User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 82
  2. Negative: 19 out of 82

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    A successful experiment that results in one of Korn's finest albums. While some of Korn's latest outings have been less then stellar, the choice to try something new proved right for the group from Bakersfield.
  2. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    This album is a return to the energy and raw emotion showcased in what was one known as the limelight of their career. The loss of guitarist Brian "Head" Welch was quite a setback as far as the overall backbone of the music they showcased. Upon his departure, the band was left with the question of what to try next. After three efforts to capture the beauty their music once consisted of, the prediction of Korn ever really making it back to the top was nothing more than a pipe dream. Then comes The Path of Totality. This album is a masterpiece of fusion between genres. The dubstep aspect of the new music adds a more extreme version of what Korn once capitalized on earlier in their career, and it really adds life to the sound of this band. This album appears almost as a first album, marking a return to the top, and I can't wait to see what the next album has in store. The band hasn't recieved the critical and mass acclaim this album has recieved in over a decade, which marks a strong rebirth to a band who is ready to blow you away, version 2.0. Expand
  3. Dec 7, 2011
    9
    The Path of totality is the best thing Korn have put out since Untouchables, it sound's the most Inspired and could possibly be lead vocalists Jonathan Davis's best work on vocals since Follow the Leader. The 'dubstep' doesn't overshadow any of the members from Korn. Past albums, Take a look in the morror, see you on the other side, untitled, and KIII were 'good' albums but still missed something and didn't quit 'hit the nail on the head' but Path of totality finaly brings solidity and 'hit's the nail all the way'. I highly recomend getting this album; as the only flaws I can think of is some tracks are a little short and a couple of songs may get a little repetitive. All in all I give the album a 9 because it's so fresh and different and finaly brings back that 'satisfaction' old korn albums gave you. Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2011
    9
    I'm not really a Korn fan but I like this cd. I love the electronic infuence. I think fans of Manson and NIN will enjoy. It has that industrial edge.
  5. Dec 12, 2011
    9
    The path of totality is full of good songs and very inspired lyrics! Many of its songs are radio friendly(such as "fuels the comedy" and "way too far"). I think that this album can stand among Korn's bests!
  6. Jan 29, 2012
    9
    Really really impressed. I love dubstep, and I love nu-metal so it all clicks. I don't think I have listened to it enough to do a song by song review, but the best songs that stand out on the album are "Narcissistic Cannibal" which sounds like a really rad action movie song, "Get Up" which is really a true blend of Dubstep of and the amazing vocals of Johnathan Davis ( I hope I spelled that right, you can all be mad if I didn't sorry) , "Illuminati" which reminds me of previous Korn songs quite a bit, the song "Burn the Obedient" is very very catchy, and the song "Chaos lives in Everything" is typical skrillrex, loud and with impressive drops. There is more and they are good, but those I have been listening to non stop, so I can't give a worthy review of the others. Expand
  7. Feb 12, 2014
    9
    Every time I've heard about this album online (before I listened to it) I've always heard it was horrible... Started listening not expecting much, but songs like "Fuels the Comedy", "Narcissistic cannibal", "Get Up" and "Let's go", as well as, a couple others really made this album great in my opinion. "Fuels the Comedy" is now up there with some of my favorite KoRn songs. They took a big risk, and I think it paid off. However, hearing such a negative response online makes me believe maybe it wasn't the best step to take for them. Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
  1. Jan 10, 2012
    70
    Surprisingly good genre-crossover experiment.
  2. Jan 4, 2012
    80
    They're still aggressive, heavy and furious, but this new approach also makes them relevant, incisive and swaggering again. [10 Dec 2011, p.50]
  3. Jan 3, 2012
    30
    How does this sucker sound? Not very good.