The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Sep 30, 2013
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 164 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 164

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    JT's best album so far hands down and better than part 1 without any doubts .
    Give me what i dont know Murder True Blood Amnesia are the best tracks JT fans gonna love this album it's something between part 1 and futuresex/lovesound
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    What a great album it surprised me i didnt expect this way better than i thought i liked part 1 but this one is even better than that JT's vocals and the production are awesome it's very dark and entertaining it is JT at his best cant expect more for sure
  3. Feb 9, 2015
    10
    Great album created by amazing artist who doesn't follow trends and has his own musical path. Don't get why it wasn't such a success with critics but seeing some work they prefer over this I wouldn't worry much about them.
  4. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    It's a great album even better than the first seem to be like futuresex/lovesound than the 20/20 experience best track cabaret -tKO- tbtn amenisa -murder i want
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    9
    It's a great album: there are very few others in the music business that can craft daring sounds that are both unique and pleasing at the same time. Mixed in with his incredible vocals and there you have it: a perfect 20/20 formula. The album starts off with Gimme What I Don't Know (I Want), which literally made me feel as if I was in a jungle (and that's a good thing). Things then took aIt's a great album: there are very few others in the music business that can craft daring sounds that are both unique and pleasing at the same time. Mixed in with his incredible vocals and there you have it: a perfect 20/20 formula. The album starts off with Gimme What I Don't Know (I Want), which literally made me feel as if I was in a jungle (and that's a good thing). Things then took a dark turn with songs like Amnesia, Murder, TKO & True Blood, which are equally appealing. As Mr. Timberlake put it himself, Part 2 truly is Part 1's dark older sister, because it has a completely different vibe. You are truly in for a sensuous and dark experience this time around. The best thing about JT's songs is that about halfway thru each of them, he shapeshifts the beat and takes it into a whole new direction. That's what makes his music so great. The 20/20 Experience justifies itself for having 10 minute long songs, because it kills you when the song is finally over. The only negative thing I have to say (which prevented this from getting a 10) is that the album does not live up to its younger sister, The 20/20 Experience Part 1. Apart from that, you are in for a real treat. Expand
  6. Sep 30, 2013
    8
    After Part I was easily one of my favorite albums of the year so far, this one was most certainly disappointing. Was it bad? Nah. Was it Part I? No. There's really no reason for these tracks to be released on a full length LP, would have made more sense to just make the first one longer and include like 3-5 of these tracks.
  7. Oct 1, 2013
    9
    This is a very good album.The Album is very catchy and dynamic. His vocal sound just as good as always. The only issue is the bloated track time otherwise i don't see nothing wrong. Some Standouts are "Cabaret" "TKO" Take Back the Night" and "You Got it On."
  8. Aug 27, 2014
    10
    Um ótimo álbum em que as músicas se encaixam e não se perdem, com sonoridade boa e que agrada, talvez alguns não gostem da parte em que algumas músicas são longas, porém não são repetitivas e cumpre o tempo da faixa com arte.
  9. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    I think the 20/20 Experience Part 2 is even better then Part 1. It's darker, it's sexier and I'm in love with all of the songs. These music critics who are hating on it either are not really listening or like they did with FS/LS some of them will go back a year from now and up their rating.
  10. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    This is very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very good. JT is a master. He truly loves what he does and it is evident in his work.
  11. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    One of the best albums of the year contains many great songs i dont understand why it's getting negative reviews by critics this album is really perfect im so in love with it
  12. Nov 2, 2013
    8
    I dont like this MJ stylistic. However,this stuff is not trashy. I think yet the arrangements could be better, the voice of Justin more highlighted. I don't understand the idea of sustaining almost every track on album…It looks like Justin would like to tell us "Look at this…this is real art, not casual pop song…" Well, I don't buy it. We all know possibilty of remixes and so on…In myI dont like this MJ stylistic. However,this stuff is not trashy. I think yet the arrangements could be better, the voice of Justin more highlighted. I don't understand the idea of sustaining almost every track on album…It looks like Justin would like to tell us "Look at this…this is real art, not casual pop song…" Well, I don't buy it. We all know possibilty of remixes and so on…In my opinion studio album does not really need such a procedure. Expand
  13. Oct 3, 2013
    10
    Os Criticos soestão Retados Porque ele vai Vender Dois CDs no mesmo ano Então eles acham isso um Exporação do Capital, mas o 2 of 2 Muito Bom e Viciante pecou apenas no Tempo das Musicas (Exceto Amnesia)! 10 Para esseCd
  14. Oct 7, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you ever read my reviews, you see that Justin Timberlake's "The 20/20 Experience" is for me one of the best albums of the year. And when they announced that Timberlake will be releasing a sequel to 20/20 Experience, I couldn't be more excited but I had to restrain myself, because most sequels to successful albums are very rare and aren't very good. Now saying that, "The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2" isn't as outstanding as it's predecessor, but this is still a great album and a sequel that surprisingly works. Once again the production design is impeccable with careful editing and brilliant use of storytelling, as 20/20 Experience part 1 was about the positives of love, part 2 is more about the negatives of love. The story is transitioned from the first one and it feels like one big production. Timberlake is incredible when it comes to singing, as he blends with the music very well. The problems I have involve the tone, which is odd. The opening song "Gimme What I Don't Know (I Want)" is very sexual, then it feels dark and even a little fantasy like, after that it's fun, then dark, and the final few songs are about the redemption of love. It tells a great story, it just needs to work on the tone. Also, this was a problem for people on the previous album, but the album is long. Part 1 never felt boring despite it's almost 80 minute album length, however Part 2 drags on and feels overlong on a couple of tracks which include "True Blood" and the 11 minute "Not a Bad Thing" which literally has two songs in one. One final note is that this album is more dark and mysterious unlike the first which was more light and fun, so much that this album has a parental advisory sticker. Overall as a whole Part 2 doesn't match what made Part 1 so special, and even brings in a few new problems. But it's still an achievement in music that should still be celebrated and the complete 20/20 experience will be one of the most talked about achievements for a very long time. Expand
  15. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    I actually never took the time to listen to JT, but this album just blow my mind away!!! The production is beyond good and JT's voice sounds absolutely stunning. This album gives me so much life. Murder is the best song for me, it does something to me I just keep doing weird stuff.
  16. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    60? Really is good just as the first part of the complete experience... you guys don't need to have a excellent music taste to know it, Justin saved pop music this year! Is a complete pop masterpiece.
  17. May 31, 2014
    10
    BETTER THAN THE FIRST PART!!!!! He Was so Good on this album. Great job, Justin Timberlake! Favorite Tracks: Gimme what I don't know (I Want), TKO, Take Back the night, Only When I Walk Away, Not A Bad Thing
  18. Jun 3, 2014
    8
    Better than the first part. It took me to get used to this album, but after a while I couldn't stop listening to the songs. Drink You Away was a pleasant surprise and Only When I Walk Away has an amazing beat! Amnesia is definitely my favorite!
    The album would have been perfect if it wasn't for Not A Bad Thing. I'm sure JT only included this song because some people didn't like the
    Better than the first part. It took me to get used to this album, but after a while I couldn't stop listening to the songs. Drink You Away was a pleasant surprise and Only When I Walk Away has an amazing beat! Amnesia is definitely my favorite!
    The album would have been perfect if it wasn't for Not A Bad Thing. I'm sure JT only included this song because some people didn't like the experimental style of the 20/20. They wanted a more normal song with lyrics about love and bubblegum chorus. And this was the result. NABD is unnecessary in the album. Only When I Walk Away would be the perfect ending.

    Highlights: Amnesia, Drink You Away, Cabaret, Only When I Walk Away.
    Expand
  19. Jan 19, 2015
    7
    A fairly good album. Some of the songs are a little long and therefore get a little repetitive makes it straining to listen through it entirely, but it's still enjoyable.
  20. May 4, 2015
    10
    JT's best album so far hands down and better than part 1 without any doubts .
    Give me what i dont know Murder True Blood Amnesia are the kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk
  21. Jun 15, 2015
    10
    Foxes é maravilhosa. Eu amo tudo o que ela faz, tudo bem feito, impecável. Coisa de artista de verdade, é uma pena ver que não tem o reconhecimento merecido.
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. 70
    While the second release may not live up to the first, it’s hard not to hope for a third.
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    50
    Part 2, by comparison [to Part 1], simply feels like an inessential cash grab, and it's strong evidence that everyone’s favorite pop star might be overstaying his welcome.
  3. Oct 3, 2013
    40
    Cabaret with Drake has a catchy hook and gorgeously cheesy lyrics only Timberlake can pull off. The countrified Drink You Away almost works. The rest is forgettable.