• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Sep 30, 2013
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Oct 1, 2013
    83
    Timberlake reined in his musical vision just enough to make this album more focused and engaging--but didn’t lose sight of his desire to take chances.
  2. 83
    Sure, there may be a shorter classic buried somewhere within the project’s 145+ minutes. Alas, this mythical album merely exists in my mind. 2 of 2, however, comes tantalizingly close to that ideal on its own.
  3. Timberlake throws every influence he’s ever touched at the canvas here, and he somehow gets away with it.
  4. Oct 1, 2013
    75
    In a world of quicker, faster, harder, it’s intriguing when songs spread out, taking their time to get to the point or create landscapes beyond the hook.
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    75
    A 12-song sequel that comes on stronger than its ingratiating predecessor.
  6. 75
    Apparently the producer saved his haymakers for round 2, because he's in full classic-Timba mode here.
  7. 70
    While the second release may not live up to the first, it’s hard not to hope for a third.
  8. Oct 1, 2013
    70
    Although he still goes on a bit long in places, with help from producer buddies like Timbaland, Timberlake--channeling his usual suspects from Michael Jackson to Prince--nails a more cohesive vibe on this follow-up.
  9. Sep 30, 2013
    70
    Surprisingly enough, however, The 20/20 Experience (2 of 2) is quite the step up from the first part. Even when it plunges into excess—which it does quite often—the basic pop structures underneath remain far more compelling than anything off of Part One.
  10. Sep 30, 2013
    70
    Even if this stuff is willful, it's dazzling, too.
  11. Sep 30, 2013
    63
    Artistic ambition is a wonderful attribute, but so is the ability to self-edit, and it’s in short supply. There’s a snappy single album of sharp pop music tucked inside the two 20/20 Experience bookends, but it’ll take listeners some work to find it.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 164 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 35
  2. Negative: 6 out of 35
  1. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    This is very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very veryThis is very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very good. JT is a master. He truly loves what he does and it is evident in his work. Full Review »
  2. Feb 9, 2015
    10
    Great album created by amazing artist who doesn't follow trends and has his own musical path. Don't get why it wasn't such a success withGreat album created by amazing artist who doesn't follow trends and has his own musical path. Don't get why it wasn't such a success with critics but seeing some work they prefer over this I wouldn't worry much about them. Full Review »
  3. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    What a great album it surprised me i didnt expect this way better than i thought i liked part 1 but this one is even better than that JT'sWhat a great album it surprised me i didnt expect this way better than i thought i liked part 1 but this one is even better than that JT's vocals and the production are awesome it's very dark and entertaining it is JT at his best cant expect more for sure Full Review »