The Haunted Man

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Oct 22, 2012
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Oct 23, 2012
    60
    On The Haunted Man, Khan continues to pursue a similar approach to combining ambition and concision, but, unfortunately, the result is a disappointingly tepid album.
  2. Oct 16, 2012
    60
    While The Haunted Man is an impressive record, one heavy with earnestness and polished sophistication, it's more like The Tin Man: somehow it lacks a heart.
  3. Oct 15, 2012
    60
    While every track on The Haunted Man is brimming with invention, there's little to keep you coming back for repeat listens.
  4. 60
    Sometimes the recurrent mood of ecstatic affirmation of life that's evident in her singing can be short-changed by arrangements that fuss to no great purpose, dissipating their impact in brittle beats and pointless detail.
  5. Oct 15, 2012
    60
    The Haunted Man is an assured and sonically seductive record--if only it didn't echo a little too often the sound of other women's work.
  6. Oct 12, 2012
    60
    ADespite occasionally drawing blood, The Haunted Man doesn't live up to its stripped and dangerous cover, often retreating to gambol about in the backwaters of Khan's imagination.
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Oct 23, 2012
    10
    A wonderful album which introduces new sounds in Bat For Lashes' music. In this record Khan leaves behind tribal-dark atmospheres to embraceA wonderful album which introduces new sounds in Bat For Lashes' music. In this record Khan leaves behind tribal-dark atmospheres to embrace minimal electronic (except for "Horses of The Sun", a track that reminds of "Glass" from her previous album "Two Suns"). If you've loved Gotye's "Somebody That I Used to Know", you can't not listen to "All Your Gold" and of you like Tori Amos you must listen to "Laura". Listen to it and you will not be able to stop 'til it's finished! Full Review »
  2. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    Amazing. Every song is fantastic. Natasha is uber-talented............................................................................................
  3. Apr 13, 2013
    10
    Outstanding album. I love how the album sounds. All the songs are great. She is an outstanding songwriter. I can't stop listening to theOutstanding album. I love how the album sounds. All the songs are great. She is an outstanding songwriter. I can't stop listening to the album. Dream pop and electronic Great album to listen to at night or while you write. I listen to this album a lot while I'm on the train or bus. I actually like this album more than her other two albums l Full Review »