TKOL RMX 1234567 - Radiohead
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 12, 2011
    9
    I have Radiohead (specifically Thom Yorke's office charts) to thank for my love of a lot of the artists that appear on here, and it's great to see them working on the material that got me into them in the first place. The Jacques Green and Caribou mixes have become some of my all time favourite tracks, and there are some fascinating reinventions of TKOL that I never could have anticipated.I have Radiohead (specifically Thom Yorke's office charts) to thank for my love of a lot of the artists that appear on here, and it's great to see them working on the material that got me into them in the first place. The Jacques Green and Caribou mixes have become some of my all time favourite tracks, and there are some fascinating reinventions of TKOL that I never could have anticipated. For those that really loved TKOL, this is a great companion which unlocks some of the deeper mysteries of those tracks, and TKOL seems made for this sort of treatment - sprouting new leaves and growing again in new shapes - The King of Stems? Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2011
    1
    As a Radiohead fan I look forward to any new release but this is not really Radiohead. It's a bunch of bogged down bad elevator music for tecno geeks. To call it a disappointment would be unfair. It is a disaster with not a single bright spot and one song redone 3 times for no apparent reason.
  3. Oct 14, 2011
    7
    So..... your favourite band put out a mediocre album (by their standards) What do you do? Do you put on a charade and declare it "brilliant" or just admit your disappointment. I find it hard to do either, seeing as this isn't really a Radiohead album, it's remixes, by artists I may not particularly like, who I may feel are butchering great songs. This is however not the case. Most of theSo..... your favourite band put out a mediocre album (by their standards) What do you do? Do you put on a charade and declare it "brilliant" or just admit your disappointment. I find it hard to do either, seeing as this isn't really a Radiohead album, it's remixes, by artists I may not particularly like, who I may feel are butchering great songs. This is however not the case. Most of the 'RMXers' on this album I happen to be fans of, now that combined with my FAVOURITE band should be the perfect combination. Unfortunately, there is no soul in this album, the original 'TKOL' is an outstanding album, even though it may not meet there earlier work, and hasn't been done any particular justice. I find this album to be not terrible, just, not there. Not there, in the sense that I can't feel it, It's not Radiohead but it's there music, and it's asif I can sense that the music is not pure Radiohead, but Radiohead songs being randomly mashed up. That's not what I want, I want to listen to these songs from the point of view of the 'RMXers' on this album. It feels slightly soulless. I feel asif I'm being expected to 'enjoy' these remixes by Radiohed, but, sadly I just don't. I just feel that they fade in and out, this isn't a bad album, just a confused album, that's not really sure what it wants to do. Expand
  4. Oct 18, 2011
    2
    Soulless, Boring and completely unnecessary. I guess albums like this are perfect for the torrent world which exists. People should feel shortchanged paying good money for such mediocrity.
  5. Apr 5, 2012
    4
    This idea had the potential to be great if Radiohead themselves had been more involved in the remixing. Not sure why the band felt the need to release a 19 track remix album off the back of 8 original tracks. Perhaps they should have put more energy into the original king of limbs. It has some good tracks but one cd worth would have sufficed. Alot of the time the tracks on here bearThis idea had the potential to be great if Radiohead themselves had been more involved in the remixing. Not sure why the band felt the need to release a 19 track remix album off the back of 8 original tracks. Perhaps they should have put more energy into the original king of limbs. It has some good tracks but one cd worth would have sufficed. Alot of the time the tracks on here bear absoultely no relation to the originals - I know the idea of a remix is to bring something new to be song but here I just think the tracks are too far removed from Radiohead to really appeal to Radiohead fans. Expand
  6. Oct 13, 2011
    4
    Ever since TKOL was released it has separated Radiohead fans right down the middle -- some see it as the band's worst effort since their debut, while others view it as an exiting turn in Radiohead's history. What invoked this gulf in opinion, though, is not the sharp turn in the band's sound - after all, you're not a Radiohead fan if you're not up for a challenge - but more theEver since TKOL was released it has separated Radiohead fans right down the middle -- some see it as the band's worst effort since their debut, while others view it as an exiting turn in Radiohead's history. What invoked this gulf in opinion, though, is not the sharp turn in the band's sound - after all, you're not a Radiohead fan if you're not up for a challenge - but more the inaccessibility.

    In many ways, the remixes found on this album shed some simplistic light on the intricate darkness of TKOL's quirky, naturalistic beats -- critics of the original mixes will probably find great appeal in this, although enthusiasts of the album will find it almost primitive. Their opinions won't helped by the fact that 75% of the tracks can't sustain the quality that the other 25% demonstrate. I would advise listening to the remixes found on the band's YouTube channel - youtube.com/radiohead - before buying.
    Expand
  7. May 6, 2012
    10
    This album is very diverse. I definitely recommend it. It continues the experimentation of The King of Limbs in a very interesting way. Very good job to all the producers who interpreted these songs into these awesome remixes. I love it.
  8. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    A lot better than what I thought it would be. A great remix album, even if it's not what Radiohead's fans would expect now. I liked most of the songs.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Dec 22, 2011
    80
    This fluidity of their eighth album becomes a virtue for this project. [Nov 2011, p.93]
  2. Dec 15, 2011
    60
    As long as you're up for more mood and texture experiments there's plenty of interest. [Dec. 2011 p. 135]
  3. Oct 18, 2011
    60
    These 19 tracks feel designed to float in a space between clear genre boundaries, somewhere purposefully undefined. [Nov 2011, p.106]