St. Anger

  • Record Label: Elektra
  • Release Date: Jun 10, 2003
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 356 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 6, 2014
    8
    This is Metallica's return to the earth. They've come back with their instruments in their hands and not a single f*ck given. With the production sounding like a garage jam on a Friday afternoon and drums that are certainly "unique." St.Anger is an album that happens when you take all the struggles that Metallica went through and extracted all the rage and Anger from their souls and putThis is Metallica's return to the earth. They've come back with their instruments in their hands and not a single f*ck given. With the production sounding like a garage jam on a Friday afternoon and drums that are certainly "unique." St.Anger is an album that happens when you take all the struggles that Metallica went through and extracted all the rage and Anger from their souls and put it on this album! There's no auto-tune, there's no guitar solos, and most importantly, there's no bull-sh*t coming from them. This album sounded aggressive and rushed straight for your fists with rage, and even though this album suffered from fan backlash, did Metallica give a sh*t? NO. In fact they acted like the reviews didn't even exist...and they STILL don't. All they remember is how tough it was going through the recording process of the songs...That proves that Metallica does what they do for not just the fans but for what THEY think is best. This album is the perfect example of that and i praise and respect them for that...unlike YOU people Expand
  2. Nov 7, 2016
    5
    St. Anger is not as bad, as its notorious reputation would suggest. This album is a mess of mediocre song writing, and poor production, however there are genuine moments where the album shines. There is no doubt that the album has trouble competing with Metallica’s legendary discography, but there is a unique, one-off experiment, created by a series of circumstances, has its own nicheSt. Anger is not as bad, as its notorious reputation would suggest. This album is a mess of mediocre song writing, and poor production, however there are genuine moments where the album shines. There is no doubt that the album has trouble competing with Metallica’s legendary discography, but there is a unique, one-off experiment, created by a series of circumstances, has its own niche charm.

    For me a clearly terrible album is not as bad as the dull and boring album, and the better songs on St. Anger are not the ones with better production (in my opinion) rather the most interesting songs.

    Frantic- The album opens with a fast paced song about substance abuce. This is a common theme in the album and I find it to be redundant and boring. There riff in this song however is not too bad, certainly catchy. The one thing anybody notices when listening for the first time is the drumming. The drum is a loud snare drum, and is very noisy. The production is very low-fi reselling some industrial or nu-metal.

    I think the drums are weak not because of its sound, but by the quality of the beats produced. They aren’t great, and a good drummer could make good sounding drumming on a poor drum kit (this is not to say Lars is a bad drummer, and simply listening to AJFA would prove his unique skill).

    The song is too long; it makes its point in 2 minutes and then just drags on, like most of the songs on the album. I think the slow melodic part of the song is terrific however, and is one of the better moments on the album.

    St. Anger- this song is good. The drumming is still relatively crappy, but the tone is perfect. It’s a depressing song about suicide, (again, a redundant topic), but instrumentally, I find the riffs to be very thrash-y. The slower melodic segment shines once again, and I find that the emotional climax in this song is not too shabby. Definitely a standout Metallica track.

    Still no solos though, making it sound very nu-metal-ish, in the sense that the sound has been significantly dumbed-down.

    The next few tracks fail in the worst way possible- they are boring, which makes them very difficult to listen to, which is a shame, because this album really could have used some more catchy or addictive moments, to soften the blow of the poor production. Although, I do like the intro/ build-up in Dirty Windows.

    They we reach Sweet Amber, which is a terrific song with a really soft sound, and really the lyrics again are redundant, but surprisingly well written, simply reading them will give an impression of the honesty of the words, and for this its one of the better tracks on the album.

    Then the Unnamed Feeling rolls along, and delivers perhaps the technically best song on the entire album. No loud snare drum, and a fairly memorable chorus. Again, the lyrics are EXTREMELY redundant, but never-the-less this track succeeds in being quite competent. In fact it sounds like something straight off Re-Load, and for that I think its great.

    Personally, the last 2 tracks are weak, again, and the album ends on a sort of disappointing note.

    Lyrically, the album is very poor. The same theme is repeated throughout ever song, until; the redundant point is hammer down to a pile of cliché dust. Instrumentally, the album is competent. The guitars, although lacking solos, have a very distinctive Nu-Metal vibe, and although the drumming is poorly executed, the concept of a snare drum in itself could have potentially worked.

    For me this album is bad in the best way possible. Its not boring, so that you would never have a reason to listen to it, rather its excitingly bad, not so bad its good, rather an interesting case of missed potential, and a snapshot of Metallica’s lifespan, which captures the band in its darkest time.
    Expand
  3. Feb 8, 2014
    0
    Drum sounds really AWFUL!! Repetitive, simple and boring riffs; no SOLOS and terrible vocal. Forget thrash, it's not even metal. That's all I can say about this failure. DO NOT LISTEN IT!!!
  4. johnr
    Jun 23, 2003
    10
    this album kicks mager ass the lyrics the music everything about matallica fucking rocks
  5. TiagoS.
    Jul 20, 2008
    10
    It´s the best album of Metallica for me. So much anger in the musics and many great songs in this album. Off course there are not much "solos" but there are much energy, power and ANGERRRRR.
  6. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    I know that some fans really dislike it, but you can feel their problems and anger from that album. They went through difficult times during recording this album and it feels like that. I simply love it, love that change, love that heaviness and love Lars snare, i usually dont like punk drums, but here its just awesome!
  7. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    Yes, it worst Metallica album. But it still rock, maybe snare drum is bad, but i like this album, and like to take drive with this music. So **** good!
  8. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    If could put 11, i would have put it, because this album is THE BEST THING IN THE WHOLE WORLD! If we will be able to heal aids, it wouldn't be as good as this album. it's not only the best Metallica's album, it's also THE BEST **** ALBUM IN THE HISTORY OF MUSIC!
  9. SeanM
    Aug 11, 2003
    10
    What a fucking album! Not only is it quite up to par with most of thier other albums, but its so addicting to listen to@ With all the speed metal from the 80's, conbined with the bone chilling riffs of the black album to the serene sound of "sweet amber". Metallica definatly unleashed one hell of a beast on this one. I just got back from thier concert yesterday, and they played it so What a fucking album! Not only is it quite up to par with most of thier other albums, but its so addicting to listen to@ With all the speed metal from the 80's, conbined with the bone chilling riffs of the black album to the serene sound of "sweet amber". Metallica definatly unleashed one hell of a beast on this one. I just got back from thier concert yesterday, and they played it so loud and hard that i could barely keep up with the lyrics of "frantic". Awesome job Metallica! Expand
  10. Dec 22, 2012
    0
    Wow. This is incredibly awful. I can't believe it took them 7 years to release this. It's as if they were a bunch of 14 years olds sitting around in a garage with a guitar, getting incredibly drunk, when they decided to record this. Realising they had no drums they must have grabbed some garbage cans from the side of the road, brought them inside and started making music. Later on the sameWow. This is incredibly awful. I can't believe it took them 7 years to release this. It's as if they were a bunch of 14 years olds sitting around in a garage with a guitar, getting incredibly drunk, when they decided to record this. Realising they had no drums they must have grabbed some garbage cans from the side of the road, brought them inside and started making music. Later on the same day they must have gotten some recording equipment brought around for them and 2 hours later, after making pretty much the same noise, released this. There was absolutely none of their classic masterful craftsmanship put into this album. Expand
  11. Sep 22, 2010
    5
    When i first herd this i knew that this wasn't the metallica everyone was used to. Something was wrong. I found that this was the album were james (singer) just got out of that huge rehab deal that he was going though and was returning to the band. I guess the just wanted to get back in slowly with just riffs and no solos. Ill let u off this time metallica but now start getting to the goodWhen i first herd this i knew that this wasn't the metallica everyone was used to. Something was wrong. I found that this was the album were james (singer) just got out of that huge rehab deal that he was going though and was returning to the band. I guess the just wanted to get back in slowly with just riffs and no solos. Ill let u off this time metallica but now start getting to the good stuff. I mean mind blowing solos. I CAN'T LIVE WITHOUT UR SOLOS! Expand
  12. Sep 13, 2012
    1
    1/10 simply because they actually made money of this piece of garbage. I have no idea why anyone would like this album but I guess some people really,really like Metallica.
  13. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    St. Anger is different. A concept album at its core, and barking ferocity at face value, each song is essentially a different perspective on anger and all of the emotions related to it. If any other band had written it, it would be an instant classic. However, this is Metallica, and they've been crucified for trying something different. I commend them for it. This isn't Metallica, it'sSt. Anger is different. A concept album at its core, and barking ferocity at face value, each song is essentially a different perspective on anger and all of the emotions related to it. If any other band had written it, it would be an instant classic. However, this is Metallica, and they've been crucified for trying something different. I commend them for it. This isn't Metallica, it's something new and unique. And god damn is it catchy. Expand
  14. Sep 26, 2011
    7
    Okay, i think that, as many have said, this album is a blast from the past, with a little difference: the lack of soloing. People might say that how fast you play isn't important, but if you want a real good Metallica album, then it has to have soloing. I pretty much didn't like most songs individually (there are some exceptions; like St. Anger, which resembles Motorbreath in it's raw yetOkay, i think that, as many have said, this album is a blast from the past, with a little difference: the lack of soloing. People might say that how fast you play isn't important, but if you want a real good Metallica album, then it has to have soloing. I pretty much didn't like most songs individually (there are some exceptions; like St. Anger, which resembles Motorbreath in it's raw yet entertaining style), but i think that the album as a whole holds up pretty well. For that, i give it a 7. Expand
  15. Nov 25, 2011
    5
    St. Anger. Well, well, well... Certainly Metallica's most slated album (though oddly not on this site) - and perhaps with some reason. The songs are generally rather bland, with simplistic riffs and less than enthusiastic drumming from the usually impressive Ulrich. Considering the troubles the band was going through at the time - with each other, and with producer Bob Rock, perhaps it'sSt. Anger. Well, well, well... Certainly Metallica's most slated album (though oddly not on this site) - and perhaps with some reason. The songs are generally rather bland, with simplistic riffs and less than enthusiastic drumming from the usually impressive Ulrich. Considering the troubles the band was going through at the time - with each other, and with producer Bob Rock, perhaps it's not surprising this effort is their least popular. However, there are some high points - 'Some Kind of Monster' is sufficiently choleric without being dull, and were it not for Hetfield's repetitive screaming of 'Kill, Kill, Kill' at the end of 'All Within my Hands', that wouldn't be bad either. 'Invisible Kid', it must be said, I am a closet fan of. Overall, due to the lack of solos, a poor production effort by Rock and overall mediocre lyrical content, this is certainly Metallica's worst album to date - but is nevertheless nowhere near as bad as is often made out. Collapse
  16. JackS.
    Sep 13, 2008
    3
    Just noise.
  17. JonyeA
    Jun 29, 2003
    5
    when i heard about this CD i expected something like master of puppets. What i got was not Metallica at all. no solos, sounds like it was recorded in a day. just download the video and hope they dont sue you
  18. AdrianL.
    Jan 5, 2008
    3
    Painful to listen to, this album just could have been so much more.
  19. ElpoA.O
    Jul 9, 2007
    3
    I love metallica, but this CD is really bad in comparison with EVERYTHING they've done before, even Load and Re-Load.
  20. Mar 8, 2013
    2
    I can't believe it. I can't even listen to this album without a break. Are we sure that it is by Metallica? Drums sounds like spoons hitting a pot. And it's difficult to find one good song. Horrible.
  21. bryanb
    Sep 6, 2003
    7
    this album is nothing compared to the early days but kicks loaded albums in the ass. there is know other metallica on the radio today. there sound is unique and there own. noone will ever touch there old shit and never will. they are part of history. kill em all kills anything released today and dont forget the other three.
  22. DanP.
    Feb 11, 2008
    8
    Despite the abuse this album has recieved in the past I thought that it was great to see Metallica try something different. Ineviatably it was going to horrify their thousands of devoted fans by dropping their guitars down a few steps, the phrase "sold out" probably came to a few lips too, but I thought that this album was solid with quite a few oddly catchy songs thrown in there for good Despite the abuse this album has recieved in the past I thought that it was great to see Metallica try something different. Ineviatably it was going to horrify their thousands of devoted fans by dropping their guitars down a few steps, the phrase "sold out" probably came to a few lips too, but I thought that this album was solid with quite a few oddly catchy songs thrown in there for good measure. Listen to it if you can open your mind to the fact that all of Metallica's discography cannot be similiar or as good as Master of Puppets. Expand
  23. BasilH
    Jun 14, 2003
    9
    First, the utter lack of any guitar solos is as disappointing to me as anyone else, but the rest of this album is the finest thing to blugeon metal fans since...well, since the last good metallica disc. Hetfields lyrics are more mature and profound, which is only upsetting to those who refuse to accept growing up. Lars is a man possessed and I have almost been moved to forget about the First, the utter lack of any guitar solos is as disappointing to me as anyone else, but the rest of this album is the finest thing to blugeon metal fans since...well, since the last good metallica disc. Hetfields lyrics are more mature and profound, which is only upsetting to those who refuse to accept growing up. Lars is a man possessed and I have almost been moved to forget about the loss of Jason. It takes a couple of listens to get a feel for the album and to really appreciate it but once you start to get into it, you realize the relevancy that Metallica personifies. This is unquestionablely better than any of the insipid and uninspired "metal" currently droning over the airwaves. Metallica continues to grow musically without ever losing touch with TRUE fans of the genre. Listen, listen again, listen again and the you won't want to stop. This is adult metal for those who appreciate music beyond "rap-rock". Expand
  24. TAsh
    Jun 10, 2003
    8
    It has to grow on you, but if you liked the old Metallica, not sure how you can't like this CD. Much heavier than anything since Justice but not too heavy to run off 'new' fans.
  25. ThomasB
    Jan 10, 2004
    7
    Well this is the worst Metallica's album so far. After ...And justice for all Metallica's started going worse and worse. I don't want to see what will their next album be like. Still in comparacent to other band albums, this one is not so terrible. So I rate this album with 6/7
  26. matt
    Jan 2, 2004
    9
    I'll admit... at first i did not like this cd, but i stuck with it. Its just a new sound unlike any other; u gotta respect that at least. And for that reason mosty i listened to it over and over. Now i love it. The guitars are huge and have this underground feeling to them, and the lyrics... dont seem like hetfields writing but then again he has grown with his suffering these past I'll admit... at first i did not like this cd, but i stuck with it. Its just a new sound unlike any other; u gotta respect that at least. And for that reason mosty i listened to it over and over. Now i love it. The guitars are huge and have this underground feeling to them, and the lyrics... dont seem like hetfields writing but then again he has grown with his suffering these past few years. All in all the more u listen to it and the higher its turned up the better it gets. Expand
  27. motorbreath666
    May 2, 2004
    10
    A band cannot sound exactly the same EVERY time! People, please if that was the case then it would get old and redudant fast. This album is aggression, made to unleash rage. For me there are two types of talica fans. The ones Pre-Load and the ones Post-Load. Pre-Load: Fans who like the melody and semi-aggressive songs. Post-Load: Fans who like aggressive/power songs (not really caring for A band cannot sound exactly the same EVERY time! People, please if that was the case then it would get old and redudant fast. This album is aggression, made to unleash rage. For me there are two types of talica fans. The ones Pre-Load and the ones Post-Load. Pre-Load: Fans who like the melody and semi-aggressive songs. Post-Load: Fans who like aggressive/power songs (not really caring for songs like NEM or Unforgiven). St Anger lies in a realm by itself. Personally I think the album is an 8 but it gets 2 extra points because of its nature. That is the nature of the beast. The very fact that there are NO radio friendly songs on this album tells me as a fan that a good band cannot be defined. Expand
  28. RobA
    Sep 6, 2004
    1
    Those of you who think that this is metal... You're only kidding yourselves. The snare drum is so irritating on this album, I just want to smash it. James' voice is going downhill fast, and I can seriously see Metallica apologizing for this album in a couple of years, well, if they are still a band by then that is. The only person who I can see liking this album is Dave Those of you who think that this is metal... You're only kidding yourselves. The snare drum is so irritating on this album, I just want to smash it. James' voice is going downhill fast, and I can seriously see Metallica apologizing for this album in a couple of years, well, if they are still a band by then that is. The only person who I can see liking this album is Dave Mustaine, because all the Metallica fans will exchange it at the retail store for Megadeth's new CD. Expand
  29. PhilH
    Jun 17, 2005
    8
    This album has got some kick ass songs on it, but it isnt as good as Metallica's previous albums
  30. RichardL
    Sep 4, 2005
    7
    Not a classic. But these giants nearly split in the process of making St. Anger. It is probably their most meaningful effort yet.
  31. BenJ
    Jun 6, 2006
    0
    St Shite!!!!!
  32. Sconf2
    Mar 3, 2007
    0
    Metallica is dead T.T
  33. suvoc
    May 2, 2007
    10
    fukin amazin. if u dont like this album u r a wanker
  34. NickC.
    Jun 2, 2007
    8
    Underrated. I didn't dig it on first listens, but after pulling it out a few years later, its good. Not as good as Master of Puppets, but I'd put it on par with Black.
  35. Rickyc
    Jun 12, 2003
    1
    they need to go back to the old metallica sound like in the black album, they sound like they are tryin to be some hard core CRAP band like slip knot , most of the cd just sounds like a bunch of mumbling, with hard bangin on trash cans....the lyrics are the weakest i have ever heard from a metallica cd..''invisable kid, never see what he did'''...what the hell is they need to go back to the old metallica sound like in the black album, they sound like they are tryin to be some hard core CRAP band like slip knot , most of the cd just sounds like a bunch of mumbling, with hard bangin on trash cans....the lyrics are the weakest i have ever heard from a metallica cd..''invisable kid, never see what he did'''...what the hell is that crap i personally think they should have ended the band when jason quit...they suck fatt nuts now i have lost all respect and dont care for metallica anymore Expand
  36. TomH
    Jun 13, 2003
    8
    Raw and powerful, the way metal should be.
  37. seano
    Jun 17, 2003
    1
    good god this album sucks something fierce!
  38. CharlieP
    Jun 19, 2003
    2
    Regardless of what the diehards want you to believe - this Met Diehard speaks the truth - this album is NOT good - not by anyone's standards. I just cashed mine in today at CD Exchnage - so save some money and go there first if you really want this load of garbage.
  39. AxlRose
    Jun 19, 2003
    1
    This is absolutely the worst Metallica album ever. I don't get the good reviews.
  40. markp
    Jun 10, 2003
    8
    its heavy sounds good BUT WHERE ARE THE SOLOS
  41. anjananjan
    Jun 20, 2003
    10
    great buy it
  42. ChrisM
    Jul 27, 2003
    10
    This cd kicks ass! I will kick every1s ass if the say ne thing bad to metallica!!!!!!!!!!! Yeah so this cd is awsome buy it NOW!!!!
  43. stevey
    Jul 5, 2003
    2
    Metallica has truly lost it. I have no idea what in the world they are trying to do, but they're certainly not rocking. Fifteen years ago, they were the greatest band on earth; now, they just make a lot of noise without any catchy or memorable rhythms at all. I never thought that a Metallica cd could ever be so...boring. Rest in peace, heavy metal. When someone finally resurrects Metallica has truly lost it. I have no idea what in the world they are trying to do, but they're certainly not rocking. Fifteen years ago, they were the greatest band on earth; now, they just make a lot of noise without any catchy or memorable rhythms at all. I never thought that a Metallica cd could ever be so...boring. Rest in peace, heavy metal. When someone finally resurrects you, it sure won't be these guys. Expand
  44. MazenS
    Aug 30, 2003
    10
    I love Metallica, they are AWESOME, this album shows how powerful they are, i only wish they could scream, or shout some more. Whoever got disapointed by Metallica for releasing this album is pretty screwed up.
  45. Pupu-The-Alien??
    Aug 4, 2003
    10
    if u dont like this cd u r gay this was the best cd and only cd ive ever actually listened to the rest were too boring
  46. AndresM
    Aug 7, 2003
    0
    Horrible, a let down for metallica fans, and bob rock fans, a far cry from coherent, swimming in a sea of twisted noise and chaos. THEY DON"T EVEN USE "THEIR" E and F chords that they SUED TO PROTECT. TERRIBLE, NOT EVEN WORTH DOWNLADING
  47. AlexAlex
    Sep 20, 2003
    10
    good i like St. Anger
  48. joej
    Sep 6, 2003
    8
    not too bad, just get rid of that anoying snare and bring back the solos
  49. miezo
    Nov 9, 2004
    2
    Use this CD when you're out of toilet paper. It's also a good frisbee. If the CD is for sale, don't buy it. If you can download the CD, don't do it. It will be the worst experience of your life.
  50. Steven-o
    Nov 9, 2004
    2
    This ain't METALLICA. This is crap. Retire or get back making real music!!!!
  51. timn
    Oct 29, 2004
    8
    I absolutely love this album!! This is the type of stuff i like to hear from METALLICA!!! Riff after riff of rocking heavy metal. what amazes me most about this album is the way they manage to keep the rhythm changes interesting minus any solos. while i'll be the first to admit that lyrically (compared to their first five albums) it's a little weak, but the fact that they are I absolutely love this album!! This is the type of stuff i like to hear from METALLICA!!! Riff after riff of rocking heavy metal. what amazes me most about this album is the way they manage to keep the rhythm changes interesting minus any solos. while i'll be the first to admit that lyrically (compared to their first five albums) it's a little weak, but the fact that they are back to there hard rocking, more musically inventive selves is more than enough to make up for that end of it!!! I just hope the next one is as good or better (and arrives a lot sooner!!!) Expand
  52. DaveC
    Apr 17, 2004
    10
    It's unbelievable to hear an album this fresh, raw and exciting released by what seemed to be a washed out heavy metal band. To be quite honest, have grown quite bored of the metallic sameyness of Metallica's early albums and so it's refreshing to hear an album with a raw sound that doesn't overemphasise any instrument. What is left is an immediate, visceral and (oh It's unbelievable to hear an album this fresh, raw and exciting released by what seemed to be a washed out heavy metal band. To be quite honest, have grown quite bored of the metallic sameyness of Metallica's early albums and so it's refreshing to hear an album with a raw sound that doesn't overemphasise any instrument. What is left is an immediate, visceral and (oh yes) angry sound. James Hetfield's lyrics which may have seemed a tad dumb on paper work brilliant within the context of the songs. This is Metallica's finest album largely thanks to the fact that Metallica's hardcore punk influences are more prominent this time round, giving it a raw energy, and it still sounds fundamentally like a heavy metal album. Enjoy! Expand
  53. TimothyD
    Apr 9, 2004
    7
    Well, I love Metallica, and this album is definitely better than what most of the other metal bands make. However, the absence of solos is a tragedy. Robert Trujillo on bass is definitely exhillarating
  54. someguy
    Sep 8, 2004
    3
    this is a piece of fucking shit with only 2 good songs: Frantic and Purify, don't waste your money on this, just download it if you REALLY want it. Oh, by the way, Lars has a receeding hairline and is going bald
  55. DarrenL
    Oct 6, 2005
    8
    Maybe Metallica 5th best album, but that still makes it a great cd.
  56. TomC
    Feb 14, 2005
    10
    I dont see how ANY metallica fan could diss this album. Complaining about no guitar solos is kinda lame... if you like them solely for those then you are not a true fan, go get a guitar and entertain yourself. I agree the album does have a more "rough" sound to it... as ive read some places "like a demo" but to me thats good. i like the album because it sounds good... it hasnt been I dont see how ANY metallica fan could diss this album. Complaining about no guitar solos is kinda lame... if you like them solely for those then you are not a true fan, go get a guitar and entertain yourself. I agree the album does have a more "rough" sound to it... as ive read some places "like a demo" but to me thats good. i like the album because it sounds good... it hasnt been doctored to sound good because it doesnt need it. if you like edited vocals go check out ashlee simpson or something. unfortunately time ages people... how can ANYONE expect James to maintain the same voice all these years?? of course it will change slightly etc etc, things change get over it!. this album shows that metallica are capable of changing their style of music and not having to use computers to make it sound good. they are good musicians and any true fan will know that they have been through a lot and to sound as they did in their younger days is impossible. with that said ima go now, anyone who wants to can email me at tom201184@yahoo.com.au take care all :) ROCK ON!! m/ Expand
  57. MesaBoogie
    Feb 4, 2005
    8
    So what if the damn snare is pingy and there are no guitar solos? That snare sound enables it to cut through the massive wall of guitar/bass grunge. Who needs guitar solos? If you want guitar solos, listen to Steve Vai, Joe Satriani, John Petrucci or Eric Johnson. They do it much better. Besides, guitar solos are sooo fucking 80's. If NIN can be critics' darlings with songs So what if the damn snare is pingy and there are no guitar solos? That snare sound enables it to cut through the massive wall of guitar/bass grunge. Who needs guitar solos? If you want guitar solos, listen to Steve Vai, Joe Satriani, John Petrucci or Eric Johnson. They do it much better. Besides, guitar solos are sooo fucking 80's. If NIN can be critics' darlings with songs without guitar solos, why can't Metallica? Besides, Hammet's guitar solos are typically musically meandering and sound like a poor excuse to stick in a flurry of random notes into the song structure. Why are people pissy about the production values on this record? The music in St. Anger is heavy, pissed-off, and raw, with tons of awesome drop-tuned riffage. As a musician, I give props to the Metallica guys to have the balls to release such a "live" sounding recording without the clinical sterility of their earlier masterpieces like Puppets and Justice, where every instrument sounds isolated and strangled. If there can be any faults in this album, it's probably the repetitiveness of some of the songs, no doubt caused by the band and Bob Rock staring at the ProTools edit screen too long and copy/pasting song arrangements. All in all, St. Anger sounds alive, refreshing, vital, and contemporary (without being a complete slave to current musical trends)- a welcome evolution in Metallica's music and a fine addition to their oeuvre. Expand
  58. NickB
    Feb 4, 2005
    8
    This is a real album, its not watered down or run through a machine. If you want a Backstreet Boys album go by one. If you want something with some balls, buy St. Anger.
  59. dougk
    Apr 13, 2005
    6
    they need to get wasted again
  60. PauloF
    May 24, 2005
    10
    It's a great album i gave it 10/10. Metallica just want it to do something different
  61. KeithA
    May 4, 2005
    2
    One of my favourite bands (I've been a fan since 1985) - but this is soooo bad. Lars sounds like he's hitting a tin can with a twig. And the "songs" are dire. Very little to redeem this album. Even the live shows were poor - I ended up walking out in despair. Still, the kids liked it.
  62. Mike
    Oct 17, 2006
    2
    Garbage
  63. MichaelC
    Dec 20, 2006
    5
    Where are the solos? Ps. Anybody who pays attention to Rolling Stones top 100 guitarist dosn't know anything about the instrument. There are so many names left off that list, most notably, Steve Vai, Frank Zappa, John Petucci and Joe Satriani. Those guys arn't top 100, but Kurt Cobain and Jack White are top 30, is just garbage.
  64. JohnC
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    I have been a metallica fan since day one. I can't say I have ever been disapponted. Metallica can never be accused of repetition or recycling old material. Two things are certain, new material from Metallica is going to be just that, NEW, and it will be HEAVY. While I will always love the older material, the new material has never disappointed. It will always amaze me how fans will I have been a metallica fan since day one. I can't say I have ever been disapponted. Metallica can never be accused of repetition or recycling old material. Two things are certain, new material from Metallica is going to be just that, NEW, and it will be HEAVY. While I will always love the older material, the new material has never disappointed. It will always amaze me how fans will be so quick to dismiss material that is different. Who wants to hear recycled riffs with different lyrics? While I was absolutely blown away by Load & Reload, others criticized the change. WTF. St. Anger is the most potent, heavy and unique material to be turned out by the 'Tallica boys, and again, heavily criticized. WTF. What are people listening to? The riffs are absolutely sick ! While Kirk Hammet is, as usual, stellar at lead, James Hetfield is a master at rythym, with some very cool leads as well. James, you the man !! Killer drums by Lars and most impressive bass by Robert, all come together to form a collection of material that will rattle the teeth from your jaws. If you haven't yet, go buy St. Anger right now. If hearing the songs isn't enough, well just pop in the DVD and watch them play the songs. Many thanks to Metallica for turning out, yet another, heavy and very angry piece of work. Metallica Rules !!! Expand
  65. JosephA
    May 12, 2006
    7
    I like this album, bt i love load and reload. Its seams like they are going in a new direction and i sorta like it but im hoping for more songs like "Die, Die, Die my darling" ; "Aint my Bitch". :)
  66. philb
    Jul 31, 2006
    0
    St. Rubbish
  67. KyleC
    Aug 25, 2006
    10
    This album absolutley fucking rocks! Fingers up to the idiots who have underrated this fantastic album produced from the anger within Metallica. 10/10. After watching Some Kind Of Monster DVD, I came to respect the album even more after seeing what they have been through to produce this album. Metal-Fucking-Allica For Life!
  68. PatC
    Feb 28, 2007
    5
    Drum sounds awful not even in the shadow of the Black album
  69. KevinH.
    Feb 6, 2007
    0
    Possibly the worst album ever made, how a band who made albums like Ride the Lightning, Master of Puppets, and Kill Em' All made this garbage is beyond me.
  70. tomg
    Nov 20, 2008
    4
    While this isn't the worst Metallica CD, it is not good. The omission of guitar solos, the steely sounding drums, and Hetfield's woman-like cracking voice on Frantic, make this an un-stellar CD. Though some songs sound rather good, the CD needed way more work on it.
  71. YoYo
    Jan 30, 2008
    2
    Hated it.
  72. Joe
    Apr 4, 2008
    7
    Probably the best album Korn could have come up with. But since is played by Metallica, it's not what you'd expect.
  73. TristanS
    Jul 10, 2009
    7
    This is not Metallica's greatest outing, but who can deny that a little bit of savagery isn't welcome after years of Country-induced twang Metal and pop-drenched choruses? I for one think this album is a bit of an acquired taste. And it is one of those things that you just may love, or just might hate with a passion. Frantic, St. Anger and All within My Hands are the best songs This is not Metallica's greatest outing, but who can deny that a little bit of savagery isn't welcome after years of Country-induced twang Metal and pop-drenched choruses? I for one think this album is a bit of an acquired taste. And it is one of those things that you just may love, or just might hate with a passion. Frantic, St. Anger and All within My Hands are the best songs on this metal groove of an album.... I recommend it, but beware: You may just hate it. Expand
  74. JamesB
    Jul 20, 2009
    0
    About as bad as music gets, all things considered.
  75. DamienP
    Nov 4, 2003
    9
    Metallica c tro cool headed
  76. Jennifer
    Oct 16, 2003
    10
    Metallica rocks and this is their best CD yet It can't get any better!
  77. JackB
    Jun 12, 2003
    10
    this Album Kicks @ss
  78. SteveV
    Jun 13, 2003
    7
    Well let me state that my son who is 9 loves this CD. We actually watched the DVD 1st and that said the production on the rehearsals isn't a far cry from the production on the CD. The songs are great and with some production tweaks could have been awesome. The tinny kettle drum sound (is that the snare?) makes me cringe at times and makes some of the great parts of the CD not so Well let me state that my son who is 9 loves this CD. We actually watched the DVD 1st and that said the production on the rehearsals isn't a far cry from the production on the CD. The songs are great and with some production tweaks could have been awesome. The tinny kettle drum sound (is that the snare?) makes me cringe at times and makes some of the great parts of the CD not so great. I would love to hear Dirty Window without that (can I have the masters so I can remix this CD and make it sound like it should, surely even I could do a better job than Bob Rock does). A few solos wouldn't have hurt either, having watched the DVD first I thought maybe in rehearsal they wern't there but it held true on the CD also. If James had just growled on the whole CD instead of attempting to sing it would have made it even meaner, the one passage on Invisble Kid is awful, good Lord what were they thinking? Stand out tracks: Dirty Window with its killer groove, ditto to My World, Sweet Amber is evil, and the best track by far is The Unamed Feeling which combines the heavy with structure some the other tracks lack, Purify is the most intense track. Eliminate Invisible Kid, shorten Some Kinda Monster, add some solos, get rid of the awful "kettle drum", GRRROOOOOOOOOOOWLL don't sing, and this ranks with their best stuff. Expand
  79. RobertW
    Jun 13, 2003
    8
    Its more hardcore than the previous CD's Load and Reload. But it doesn't compare to there earlier CD's Master of Puppets, Ride the Lightning, Black Out, Kill Em All, and And Justice For All. Its a different sound then what old school Metallica fans are used too. Therefore I gave this CD an 8 because it only has two recognizable flaws.
  80. KevinM.
    Jun 14, 2003
    3
    I knew from watching the vid clip on metallica's website that I would not like this album,but since a lot of their music has to grow on you(and the fact that I'm a die hard fan) I bought it any way>This album is by far their worst offering,usually at least one song grabs you from the start,but not the case this time!I believe Justice was their finest piece of work,the music was I knew from watching the vid clip on metallica's website that I would not like this album,but since a lot of their music has to grow on you(and the fact that I'm a die hard fan) I bought it any way>This album is by far their worst offering,usually at least one song grabs you from the start,but not the case this time!I believe Justice was their finest piece of work,the music was in your face the lyrics had meaning and the sructure of every song was so tight that you would almost believe they were connected as ONE.no pun intended!I know the black album brought them to a godlike status in heavy metal but I think Bob Rock is the worst thing to happen to this band.Their collaborations have diminished with each new offering until you are left with St.Anger!Maybe it's not Rock's fault,maybe it's older and richer vs. younger and angrier.Who Knows?Maybe musicians should be like athlete's(quit while you still look good to the fans)what ever the case,I hope they won't leave this as their final mark on the greatest heavy metal legacy a band has ever had!I can't help but feel this album was a result of "we need to put a new album out,let's just slap something together".Does anyone else ever get the feeling that these guys are just sitting back laughing and saying "Hey!These people will buy anything we put out wether it's good or not!My message to the band would be "Come on guys!Put a little effort into it,we all knowyou are capable of so much more!who cares if rock-rap is the hot ticket today,give us something like what brought you to the show to start with.Loud,angry,perfectly timedmusic with lyrics that make you think!Justice was all of these things and more,who gives a !@#$ if it won a grammy or sold 50 million copies.At the end of the day you could sit back and be proud of the music you created!In a nutshell St. Anger is not back to roots Metallica,it's more like a raw jam session of half finished concept songs Expand
  81. StuartH
    Jun 14, 2003
    7
    Not exactly my favourite album to date... but I've only had it for a couple of days... there's still alot of time for it to grow on me.
  82. billh
    Jun 17, 2003
    3
    Bizzarre drum sounds, hollow, annoying. no lead GUITARS or melody
  83. DT
    Jun 23, 2003
    8
    Some necessary steps before listening to this album: 1. Forget everything about the Napster controversy, Load and Reload, and whatever notions of 'Metallica having sold out' you might have. If you can't forget them, then at least try ignoring them. 2. Buy the CD - all the tracks that were leaked on the net are fakes (I've downloaded and listened to them myself, so I Some necessary steps before listening to this album: 1. Forget everything about the Napster controversy, Load and Reload, and whatever notions of 'Metallica having sold out' you might have. If you can't forget them, then at least try ignoring them. 2. Buy the CD - all the tracks that were leaked on the net are fakes (I've downloaded and listened to them myself, so I know what it feels like to listen to some rubbish and then find out it wasn't what you thought). 3. WATCH THE DVD. And you'll see that the boys never lost it - forget about the sound of Lars's drum, or Kirk not having any solos, or James barely doing any 'proper' singing at all. If you watch them play all the songs in the studio, and are the least bit fair, you will have to admit that these guys can still rock. Big time. Oh, and when you're done with it all, make some good VBR rips and put them up on the net, just to see how many people Lars is going to sue this time ;-) Expand
  84. arkansascracker
    Jun 24, 2003
    7
    This is a good solid CD. Poorly produced with some flaws, but a nice return to something more akin to thrash than their last few CDs. I like it alright.
  85. EricG
    Jun 29, 2003
    10
    This CD is one of the best heavy metal CD's out there. It's got great songs like Amber and St. Anger. Its a keeper for people that have it and if you dont have it you should go out and buy it
  86. KevinM
    Jul 15, 2003
    10
    If you dumb fuckers thought this would be like anything else than you are stupid. A band around for over twenty years is going to mature and change. soshut the hell up and go listen to rap you pussies. Dread Effect for ever
  87. "Morbid"Angel
    Jul 23, 2003
    1
    Well... I don't know what the hell happened with Metallica after the Black Album. They lost the path. Bad change for me. Made me sick.
  88. stephenyo
    Jul 25, 2003
    3
    To address all those people who say that Metallica has changed and evolved...you are only half right. Metallica has certainly changed...but in the wrong way! They have devolved!! If you guys want to hear a real metal band, then check out Iced Earth. They have a much better chance of saving metal than these grumpy old men who are just shadows of their former selves.
  89. EricH
    Jul 31, 2003
    8
    it may not be there best album but it is great
  90. LarsAll-rich
    Aug 22, 2003
    2
    Pure Shit !!! Sounds like bad Pantera!! The drum and guitars are TERRIBLE!!! Where did Metallica put the fuckin' money they made!??? Certainly not in the CD production! I've been following Metallica FOR YEARS, and now, believe me, this is definitely OVER! These assholes pissed me off during the Napstergate, and are not f***ing able to make a godamn good song! DIE METALLICA DIE!!!
  91. RudyS
    Aug 23, 2003
    7
    The guitars sounds are well-overdriven,the bass is great (Well done Bob!).But I hate the snare drums' sound.It feels like my ass irritated! Where's the guitar solo? Can't you play it again Kirk?
  92. TonyC
    Aug 3, 2003
    0
    Jesus H. Christ, this album should have ben called "St. Roe v. Wade" because it is an abortion! What a trivial piece of friggin garbage by bunch of washed up, self-indulgent, trite old men who are ripping off awful nu-metal bands. "But we inspired them so it's like they ripped us of first!" Shut up. Awful production and speedy riffs does not make the musc raw, it makes the music Jesus H. Christ, this album should have ben called "St. Roe v. Wade" because it is an abortion! What a trivial piece of friggin garbage by bunch of washed up, self-indulgent, trite old men who are ripping off awful nu-metal bands. "But we inspired them so it's like they ripped us of first!" Shut up. Awful production and speedy riffs does not make the musc raw, it makes the music desperate and histrionic. I don't mind that there are no solos but the reason aggrivates me. Kirk doesn't have to "prove himself anymore". That arrogant douche. There are dozens of musicians better than him who push themselves hard on every album and you just gave up! Do Dimebag from Pantera or Kerry King from Slayer give up on pushing themselves for every album? Everyone knows they're great and they still solo. Everone in the vicinity of the Milky Way Galaxy understands Tool have nothing to prove but they don't release an inaudible blank album after 5 years. They could easily release a blank CD, slap their name on it and sell it for $16 and it would be more intricate, soulful and powerful than St. Ass. St. Anger makes Enya look like Black Sabbath circa 1973. Lar$' must be taking lessons from homeless people because he's pounding on a friggin dumpster throughout the album. For all the sheep who bought this album (I prefer not to waste red cents on crap and enjoy divulging time on illegal dowload websites, thanks to Lar$) you got what you wanted and Metallica got what they wanted. You get to call yourself a "hardcore Metallica fan, man!" and they get their 16 bucks. St. AIDS is more like it. Expand
  93. kwt
    Aug 4, 2003
    3
    Better than most of the 90s albums. Nothing like the real Metallica albums of the 80s -- no haunting riffs and melodies. Maybe Bob Rock should listen to "Master of Puppets" at least once before screwing up another album. What the hell is Lars doing playing a steel drum??
  94. BigD
    Sep 9, 2003
    0
    Unfortunately, I tried to return this pitiful excuse for a metal album to the store I bought it at, and the kid claimed it was scratched...I didn't think they could give more "load" than "reload", but apparently they had an even better wad of spooge on deck than I could have imagined. Sorry, hard to sue me for downloading your "music". Lars, I'm not much into S&M.
  95. Josh
    Jan 21, 2004
    9
    As I write this review I'm listening to St. Anger through my Windows Media Player, thinking how if everyone would stop hating Metallica just because of that stupid Napster crap (it is stealing by the way...) the world would be a better place. This is a great cd and even though I'll be the first to admit that their older cd's (i.e. Master of Puppets) are much better, St. As I write this review I'm listening to St. Anger through my Windows Media Player, thinking how if everyone would stop hating Metallica just because of that stupid Napster crap (it is stealing by the way...) the world would be a better place. This is a great cd and even though I'll be the first to admit that their older cd's (i.e. Master of Puppets) are much better, St. Anger is better than 95% of the metal cd's in the market. Don't hate them because they want money 'cause we all do! Expand
  96. Nate
    Jun 4, 2004
    9
    This album is no Puppets or Justice, but it is METALLICA. St. Anger- The title gives you the mood of the of the record. It's fast, aggressive, balls out, no excuses necessary, put the kids to bed early, brake out the devil horns, cover grandma's ears, Metallica. Void of the complex arrangements of the 80's, and the over produced sounds of the 90's, it's what you This album is no Puppets or Justice, but it is METALLICA. St. Anger- The title gives you the mood of the of the record. It's fast, aggressive, balls out, no excuses necessary, put the kids to bed early, brake out the devil horns, cover grandma's ears, Metallica. Void of the complex arrangements of the 80's, and the over produced sounds of the 90's, it's what you expect to hear from a band that was on the brink of doom before finshing this album. Best of all, Axl still cant get Chinese Democracy out. Expand
  97. SamiString
    Aug 10, 2004
    1
    Sounds terrible, and feels uninspired.
  98. garys
    Sep 17, 2004
    5
    Anger. Agression. Madness. Distain. These are all Metallica, always have been and always will be. Unfortunately this time the boys have misdirected all that is good about them. Understanding that bands change and change is good still makes it hard to take this as Metallica. This album is alot like getting boiling mad then running around naked yelling at people at the beach. It kind of Anger. Agression. Madness. Distain. These are all Metallica, always have been and always will be. Unfortunately this time the boys have misdirected all that is good about them. Understanding that bands change and change is good still makes it hard to take this as Metallica. This album is alot like getting boiling mad then running around naked yelling at people at the beach. It kind of sucks and is kind of pointless. Expand
  99. KellyO
    Oct 11, 2005
    6
    This album might not be perfect, but it's OK. It deserves an exact rating of 6. I didn't like it at first, but it grows on you. Plus, this might be the heaviest album on metacritic!
  100. AsasJ
    Dec 31, 2005
    0
    Shit album
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. Mojo
    80
    This is miffed and exemplary metal. [Jul 2003, p.108]
  2. Uncut
    80
    Against all odds, St. Anger constitutes the cutting edge of commercial yet aggressive heavy rock in 2003. [Aug 2003, p.106]
  3. The production on St. Anger is abysmal.