User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 82
  2. Negative: 19 out of 82

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    A successful experiment that results in one of Korn's finest albums. While some of Korn's latest outings have been less then stellar, the choice to try something new proved right for the group from Bakersfield.
  2. Dec 7, 2011
    7
    It is not bad at all. I expected it to be dull, especially after the release of "Narcissistic Cannibal" single, but even my first listen of the whole album made me rather benevolent. There is a couple of songs worth listening, even if one's not a fan of either dubstep or Korn ("Bleeding Out", or "Fuels the Comedy" from extended album edition). Mixing those genres seems a good move, once again towards mainstream, as it comes to dubstep, though creating something new, when blending it with metal. Potential was huge, but on the other hand, dubstep and metal parts aren't well-proportioned as Jonathan Davis had promised them to be. Repetitive measures and rhytm can push away those Korn hard-fans who awaited their band to create something more olschool. The album also can't be called "innovative", just because at moments (for example "My Wall") it sounds underproduced and incomplete. Expand
  3. Dec 6, 2011
    2
    This album is the essence of problems entailed in mainstream music and its narrow-mindedness. Korn got together with the laughing stock of the music production community and created an utterly dreadful album based on stereotypes and musical illiteracy. Although one or two tracks are bearable, the rest is just a total misunderstanding. Moreover despite being so stereotypical and unoriginal, Davis is trying to convince people that it is "groundbreaking" and that they're breaking the rules, hence it is controversial. No Davis, it is not controversial because you are breaking the rules, it is quite the opposite - you're trying to follow the worst trends in a mercenary way. And I won't even start discussing the fact that the whole thing is based on the complete misunderstanding of the dubstep genre, which unfortunately is strengthened by Skrillex's disgracefully lazy approach to the genre. Expand
  4. Apr 16, 2012
    2
    After listening to this album and the lastest Jonathan work, ''JDevil'', I can say: Korn is dead. Korn's decadence bagan when Head left the band. The thing got even worst when David left the band. But Korn was really good anyway. Yes, their first 4 albums where their best work with difference. With Korn III, I thought the band was on the right way: not great, but Korn anyway. And then, this was released.
    I said: What the hell am I listening??, Is this really Korn??
    Get Up and Narcissistic Cannibal are the only really good songs of the album.
    Korn is not Korn any more.
    Now is just another bad dubstep band trying to be popular again.
    Korn is dead.
    :(
    Expand
  5. Dec 19, 2011
    8
    I am a longtime fan of Korn. I am not a fan of dubstep. Still, I believe it was an interesting idea to fuse Korn's brand of alternative metal with dubstep. The latter genre actually fits perfectly with lead singer Jonathan Davis' vocal style. Munky's guitars and Fieldy's bass may seem overwhelmed by the electronics at times, but they still stand out in their own ways. I do not consider "The Path of Totality" to be as groundbreaking as Davis made it out to be, but it's certainly a good idea and a welcome change. Not everything is perfect - a few songs are rather bland - but overall it stands as a classic Korn album. Expand
  6. Dec 17, 2011
    6
    There comes a time in every hookers life when she loses her teeth, her body goes South and she realizes, maybe she should pack it in as a profession. What once was an attractive young flower has now become an old rusted tow truck searching the lost highways of love in hopes of one last pull. Which bring me to the latest Korn release The Path Of Totality. Unlike the hooker in my previous thought, Korn uses modern science to extend its longevity in the market place (kind of like Botox or dental implants) allowing their machine, perhaps past its prime, to carry on with the task at hand! How Vogue of them!!

    There is no denying its a Korn record with the exception that Jonathan Davis and the gang push things a bit more in respect to electronic music and heavy guitars, dare I say dub-step. Narcissistic Cannibal is an example of their evolution and experimentation. Fusing electronics with heavy guitars is nothing new (Marilyn Manson / NIN) and it works. As electronic music and technology evolves, Korn has positioned their way into the dance clubs while still keeping the Ozzfest fans happy.

    I doubt the average dub-step hipster will get it, but some will and I am sure not all the Korn fans will get it, but some will and finally some folks might NOT think that Korn are pandering by jumping on the dub-step train, BUT SOME WILL.

    As the wise owl once told me, "some will, some wont, so what!!"
    Expand
  7. Dec 15, 2011
    8
    I begin by saying that i have been a KoRn fan since 1995 and proudly tell who ever asks that Korn are my Favourite Band and haven been since 1995. So when i heard they were releasing a Dubstep album i went into it with an open mind! in my opinion they have been struggling for direction since "take a look in the mirror" which i classify their finest effort. The 2 albums that followed that to me seemed like Korn were struggling for direction and in oart those albums were pretty hard to sit through so when Korn III: arrived back to their old sound i was as excited as every KoRn fan. the sound was there but it sounded like they had flogged a dead horse and the album was very forced!

    I have purposely waited a few weeks to post my review after my first few listens through i was disgusted, but then slowly slowly i began to realize that my brain wasnt ready for this sound!!! i see alot of negative reviews for this album exactly the same way i saw negative reviews when KoRn 1st came out due to mixing HIP HOP/METAL now some 15 years later they have mixed DUB STEP/METAL only problem is now we have 9 albums to compare sounds to!

    Path of Totality is a GOOD/GREAT album, some songs are amazing others arent, the sound is KoRn in the future. if you open your mind you will enjoy this and i beg anyone else who has only listened to this album a few times to give it a few weeks b4 reviewing it! ITS FRESH AND ITS ROCKING!!!!!!
    Expand
  8. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    This album is a return to the energy and raw emotion showcased in what was one known as the limelight of their career. The loss of guitarist Brian "Head" Welch was quite a setback as far as the overall backbone of the music they showcased. Upon his departure, the band was left with the question of what to try next. After three efforts to capture the beauty their music once consisted of, the prediction of Korn ever really making it back to the top was nothing more than a pipe dream. Then comes The Path of Totality. This album is a masterpiece of fusion between genres. The dubstep aspect of the new music adds a more extreme version of what Korn once capitalized on earlier in their career, and it really adds life to the sound of this band. This album appears almost as a first album, marking a return to the top, and I can't wait to see what the next album has in store. The band hasn't recieved the critical and mass acclaim this album has recieved in over a decade, which marks a strong rebirth to a band who is ready to blow you away, version 2.0. Expand
  9. Dec 21, 2011
    8
    When doing technical or artistic music is a rule, an avant-garde band would be a band that's not afraid of using pop culture. Korn, taking the risk of unhappy fans, as well as "always making joke of nu metal" reviewers, made another experience that potentially could put the band's name for pioneering another genre 10 years after they started nu metal. The album has it's ups and downs though. Some moments don't sound that new and at some points the usage of dubstep effects may not be as good as it could be. Still, the album has so much new stuff to show, blending nu metal and dubstep. Plus the melodies Davis sings, are so memorable in some points that makes the songs something to remember. Negative responses are mostly understandable as most of them belong to the people that have been hating nu metal since 90s and I don't think it's surprising to see them continuing to hate this scene. And there are some negative responses from unsatisfied fans who were waiting for another classic nu metal album, and that's understandable as well. But for the most part, I think the album is another step forward for Korn, with all the controversy they've had with "strict metal listeners" all the way from their beginning to this point, just for taking a step between metal and pop/hip hop music. Expand
  10. Dec 9, 2011
    2
    Before the last album Jonathan claimed that they cannot do same music like the used to in the 90's because they ain't no high teens anymore. And now seeing them going into overhyped desired by teens genre literally makes me sick. I am not saying this album is bad overall, it's just fatal for Korn stndards and their die hard fans like me. It's even worse than what Saint Anger was for Metallica. Huge dissapointment. Expand
  11. XLX
    Dec 6, 2011
    2
    How can I get this elctrocrap out of my Korn album. Lyrics are pretty much what anyone who is a Korn fan or familiar with Korn would expect but that is where the similarity ends. With Korn taking a hard right off the cliff into a Dubstep genre album. The sound is hard to listen to, it is more of an assault on my ears than music with the electric sounds that ruin the album. A few of the songs have grown on me however I would like them 100% more if the electric was taken out.

    Pros: Lyrics are mostly good
    Cons: Electric sounds ruin the music
    Recommend: No
    Total Tracks: 13
    Liked Tracks: 2
    Score:15% (Rounded up to a 2/10)
    Expand
  12. Dec 7, 2011
    9
    The Path of totality is the best thing Korn have put out since Untouchables, it sound's the most Inspired and could possibly be lead vocalists Jonathan Davis's best work on vocals since Follow the Leader. The 'dubstep' doesn't overshadow any of the members from Korn. Past albums, Take a look in the morror, see you on the other side, untitled, and KIII were 'good' albums but still missed something and didn't quit 'hit the nail on the head' but Path of totality finaly brings solidity and 'hit's the nail all the way'. I highly recomend getting this album; as the only flaws I can think of is some tracks are a little short and a couple of songs may get a little repetitive. All in all I give the album a 9 because it's so fresh and different and finaly brings back that 'satisfaction' old korn albums gave you. Expand
  13. Jan 7, 2012
    0
    Screw this album, screw dub step. This is not a korn album, this is just a bad experiment by korn. This album is going to feel like a middle finger to korn fans of their metal sound. If you think this is hardcore, if you think dub step is hardcore, in my personal opinion, your an idiot and a poser. listen to some real hardcore music, this is was just a bunch of electronic crap that doesn't mix well with davis's vocals at all. while listening to each song I found myself getting very angry, but not in that wonderful pumped up korn way. i thought just what am I listening too! this is garbage! korn 3 had me all excited too. Expand
  14. Dec 19, 2011
    9
    I'm not really a Korn fan but I like this cd. I love the electronic infuence. I think fans of Manson and NIN will enjoy. It has that industrial edge.
  15. Jan 3, 2012
    8
    It's not a bad album, if you love Korn, dubstep and some experimental music. Korn is a experimental band in my opinion. And it's a good album for experimental band.
  16. Dec 11, 2011
    8
    Who says this is not KoRn? This album is excellent and without doubt, much better than the last three this ambiguous band has done. Even though some parts of the songs would sound better with several changes and refinements, such as replacing the forgivable digital percussion for a more acoustic drumming sound, it is a remarkable piece of work. At times there were some effects that really shouldn't have been there, and some beats that don't fit well, but overall, this is an outstanding album. Some people say this doesn't sound like the band that wrote master. Well, **** my good sirs. This sounds like KoRn 100 times more than Remember Who You Are. The tunes remind me a lot of the "See You On the Other Side" album, and Skrillex really does a great job when it comes to accompanying Jonathan's crooked choruses and voice. Some classify this as unoriginal, commercial, bland; I say it's modern, it's new, it's confident, it's daring, it's DIFFERENT. Never could I have imagined that a dub-stepped KoRn could sound so good. Despite it's lack of distorted guitars, constant bass-slaps, and inconsistent beats and scat parts, KoRn delivers a ground-breaking sound that will keep, at least me, listening to it for a long time. Expand
  17. Dec 12, 2011
    9
    The path of totality is full of good songs and very inspired lyrics! Many of its songs are radio friendly(such as "fuels the comedy" and "way too far"). I think that this album can stand among Korn's bests!
  18. Jan 5, 2012
    6
    You don't have to be a guru to know times change, people grow older and music evolves. Ignoring these factors results in a very strict mentality on modern music: you can not expect to listen to the same sounds on and on for ages, it would be simply unnatural. That's why judging albums like The path of totality results in a furious fight between deaf haters and blind lovers: the truth is that Korn are now experimenting new solutions, just the same way they did ten years ago, and the preference is strictly personal. In my opinion, this album is not that bad as some people want to paint it, a couple of tracks are very good and enjoyable, but neither a masterpiece or an innovative milestone: it simply is a step. Expand
  19. Jan 8, 2012
    8
    This is not they`re best(FTL or SYOTOS) but it`s not their worst either. I `m a huge fan of Dubstep,Drum and Bass and Rapmetal so this a total package. There are time when certain songs are not balanced i.e. Tension, but overall the harmony is a success. There`s a feel of See You On The Other Side album mixed with the dark menacing feel of dubstep and drum and bass that you are aquainted with from the latter.But it`s a good mix I enjoy this CD almost everyday. Out all the songs on the CD I would have to say that only three tracks may have not caught my ear. Other than that, I applaud Davis and the group for being ballsy enough to take their style to another level without selling out and discarding their true fans. :) Expand
  20. Feb 20, 2012
    4
    Not quite the disaster we were expecting but neither does it capitalise on its premise of innovation or in merging two genres successfully. The Path of Totality does boast more enjoyable tracks than the abomination of 'Untitled' but it lacks cohesion and is far too repetitive to compete with the bands better works.
  21. Nov 6, 2012
    0
    Korn were probably one of the least offensively bad of the nu metal band in the 90's; That is until now! This is by far the worst album created and don't make the "oh, you don't understand dubstep" or "Your closed minded" arguments. This album's production is dreadful and there is no musicianship to this album. At least on previous albums I could say the musicianship isn't too bad. But on this album its truly bad. And I'm going to prove this album is bad to all of the people who claim this album is "good". If this album is good, how come its the same music at different tempos and different lyrics? Seriously?! Making the same "wub-wub-wub" noises for 5-6 minutes on a computer isn't music. Its manufacturing the idea that anybody with a Mac can be famous and you don't need to be a gifted musician to make music that's successful. That's truly a disgrace to everything that music used to stand for and whoever supports it should be ashamed. Expand
  22. May 6, 2013
    3
    I have been a fan of KoRn since the mid 90's, i was a major fan as a teenager and really enjoyed their albums up to and including 'Issues'. I did not overly enjoy 'Untouchables', and quite liked 'Take a Look in the Mirror'. After that i really lost interest with the band, i stopped keeping track of album releases and assumed the band would soon split (as members began to quit and record sales dropped). KoRn had appeared to become a bit 'samey', the songs less relevant, the themes became more cheesy, formulated and depressing rather than Raw and dynamic.

    However, when i heard Korn was releasing a Dubstep album i got really excited!!!
    I am not a huge Dubstep fan but some of the darker stuff i have enjoyed, and when i have heard it live at illegal raves it sounded awesome.

    I imagined KoRn could really take Dubstep and turn it on its head much like they did with Hip-Hop in their early days. I imagined lengthy tracks that took the listener on a journey (something like a mix of Tool and NIN was an exciting prospect!). I wanted them to really take Dubstep and move it into an art, take its dark sound and really go to town extracting the emotions that KoRn are famous for. I wanted them to drown us in endless raw dirty sounds, melodies and vocals, vibes and improvisation.

    In short The news of the album re-ignited my interest in a former favourite band i had sidelined.

    Unfortunately upon hearing it I was very underwhelmed!

    The songs are short and formulated, with a Kind of verse chorus -verse approach.
    The Dubstep used is more of the 'Poppy' dubstep out there, it sounds very mainstream instead of alternative and they could have utilized Dubstep producers from the underground scene who suite KoRn's sound much more.
    This demonstrates that J.D had discovered Dubstep rather late in its prime. The producers are the mainstream ones who churn out rubbish to suite large audiences. It is the worst form of Dubstep with no real emotion, adventure or experimentation. No innovation here just a mix of two styles that remain separate to the ear.

    It is a shame, as this album could have been ground breaking, it could have been so much more.
    I later found out that many of the musicians did not even meet each other in person. The Dubstep producers sent KoRn their parts via email. J.D did his vocals and emailed them to Munky ect ect.
    This lack of human interaction during production is clearly visible (audible) as the album lacks character and coherence.

    To conclude: this album lacks character. It is very formulated and has no sense of adventure. The songs have no depth and the album overall feels 'half arsed'.
    I watched the band live during the tour for this album and they only played 2 or 3 songs from it! It was obvious the crowd did not enjoy these dubstep tracks as much as the others.

    J.D seems to have had some sort of mid life crisis with his J-Devil character. This shows on 'The Path of Totality' as it sounds as though he is trying to please some young ,trendy, hip Dubstep producers rather than produce anything creative.

    There goes my interest in Korn again.
    Expand
  23. Mar 27, 2012
    5
    I am a huge Korn fan, however, since losing Brian "head" Welch on lead guitar to Jesus, the boys have been slipping into the same old crunchy chant. This attempt to revitalize the band while riding the crest of the dubstep wave is a good effort but falls short. Skrillex and Korn just don't mesh perfectly despite Skrillex's metal roots. Parts of the album almost seem to run parallel, never touching cohesion. The split between the band and the DJ is all too apparent, and nothing bangs as hard as one might expect. Hey. boys, send some meth to Head and get him hooked back up. Expand
  24. Jan 23, 2012
    8
    Korn has experimented with different kinds of music before, like in follow the leader. Which was a better album and possibly korn's best album. This album is great, korn worked with skrillix and other dubstep artists(I don't like dubstep but I really like this album, so I guess this is nu dub metal or something.) This is very unique because metal and dubstep artists have not worked together before, and the results are great. Not korn's best album but it's still great. Expand
  25. Jan 29, 2012
    9
    Really really impressed. I love dubstep, and I love nu-metal so it all clicks. I don't think I have listened to it enough to do a song by song review, but the best songs that stand out on the album are "Narcissistic Cannibal" which sounds like a really rad action movie song, "Get Up" which is really a true blend of Dubstep of and the amazing vocals of Johnathan Davis ( I hope I spelled that right, you can all be mad if I didn't sorry) , "Illuminati" which reminds me of previous Korn songs quite a bit, the song "Burn the Obedient" is very very catchy, and the song "Chaos lives in Everything" is typical skrillrex, loud and with impressive drops. There is more and they are good, but those I have been listening to non stop, so I can't give a worthy review of the others. Expand
  26. Jan 30, 2012
    5
    Because the album is only 50% Korn, I could only give it 50%. However, if this were a Jonathan Davis album, I may have taken it a little more seriously. Although this is not the worst of "korn", it still kinda sounds like a fax machine from hell. And if I didn't like the single "Narcissistic Cannibal" so much, I would have given the album a 3.
  27. Feb 14, 2012
    8
    Ok, let's start with the fact that I bought this album because I'm a huge Korn fan...But still I really like this album, better than Untitled or See you on the Other Side ! It sounds good but the only problem to me is that it is too far from "real' korn. If it was not for Jonathan Davis' voice on the album, I would have never guessed it was Korn. Very weird/new/different tracks after an album entitled "Remember who you are"' intended to "get back to the roots of Korn" .... In the end, it's not bad at all, but the electronics cover too much the "hard loud" sound of Korn to my ears... Expand
  28. Jun 23, 2012
    6
    This album is very hit or miss. Every fan has a strong opinion one way or the other. The older Korn fans will hate it, and the younger Korn fans will love it. I am going to point out the good aspects of this album and the bad. Jonathan Davis's voice is amazing on this album. He hits the notes perfectly. This is Korn's best work since Untouchables in terms of vocals. However, the dubstep elements take away from Munky's guitar work and Fieldy's bass. I can still hear the guitar though, Fieldy's bass is absent to me. I can't hear it. Also, Ray plays only cymbals on this album. It is good, but not a "Korn" album in my opinion. (Highlights: Narcissistic Cannibal, Get Up!, Way Too Far, Fuels the Comedy, and Tension.) Expand
  29. Oct 15, 2013
    7
    Combining elements of the aggressive sound that has been missing from Korn's last few albums with a heavy electronic-dubstep influence that sounds like nothing they've ever done before, Korn continue to innovate new sounds and sound damn good doing it.
    From the energetic and quick tempo of the opening track Chaos Lives in Everything to the emotive piano on Bleeding Out (Or the downbeat
    and somewhat spooky tone of Tension with the Deluxe edition) the album has a variety of tunes that combine the dubstep/metal in new and effective ways with notable tracks Narcissistic Cannibal and Get Up! being easily as aggressive and catchy as older Korn classics such as Here to Stay and Freak on a Leash. It's easy to see that both the band and the artists they collaborated with, to name a couple Skrillex and 12th Planet, had a lot of fun working with this.
    Though there are a few tracks that drag it down, such as the aforementioned Tension which is is too downbeat and inconsistent to be memorable, the good outweighs the bad and tracks like Get Up! and Fules the Comedy are hard to forget.
    You should definetly buy this album
    Expand
  30. Feb 12, 2014
    9
    Every time I've heard about this album online (before I listened to it) I've always heard it was horrible... Started listening not expecting much, but songs like "Fuels the Comedy", "Narcissistic cannibal", "Get Up" and "Let's go", as well as, a couple others really made this album great in my opinion. "Fuels the Comedy" is now up there with some of my favorite KoRn songs. They took a big risk, and I think it paid off. However, hearing such a negative response online makes me believe maybe it wasn't the best step to take for them. Expand
  31. Aug 13, 2014
    4
    They're new experience didn't work that well this time with dupstep. Its there worst album so far but i will always support them no matter what they do.
  32. Oct 27, 2014
    2
    UGGGGG... This album is the worst Korn album ever!! the song are to short, They all sound the same with this "Dupstep" stuff.. I know they are trying to so called "Experiment" but this is by far one of the worst Korn albums EVER!!
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
  1. Jan 10, 2012
    70
    Surprisingly good genre-crossover experiment.
  2. Jan 4, 2012
    80
    They're still aggressive, heavy and furious, but this new approach also makes them relevant, incisive and swaggering again. [10 Dec 2011, p.50]
  3. Jan 3, 2012
    30
    How does this sucker sound? Not very good.