• Record Label: Anti
  • Release Date: Sep 27, 2011
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Sep 29, 2011
    100
    Wilco's ace eighth album, the first released on their own label, dBpm, is a real kick in the pants.
  2. Sep 27, 2011
    100
    The Whole Love feels like a truly audacious studio record, jam-packed with instruments, ideas, and the sort of restless creativity that marked 2002's game-changer, Yankee Hotel Foxtrot.
  3. 91
    With The Whole Love, Wilco make noise-pop exciting again, perhaps because the pop part doesn't come easy.
  4. Sep 30, 2011
    90
    The Whole Love should make long-running Wilco-ites ecstatic since this is the best and most adventurous set of Wilco songs in nearly a decade.
  5. Sep 27, 2011
    90
    Wilco have had their peaks and valleys, but they have never sounded as confident as they do on The Whole Love.
  6. Sep 26, 2011
    90
    Quite simply, this is the work of a great band at the peak of their powers, and The Whole Love is a joy to hear, revealing more with each listen and confirming once again that Wilco is as good a band as American can claim in the 21st century.
  7. Sep 26, 2011
    90
    An excellent return.
  8. 90
    If Wilco (The Album) was the band tempering their experimental nature into something more accessible, The Whole Love refines that approach and showcases the full range of Wilco's considerable abilities.
  9. Sep 23, 2011
    88
    The result on The Whole Love is a work by a group of exceptional musicians who, four years into their collaboration, have melded into one.
  10. The Whole Love is much more encompassing of everything vital in the Wilco catalog, the twangy, the noisy, and yes, a little of the leisurely.
  11. Sep 27, 2011
    85
    The Whole Love reveals itself as their finest album since Yankee Hotel Foxtrot.
  12. Sep 26, 2011
    84
    The attempt to cross unbridgeable distances, whatever the outcome, defines The Whole Love.
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    Excrptional! I must confess that I thought the band's best days were behind them. While "Sky Blue Sky" and "Wilco (The Album)" wereExcrptional! I must confess that I thought the band's best days were behind them. While "Sky Blue Sky" and "Wilco (The Album)" were reasonably strong, I felt they were not up to the standards set by the previous albums that had me rating them the best and most important band in rock'n roll. Well now they are back and better then ever. The album opens with an instant classic in "Art of Almost" and just keeps going. Equally impressive are some of the rockers like "I Might", "Born Alone" and "Standing O". The album clses with another gem with the sprawling "One Sunday Morning" which punctuates Wilco's finest ever and the best album of 2011! Full Review »
  2. j30
    Oct 28, 2011
    10
    The first great album of the new decade. An album, so diverse, you can't get it out of your head. Each time I listen to the album the more IThe first great album of the new decade. An album, so diverse, you can't get it out of your head. Each time I listen to the album the more I respect it's musicianship and lyrics. From the muscle flexing "Art of Almost" to the epic beauty of "One Sunday Morning (Song for Jane Smiley's Boyfriend)", it's their most captivating album since Yankee Hotel Foxtrot. Full Review »
  3. Sep 30, 2011
    8
    The first song on the album will make the buy worth it. As a whole, it has some great moments, some average ones, and everything in between.