• Record Label: Hyperdub
  • Release Date: Nov 6, 2007
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 402 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 402

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TobiasC.
    Jan 19, 2008
    2
    Meh!
  2. GalenM.
    Jan 15, 2008
    1
    Honestly, I'm so glad to see apparently lots of other people commenting on this that share my same opinion -- this is probably THE overrated "schlop" of the year. Atmospherics may sound kinda cool but they come across flat and just plain dumb when paired with the almost-unlistenable vocal bits. I mean, c'mon, it's so processed and annoying. The beats is what really gets me. Honestly, I'm so glad to see apparently lots of other people commenting on this that share my same opinion -- this is probably THE overrated "schlop" of the year. Atmospherics may sound kinda cool but they come across flat and just plain dumb when paired with the almost-unlistenable vocal bits. I mean, c'mon, it's so processed and annoying. The beats is what really gets me. For one, this is really NOT an album you could dance to and secondly, most important, the beats are almost ALL the same. Seriously, go through the tracks and listen to them and you won't be able to deny. Bad, bad, bad. Ugh. Why the hype? You frickin' got me, that's one thing for sure. Expand
  3. JoseR.
    Jan 10, 2008
    1
    I bought this album and really gave it a chance. I even asked my girlfriend if she heard something I wasn't catching. She had the same reaction I had: "Turn this crap off." What is it with these electronic albums that have the same boring sound over and over getting great reviews. Save your money and time. Get In Rainbows or anything by The Kings Of Leon if you want to hear good music!
  4. ManchesterUK
    Feb 25, 2008
    3
    Errr, sorry guys but this is overated tosh. Surely Massive Attack have been doing it so much better for years. Yeah yeah yeah I'm sure it's different than MA but ultimately it's the same genre but not as good by a long way. Each to their own but as hard as I try to get into this album. It just aint happening.
  5. CaseyS.
    Dec 4, 2007
    1
    This has to be one of the cheesiest records the genre has ever produced. There's not one hint of restraint or taste throughout. Not to mention it sounds like it was composed in 5 days and mixed for 5 months. Way overhyped.
  6. Josh
    Dec 5, 2007
    0
    The rating system makes little sense. Please consider the fact that more obscure albums like this receive far fewer reviews (11 in this case) and are generally reviewed by sources that already have a bias towards a particular genre of music. Note that for this album you will not see any reviews from major newspapers, etc. On the other hand, Radiohead's latest album received 40 The rating system makes little sense. Please consider the fact that more obscure albums like this receive far fewer reviews (11 in this case) and are generally reviewed by sources that already have a bias towards a particular genre of music. Note that for this album you will not see any reviews from major newspapers, etc. On the other hand, Radiohead's latest album received 40 reviews, including many from large and reputable sources. Despite the fact that it wasn't even one of my top 3 favorite Radiohead albums, I would place a wager that it's better than Burial. Some of you might remember that a similar event happened a few months ago when an album by "The field" appeared at the top of Metacritic's charts. However, upon hearing that album I was extremely disappointed. Expand
  7. MikeB.
    Jan 10, 2008
    1
    highly over rated and un impressive music
  8. HajeD.
    Jan 15, 2008
    1
    What a noise, terrible. I listen to more than 1500 groups, with a big variation in style, so I am used to listen to a lot, but this album, no, garbage.
  9. m-dubber
    Jan 2, 2008
    0
    That people actually like this crap says alot about how unbelievably stupid the human species is. This "album" if you want to call it that, is just a bunch of computer noises thrown together on a CD. It just disgusts me that I am part of the same species that actually like this abomination.
  10. BenjaminL
    Feb 8, 2008
    3
    Not very good. Simple and boring beats. Cheesy vocal samples. Just generally uninspired.
  11. JonathanC.
    Mar 31, 2008
    2
    Boring as hell.
  12. TequilaD.
    Dec 11, 2007
    2
    Dark sounds dun make good Albums. Same beats all the time never mind.
  13. RodM.
    Dec 3, 2007
    0
    fantastic!
  14. StephenM.
    Dec 4, 2007
    3
    Surely one of the most overestimated electronic releases in many a moon. Future Sound of London were doing this sort of thing with more skill, panache, and conviction over a decade ago. The fawning critical reception over this trifle is just baffling!
  15. ChrisB.
    Dec 6, 2007
    2
    I can make nice sounds with my laptop and a synthesizer as well. This is some serious trash. What is wrong with you people who rated this so high? Its almost unlistenable.
  16. BenJ.
    Dec 6, 2007
    2
    Dreary, and so inoffensive it might as well be used now to soundtrack a whole series of adverts.
  17. GonzO
    Jan 16, 2008
    3
    I don't see the appeal. Repetative, boring... a technical lullabye.
  18. BL
    Jan 19, 2008
    2
    91... lol.. seriously.. lol. i love electronica, but if you want something laid back try aphex twins selected ambient works 85-92. i seriously doubt there are more than a small handful of people out there who listen to this on a regular basis.
  19. JohnN
    Jan 29, 2008
    2
    WTF...am I missing out on the joke. I keep waiting for the songs to start and they never do!!
  20. ElizabethA
    Jan 29, 2008
    2
    SG, don't be a pretentious ass. I hardly think the rest of us "don't know what music is". Get over yourself. This album is some people's cup of tea, but not mine.
  21. TedQ.
    Jan 3, 2008
    1
    Best album of the year? What a crock. I've listened to it, I honestly have. It's pretentious and dull as I expected. There is no artistic value I could find in sparse sound scapes.Don't buy the hype.
  22. markp.
    Jan 4, 2008
    2
    Hell, really, come on guys pretty dull methinks (a polite term for having one's head stuck up one's backside for 70 minutes)
  23. MikeG
    Jan 6, 2008
    1
    Horrible album, cannot dance to it nor can be enjoyed as experimental. If you want dance listen to LCD soundsystem and daft punk. If you want experiment listen to panda bear or Black Moth Super Rainbow. I don't understand why people like this album.
  24. HexS
    Jan 9, 2008
    0
    Another release for music snobs only. They give bonus points for being obscure and having bad sound quality.
  25. TK
    Apr 1, 2008
    0
    If this is an exemplary dubstep album, then I suppose I hate dubstep and dismiss it as a weak-ass genre. I really love the individuals on here write things like "Either you just get it or you don't" or "Either you like it or you just don't get it." Trust me, I "get it" and I still think it sucks.
  26. TimT
    Apr 15, 2008
    1
    Terrible, sounds like a boy band synthed with some shocking dubstep
  27. KlausV
    May 27, 2008
    1
    Completely forgettable and weird.
  28. TomJ.
    Dec 11, 2007
    2
    The only reason this is ranked so high is that, if you look, very few serious media journals even bothered to review it. The whole album sounds like a Korg sampler demo, with even less honest emotion. Crap Sandwich!
  29. MikeH
    Dec 10, 2007
    0
    Sorry, I cannot listen to this - AT ALL!
  30. DoctorR
    Dec 18, 2007
    1
    This is a terrible album, it might as well have the first track on repeat for the whole thing. It annoys me how this can be rated so well, maybe i don't understand dub-step enough. Then again I don't have to understand linkin park to know that their music is terrible too.
  31. huh
    Dec 6, 2007
    1
    I love songs that all have the same beat!!! Pump and Dump for cargo records
  32. DavidE
    Jan 29, 2008
    3
    What the ****. I don't even understand the amazing reviews at all. Honestly, if you want great music (emphasize MUSIC) listen to OK computer, The Bends, Kid A, or In Rainbows - and then try listening to Burial. It pales so much in comparison its almost excruciating to see so many 8-10s. This is to music what blotches of paint on a white canvas are to art. A joke.
  33. Alans
    Dec 17, 2007
    1
    This is the highest rated album on metacritic? Music sure has fallen under hard times if Burial's Untrue 'masterpiece' is the best album of the year. It does make a good lullabye for babies in need of sleep, however.
  34. ElliotK
    Dec 18, 2007
    0
    UGH... my god this album is by far the most overrated album of the year... along with field, and MIA... really disappointing its getting all this undeserved recognition.
  35. MichaelH.
    Dec 31, 2007
    2
    People who are tempted to buy this based on the reviews here: Imagine yourself walking into a trendy clothing store for 18-24 year olds. A store where people say "like" a lot, and always have their faces pressed up against cellphones. This is the soundtrack that's playing over the stereo. The same trendy drum riff repeated for an hour. Bland and inoffensive, but with all the People who are tempted to buy this based on the reviews here: Imagine yourself walking into a trendy clothing store for 18-24 year olds. A store where people say "like" a lot, and always have their faces pressed up against cellphones. This is the soundtrack that's playing over the stereo. The same trendy drum riff repeated for an hour. Bland and inoffensive, but with all the trappings of 'cool' and 'edgy'! It's modern elevator music, just what you want to listen to at home. Expand
  36. ThomasK
    Dec 31, 2007
    3
    Not very good. Almost every song sounds the same. Moody atmospherics, a decent beat, and a sample of someone singing the same phrase over and over again. That just about sums up every track on the album. How this crap could beat out Panda Bear, Battles, Radiohead, or even The Field for highest rated album of the year is beyond me.
  37. Jan 17, 2011
    1
    I'm sorry, but this album did nothing but give me headaches; the beats are simply repetitive, and the images that the album tries to conjure are either non-interesting or just down depressing.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Burial has concocted a noir-ish sound that’s as powerful as it is atmospheric.
  2. What gives this album more depth is the focus, the rolling symmetry and cinema.
  3. That emptiness tempts a listener in, and puts you in its place--you, in a sense, step into the record’s point of view. This invitation to intimacy is a powerful move that most club music is simply incapable of.