast scene, and Biggy Smalls to N.Y. Big Boi's intelligent, yet witty rhymes on "Speakerboxxx" mixed with Andre's talented, heartfilled lyrics on "The Love Below", leave you craving for more. This is a set no rap or hip hop fan should be without. 2 years later, I still listen to it the same as I did when it was a month old. Expand
  53. marshallm
    Sep 16, 2005
    10
    this is one of the most oroginal cd's you'll ever hear! give it a chance, even if you don't like hip-hop!the best of big bois songs were " the way you move", " bowtie", "ghettomusik" andres were " pink and blue", " she lives in my lap", " Love hater", those songs are alll amazing! buy it now! i dont know whay anyone would want to live without a copy of these cd's!
  54. RSkells
    Sep 6, 2006
    7
    I love outkast. i really do. but this album was not up to snuff with previous efforts. Outkast is one of the greatest hip hop acts of all time with a fantastic track record and i cannot help but measure this album against records like stankonia and the incomparable Aquemini. Those albums featured two partners in music, complimenting each other perfectly. here, we see two unique artists I love outkast. i really do. but this album was not up to snuff with previous efforts. Outkast is one of the greatest hip hop acts of all time with a fantastic track record and i cannot help but measure this album against records like stankonia and the incomparable Aquemini. Those albums featured two partners in music, complimenting each other perfectly. here, we see two unique artists drifting away from each other creatively, each losing a bit of their shine in the process. there are still some good tunes on this ablum(s?) but its not the consistent brilliance that one expects from an outkast disc. Expand
  55. RichardB.
    Dec 28, 2007
    10
    Best album I've ever bought.
  56. Alex
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    Not to sound fanboyish or anything but OutKast is arguably the greatest music group to ever come out during the 21st century.
  57. ChrisR.
    Oct 6, 2007
    8
    60 Rolling Stone Each of these albums is as noteworthy for what's missing as for what's there. What the fuck type of beating around the bush bullshit is this? I hope that their headquarters burns to the ground along melting all their cappuccino machines. I didn't listen to this album BTW, just guessing how good it is from the singles.
  58. RamF
    Nov 13, 2003
    8
    I have to strongly disagree with everyone saying Dre's album was awful. In fact I feel Speakerboxxx is just average. It isn't shwoing me much evoluiton. The Love Below however is genius. The only downsides in my opinion are the interludes: "The Morning After" and "Good Day Good Sir" break the continuity of the album. I would tell people that detest this album to continue to I have to strongly disagree with everyone saying Dre's album was awful. In fact I feel Speakerboxxx is just average. It isn't shwoing me much evoluiton. The Love Below however is genius. The only downsides in my opinion are the interludes: "The Morning After" and "Good Day Good Sir" break the continuity of the album. I would tell people that detest this album to continue to listen. This will be a classic. It is soemthing like The Beastie Boys Paul's Boutique album. Which was seemingly very strange and somewhat unlistenable upon it's release merely turned out to be ahead of it's time. Don't be surprised to see many Hip Hop giants copying 3000's style in future albums. They may not have the commercial courage to make an entire album like "The Love Below", but I can almost guarantee you will here individual songs that experiment outside the boundaries of traditional Hip Hop as muvh as this album does. Expand
  59. ShaneseJ.
    Oct 13, 2003
    10
    This album is HOT!! Andre' 3000 & Big Boi have been making music for a while, and I haven't heard nothing like this from them...they're full of suprises! This album will most likely be voted album of the year. They BOTH did their thing...but personally, I like Andre's solo album out of the two. Most won't understand it but it takes people who listen and don't This album is HOT!! Andre' 3000 & Big Boi have been making music for a while, and I haven't heard nothing like this from them...they're full of suprises! This album will most likely be voted album of the year. They BOTH did their thing...but personally, I like Andre's solo album out of the two. Most won't understand it but it takes people who listen and don't judge often to really comprehend. Pure Genius!!! Collapse
  60. BrianW
    Oct 14, 2003
    7
    I have mixed feelings on the album. Didn't like Dre's CD much
  61. joshg
    Oct 15, 2003
    10
    I think I have the mollusk in my mouth
  62. alexk
    Oct 15, 2003
    10
    what more can i say.....ICE COLD
  63. AdamCHater
    Oct 15, 2003
    9
    Adam C is smoking the artificial Bob Marley forreal. The Love Below.
  64. JosephL
    Oct 2, 2003
    9
    2 thumbs up!!! This is the best cd out this year. I've always been an outkast fan and this time they have out done themselves. Keep it Big Boi and 'Dre.
  65. sterrllsss
    Oct 20, 2003
    10
    andre and big boi are both off the hook and both there CD's are off the hook....... (ICE COLD)
  66. Rafae1W.
    Oct 23, 2003
    10
    BEST ALBUM OF THE YEAR!!! Everyone else needs to pay attention to what Outkast puts out because it is consistantly off the chains and never the same ol' stuff other people put out after they experience breakout success... Peaces
  67. markc
    Oct 27, 2003
    10
    greates outkast cd ever
  68. BrandonS.
    Oct 5, 2003
    10
    This is awesome, these are a couple of incredible albums. I thought Stankonia was good, but this tops it. "The love below" is better than speakerboxxx.
  69. DominiqueJ
    Oct 7, 2003
    10
    One of the best and most creative I have heard in years. This is one of the rare albums that critics and fans enjoy.
  70. ZeeshaanB
    Oct 8, 2003
    10
    This CD is excellent. Both artists do an amazing job in displaying their creativity and talent. Definitely one of the best rap albums in recent years.
  71. BenD
    Oct 8, 2003
    9
    This album is deck. Keep up the good work, brothers
  72. Tomast
    Sep 17, 2003
    10
    Ingenious. Dre`s part "Love Below" would itself be best album of the year.
  73. LeeF
    Sep 18, 2003
    10
    My god this album is heavenly. Perfect....
  74. AndrewD
    Sep 19, 2003
    10
    Top album of the year so far. Best hip hop double album to come out EVER ( even considering 2Pac & Notorious BIG)!
  75. DRob
    Sep 23, 2003
    10
    OutKast continues to raise the bar for other so-called "hip-hop artists". Music is SUPPOSED to be ever-evolving while keeping it's true roots. They hardly ever sample songs and their message is the same on both individual albums to a trained ear...wake up and spread love. Heed #8/Speakerboxxx and #14/Love Below- same message, different messenger. They did it again....
  76. TimW
    Sep 24, 2003
    10
    not as solid as stankonia, but bigger, bolder and more matured. Outkast is definately pushing the envelope in a genre that's grown stale. There are only a few musicians/bands out there right now who are able to be both commercial and experimental, Outkast is successful in both arenas!
  77. gabrielh
    Sep 24, 2003
    10
    i love this album cause here we have two individuals who do not let egos get in the way and it is completely different tone from what other artist have to say. They do not fear in trying new things and we need more groups such as Outkast who are willing to experiment with sound and talk about things we can relate too. Gabo Mad Ciphas
  78. ArisM
    Sep 24, 2003
    10
    Bout' time for something different and the boyz are on point as usual. Love the diversity.
  79. RichardE
    Sep 24, 2003
    10
    I think these cds,with out a shadow of a doubt, are two of the brilliant cd' of our generation. I think our kid's kids will listen to the cds in 25 years and say.......DAMN, Ahead of thier time.
  80. EnriqueG
    Sep 25, 2003
    10
    Masterpiece is the word.this is the real hiphop no bling bling just real hip hop
  81. GReg
    Sep 25, 2003
    10
    slick as a curl, smooth as a pearl
  82. NigelC
    Sep 25, 2003
    9
    The only reason i didn't give it a ten is because i haven't figured out what the hell "The Love Below" is!
  83. MrsDre3000
    Sep 25, 2003
    10
    Perfect!!! Big Boi is still bangin and Andre 3000 is so talented I practically cried listening to him.
  84. JavierD
    Sep 25, 2003
    10
    They done did it again! And now double the fun.. Spekerboxxx totaly goes far beyond what any raper is even thinking about these days. My fav track so far On SBXXX has to be Unhappy. As for Andre (Ice Cold) 3000, He creates a new sound all together . Just call is Sophistifunk. If i had to pick my fav track on "The love below " it has to be spread. I cought them in the morning on Regis and They done did it again! And now double the fun.. Spekerboxxx totaly goes far beyond what any raper is even thinking about these days. My fav track so far On SBXXX has to be Unhappy. As for Andre (Ice Cold) 3000, He creates a new sound all together . Just call is Sophistifunk. If i had to pick my fav track on "The love below " it has to be spread. I cought them in the morning on Regis and Kelly(break out your biskits and jelly!!) Them Arista cats are good!!! Expand
  85. hardCoreizdaman
    Sep 25, 2003
    10
    so damn stanky!
  86. StrugglinForever
    Sep 26, 2003
    10
    The CD combined is TIGHT. The Love Below is just what music needs right now (Something different). I'm tired of hearing the Hip Hop and R&B blend (Rappers trying to sing over a R&B hook). Outkast separated the two. With Big Boi covering the Hip Hop and Dre with his melodic CD.
  87. KdogKdog
    Sep 26, 2003
    10
    Best hip-hop album I ever heard and I've heard 'em all. Very unique and different. Whatever I'm feeling at the time, I just put that CD on. awesome.
  88. justinj
    Sep 26, 2003
    10
    Unbelievable. Both of these discs completely blow me away. Dre and Big continue to push the envelope and find new outlets for their creative genius. BUY IT NOW!
  89. stevenh
    Sep 26, 2003
    10
    outkast has again shown why they have been on top of there game as a group since 94, and all the hating groups need to stop with the break up rumors
  90. adamk
    Sep 26, 2003
    10
    Best album in 20 years
  91. AndreN
    Sep 27, 2003
    10
    Please get these cds, they're absolutely amazing. They have become the soundtrack of my life.
  92. AteOhAte
    Sep 28, 2003
    10
    ain't no half steppin this one. crunk like what. completely refreshes the entire Hip-Hop cache, sets a whole nuther bar for generations to come. nothing this revolutionary since tha mothership landed in '72 and P-Funk stepped out. props to tha 404 an tha Boomboom Room regulars.
  93. jelani
    Sep 29, 2003
    10
    Off da CHAIN!!!
  94. [Anonymous]
    Sep 29, 2003
    10
    The Love Below is a killa knockin' boots cd, and Speakerboxxx is sooooo hot that it's meltin' snow out here in Denver!!!
  95. RaphaelS
    Sep 29, 2003
    9
    it's amazing!!!
  96. sanjuandemarco
    Sep 30, 2003
    9
    this album is fastastically superb. outkastcadillacmuzik at its best. the love below is the funkiest to date....and speakerboxxx is hip hop on acid. buy the album. drink. swish. swallow.
  97. GordonS
    Oct 17, 2004
    7
    Speakerboxxx is a classic Outkast album in style, while The Love Below is a 360 Degree turn. At first I felt like Andre simply wanted to see how crazy he could make an album and still recieve fan support. However, it has grown on me. I like the "Who's on First"-like "Good Day, Good Sir." The rest seems like it is just Andre having a good time. I would not call it rap, but it is an Speakerboxxx is a classic Outkast album in style, while The Love Below is a 360 Degree turn. At first I felt like Andre simply wanted to see how crazy he could make an album and still recieve fan support. However, it has grown on me. I like the "Who's on First"-like "Good Day, Good Sir." The rest seems like it is just Andre having a good time. I would not call it rap, but it is an entertaining work. Expand
  98. JelaniT
    Jan 30, 2004
    10
    One of the most innovative solo / group productions ever made. Dre's set grabs your attention with Hey Ya and Pink and Blue. Big Boi keeps said attention and earns your respect for both artists' talent and overall musicianship; which ranges from the way, Way, WAY out there funk and pop (Dre) to down home, deep fried, beat laden hip hop sensibilities (Boi). Its good all around!
  99. JesusQ
    Jan 5, 2004
    9
    Close to 10. Great record. Loved every minute of it except the weird talking skits between tracks. All hip-hop albums do that now. Makes it hard to listen to...having to skip bs stuff. I cannot get enough of this right now. Dre is awesome. And all of you who say he is going too far from hip hop remember another man who was good but went too far away from his roots....he went on to do some Close to 10. Great record. Loved every minute of it except the weird talking skits between tracks. All hip-hop albums do that now. Makes it hard to listen to...having to skip bs stuff. I cannot get enough of this right now. Dre is awesome. And all of you who say he is going too far from hip hop remember another man who was good but went too far away from his roots....he went on to do some good things. His name os Jesus. Expand
  100. HK
    Jan 6, 2004
    10
    Speakerboxxx - SIC!!! The love below - SUXXX!!!
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Apr 17, 2012
    100
    OutKast's duo have made a cohesive statement that not only cries at the boundaries of rap music but vaults over them to a place where the music sounds like neon colors and the only rule is that you must free your mind. Your ears will follow.
  2. 90
    The genius of past Outkast isn't diluted or diminished across these disks, rather it's doubled, expanded and explored. [Sep 2003, p.99]
  3. Speakerboxxx--by itself the album of the year--makes the failings of The Love Below all the more evident.