Sun - Cat Power
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 44
  2. Negative: 1 out of 44
  1. 90
    For a songwriter with nearly two decades of performing under her belt, Marshall has never sounded so youthful or commanding.
  2. Sep 5, 2012
    88
    "Sun" isn't as cuddly as "The Greatest," but it finds Marshall continuing to evolve as an artist in intriguing and unexpected ways.
  3. Sep 4, 2012
    90
    Ripe with propulsive tempos, drum machines, and electronic embellishments, the album sounds like nothing else she's ever done.
  4. Sep 4, 2012
    88
    With its array of loops, chilled keyboards and rhythmic accents ranging from the Caribbean to the Mississippi Delta, Sun makes Marshall's sultry, darkly shaded voice sound almost playful at times.
  5. 90
    Transformed in both sound and spirit, Sun is a passionate pop album of electronic music filtered through a singer-songwriter's soul.
  6. Aug 28, 2012
    90
    Even peering through the gauze of the back-story, Cat Power's ninth album is a feat of musical and emotional maturity.
  7. 91
    She's never sounded more confident or in control than she does on Sun, her ninth album.
  8. Sep 4, 2012
    82
    Consider Sun the start of Cat Power's new musical life.
  9. 88
    A big, confident, and captivating pop album.
  10. Sep 4, 2012
    85
    Marshall still manages to wring pathos out of her work, if not to the same degree and not in the same way.
  11. Aug 31, 2012
    90
    Some of the best material she's ever penned.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Sep 27, 2012
    4
    Why she's getting such good reviews for her last few albums is beyond me-probably the most sterile and emotionally dry music I heard in all my life...but Cherokee is good song,brings me some hope that she didn't lose it completely yet. Full Review »
  2. Sep 8, 2012
    1
    I have been following Cat Power since Marshall's stunning "Nude as the News" single. I have bought everything that she put out before and since. Even the left field turn to soul pop, "The Greatest" was amazing. However Sun is a bland electro-pop sell out that simply does not work. I agree with the TMT review that "its songs are mostly amalgams of tired pop music tropes/techniques and trite realizations". Well put. Full Review »
  3. Oct 8, 2012
    4
    Having loved everything else Cat Power has released, I wanted to love this but I just can't. I can only guess this is for listeners who don't love the rest of her work. She is of course free to move into new moods, musical styles, arrangements, and so on, but I can't join the sterile departure found here. Full Review »