The Path of Totality

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 91
  2. Negative: 21 out of 91
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 17, 2011
    6
    There comes a time in every hookers life when she loses her teeth, her body goes South and she realizes, maybe she should pack it in as a profession. What once was an attractive young flower has now become an old rusted tow truck searching the lost highways of love in hopes of one last pull. Which bring me to the latest Korn release The Path Of Totality. Unlike the hooker in my previousThere comes a time in every hookers life when she loses her teeth, her body goes South and she realizes, maybe she should pack it in as a profession. What once was an attractive young flower has now become an old rusted tow truck searching the lost highways of love in hopes of one last pull. Which bring me to the latest Korn release The Path Of Totality. Unlike the hooker in my previous thought, Korn uses modern science to extend its longevity in the market place (kind of like Botox or dental implants) allowing their machine, perhaps past its prime, to carry on with the task at hand! How Vogue of them!!

    There is no denying its a Korn record with the exception that Jonathan Davis and the gang push things a bit more in respect to electronic music and heavy guitars, dare I say dub-step. Narcissistic Cannibal is an example of their evolution and experimentation. Fusing electronics with heavy guitars is nothing new (Marilyn Manson / NIN) and it works. As electronic music and technology evolves, Korn has positioned their way into the dance clubs while still keeping the Ozzfest fans happy.

    I doubt the average dub-step hipster will get it, but some will and I am sure not all the Korn fans will get it, but some will and finally some folks might NOT think that Korn are pandering by jumping on the dub-step train, BUT SOME WILL.

    As the wise owl once told me, "some will, some wont, so what!!"
    Expand
  2. Jan 5, 2012
    6
    You don't have to be a guru to know times change, people grow older and music evolves. Ignoring these factors results in a very strict mentality on modern music: you can not expect to listen to the same sounds on and on for ages, it would be simply unnatural. That's why judging albums like The path of totality results in a furious fight between deaf haters and blind lovers: the truth isYou don't have to be a guru to know times change, people grow older and music evolves. Ignoring these factors results in a very strict mentality on modern music: you can not expect to listen to the same sounds on and on for ages, it would be simply unnatural. That's why judging albums like The path of totality results in a furious fight between deaf haters and blind lovers: the truth is that Korn are now experimenting new solutions, just the same way they did ten years ago, and the preference is strictly personal. In my opinion, this album is not that bad as some people want to paint it, a couple of tracks are very good and enjoyable, but neither a masterpiece or an innovative milestone: it simply is a step. Expand
  3. Feb 20, 2012
    4
    Not quite the disaster we were expecting but neither does it capitalise on its premise of innovation or in merging two genres successfully. The Path of Totality does boast more enjoyable tracks than the abomination of 'Untitled' but it lacks cohesion and is far too repetitive to compete with the bands better works.
  4. Mar 27, 2012
    5
    I am a huge Korn fan, however, since losing Brian "head" Welch on lead guitar to Jesus, the boys have been slipping into the same old crunchy chant. This attempt to revitalize the band while riding the crest of the dubstep wave is a good effort but falls short. Skrillex and Korn just don't mesh perfectly despite Skrillex's metal roots. Parts of the album almost seem to run parallel,I am a huge Korn fan, however, since losing Brian "head" Welch on lead guitar to Jesus, the boys have been slipping into the same old crunchy chant. This attempt to revitalize the band while riding the crest of the dubstep wave is a good effort but falls short. Skrillex and Korn just don't mesh perfectly despite Skrillex's metal roots. Parts of the album almost seem to run parallel, never touching cohesion. The split between the band and the DJ is all too apparent, and nothing bangs as hard as one might expect. Hey. boys, send some meth to Head and get him hooked back up. Expand
  5. Jan 30, 2012
    5
    Because the album is only 50% Korn, I could only give it 50%. However, if this were a Jonathan Davis album, I may have taken it a little more seriously. Although this is not the worst of "korn", it still kinda sounds like a fax machine from hell. And if I didn't like the single "Narcissistic Cannibal" so much, I would have given the album a 3.
  6. Jun 23, 2012
    6
    This album is very hit or miss. Every fan has a strong opinion one way or the other. The older Korn fans will hate it, and the younger Korn fans will love it. I am going to point out the good aspects of this album and the bad. Jonathan Davis's voice is amazing on this album. He hits the notes perfectly. This is Korn's best work since Untouchables in terms of vocals. However, the dubstepThis album is very hit or miss. Every fan has a strong opinion one way or the other. The older Korn fans will hate it, and the younger Korn fans will love it. I am going to point out the good aspects of this album and the bad. Jonathan Davis's voice is amazing on this album. He hits the notes perfectly. This is Korn's best work since Untouchables in terms of vocals. However, the dubstep elements take away from Munky's guitar work and Fieldy's bass. I can still hear the guitar though, Fieldy's bass is absent to me. I can't hear it. Also, Ray plays only cymbals on this album. It is good, but not a "Korn" album in my opinion. (Highlights: Narcissistic Cannibal, Get Up!, Way Too Far, Fuels the Comedy, and Tension.) Expand
  7. Sep 24, 2015
    5
    While Korn teased the aggressive and simply great "Get Up!" in the album's pre-release, unfortunately The Path of Totality suffers from sameness; track after track goes by and I'm left wondering "didn't I just listen to this song before?" But maybe I shouldn't be so harsh: we've all come to expect that from dubstep, and unfortunately, Korn fail to create something that breaks the mould.
  8. Aug 13, 2014
    4
    They're new experience didn't work that well this time with dupstep. Its there worst album so far but i will always support them no matter what they do.
  9. Sep 13, 2015
    4
    An awful record!
    Why did they use dubstep elements in their music?They made it worse.I like only two songs from this album - Get Up and Narcissistic Cannibal.The worst Korn album.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
  1. Jan 10, 2012
    70
    Surprisingly good genre-crossover experiment.
  2. Kerrang!
    Jan 4, 2012
    80
    They're still aggressive, heavy and furious, but this new approach also makes them relevant, incisive and swaggering again. [10 Dec 2011, p.50]
  3. Jan 3, 2012
    30
    How does this sucker sound? Not very good.