There's No Leaving Now - The Tallest Man on Earth
There's No Leaving Now Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the third full-length album from Swedish singer-songwriter Kristian Matsson.
  • Record Label: Dead Oceans Records
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Indie Rock, Alternative Singer/Songwriter, Indie Folk
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Jun 8, 2012
    100
    With mystique to spare, it's a record to cherish.
  2. Jun 12, 2012
    82
    The Tallest Man on Earth continues his approach; it's both likable and rousing.
  3. Jun 13, 2012
    80
    With a voice that creaks like well-loved furniture and lyrics telling tales of the lives and losses of others, this album represents a career highpoint.
  4. Jun 8, 2012
    70
    Swedish singer-songwriter Kristian Matsson has upped his skill factors on this. [Jul 3012, p.84]
  5. Jun 13, 2012
    64
    There's No Leaving Now settles too readily into a single slumberous mood. It's all pull and no push.
  6. Aug 2, 2012
    60
    A record that perhaps only Dylan fans need apply for. [Aug 2012, p.110]
  7. Jun 12, 2012
    40
    By the time he hits the solo, which sounds like a cracked organ from a crazy kiddie fair, you might find yourself thinking that some riddles are just not interesting enough to solve.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    Lately I have been so disappointed by newly released albums by my favorite artists, but I am happy to say that is not the case with thisLately I have been so disappointed by newly released albums by my favorite artists, but I am happy to say that is not the case with this album. Kristian Matsson has evolved into a more confident sounding, expressive musician between this and his last album. He kept his arrangements simple and his guitar jumps and sways, his voice is flawless. The title track "There's No Leaving Now" is haunting and it makes me dizzy with love for the piano. This release gives me hope for the young artists I love. Expand
  2. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Wow! I was worried that we might see an "Iron and Wine" style turnabout but what has been delivered is a subtle, gentle evolution from 2010'sWow! I was worried that we might see an "Iron and Wine" style turnabout but what has been delivered is a subtle, gentle evolution from 2010's The Wild Hunt. If you aren't familiar with Kristian Matsson, now is the time to get on board. For those who have been along for the ride, you won't be disappointed with this excellent release. Expand
  3. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    It's a different beast compared to his earlier work and admittedly, even I wasn't too keen on it to begin with. But having stuck with it, itIt's a different beast compared to his earlier work and admittedly, even I wasn't too keen on it to begin with. But having stuck with it, it soon had its talons in me and I can confidently proclaim it to be Kristian's best release yet.

    It's unlike anything you've ever heard before. This man just cannot be from this world.
    Collapse
  4. Jun 14, 2012
    10
    I was stuck in evening traffic and plagued by a downpour on my commute home from work when I started Tallest Man on Earth
  5. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    I'm still quite shocked at how much I actually love this album. The Tallest Man On Earth released two incredible albums and now with There'sI'm still quite shocked at how much I actually love this album. The Tallest Man On Earth released two incredible albums and now with There's No Leaving Now, they don't stop. Kristian Matsson continues to write incredible songs and now he has a full band supporting him. Dead Oceans produced the hell out of this album. All In All, I'm pleasantly surprised with this album and so far it's one of the best this year. A Expand
  6. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    I absolutely love this record. His use of open tuning produces some stunning guitar work. Any of these songs put in the hands of a bigI absolutely love this record. His use of open tuning produces some stunning guitar work. Any of these songs put in the hands of a big producer and a backup band could be pop masterpieces. Listen to this. Trust me. Expand
  7. Jul 24, 2012
    7
    Always, when the artist puts of the disc at the start of his best works there is a good reason to fear that the rest of the material simplyAlways, when the artist puts of the disc at the start of his best works there is a good reason to fear that the rest of the material simply not cope with quality. Fortunately, "Theres No Leaving Now"although largely acoustic only holds a very high level - mainly through catchy and diverse guitar melodies and distinctive, a bit cheeky vocals, which is evident even in compositions such as "Leading Me Now" or "Criminals". Expand