St. Anger

  • Record Label: Elektra
  • Release Date: Jun 10, 2003
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 400 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. johnr
    Jun 23, 2003
    10
    this album kicks mager ass the lyrics the music everything about matallica fucking rocks
  2. TiagoS.
    Jul 20, 2008
    10
    It´s the best album of Metallica for me. So much anger in the musics and many great songs in this album. Off course there are not much "solos" but there are much energy, power and ANGERRRRR.
  3. Feb 8, 2014
    0
    Drum sounds really AWFUL!! Repetitive, simple and boring riffs; no SOLOS and terrible vocal. Forget thrash, it's not even metal. That's all I can say about this failure. DO NOT LISTEN IT!!!
  4. SeanM
    Aug 11, 2003
    10
    What a fucking album! Not only is it quite up to par with most of thier other albums, but its so addicting to listen to@ With all the speed metal from the 80's, conbined with the bone chilling riffs of the black album to the serene sound of "sweet amber". Metallica definatly unleashed one hell of a beast on this one. I just got back from thier concert yesterday, and they played it so What a fucking album! Not only is it quite up to par with most of thier other albums, but its so addicting to listen to@ With all the speed metal from the 80's, conbined with the bone chilling riffs of the black album to the serene sound of "sweet amber". Metallica definatly unleashed one hell of a beast on this one. I just got back from thier concert yesterday, and they played it so loud and hard that i could barely keep up with the lyrics of "frantic". Awesome job Metallica! Expand
  5. Dec 22, 2012
    0
    Wow. This is incredibly awful. I can't believe it took them 7 years to release this. It's as if they were a bunch of 14 years olds sitting around in a garage with a guitar, getting incredibly drunk, when they decided to record this. Realising they had no drums they must have grabbed some garbage cans from the side of the road, brought them inside and started making music. Later on the sameWow. This is incredibly awful. I can't believe it took them 7 years to release this. It's as if they were a bunch of 14 years olds sitting around in a garage with a guitar, getting incredibly drunk, when they decided to record this. Realising they had no drums they must have grabbed some garbage cans from the side of the road, brought them inside and started making music. Later on the same day they must have gotten some recording equipment brought around for them and 2 hours later, after making pretty much the same noise, released this. There was absolutely none of their classic masterful craftsmanship put into this album. Expand
  6. Sep 22, 2010
    5
    When i first herd this i knew that this wasn't the metallica everyone was used to. Something was wrong. I found that this was the album were james (singer) just got out of that huge rehab deal that he was going though and was returning to the band. I guess the just wanted to get back in slowly with just riffs and no solos. Ill let u off this time metallica but now start getting to the goodWhen i first herd this i knew that this wasn't the metallica everyone was used to. Something was wrong. I found that this was the album were james (singer) just got out of that huge rehab deal that he was going though and was returning to the band. I guess the just wanted to get back in slowly with just riffs and no solos. Ill let u off this time metallica but now start getting to the good stuff. I mean mind blowing solos. I CAN'T LIVE WITHOUT UR SOLOS! Expand
  7. Sep 13, 2012
    1
    1/10 simply because they actually made money of this piece of garbage. I have no idea why anyone would like this album but I guess some people really,really like Metallica.
  8. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    St. Anger is different. A concept album at its core, and barking ferocity at face value, each song is essentially a different perspective on anger and all of the emotions related to it. If any other band had written it, it would be an instant classic. However, this is Metallica, and they've been crucified for trying something different. I commend them for it. This isn't Metallica, it'sSt. Anger is different. A concept album at its core, and barking ferocity at face value, each song is essentially a different perspective on anger and all of the emotions related to it. If any other band had written it, it would be an instant classic. However, this is Metallica, and they've been crucified for trying something different. I commend them for it. This isn't Metallica, it's something new and unique. And god damn is it catchy. Expand
  9. Sep 26, 2011
    7
    Okay, i think that, as many have said, this album is a blast from the past, with a little difference: the lack of soloing. People might say that how fast you play isn't important, but if you want a real good Metallica album, then it has to have soloing. I pretty much didn't like most songs individually (there are some exceptions; like St. Anger, which resembles Motorbreath in it's raw yetOkay, i think that, as many have said, this album is a blast from the past, with a little difference: the lack of soloing. People might say that how fast you play isn't important, but if you want a real good Metallica album, then it has to have soloing. I pretty much didn't like most songs individually (there are some exceptions; like St. Anger, which resembles Motorbreath in it's raw yet entertaining style), but i think that the album as a whole holds up pretty well. For that, i give it a 7. Expand
  10. Nov 25, 2011
    5
    St. Anger. Well, well, well... Certainly Metallica's most slated album (though oddly not on this site) - and perhaps with some reason. The songs are generally rather bland, with simplistic riffs and less than enthusiastic drumming from the usually impressive Ulrich. Considering the troubles the band was going through at the time - with each other, and with producer Bob Rock, perhaps it'sSt. Anger. Well, well, well... Certainly Metallica's most slated album (though oddly not on this site) - and perhaps with some reason. The songs are generally rather bland, with simplistic riffs and less than enthusiastic drumming from the usually impressive Ulrich. Considering the troubles the band was going through at the time - with each other, and with producer Bob Rock, perhaps it's not surprising this effort is their least popular. However, there are some high points - 'Some Kind of Monster' is sufficiently choleric without being dull, and were it not for Hetfield's repetitive screaming of 'Kill, Kill, Kill' at the end of 'All Within my Hands', that wouldn't be bad either. 'Invisible Kid', it must be said, I am a closet fan of. Overall, due to the lack of solos, a poor production effort by Rock and overall mediocre lyrical content, this is certainly Metallica's worst album to date - but is nevertheless nowhere near as bad as is often made out. Expand
  11. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    I know that some fans really dislike it, but you can feel their problems and anger from that album. They went through difficult times during recording this album and it feels like that. I simply love it, love that change, love that heaviness and love Lars snare, i usually dont like punk drums, but here its just awesome!
  12. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    Yes, it worst Metallica album. But it still rock, maybe snare drum is bad, but i like this album, and like to take drive with this music. So **** good!
  13. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    If could put 11, i would have put it, because this album is THE BEST THING IN THE WHOLE WORLD! If we will be able to heal aids, it wouldn't be as good as this album. it's not only the best Metallica's album, it's also THE BEST **** ALBUM IN THE HISTORY OF MUSIC!
  14. JackS.
    Sep 13, 2008
    3
    Just noise.
  15. JonyeA
    Jun 29, 2003
    5
    when i heard about this CD i expected something like master of puppets. What i got was not Metallica at all. no solos, sounds like it was recorded in a day. just download the video and hope they dont sue you
  16. AdrianL.
    Jan 5, 2008
    3
    Painful to listen to, this album just could have been so much more.
  17. ElpoA.O
    Jul 9, 2007
    3
    I love metallica, but this CD is really bad in comparison with EVERYTHING they've done before, even Load and Re-Load.
  18. BusterCherry
    Jun 10, 2003
    9
    The first time I heard it, I thought it was pretty bad. Then I got a little hooked on it and thought it was OK. Then I watched the DVD and I was hooked. The DVD is freaking awesome!
  19. MetalInc
    Jun 12, 2003
    1
    I will be the first to admit I have not listened to the whole album....not because I didn't want to but because I couldn't handle more than 4-5 tracks before I HAD to turn it off. What a let down....if any band other than Metallica made this album it would be shelved on college radio for 3 months and never be heard from again. Pure garbage. Save your money....you'll thank I will be the first to admit I have not listened to the whole album....not because I didn't want to but because I couldn't handle more than 4-5 tracks before I HAD to turn it off. What a let down....if any band other than Metallica made this album it would be shelved on college radio for 3 months and never be heard from again. Pure garbage. Save your money....you'll thank me for it. Collapse
  20. AlexS
    Jun 10, 2003
    4
    frustrating. it should be awesome, because they've brought the chunkiness and speed back, but the album is actually pretty boring. all the songs sound exactly the same, there are no solos, and, to be honest, het's lyrics kinda suck.... metallica knew, after the ridiculousness that was load and reload, that they had to bring the fire back to their music, but it's too bad frustrating. it should be awesome, because they've brought the chunkiness and speed back, but the album is actually pretty boring. all the songs sound exactly the same, there are no solos, and, to be honest, het's lyrics kinda suck.... metallica knew, after the ridiculousness that was load and reload, that they had to bring the fire back to their music, but it's too bad that they couldn't do anything cool with it. i may sound like an old fart, but i really miss cliff..... (i was five when he died, so i can't be an old fart...) Expand
  21. bryanb
    Sep 6, 2003
    7
    this album is nothing compared to the early days but kicks loaded albums in the ass. there is know other metallica on the radio today. there sound is unique and there own. noone will ever touch there old shit and never will. they are part of history. kill em all kills anything released today and dont forget the other three.
  22. DanP.
    Feb 11, 2008
    8
    Despite the abuse this album has recieved in the past I thought that it was great to see Metallica try something different. Ineviatably it was going to horrify their thousands of devoted fans by dropping their guitars down a few steps, the phrase "sold out" probably came to a few lips too, but I thought that this album was solid with quite a few oddly catchy songs thrown in there for good Despite the abuse this album has recieved in the past I thought that it was great to see Metallica try something different. Ineviatably it was going to horrify their thousands of devoted fans by dropping their guitars down a few steps, the phrase "sold out" probably came to a few lips too, but I thought that this album was solid with quite a few oddly catchy songs thrown in there for good measure. Listen to it if you can open your mind to the fact that all of Metallica's discography cannot be similiar or as good as Master of Puppets. Expand
  23. BasilH
    Jun 14, 2003
    9
    First, the utter lack of any guitar solos is as disappointing to me as anyone else, but the rest of this album is the finest thing to blugeon metal fans since...well, since the last good metallica disc. Hetfields lyrics are more mature and profound, which is only upsetting to those who refuse to accept growing up. Lars is a man possessed and I have almost been moved to forget about the First, the utter lack of any guitar solos is as disappointing to me as anyone else, but the rest of this album is the finest thing to blugeon metal fans since...well, since the last good metallica disc. Hetfields lyrics are more mature and profound, which is only upsetting to those who refuse to accept growing up. Lars is a man possessed and I have almost been moved to forget about the loss of Jason. It takes a couple of listens to get a feel for the album and to really appreciate it but once you start to get into it, you realize the relevancy that Metallica personifies. This is unquestionablely better than any of the insipid and uninspired "metal" currently droning over the airwaves. Metallica continues to grow musically without ever losing touch with TRUE fans of the genre. Listen, listen again, listen again and the you won't want to stop. This is adult metal for those who appreciate music beyond "rap-rock". Expand
  24. BlaineK
    Jun 17, 2003
    10
    One of the greastest.No bands compete with MetallicA
  25. TAsh
    Jun 10, 2003
    8
    It has to grow on you, but if you liked the old Metallica, not sure how you can't like this CD. Much heavier than anything since Justice but not too heavy to run off 'new' fans.
  26. ThomasB
    Jan 10, 2004
    7
    Well this is the worst Metallica's album so far. After ...And justice for all Metallica's started going worse and worse. I don't want to see what will their next album be like. Still in comparacent to other band albums, this one is not so terrible. So I rate this album with 6/7
  27. matt
    Jan 2, 2004
    9
    I'll admit... at first i did not like this cd, but i stuck with it. Its just a new sound unlike any other; u gotta respect that at least. And for that reason mosty i listened to it over and over. Now i love it. The guitars are huge and have this underground feeling to them, and the lyrics... dont seem like hetfields writing but then again he has grown with his suffering these past I'll admit... at first i did not like this cd, but i stuck with it. Its just a new sound unlike any other; u gotta respect that at least. And for that reason mosty i listened to it over and over. Now i love it. The guitars are huge and have this underground feeling to them, and the lyrics... dont seem like hetfields writing but then again he has grown with his suffering these past few years. All in all the more u listen to it and the higher its turned up the better it gets. Expand
  28. motorbreath666
    May 2, 2004
    10
    A band cannot sound exactly the same EVERY time! People, please if that was the case then it would get old and redudant fast. This album is aggression, made to unleash rage. For me there are two types of talica fans. The ones Pre-Load and the ones Post-Load. Pre-Load: Fans who like the melody and semi-aggressive songs. Post-Load: Fans who like aggressive/power songs (not really caring for A band cannot sound exactly the same EVERY time! People, please if that was the case then it would get old and redudant fast. This album is aggression, made to unleash rage. For me there are two types of talica fans. The ones Pre-Load and the ones Post-Load. Pre-Load: Fans who like the melody and semi-aggressive songs. Post-Load: Fans who like aggressive/power songs (not really caring for songs like NEM or Unforgiven). St Anger lies in a realm by itself. Personally I think the album is an 8 but it gets 2 extra points because of its nature. That is the nature of the beast. The very fact that there are NO radio friendly songs on this album tells me as a fan that a good band cannot be defined. Expand
  29. RobA
    Sep 6, 2004
    1
    Those of you who think that this is metal... You're only kidding yourselves. The snare drum is so irritating on this album, I just want to smash it. James' voice is going downhill fast, and I can seriously see Metallica apologizing for this album in a couple of years, well, if they are still a band by then that is. The only person who I can see liking this album is Dave Those of you who think that this is metal... You're only kidding yourselves. The snare drum is so irritating on this album, I just want to smash it. James' voice is going downhill fast, and I can seriously see Metallica apologizing for this album in a couple of years, well, if they are still a band by then that is. The only person who I can see liking this album is Dave Mustaine, because all the Metallica fans will exchange it at the retail store for Megadeth's new CD. Expand
  30. PhilH
    Jun 17, 2005
    8
    This album has got some kick ass songs on it, but it isnt as good as Metallica's previous albums
  31. RichardL
    Sep 4, 2005
    7
    Not a classic. But these giants nearly split in the process of making St. Anger. It is probably their most meaningful effort yet.
  32. BenJ
    Jun 6, 2006
    0
    St Shite!!!!!
  33. Sconf2
    Mar 3, 2007
    0
    Metallica is dead T.T
  34. suvoc
    May 2, 2007
    10
    fukin amazin. if u dont like this album u r a wanker
  35. NickC.
    Jun 2, 2007
    8
    Underrated. I didn't dig it on first listens, but after pulling it out a few years later, its good. Not as good as Master of Puppets, but I'd put it on par with Black.
  36. AndrewB
    Jun 10, 2003
    8
    Having given this a few days to sink in it's making loads more sense and proving to be a winner - the production does prove to be a hurdle to get past but makes sense as time goes by. Solid, heavy and powerful - everything a Metallica CD should be (and hasn't been for a good while) this seems to have split the fans but made me smile !
  37. christophern
    Jun 10, 2003
    7
    I'm not a metallica fan, but this is a good album.
  38. MatthewK
    Jun 10, 2003
    2
    This is utter crap, what are you guys reviewing? Kirk is virtually non existant, Hetfield sounds awful, and Lars needs to tune his snare. This is utter crap!
  39. [Anonymous]
    Jun 10, 2003
    6
    St. Anger is a progression of their Load/Reload albums (the blooze riifs, sing-along melodies, and personal lyrics have remained) except that they have grafted on harder, speed/power-metal phrases. There are problems with marrying the two styles. (And Slayer, Anthrax, Megadeth, and even Pantera have all struggled with this too.) In are the varying double-time signatures, bass drum fills, St. Anger is a progression of their Load/Reload albums (the blooze riifs, sing-along melodies, and personal lyrics have remained) except that they have grafted on harder, speed/power-metal phrases. There are problems with marrying the two styles. (And Slayer, Anthrax, Megadeth, and even Pantera have all struggled with this too.) In are the varying double-time signatures, bass drum fills, stacatto riffs, and tremelos. Hell, some of the guitar-drum on-the-one interplay is straight out of the Slayer songbook. Out are the progressive/Euro-metal songs structures, the gorgeously harmonic bridges and theatrical dynamics, the stuff that distinguishes Master of Puppets and Ride the Lightning as defining metal albums. You don't see many nu-metal bands try old-school thrash. Here's why: The intricate speed does not allow a groove where a singer (or hip-hop beats) can easily fit on top. The elaborate time-changes almost defy verse-chorus-verse song structure. In Metallica's 80s music, progressive devices like harmonized solos and long intros were crucial in creating transitions where the riffs would be introduced and the singer would be allowed space to define a chorus. In turn, the fit of these riffs would create elaborately emotional dynamics. On this album, the awkward (and jarringly produced) pop/nu-metal phrases, basically forcing a "unnatural" song structure, that take the air of the flow, make many of the tracks tedious, and wipe out most of the songs' dramatic buildup. That said, St Anger does appeal as a sort of concensus "adult metal" album. Although the lyrics seem solopilistic, the words and the singing seem that of a man confronting his middle age, his past, as well as his addictions. The riffs themselves contain 20 years of heavy metal and hard rock , are stand up to anything in their mainstream peers. And I enjoyed the stoner-rock-meets-psuedoindustrial production (though many don't), it's the first time since And Justice for All, that the Metallica has had real mid-range in their sound. In short bits, St Anger is a lot of fun, and you feel that Metallica is getting closer to "getting it" again. So while not a return to form, it is basically a good metal album and reminder of metal's glorious past. Expand
  40. JoobM
    Jun 10, 2003
    0
    Enough already.
  41. Rickyc
    Jun 12, 2003
    1
    they need to go back to the old metallica sound like in the black album, they sound like they are tryin to be some hard core CRAP band like slip knot , most of the cd just sounds like a bunch of mumbling, with hard bangin on trash cans....the lyrics are the weakest i have ever heard from a metallica cd..''invisable kid, never see what he did'''...what the hell is they need to go back to the old metallica sound like in the black album, they sound like they are tryin to be some hard core CRAP band like slip knot , most of the cd just sounds like a bunch of mumbling, with hard bangin on trash cans....the lyrics are the weakest i have ever heard from a metallica cd..''invisable kid, never see what he did'''...what the hell is that crap i personally think they should have ended the band when jason quit...they suck fatt nuts now i have lost all respect and dont care for metallica anymore Expand
  42. TomH
    Jun 13, 2003
    8
    Raw and powerful, the way metal should be.
  43. Bob
    Jun 13, 2003
    10
    i give it a ten in response to the ridiculously fag reviews giving it 0's. in all honesty, it is an 8.5. solid. better than all of their albums cept justice and master. id go into detail, but lots of you seem like fucking morons so you wouldnt understand what makes a cd good
  44. marioc
    Jun 13, 2003
    10
    this cd fuckin rocks
  45. benc
    Jun 16, 2003
    0
    I used to like Metallica. Then they started tossing off this kind of dross just to cash in on the fact that their fans are devoted and will buy anything by them. Having DOWNLOADED (!) this album, I must say I'm glad I didn't fork out the money for it.
  46. seano
    Jun 17, 2003
    1
    good god this album sucks something fierce!
  47. tomasg
    Jun 18, 2003
    8
    in a world full of overproduced tripe, this is a welcome development. if lars hadn't gone out of his way to make his drums sound distractingly bad, this could have been an incredible album. i hated it when i first heard it too. i thought it had to be some kind of a joke. the joke is that so many other bands can sugar coat their turds with a lot of studio time and effects and make it in a world full of overproduced tripe, this is a welcome development. if lars hadn't gone out of his way to make his drums sound distractingly bad, this could have been an incredible album. i hated it when i first heard it too. i thought it had to be some kind of a joke. the joke is that so many other bands can sugar coat their turds with a lot of studio time and effects and make it sound like a million bucks. Expand
  48. CharlieP
    Jun 19, 2003
    2
    Regardless of what the diehards want you to believe - this Met Diehard speaks the truth - this album is NOT good - not by anyone's standards. I just cashed mine in today at CD Exchnage - so save some money and go there first if you really want this load of garbage.
  49. AxlRose
    Jun 19, 2003
    1
    This is absolutely the worst Metallica album ever. I don't get the good reviews.
  50. markp
    Jun 10, 2003
    8
    its heavy sounds good BUT WHERE ARE THE SOLOS
  51. anjananjan
    Jun 20, 2003
    10
    great buy it
  52. LindseyB
    Jun 20, 2003
    10
    Metallica's new cd is worth investing the money in. I can't see why anyone would give the cd under an 8. If you're a Metallica fan, you'll love this. All new material with an old-school twist, it makes for a great cd. I'm gonna be having this in my cd player for quite sometime.
  53. JasonL
    Jun 9, 2003
    9
    Upon first hearing the St. Anger single, this album had me feeling embarassed that I had been so geared up for it over the last 12 months. It sounded like a mess, and it didn't help that I heard one critic describe it as "commercial suicide" owing to the raw sound and And Justice For All-like song lengths. However, once I cracked the plastic, gave it 3 or 4 full listenings, bought Upon first hearing the St. Anger single, this album had me feeling embarassed that I had been so geared up for it over the last 12 months. It sounded like a mess, and it didn't help that I heard one critic describe it as "commercial suicide" owing to the raw sound and And Justice For All-like song lengths. However, once I cracked the plastic, gave it 3 or 4 full listenings, bought into the "live" sound, and started to unearth the classic Metallica intricacies buried beneath the wall of crushing sound, I began to appreciate this album for what it is - a return to Metallica's live and aggressive roots, and a critical healing salve for James Hetfield. The pingy drums still annoy me, and while I like the looser vibe better than Black, I dislike studio albums that sound this rough. Its not a good sign that the DVD rehearsals sound comparable to the CD in terms of sound quality. Regardless, a sub-par Metallica album is better than most modern bands' pretender rap/rock hybrid efforts, so this one gets an 8/10 on the strength of raw energy and a few crunchy yet funky songs, most notably Unnamed Feeling, Sweet Amber, Shoot Me, and the freight train that is St. Anger. I elevate my rating to a 9/10 due to the inclusion of the DVD. It shows us how happy this band is now and how good these songs are going to sound live. I also think that it was a clever tactical move to increase the value of the album without increasing the price (unlike the Linkin Park Meteora DVD set). This band knows that they did themselves some damage with the Napster thing and this is a great bonus to both those that questioned their motives and the fans that stood beside them. That said, Metallica is a band that I expect and demand 10/10 efforts from, and if Bob Rock is listening I'd like him to hear this: its not necessarily the songs that hold this thing back from challenging the Black album, its the production. Please make sure that those 20-odd unreleased songs that are referred to on the "making of St. Anger" video get polished up and sound clean, crisp, and crunchy the way that Black, Load, and Reload do. When you're on your game and mixing a true "studio" album, you are the best rock producer in the industry! We should all feel grateful that the greatest metal band ever is still alive and kicking after being so close to the brink. Don't make us wait too long before your next one boys! And why not make us happy with studio versions of No Leaf Clover and Minus Human? Expand
  54. DavidK
    Jun 9, 2003
    6
    I have heard alot about Metallica and Bob Rick trying to make an album that sound more like "live" Metallica. It seems that with every album Rock produces, they get farther away from that ideal. The album is overproduced. If you listen to it at low volume, all you hear is vocals and drums.
  55. SamE
    Jun 9, 2003
    10
    This is the METALLICA i grew up to. These are the messages that insipered me. This is a solid return to the days of headbanging.
  56. JimB
    Jul 2, 2003
    0
    this album made me cry. so much potential. this could have been great. but its not. at all. its worse than sticking your hand in a blender.
  57. ChrisM
    Jul 27, 2003
    10
    This cd kicks ass! I will kick every1s ass if the say ne thing bad to metallica!!!!!!!!!!! Yeah so this cd is awsome buy it NOW!!!!
  58. stevey
    Jul 5, 2003
    2
    Metallica has truly lost it. I have no idea what in the world they are trying to do, but they're certainly not rocking. Fifteen years ago, they were the greatest band on earth; now, they just make a lot of noise without any catchy or memorable rhythms at all. I never thought that a Metallica cd could ever be so...boring. Rest in peace, heavy metal. When someone finally resurrects Metallica has truly lost it. I have no idea what in the world they are trying to do, but they're certainly not rocking. Fifteen years ago, they were the greatest band on earth; now, they just make a lot of noise without any catchy or memorable rhythms at all. I never thought that a Metallica cd could ever be so...boring. Rest in peace, heavy metal. When someone finally resurrects you, it sure won't be these guys. Expand
  59. ChadK
    Aug 13, 2003
    0
    I was going to make a statement about how Metallica makes terrible, terrible music; however, I am afraid that Lars Ulrich will sue me - what a bum. It sounds like he spent too much time counting his money and not enough time living what he is trying to play.
  60. alexc
    Aug 14, 2003
    9
    This marvellous album is yet another sign of the evolution of Metallica, that has lead them to the top. If you want old staff, I heard runners-up Maiden are releasing a new album... BUT METALLICA WILL ALWAYS BE THE BEST!!!!!
  61. MazenS
    Aug 30, 2003
    10
    I love Metallica, they are AWESOME, this album shows how powerful they are, i only wish they could scream, or shout some more. Whoever got disapointed by Metallica for releasing this album is pretty screwed up.
  62. Pupu-The-Alien??
    Aug 4, 2003
    10
    if u dont like this cd u r gay this was the best cd and only cd ive ever actually listened to the rest were too boring
  63. AndresM
    Aug 7, 2003
    0
    Horrible, a let down for metallica fans, and bob rock fans, a far cry from coherent, swimming in a sea of twisted noise and chaos. THEY DON"T EVEN USE "THEIR" E and F chords that they SUED TO PROTECT. TERRIBLE, NOT EVEN WORTH DOWNLADING
  64. AlexAlex
    Sep 20, 2003
    10
    good i like St. Anger
  65. joej
    Sep 6, 2003
    8
    not too bad, just get rid of that anoying snare and bring back the solos
  66. miezo
    Nov 9, 2004
    2
    Use this CD when you're out of toilet paper. It's also a good frisbee. If the CD is for sale, don't buy it. If you can download the CD, don't do it. It will be the worst experience of your life.
  67. Steven-o
    Nov 9, 2004
    2
    This ain't METALLICA. This is crap. Retire or get back making real music!!!!
  68. timn
    Oct 29, 2004
    8
    I absolutely love this album!! This is the type of stuff i like to hear from METALLICA!!! Riff after riff of rocking heavy metal. what amazes me most about this album is the way they manage to keep the rhythm changes interesting minus any solos. while i'll be the first to admit that lyrically (compared to their first five albums) it's a little weak, but the fact that they are I absolutely love this album!! This is the type of stuff i like to hear from METALLICA!!! Riff after riff of rocking heavy metal. what amazes me most about this album is the way they manage to keep the rhythm changes interesting minus any solos. while i'll be the first to admit that lyrically (compared to their first five albums) it's a little weak, but the fact that they are back to there hard rocking, more musically inventive selves is more than enough to make up for that end of it!!! I just hope the next one is as good or better (and arrives a lot sooner!!!) Expand
  69. DaveC
    Apr 17, 2004
    10
    It's unbelievable to hear an album this fresh, raw and exciting released by what seemed to be a washed out heavy metal band. To be quite honest, have grown quite bored of the metallic sameyness of Metallica's early albums and so it's refreshing to hear an album with a raw sound that doesn't overemphasise any instrument. What is left is an immediate, visceral and (oh It's unbelievable to hear an album this fresh, raw and exciting released by what seemed to be a washed out heavy metal band. To be quite honest, have grown quite bored of the metallic sameyness of Metallica's early albums and so it's refreshing to hear an album with a raw sound that doesn't overemphasise any instrument. What is left is an immediate, visceral and (oh yes) angry sound. James Hetfield's lyrics which may have seemed a tad dumb on paper work brilliant within the context of the songs. This is Metallica's finest album largely thanks to the fact that Metallica's hardcore punk influences are more prominent this time round, giving it a raw energy, and it still sounds fundamentally like a heavy metal album. Enjoy! Expand
  70. TimothyD
    Apr 9, 2004
    7
    Well, I love Metallica, and this album is definitely better than what most of the other metal bands make. However, the absence of solos is a tragedy. Robert Trujillo on bass is definitely exhillarating
  71. someguy
    Sep 8, 2004
    3
    this is a piece of fucking shit with only 2 good songs: Frantic and Purify, don't waste your money on this, just download it if you REALLY want it. Oh, by the way, Lars has a receeding hairline and is going bald
  72. DarrenL
    Oct 6, 2005
    8
    Maybe Metallica 5th best album, but that still makes it a great cd.
  73. TomC
    Feb 14, 2005
    10
    I dont see how ANY metallica fan could diss this album. Complaining about no guitar solos is kinda lame... if you like them solely for those then you are not a true fan, go get a guitar and entertain yourself. I agree the album does have a more "rough" sound to it... as ive read some places "like a demo" but to me thats good. i like the album because it sounds good... it hasnt been I dont see how ANY metallica fan could diss this album. Complaining about no guitar solos is kinda lame... if you like them solely for those then you are not a true fan, go get a guitar and entertain yourself. I agree the album does have a more "rough" sound to it... as ive read some places "like a demo" but to me thats good. i like the album because it sounds good... it hasnt been doctored to sound good because it doesnt need it. if you like edited vocals go check out ashlee simpson or something. unfortunately time ages people... how can ANYONE expect James to maintain the same voice all these years?? of course it will change slightly etc etc, things change get over it!. this album shows that metallica are capable of changing their style of music and not having to use computers to make it sound good. they are good musicians and any true fan will know that they have been through a lot and to sound as they did in their younger days is impossible. with that said ima go now, anyone who wants to can email me at tom201184@yahoo.com.au take care all :) ROCK ON!! m/ Expand
  74. MesaBoogie
    Feb 4, 2005
    8
    So what if the damn snare is pingy and there are no guitar solos? That snare sound enables it to cut through the massive wall of guitar/bass grunge. Who needs guitar solos? If you want guitar solos, listen to Steve Vai, Joe Satriani, John Petrucci or Eric Johnson. They do it much better. Besides, guitar solos are sooo fucking 80's. If NIN can be critics' darlings with songs So what if the damn snare is pingy and there are no guitar solos? That snare sound enables it to cut through the massive wall of guitar/bass grunge. Who needs guitar solos? If you want guitar solos, listen to Steve Vai, Joe Satriani, John Petrucci or Eric Johnson. They do it much better. Besides, guitar solos are sooo fucking 80's. If NIN can be critics' darlings with songs without guitar solos, why can't Metallica? Besides, Hammet's guitar solos are typically musically meandering and sound like a poor excuse to stick in a flurry of random notes into the song structure. Why are people pissy about the production values on this record? The music in St. Anger is heavy, pissed-off, and raw, with tons of awesome drop-tuned riffage. As a musician, I give props to the Metallica guys to have the balls to release such a "live" sounding recording without the clinical sterility of their earlier masterpieces like Puppets and Justice, where every instrument sounds isolated and strangled. If there can be any faults in this album, it's probably the repetitiveness of some of the songs, no doubt caused by the band and Bob Rock staring at the ProTools edit screen too long and copy/pasting song arrangements. All in all, St. Anger sounds alive, refreshing, vital, and contemporary (without being a complete slave to current musical trends)- a welcome evolution in Metallica's music and a fine addition to their oeuvre. Expand
  75. NickB
    Feb 4, 2005
    8
    This is a real album, its not watered down or run through a machine. If you want a Backstreet Boys album go by one. If you want something with some balls, buy St. Anger.
  76. dougk
    Apr 13, 2005
    6
    they need to get wasted again
  77. PauloF
    May 24, 2005
    10
    It's a great album i gave it 10/10. Metallica just want it to do something different
  78. KeithA
    May 4, 2005
    2
    One of my favourite bands (I've been a fan since 1985) - but this is soooo bad. Lars sounds like he's hitting a tin can with a twig. And the "songs" are dire. Very little to redeem this album. Even the live shows were poor - I ended up walking out in despair. Still, the kids liked it.
  79. Mike
    Oct 17, 2006
    2
    Garbage
  80. MichaelC
    Dec 20, 2006
    5
    Where are the solos? Ps. Anybody who pays attention to Rolling Stones top 100 guitarist dosn't know anything about the instrument. There are so many names left off that list, most notably, Steve Vai, Frank Zappa, John Petucci and Joe Satriani. Those guys arn't top 100, but Kurt Cobain and Jack White are top 30, is just garbage.
  81. JohnC
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    I have been a metallica fan since day one. I can't say I have ever been disapponted. Metallica can never be accused of repetition or recycling old material. Two things are certain, new material from Metallica is going to be just that, NEW, and it will be HEAVY. While I will always love the older material, the new material has never disappointed. It will always amaze me how fans will I have been a metallica fan since day one. I can't say I have ever been disapponted. Metallica can never be accused of repetition or recycling old material. Two things are certain, new material from Metallica is going to be just that, NEW, and it will be HEAVY. While I will always love the older material, the new material has never disappointed. It will always amaze me how fans will be so quick to dismiss material that is different. Who wants to hear recycled riffs with different lyrics? While I was absolutely blown away by Load & Reload, others criticized the change. WTF. St. Anger is the most potent, heavy and unique material to be turned out by the 'Tallica boys, and again, heavily criticized. WTF. What are people listening to? The riffs are absolutely sick ! While Kirk Hammet is, as usual, stellar at lead, James Hetfield is a master at rythym, with some very cool leads as well. James, you the man !! Killer drums by Lars and most impressive bass by Robert, all come together to form a collection of material that will rattle the teeth from your jaws. If you haven't yet, go buy St. Anger right now. If hearing the songs isn't enough, well just pop in the DVD and watch them play the songs. Many thanks to Metallica for turning out, yet another, heavy and very angry piece of work. Metallica Rules !!! Expand
  82. JosephA
    May 12, 2006
    7
    I like this album, bt i love load and reload. Its seams like they are going in a new direction and i sorta like it but im hoping for more songs like "Die, Die, Die my darling" ; "Aint my Bitch". :)
  83. philb
    Jul 31, 2006
    0
    St. Rubbish
  84. KyleC
    Aug 25, 2006
    10
    This album absolutley fucking rocks! Fingers up to the idiots who have underrated this fantastic album produced from the anger within Metallica. 10/10. After watching Some Kind Of Monster DVD, I came to respect the album even more after seeing what they have been through to produce this album. Metal-Fucking-Allica For Life!
  85. PatC
    Feb 28, 2007
    5
    Drum sounds awful not even in the shadow of the Black album
  86. KevinH.
    Feb 6, 2007
    0
    Possibly the worst album ever made, how a band who made albums like Ride the Lightning, Master of Puppets, and Kill Em' All made this garbage is beyond me.
  87. tomg
    Nov 20, 2008
    4
    While this isn't the worst Metallica CD, it is not good. The omission of guitar solos, the steely sounding drums, and Hetfield's woman-like cracking voice on Frantic, make this an un-stellar CD. Though some songs sound rather good, the CD needed way more work on it.
  88. YoYo
    Jan 30, 2008
    2
    Hated it.
  89. Joe
    Apr 4, 2008
    7
    Probably the best album Korn could have come up with. But since is played by Metallica, it's not what you'd expect.
  90. TristanS
    Jul 10, 2009
    7
    This is not Metallica's greatest outing, but who can deny that a little bit of savagery isn't welcome after years of Country-induced twang Metal and pop-drenched choruses? I for one think this album is a bit of an acquired taste. And it is one of those things that you just may love, or just might hate with a passion. Frantic, St. Anger and All within My Hands are the best songs This is not Metallica's greatest outing, but who can deny that a little bit of savagery isn't welcome after years of Country-induced twang Metal and pop-drenched choruses? I for one think this album is a bit of an acquired taste. And it is one of those things that you just may love, or just might hate with a passion. Frantic, St. Anger and All within My Hands are the best songs on this metal groove of an album.... I recommend it, but beware: You may just hate it. Expand
  91. JamesB
    Jul 20, 2009
    0
    About as bad as music gets, all things considered.
  92. DamienP
    Nov 4, 2003
    9
    Metallica c tro cool headed
  93. Jennifer
    Oct 16, 2003
    10
    Metallica rocks and this is their best CD yet It can't get any better!
  94. sethd
    Jun 10, 2003
    2
    NO, this album blows. There is nothing to hold onto or remember, no hooks or melody. The rythm is predominant, but it only sounds like the redundant smashing of trashcan lids. There is no grace to compliment the savagry of this album.
  95. MikeO
    Jun 11, 2003
    10
    So I guess that im old fashioned but Metallica still rocks! Frantic is awesome!
  96. [ANonymous]
    Jun 11, 2003
    8
    Agree with most reviews...not their best album, but it rocks more than most music out there right now. Their live rehearsals sound 10x better than the CD, which is why I ripped the DVD to make a CD (plus the annoying snare ping is mostly gone in the live versions!). It's a brutal album. Definitely not going to please everyone, but I'm happy I bought it.
  97. ChrissN
    Jun 10, 2003
    8
    The best album the metalforgrounders have put out for quite a while. at least better than Load, reload, kill em all and almost as good as Justice. Some may disslike the drumsound and the NO solos but when ju listen for a while and look further than that you know that metallica is back...
  98. ShelBleed
    Jun 11, 2003
    1
    Lame effort, thanks for the four year wait. This album tries soo hard to sound hardcore and just fails miserably. The only thing worse than the music are the lyrics.
  99. SickWillie
    Jun 11, 2003
    7
    Many people are no doubt extremely disappointed at "St. Anger", especially after all the hype that was generated from the Metallica camp preceeding its release. and, those who were expecting a return to the band's whiplash 80s glory have every good reason to be upset. I mean, here we have a band that has crafted such truly brilliant albums as "Master of Puppets", suddenly taking a Many people are no doubt extremely disappointed at "St. Anger", especially after all the hype that was generated from the Metallica camp preceeding its release. and, those who were expecting a return to the band's whiplash 80s glory have every good reason to be upset. I mean, here we have a band that has crafted such truly brilliant albums as "Master of Puppets", suddenly taking a shine to nu-metal, applying a cease and desist on solos, and putting out an album that sounds as though it was recorded in someone's basement on dollar store equipment. Truly, the sound quality (or lack thereof) is "St. Anger"'s greatest downfall. Yes, the mid-range is prominent, but Lars' snare pings annoyingly, drilling into your head until you want to throw him out of his seat and tune the damned thing yourself. There are other major problems plaguing the record as well, notably the deterioration of Hetfield's vocals. For much of the album, the vocals do suffice. However, whenever he tries to vent... REALLY vent the anger, it comes across as a sore-throated, whiny, unbalanced yelp (this really gets grating at the close of 'All Within My Hands' when, as James repeatedly yells 'kill kill kill kill kill', he teeters somewhere between Bobcat Goldthwait and Billy Corgan... not a good thing). Yes, "St. Anger" has plenty of problems, several good arguments for those who would see Metallica burned at the stake for suppsed crimes against metal. But, for all its shortcomings, credit must be given, for "St. Anger" excels in many categories as well. If nothing else, it's quite possibly the heaviest album Metallica has ever recorded. Gone are the sweeping, epic ballads, replaced instead with chunky riffs and visceral harmonies. And, at times, the weight of the music is truly flooring, immersing you in the passion and fury that was probably intended. Yes, the album is underproduced. Yes, we agree that James isn't the greatest singer in the world. Yes, Lars could have fixed his snare prior to recording. And yes, many of these songs could have been shaved down considerably. But, none of this changes what should be the most prevalent fact. "St. Anger" is an ugly, gurgling monster of an album, a challenge to every fan, old and new, to throw their inhibitions to the wayside, turn up the volume and trust in Metallica enough to take you for the ride. And, when the album ends in an orgy of fury, any true fan of not only the band, but what they stand for musically, would be a fool not to take "St. Anger" for another spin. Expand
  100. JeffF
    Jun 10, 2003
    4
    On this CD Metallica really tries to return to their old sound, but try as they may, they fail miserably. This music on this CD borrows from bands that early Metallica likely served as an inspiration to. There are guitar riffs that sound lifted from the latest Queens of the Stone Age CD and there are choruses and vocal arraignments that sound like they were lifted from the latest Linkin On this CD Metallica really tries to return to their old sound, but try as they may, they fail miserably. This music on this CD borrows from bands that early Metallica likely served as an inspiration to. There are guitar riffs that sound lifted from the latest Queens of the Stone Age CD and there are choruses and vocal arraignments that sound like they were lifted from the latest Linkin Park or some other Nu-Metal release. I am not even going to get into the utterly ridiculous lyrics on here. I will give Metallica some credit, the drums, guitar, and bass on the CD show great talent and tremendous potential, but all of that is wasted as soon as Hetfield opens up his mouth. The lure of ?old? Metallica was Hetfield growling and barking out lyrics like ?Master, Master, Master of Puppets is pulling your strings.? Well now James feels the need to try and actually sing, which is horrible because it is painfully obvious that he simply cannot sing. This has been obviousto Metallica fans since he tried to sing on ?The Unforgiven.? He sounds like some small town hick singing at Karoeke night at the local watering hole or some hapless wannabe in a pathetic cover band. If I were Lars, Kirk, and the new guy, I would kick Hetfield to the curb and get a new singer because this one is washed up. Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. Mojo
    80
    This is miffed and exemplary metal. [Jul 2003, p.108]
  2. Uncut
    80
    Against all odds, St. Anger constitutes the cutting edge of commercial yet aggressive heavy rock in 2003. [Aug 2003, p.106]
  3. The production on St. Anger is abysmal.