Universal acclaim - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. His music now seems as fresh and necessary an alternative to rap's mainstream as it did when Tribe first arrived. Welcome back, old friend.
  2. The Renaissance is arguably, the best hip-hop album of the year.
  3. His long-awaited return on The Renaissance is no disappointment, offering more of the same understated, aqueous grooves and fluid rapping that the Abstract Poetic has built his peerless career on.
  4. Though he gripes that fans are always bringing up Tribe, The Renaissance is a showcase for Q-Tip's cool and empathetic consciousness.
  5. Whilst not quite a true Renaissance for hip hop, it certainly is a rebirth for Q-Tip--and fans of A Tribe Called Quest will dine out on this album for the next nine years too.
  6. It's hard to complain too much about such a brighter-day kind of record, and it feels like the perfect album at the perfect time-- released on Election Day, appropriately enough, as the ideal soundtrack for Barack Obama winning the presidency.
  7. The Renaissance is the logical extension of this exploratory work, coupled with Q-Tip’s need to, once and for all, step out from behind Tribe’s long, dominant shadow, and in many respects (if not all), it succeeds wildly in both dimensions.
User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. ClaireF
    Mar 31, 2009
    One of the best albums I have bought in years...immense!
  2. TomaD
    Jul 9, 2009
    One of the best Hip-Hop albums I've heard in ages! Easily one of the best of the 2000's decade. Keep it up Q-Man!
  3. steveC
    Jan 16, 2009
    After the massive disappointment of Amplified nearly 10 years ago ('Breathe & Stop' only sounded good on the much-played Michael Jackson Don't stop till you get enough mash-up bootleg) - this is so worth the wait. A layered, yet accessible piece which breathes life into hip-hop. Stand out tracks: Move, You (a masterpiece), Johnny is Dead, Gettin up, Life is Better. You have to buy this. Full Review »