The Heist - Ryan Lewis
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 119

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 6, 2012
    9
    The Heist is slick, tightly arranged, meaningful lyric album. It has a good mixture of radio friendly songs to hook the average listener but only to surprise you with the artistic soulful jams. I highly recommend this album.
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I first heard of both Macklemore & Ryan Lewis from The VS. EP. Since then, I knew Macklemore would be a star. Wanting to support a fellow Seattleite, I pre-ordered the album. And I got to say, this album is fantastic, these guys find the perfect balance between upbeat silly songs (Thrift Shop, Castle & Gold), fist-pumping anthems (Can't Hold Us & Jimmy Iovine) and the somber, thought provoking songs (Same Love, Make The Money, Starting Over & Wing$). Macklemore is a very compassionate rapper. And you can't help but always be invested in what he says. Ryan Lewis is a great producer especially when he uses live instrumentation to help paint the setting that Macklemore's stories take place in. Same Love and Wing$ were my highlights on this album.

    I do have a couple issues for this album. First, as much as I like both artists, I feel like the appearences of ScHoolboy Q & Ab-Soul (on White Walls & Jimmy Iovine) are completely unneccessary. Q's verse, and the whole song for that matter, completely contradict the album's sentiment. Soulo only does the chorus for the other song and it is so drowned in vocal effects you could barely tell. That plus the song Cowboy Boots is a pretty weak way to end the album.

    Having said that, this album is truely an awesome album, with only a couple songs I could've done without, the songs that I liked are fantastic songs. If you haven't already, go cop this album. You'll probably not see an artist as original as Macklemore and you won't find a lot of people as big and as brave enough to talk about gay rights, consumerism, staying true to the fans, and thrift shop ballin' all on one album.
    Expand
  3. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    The Era of Conscious Rap Artists

    Macklemore a.k.a Ben Haggerty and his producer, also longtime friend, Ryan Lewis are an unsigned rap duo from Seattle, Washington. With a plethora of singles this duo has become YouTube famous but still kept them under the radar and out of mainstream music, until October 9 when the duo released
  4. Jan 26, 2014
    0
    Not a good album. It has a couple of catchy tracks but it's not cohesive and it's almost exploitive. There's just not much substance and the rapping/beats are mostly sub par.
  5. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    This is the best rap album PERIOD. Has the 2 catchiest songs ever. "Thrift Shop" and "Cant Hold Us ft Ray Dalton" Macklemore and Ryan Lewis make the best team ever, I just hope we see more of this
  6. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    What can i say? Macklemore and Ryan Lewis prove that not ll rap has to be crappy music. With meaningful lyrics, and songs you just can't stand still to. The Heist is one of the greatest rap albums of all time.
  7. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    This is what a Hip-Hop album should sound like, amazing beats, keys, patterns, melodies and lyrics. This is the work of two people who we're inspired to create an album. The lyrics in most songs are very meaningful and powerful, there is no fillers in this album. Favorite songs of the album are; Starting Over, Wing$, Same Love, Make The Money and Neon Cathedral. I very much recommend thisThis is what a Hip-Hop album should sound like, amazing beats, keys, patterns, melodies and lyrics. This is the work of two people who we're inspired to create an album. The lyrics in most songs are very meaningful and powerful, there is no fillers in this album. Favorite songs of the album are; Starting Over, Wing$, Same Love, Make The Money and Neon Cathedral. I very much recommend this album, It's a must buy. Expand
  8. Aug 7, 2013
    0
    This is so horrible. The songs make no sense what so ever. I don't even understand why Macklemore is famous. He is only famous because of Ryan Lewis. Do not listen to this garbage.
  9. Jan 8, 2013
    8
    Seattle-based hip hop artist Macklemore with the help of long-time production collaborator Ryan Lewis find a way to create one of 2012's best under-the-radar hit albums. The quirky and insanely good "Thrift Shop" easily stands out as one of the favorites of this superb album. The Heist comes out swinging with a great lineup, kicking off with "Ten Thousand Hours", Macklemore'sSeattle-based hip hop artist Macklemore with the help of long-time production collaborator Ryan Lewis find a way to create one of 2012's best under-the-radar hit albums. The quirky and insanely good "Thrift Shop" easily stands out as one of the favorites of this superb album. The Heist comes out swinging with a great lineup, kicking off with "Ten Thousand Hours", Macklemore's finally-made-it statement. The following "Can't Hold Us Down" features the occasional spitfire rap with a little touch of old school gospel without the huge church choir. Macklemore tackles social issues with homophobics on "Same Love", encouraging people to abstain from sexual-based discrimination. Throughout, The Heist carries a classical weight that only cautiously pushes big-production, using that only to enhance some tracks instead of having Macklemore lean on them for support. The talent is there and the culmination is excellent. Seattle may not have to be remembered for being a grunge & indie music town after all. Expand
  10. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    Not only did it deftly blend humour, inspiration and wonder. The Heist is a groundbreaking album and possibly the best rap album for a good few years. I loved every song, it had it's own attraction, and it's own charm. I can't fault
  11. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    What an amazing album. No two songs alike and not a single one like something you have heard before. Original, fresh, frosty, and lyrically superior to any other rap albums out there. Thrift shop put him on the map but it's not even the best song. Highly recommend to anyone whether you have a broken keyboard or not.
  12. Dec 6, 2012
    7
    Macklemore could still better himself, but he is really great currently, regardless. Ryan Lewis made also a very good job as the producer, but it's not as good as it could be. Macklemore's rhymes and wordplays are just mediocre. Furthermore, only a couple of songs really give you a good feeling - however no song could reach 'Otherside'. Still I'd say it's one of the 10 best albums in 2012Macklemore could still better himself, but he is really great currently, regardless. Ryan Lewis made also a very good job as the producer, but it's not as good as it could be. Macklemore's rhymes and wordplays are just mediocre. Furthermore, only a couple of songs really give you a good feeling - however no song could reach 'Otherside'. Still I'd say it's one of the 10 best albums in 2012 because the lyrics achieve a bonus point. Expand
  13. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    Macklemore really stepped up to the plate to give out a great piece of music with Ryan Lewis. A great album, basically perfect, pretty much all of the songs have a great beat and his raps flow with ease, he has a promising future ahead of him.
  14. Feb 4, 2013
    10
    I really think only a couple things are needed said to describe this album and artist. Macklemore is a lyrical genius, an artist that puts issues that needed to be said into song. The song Wing$ is one of the best written songs I've ever heard and Same Love is just behind. The world needs more Macklemore music.
  15. Mar 3, 2013
    8
    Do you want Hip Hop mindless tracks? You've got them! In Ryan Lewis's The Heist. Epic music at the right time. Very well done album. The best song is thrift shop
  16. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    One Of The Best Rap Albums Of All Time!
  17. Jun 8, 2013
    8
    I'm personally not a huge fan of Hip hop but this album really surprised me with great lyrics and fantastic instrumentation, it also talks about topics really well like with Same Love which talks about Gay Marriage an d Thrift Shop which talks about individuality and being yourself. They're a lot of problems, while i think the Instrumentation is fantastically used, when a instrumental partI'm personally not a huge fan of Hip hop but this album really surprised me with great lyrics and fantastic instrumentation, it also talks about topics really well like with Same Love which talks about Gay Marriage an d Thrift Shop which talks about individuality and being yourself. They're a lot of problems, while i think the Instrumentation is fantastically used, when a instrumental part fails, it fails really hard. Also the guest artist the Macklemore and Ryan Lewis bring in aren't that great. Overall i do enjoy this album and i suggest picking up this album. Expand
  18. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    I can only say: WOOOOOW! Why? "The Heist" should be the best hiphop-album of 2013! "Thrift Shop" is f**king awesome :D And nobody "can't hold us" :D
    The Heist is unbelievable because the lyric, the music, the rapper Macklemore and the producer Ryan Lewis make this album awesome! Lyric: Wonderful! Production: Awesome! Good job, Macklemore and Ryan Lewis!
  19. Dec 15, 2014
    8
    The Heist es sin duda (Junto con Pure Heroine, de Lorde) parte de los mejores álbumes de debut para un artista de este 2014, y si hay algo que caracteriza las canciones de The Heist no es solo su letra y el imponente rap de Macklemore, sino su ritmo pegadizo y uso de instrumentos.
  20. Jun 12, 2013
    2
    a few good songs, but not a great ALBUM. thrift shop was fresh and new. same love has wonderful lyrics that are both heartfelt and relevant to our time, however the rest of the songs just kind of move by without inspiring the litterer as much as you would have expected due to the couple strong songs on the album.
  21. Oct 31, 2013
    8
    To have a rap song get onto my ipod is quite impressive which is one of the great achievements of this album. I just really wish the remarks about conservatives in same love were left out but despite that, the album is overall worthy of a listen or two
  22. Nov 9, 2013
    8
    The Heist was all-in-all a great album. People that have been a longtime fan of Macklemore will find songs that the like, and newcomers will enjoy this album as well. I've been listening to Macklemore for quite awhile now and this led me to enjoy songs like Starting Over, Neon Cathedral, Ten Thousand Hours, and Make the Money. Macklemore sets himself apart from other rappers by mixingThe Heist was all-in-all a great album. People that have been a longtime fan of Macklemore will find songs that the like, and newcomers will enjoy this album as well. I've been listening to Macklemore for quite awhile now and this led me to enjoy songs like Starting Over, Neon Cathedral, Ten Thousand Hours, and Make the Money. Macklemore sets himself apart from other rappers by mixing great lyrics and beats with great messages. My only problem with this album there are, beside from the solo releases, no killer songs. I didn't find any songs that I loved immensely, especially compared with his past songs like Otherside and Vipassana. Overall a very decent album, and I would recommend it. Expand
  23. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    I am a gay man and of course I love same love and was aware of it when gay marriage was trying to get passed in Washington State back in August 2012 and his track was instrumental in making that happen, so of course I am a huge fan. Apart from that, even if I was not gay, I LOVE this cd so many dance tracks and so many fun and thoughtful and spiritual tracks ten out of ten.
  24. Nov 4, 2014
    7
    Each rapper, regardless of background, has a unique story to tell. However, most choose to reveal little, if anything something that directly show your individuality. Macklemore does the opposite. Sure, bits of history, itself deviate from that thing for what hip-hop is used: the story of a white boy from the Pacific Northwest who has battled addiction is new to the music itself same. ButEach rapper, regardless of background, has a unique story to tell. However, most choose to reveal little, if anything something that directly show your individuality. Macklemore does the opposite. Sure, bits of history, itself deviate from that thing for what hip-hop is used: the story of a white boy from the Pacific Northwest who has battled addiction is new to the music itself same. But his willingness to illuminate those same stories and features of them, which make The Heist, his album with producer Ryan Lewis, such a refreshing work.
    The Heist is the first album by rapper Macklemore and Ryan Lewis together the producer and the first producer Ryan Lewis .. Independently produced, recorded and released by the duo

    Macklemore attacks a number of issues that ultimately integrate harmoniously with its authenticity and production methods. In "Wings" by contrasting its añor Air Jordan with the obstacles of a culture of materialism, on a dark and under suitable Lewis expelled, mixed with a children's choir. With "Same Love" (Nominated for Song of the Year), Lewis offers bright and uplifting instrumentation analysis perfectly reflect the vision of hip-hop Macklemore and making society about homosexuality and same-sex marriage.

    One of the strengths of this duo is that their songs are not talking about the typical topics that are in the hip-hop and rap, and show that they are the bad guys, guns and slums. Thrift Shop will actually buy 2nd hand stores, the consumer society and four casanovas buy there and become trendy style would dress like a grandpa.
    These are the issues that, in general, have not been addressed in rap music in this way. This trend is typified in the poignant "Starting Over", the best time in a place full of highlights disc. Much of the uniqueness of Macklemore's narrative in the field of hip-hop has been his openness about combating addiction and ultimately find sobriety.

    Heist have reached # 1 on iTunes within hours of being released on October 9, 2012 with no promotion or support of any musical producer and accomplished debut with 78,000 copies in its first week second ironically just behind the last winner Album of the Year "Babel" Mumford and Sons. Also, songs like "Thrift Shop" and "Can not Hold Us" proved to be the most downloaded, sold and heard, 2013. The album has so far sold around 1,270,000 copies in the United States.

    Your options to win Album of the Year depend heavily on how well go to them in the other categories especially in Best New Artist and especially Best Album Rap where they will compete with other works of the genre highly praised by critics and under big name like Kanye West, Jay Z and Drake, plus are also here to defeat your opponent in another Album of the Year is Good Kid MAAD City of Kendrick Lamar. So far the only thing you can vaticinarles Grammy insurance is Rap Performance by Thrift Shop, the rest remains to be seen. However, one thing is certain: never before have we been so close to seeing a rap album to win album of the year since Outkast did with "Speakerboxx, The Love Below."
    Expand
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    60
    His imaginative, smartly delivered lyrics hold the attention during those moments when producer Lewis's beats don't quite match them for sparkle. [Apr 2013, p.94]
  2. Nov 16, 2012
    50
    The record has its charms (the single "Thrift Shop," a cheeky ode to second-hand duds) and its virtues (the marriage-equality anthem "Same Love"). Unfortunately, Mack­lemore's virtuousness overwhelms his far more modest charms.
  3. Nov 8, 2012
    80
    Macklemore's a mix of all of the above with some distinctive qualities, and with Lewis putting that kaleidoscope style underneath, The Heist winds up a rich combination of fresh and familiar.