Untrue

  • Record Label: Hyperdub
  • Release Date: Nov 6, 2007
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 432 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 432

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 5, 2017
    10
    I intially discovered this album in 2010 from Mt. Eden Dubstep's remix of Archangel. At the time I preferred the remix and quickly judged the album as dull faux dubstep that couldn't stand up to the kid's dubstep, the EDM brostep dropfests that were peaking in popularity at the time. I never even listened to it all the way through. I suspect this may be true for many others and the reasonI intially discovered this album in 2010 from Mt. Eden Dubstep's remix of Archangel. At the time I preferred the remix and quickly judged the album as dull faux dubstep that couldn't stand up to the kid's dubstep, the EDM brostep dropfests that were peaking in popularity at the time. I never even listened to it all the way through. I suspect this may be true for many others and the reason the user score is lagging so far behind the critics'. Hearing this for real 7 years later I am astonished at what I missed and how cheap the remix I once preferred sounds in comparison. This album transcends the genre labels most often associated with it; like all albums it has many influences but it stands out as truly unique. In retrospect it was way ahead of its time, and it might still be. Sure it has a consistent and familiar drum and bass backbone but that's just used to hypnotize you while it goes to work. Burial weaves intricate dreamlike layers that hook themselves inside you and drag you simultaneously deep into your soul and out into the far and empty reaches of space. Ghostly voices call out to you, robotic and warped in tone but utterly human in their sorrow and longing. This album is the sound of a brilliant mind so enveloped and distraught in its musings that they bleed directly into the surrounding space to be felt literally by the external world. Burial has peeled back his skull and exposed a part of his brain so that we lucky listeners can mush our brain meat against his to gain a fleeting but profound taste of pure consciousness outside ours, the type of real connection we spend our lives chasing. Untrue is an instant classic and we are extraordinarily lucky to be living in a time when this type of music is even possibly, let alone that someone was actually talented enough to produce it. Don't miss this like I almost did. Expand
  2. Mar 29, 2017
    10
    One of my favorite electronic albums ever recorded...
    It is dark and haunting but maintains enough heart that it ends up being an uplifting experience.
    While it may send you traveling down the dark alleys of your mind, there definitely is a light ahead... I suggest consuming this all in one sitting on a night you feel open to it. I did about 10 years ago and have been listening to it
    One of my favorite electronic albums ever recorded...
    It is dark and haunting but maintains enough heart that it ends up being an uplifting experience.
    While it may send you traveling down the dark alleys of your mind, there definitely is a light ahead...

    I suggest consuming this all in one sitting on a night you feel open to it.
    I did about 10 years ago and have been listening to it ever since. No one is better than Burial at this type of music and Burial never did it better than this...
    Expand
  3. Jan 11, 2017
    10
    Excelent album .......................................................................................................................................
  4. May 15, 2015
    10
    It is hard to skip a song on this faultless LP. Brooding, evocative and strong, a step up from his self-titled debut and a pinnacle in electronic music.
  5. May 8, 2014
    10
    The best ambient album of all time. Burial is a hugely unappreciated artist on the electronic scene, and this is his highest quality collection of musical pieces. I look forward to future full-length albums.
  6. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    With fast tempos despite bone-chilling ambiance, Untrue manages to be arguably one of the greatest dubstep albums ever. However, don't expect this one to hit you immediately. When I first listened to this album, I thought it had nice beats, but those seemed to drone a bit too much and I lost interest. Luckily, I gave it a second chance and was left in tears by the emotional intensity ofWith fast tempos despite bone-chilling ambiance, Untrue manages to be arguably one of the greatest dubstep albums ever. However, don't expect this one to hit you immediately. When I first listened to this album, I thought it had nice beats, but those seemed to drone a bit too much and I lost interest. Luckily, I gave it a second chance and was left in tears by the emotional intensity of every song of this album; yet I still felt the uncontrollable urge to move to the album's incredible and subtly varied rhythms. It is not often an electronica album can be this physically and emotionally moving. In fact, I cannot think of another example. Expand
  7. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    I wasn't a huge fan of the album after the first half dozen listens. But something kept me coming back for repeated listens. Then during a random listen, it just hit me, the sound which seemed mediocre to me before, was incredible! One of my all-time favorite albums, and easily one of the oddest experiences I've had with an album.
  8. Nov 29, 2013
    9
    Given this a listen only a couple of days ago, I must say its an experience like no other. Burial did his thing with sampling and used it like a pro. I hope to hear a follow up to this near-masterpiece.
  9. May 23, 2013
    9
    If you're looking for something to dance to, then this is the wrong album for you. If not, continue reading. Just like with most of his music, Burial blends together an extremely tranquil, deep and harmonious experience, plus if you like emotional things, Untrue is definitely something to give a listen to. It's not the best album I've ever heard, but it is definitely in my Top 10.
  10. Sep 28, 2012
    9
    I think you must get it to like it. btw most (if not all) of the songs actually have lyrics, but they´re hard to understand. i think im slowly getting it.
  11. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    Absolutely incredible. Burial's unique blend of dubstep and garage is further refined in his second full lenght release, conjuring up the same bleak, melancholic atmospheres but with new depth and focus. Faultless.
  12. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    I've heard it described as the sound of London at night, and I agree. Sorrowful early-morning comedowns set to fuzzy radios. I guess some people don't get it, but you can't attack it for repetitiveness, the monotony compliments the sad bass fading in and out, and the twisted vocals sound beautiful floating over the whole thing.
  13. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    Repetitive?, guess what, is electronic music. Since the 60s, electronic music has always been repetitive. And that's the best part when you love the beat, the echos and the vocals. You want to listen to that, again and again and a hundred times more. Open your minds, the electronic music is the most varied genre ever, because there are so many artists, each one with it's own style, so manyRepetitive?, guess what, is electronic music. Since the 60s, electronic music has always been repetitive. And that's the best part when you love the beat, the echos and the vocals. You want to listen to that, again and again and a hundred times more. Open your minds, the electronic music is the most varied genre ever, because there are so many artists, each one with it's own style, so many tracks... Expand
  14. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    This isn't music... it's what I call Audio Art. or Art Music, or.... well. Anyway, what makes this album great is it takes you to a lonely place where nobody's around, thank god. Maybe one other person. It's stormy, it's dark and the underground tunnels are rather tricky to navigate, but you're having the time of your life. Shame the song finishes though, and you're back to yourThis isn't music... it's what I call Audio Art. or Art Music, or.... well. Anyway, what makes this album great is it takes you to a lonely place where nobody's around, thank god. Maybe one other person. It's stormy, it's dark and the underground tunnels are rather tricky to navigate, but you're having the time of your life. Shame the song finishes though, and you're back to your not-so-lucky real life. It's that brilliant amnesia you get listening to these songs making me have to give it a ten. Expand
  15. Jan 17, 2011
    1
    I'm sorry, but this album did nothing but give me headaches; the beats are simply repetitive, and the images that the album tries to conjure are either non-interesting or just down depressing.
  16. Oct 6, 2010
    10
    Even though it is classified as dubstep, don't expect any bassy oscillation of what todays dubstep is composed of. This album is a stroke of genius and was and still is a breathe of fresh air. Emotionally pounding tracks like 'In McDonalds' and 'Endorphin' will bring about sensations that are unexplained, tracks like 'Shell of Light' will leave you completely hypnotised. This cleverEven though it is classified as dubstep, don't expect any bassy oscillation of what todays dubstep is composed of. This album is a stroke of genius and was and still is a breathe of fresh air. Emotionally pounding tracks like 'In McDonalds' and 'Endorphin' will bring about sensations that are unexplained, tracks like 'Shell of Light' will leave you completely hypnotised. This clever arrangement of distorted sampling really gives every song a soul. I find it musically insulting how some user critics have shunned this album saying it's 'uninspired and boring'. I think its rather them who are uninspired and boring. Collapse
  17. DaveC.
    Apr 7, 2009
    10
    tons of scattered ideas all held together by a single emotion that meander between utter chaos and beautiful superposition.
  18. AdamP
    Mar 4, 2009
    9
    If this album could be any better, it would be the epitome of perfection, and I don't think I could handle that as my mind would explode.
  19. EvilEd
    Feb 6, 2009
    7
    Wish this won the Mercury instead of the boring Elbow. A good album but you tend to tire a bit from it after multiple plays.
  20. MatheusB
    Dec 30, 2008
    9
    Very deep, touching vocals, almost angelical... put also very sad. It puts together a lot of feelings but not suitable for all places and situations. Works for me though. I loved it.
  21. JodieL
    Dec 10, 2008
    5
    I actually really enjoy the beats and electronic elements of this album, but seriously when will electronic artists learn, that if you are going to have vocals in the album, provide a second disc, minus the vocals. I would pay an extra $5-$10 for that, if it was released in that fashion, yeah, I would give it a 7 or 8 out of 10, or what the hey, learn how to use a vocoder in an I actually really enjoy the beats and electronic elements of this album, but seriously when will electronic artists learn, that if you are going to have vocals in the album, provide a second disc, minus the vocals. I would pay an extra $5-$10 for that, if it was released in that fashion, yeah, I would give it a 7 or 8 out of 10, or what the hey, learn how to use a vocoder in an interesting way, John Cale is the only artist I've heard use a vocoder and gone, that sounded unbelievable. Expand
  22. Gabriel
    Dec 7, 2008
    5
    A futuristic boring reality. Untrue gets real, a truly fake of hopes. Buried in rainbows.
  23. WesM
    Oct 11, 2008
    10
    It's like the beautifully bleak, manic depressive anti-thesis to Since I Left You by the Avalanches.
  24. Derj
    Sep 20, 2008
    9
    This is one of the best albums that I have heard in a long long time. He tries to do something different and succeeds massively. That he does it all on Soundforge is beyond comprehension. A genius, I sincerely look forward to his next effort which he syas is going to be a more aggressive DnB tinged affair.
  25. IRightfully
    Aug 19, 2008
    6
    When it comes down to it, it really doesn't deserve that 90. Overall. I want to be able to appreciate that CD at any moment, not just when I'm taking a long drive or walking home from a club at night. That's a pretty narrow selection. Props for sounding different, but I expect more out of that score. I mean, it's a good dubstep album. That's like finding a good When it comes down to it, it really doesn't deserve that 90. Overall. I want to be able to appreciate that CD at any moment, not just when I'm taking a long drive or walking home from a club at night. That's a pretty narrow selection. Props for sounding different, but I expect more out of that score. I mean, it's a good dubstep album. That's like finding a good Country Rock album. Some people will like it, but not nearly enough for the supposed "universal acclaim". People stumble upon something different and overate it in an attempt to be a pioneer in that style. I mean, since when should we be taking Robert Christgau seriously? He said Ok Computer was trying to be Wish You Were Here by Pink Floyd. Expand
  26. HenriN
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    Up to this point, only a single naysayer has managed to brand this album as "pretentious". Did you people just graduate the junior high of haterdom?
  27. GarrettM.
    Aug 16, 2008
    10
    Beautiful. Atmospheric. Soundtrack for a quiet drive in the dark or just plain sleep for some. What I particularly love is the vocals and how ghostly they are. Such depth. I find it amusing that some of the reviewers pan this because they can't understand the vocals. You are stuck in a one-track mind. Burial. Brilliant.
  28. SergioD.
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    It's 2008 now, i just got both Burial's cds along with new Sigur Ros and Spiritualized. All i can say is "sweet baby jesus"! Haven't had that feeling since Tricky released his first cd or when Massive came out with Mezzanine. This is what never fades away!
  29. BehnamM.
    Aug 14, 2008
    10
    Some kind of postmodern view of a modern city. you can feel all cries of being so tierd of aloneness. its represents all of dark hiden emotions such as hatress, grief, moans, and lurking assault of a sneaky stress wich altogether transform to a giant feel of ruin. a masterpiece of atmospheric albums. Marvelous
  30. PureDavis
    Jul 30, 2008
    9
    Amazing!
  31. AnonymousMC
    Jul 28, 2008
    9
    If you like a pragmatic, more active approach to music, listen to "Untrue" while preparing to make love, lighting up the ganja, or taking a 3am trespassing stroll through the neighbor hood. Btw, Archangel is about his dog that passed away... I cannot wait for his third tirade, claimed by himself as to be the darkest bit yet.
  32. StevenM
    Jul 28, 2008
    10
    Burial brings the open listener straight into his soundscape, unveiling subtle emotions in and out of the darkness. Spongey two-step drums and erratic sub-bass weave through superb pitched vocals that to me break into natural little clips of life. Excellent lo-fi sampling. It is amazing that he worked this together at home in roughly two weeks, which really shows when one track switches Burial brings the open listener straight into his soundscape, unveiling subtle emotions in and out of the darkness. Spongey two-step drums and erratic sub-bass weave through superb pitched vocals that to me break into natural little clips of life. Excellent lo-fi sampling. It is amazing that he worked this together at home in roughly two weeks, which really shows when one track switches to the next. Sublime. It seems that haters pick out only specific parts of the sound, labeling it as "non-musical schlop". Are we forgetting what can be defined as art, more so as something cultural? Look past ignorant genre stereotypes and music quo, this sound truly is undeniably special. Emphatic. Expand
  33. MatsZ
    Jul 28, 2008
    6
    Nice, full and dark soundscapes with the same type of drum loop repeating over and over again on every track. Add vocal samples repeated add nauseum and you have a really boring album that never seems to actually get started.
  34. OllieH
    Jul 11, 2008
    9
    this album gives me shivers every time I listen to it, the amount of warmth and emotion here is unparalleled in electronic/dance music
  35. JuliaA.
    Jun 18, 2008
    8
    First spin: BORINGGG second spin: well,it's decent third spin: I'd move to London respectively.
  36. AgataS.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    Best best best! Album that changed my life!
  37. KlausV
    May 27, 2008
    1
    Completely forgettable and weird.
  38. CH
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Just listen to this walking home alone from a club at 3am and you will understand Burial's intentions for this CD. "Raver" is the perfect summation, and particularly stands out, even among the other sublime songs. It is simply perfect. Best album of 2007, easy.
  39. TomP.
    May 1, 2008
    5
    Ummm.......yeah.....seriously? I just got done writing a review for the most overated album of the year that took the #1 spot. Is #2 even worth my time? Don't think so.
  40. WarrenU
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Beautiful. Dubstep that is just for you.
  41. TimT
    Apr 15, 2008
    1
    Terrible, sounds like a boy band synthed with some shocking dubstep
  42. josem.
    Apr 12, 2008
    10
    Just let me tell you something. That's a masterpiece!. A wonderful Molecular Complexity!!!!!
  43. KarolaT.
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    Amazing album. Something incredible.
  44. VeronikaS.
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    Absolutely marvelous
  45. TK
    Apr 1, 2008
    0
    If this is an exemplary dubstep album, then I suppose I hate dubstep and dismiss it as a weak-ass genre. I really love the individuals on here write things like "Either you just get it or you don't" or "Either you like it or you just don't get it." Trust me, I "get it" and I still think it sucks.
  46. JonathanC.
    Mar 31, 2008
    2
    Boring as hell.
  47. Aidan
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    Spacey, dark, and fantastically put together. At first listen, repetitive and dull, but more was revealed on each listen. Beautifully frightening.
  48. KlennF.
    Mar 23, 2008
    10
    Listen to in the dark w/headphones or driving at night... it encompasses your brain. Beautiful.
  49. JasonDeM.
    Mar 23, 2008
    9
    This has been in constant rotation in my car since it came out. Very much the next step in dubstep. You will love it. PS those who don't like electronic music (Radiohead does NOT count) need not apply.
  50. RobH.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    OK Computer is an amazing album. There is actually no filler on it. I dont know what album you listened to. And Dizzee Rascal and the Streets are both good, but Burial is better. I like RadioHead more than Burial, but Burial is deffinately some of my favorite electronic music I have ever heard.
  51. Person
    Mar 2, 2008
    9
    Not perfection, but it's pretty close.
  52. MonikaB.
    Feb 29, 2008
    10
    A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. piece of work! While I listen to this I float through this world :)
  53. ManchesterUK
    Feb 25, 2008
    3
    Errr, sorry guys but this is overated tosh. Surely Massive Attack have been doing it so much better for years. Yeah yeah yeah I'm sure it's different than MA but ultimately it's the same genre but not as good by a long way. Each to their own but as hard as I try to get into this album. It just aint happening.
  54. Amsterdam
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    this would be a great soundtrack for a "La Haine" like movie in London!!
  55. Robert
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    funny that someone says its more worthy to listen to aphex twin selected ambient works..That is also a masterpiece indeed. Bu if you are a listener of aphex twin, you should rate burial much better than a 2! Both know how to create excellent atmospheric soundscapes. And for those people who say this ain't no music..come one, open your mind. Music is more than four people on a stage funny that someone says its more worthy to listen to aphex twin selected ambient works..That is also a masterpiece indeed. Bu if you are a listener of aphex twin, you should rate burial much better than a 2! Both know how to create excellent atmospheric soundscapes. And for those people who say this ain't no music..come one, open your mind. Music is more than four people on a stage playing guitars, drums etc. Expand
  56. Will
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    Why do inventive and inspiring BRITISH artists get such a hard time on this site? First The Streets, then Dizzee Rascal and now Burial. Is it because American music is so uniformed and boring as shit or do the yanks just have a poor taste in music? This is a mesmerizing album from Burial that plays as the perfect backdrop to urban living in the UK.
  57. JessW
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    This album is about as good as music of any genre gets, really. I'm on my 4th or 5th listen right now, and I'm finding it really hard to leave the house! Thank God it's a weekend... I listen to a LOT of electronic music, and have since roughly age 4, and I'm 27 now. If you know this music well, you're bound to appreciate the raw talent that went into this. This This album is about as good as music of any genre gets, really. I'm on my 4th or 5th listen right now, and I'm finding it really hard to leave the house! Thank God it's a weekend... I listen to a LOT of electronic music, and have since roughly age 4, and I'm 27 now. If you know this music well, you're bound to appreciate the raw talent that went into this. This artist knows how to concentrate, and you can feel his intent all over the record. Paints many images for many people, but for me, it's just.. sublime. You really can't appreciate this without good speakers, though, as at least half of the beauty of this is the careful manipulation of the bass end of the spectrum. Precise, intentional, superb... just beautiful. Call it what you will, this is true underground music, and deserves the acclaim it's gotten and more. Get it! Expand
  58. BenjaminL
    Feb 8, 2008
    3
    Not very good. Simple and boring beats. Cheesy vocal samples. Just generally uninspired.
  59. AlexW.
    Feb 7, 2008
    8
    I liked it a lot - but i prefer faster beats and to the person below who said ok computer was a good album - its not really - two good songs - karma police and the other hit the rest id just filler - god knows why it is often rated the best album ever - theirs no feelings to it! granted karma police probably is the best song ever written!
  60. DanielL.
    Feb 6, 2008
    4
    a perfect example of why music critics can't be trusted to rate music its boring if you like to trip acid for days and have time to waste you might like it cause its interesting but not music just somewhat artsy noise anyone who understands how to write music and how to play it knows this is not music (cause eerie vocals doesn't show emotion to me)
  61. DarrylM
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    What a great soundtrack this album would be to a film. I own Radiohead's "In Rainbows" and "OK Computer" and this album is just as mesmerizing, inventive and compelling. I am truly chuffed that all the professional critics gave it the universal acclaim it deserves. Bravo.
  62. AlexF.
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    This is an amazing album, have only recently been introduced to dubstep, and was shown this Burial album. I now cant stop listening to it!! I LOVE IT
  63. JonG.
    Jan 31, 2008
    9
    People who gives negative reviews to this album, knows nothing about music. It need a lot of attention and ear to understand. I'm not sure if is the best album of 2007 but definitely is one of the best.
  64. DavidE
    Jan 29, 2008
    3
    What the ****. I don't even understand the amazing reviews at all. Honestly, if you want great music (emphasize MUSIC) listen to OK computer, The Bends, Kid A, or In Rainbows - and then try listening to Burial. It pales so much in comparison its almost excruciating to see so many 8-10s. This is to music what blotches of paint on a white canvas are to art. A joke.
  65. ElizabethA
    Jan 29, 2008
    2
    SG, don't be a pretentious ass. I hardly think the rest of us "don't know what music is". Get over yourself. This album is some people's cup of tea, but not mine.
  66. JohnN
    Jan 29, 2008
    2
    WTF...am I missing out on the joke. I keep waiting for the songs to start and they never do!!
  67. NormF.
    Jan 28, 2008
    10
    This music is strangely beautiful. Atmospheric and airy, but with the beat and heart of the streets. I'm not usually into this kind of electronica and stuff, but this stuff has great soul that really sets it apart.
  68. DjM
    Jan 27, 2008
    6
    A handful of good tracks, you've all been duped! a big step down from his debut- archangel as the best track? your all crazy! keep in mind he wrote this album in 2 weeks and it shows- it isn't minimalism you tools its called "thrown together" by more sensible people
  69. SG
    Jan 25, 2008
    10
    negative reviews? you don't know what music is if you don't like this. this IS south London on a record. vinyl white noise, dark London streets, unknown vocals, seething bass. burial is the banksy of the music world, but with no irony. this album is straight up, and it's art.
  70. JeremyF
    Jan 24, 2008
    8
    Definitely an acquired taste. It took me a few tries. But now I really do enjoy this work. It's best heard on headphones; it seriously sounds ten times better on headphone. No joke. My favorite tracks are Archangel, Near Dark, and the title track. In McDonalds is a brief but pristine surge of synth, and Etched Headplate is a nice relaxing electronic/beat-driven song. The vocals Definitely an acquired taste. It took me a few tries. But now I really do enjoy this work. It's best heard on headphones; it seriously sounds ten times better on headphone. No joke. My favorite tracks are Archangel, Near Dark, and the title track. In McDonalds is a brief but pristine surge of synth, and Etched Headplate is a nice relaxing electronic/beat-driven song. The vocals aren't meant to be the star of the show, so I like that they're not over the top. And on Archangel, they're so spliced up, and yet there's still a constant melody. I'm still unsure what dubstep is, but, if Burial is this genre, then I should check out more. (Remember: LISTEN ON HEADPHONES!) Expand
  71. alktothek
    Jan 23, 2008
    10
    Utterly mindblowing, sounds like the mass of oddly beautiful detritus England has become. Perhaps haters may need to upgrade sound systems/narrow perspective of what music is. All about the sub.
  72. SDK
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    it's uplifting, even with the melodramatic beats and vocals that seem to disappear into blackness before your ears. i don't know if you can classify this music correctly, or if it even needs it. hell, it breaks classifications and draws people in from all over. there's no doubt in my mind that there's WAY MORE than a handful of people out there listening to this record it's uplifting, even with the melodramatic beats and vocals that seem to disappear into blackness before your ears. i don't know if you can classify this music correctly, or if it even needs it. hell, it breaks classifications and draws people in from all over. there's no doubt in my mind that there's WAY MORE than a handful of people out there listening to this record on a daily basis. headphones recommended :) Expand
  73. seeds13
    Jan 19, 2008
    5
    This music is weak and lacks substance. It wouldn't even make an impact if it was blasting at someone's "burial". Hell, I've heard better sounds blast out of my a$$. Seriously. The vocals seem to be some kind of sick joke from the world of pop. But, go ahead and vote high since you have little taste in music. I personally am drawn to musicians.
  74. johnk
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    I can't get enough of this. Burial makes absolutely fascinating music. Archangel in particular is beautiful.
  75. BL
    Jan 19, 2008
    2
    91... lol.. seriously.. lol. i love electronica, but if you want something laid back try aphex twins selected ambient works 85-92. i seriously doubt there are more than a small handful of people out there who listen to this on a regular basis.
  76. TobiasC.
    Jan 19, 2008
    2
    Meh!
  77. PaulS.
    Jan 19, 2008
    9
    An amazing album. It grabs a hold of you and won't let go. A hypnotizing work of structured beauty!
  78. William
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    Beautiful and atmospheric. I would liken it to ambient via Brian Eno's definition if it wasn't so prone to drawing one into its own environment rather than enhancing the one it's being listened to in.
  79. giantroot
    Jan 19, 2008
    9
    Oh Jesus. Hype? No. It's Very Greatest Album of I've Listened.
  80. DuncanY
    Jan 18, 2008
    10
    This is so so good! I don't understand the hate.
  81. dana
    Jan 18, 2008
    8
    Don't listen to Mike G; music can be good without being danceable or experimental. Disgusts me to be a part of the same species with alot of the people making comments here.
  82. JayF.
    Jan 18, 2008
    10
    Fucking awesome. dark and atmospheric. Pussy boys won't like it tho.
  83. JohnQ
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    incredible on a pair of headphones. one of my favourite albums of all time.
  84. JImH
    Jan 17, 2008
    9
    Grows on you if you give it a shot. Don't expect to get it until you're in the right frame of mind. Keep listening over a few weeks and suddenly it will make sense.
  85. NickL.
    Jan 17, 2008
    7
    It's overrated to be sure; however, it's not horrible. Untrue takes a few listens to sink in underneath your skin, but once it does the interplay between melancholy and rhythm is positively sublime. Unfortunately, Burial outstays his welcome be about 20 minutes. In no way is this a slam against the last few tracks, rather just a comment that this concept could have been pulled It's overrated to be sure; however, it's not horrible. Untrue takes a few listens to sink in underneath your skin, but once it does the interplay between melancholy and rhythm is positively sublime. Unfortunately, Burial outstays his welcome be about 20 minutes. In no way is this a slam against the last few tracks, rather just a comment that this concept could have been pulled off more effectively on an EP. 65/100 (+5 Bonus points for opening with a sample from Lynch's brilliant film Inland Empire.) Unrelated, but important: Hater H's mini-review made me laugh out loud. Expand
  86. IanM.
    Jan 17, 2008
    8
    Great album! I really cannot understand all the people comparing it to LCD Soundsytem and the like... "makes you want to feel like a teenager, until you remember the feelings of, a real live emotional teenager". And people say this sounds awkward and trite!!! Beautiful background music for a rainy day...
  87. hoffo
    Jan 16, 2008
    4
    pretty over rated album i must say, its really really booooooooring. well maybe like 3 pretty good tracks but alot of filler in here.
  88. GonzO
    Jan 16, 2008
    3
    I don't see the appeal. Repetative, boring... a technical lullabye.
  89. MikeP
    Jan 16, 2008
    10
    Amazing album. The album is great. Its trippy dubstep. Your not supposed to dance to it. Its supposed to relax you. And it served its purpose, superbly. If you don't even like the genre you shouldn't review this album.
  90. Ams
    Jan 16, 2008
    9
    This album is sublime. From start to finish it is a masterpiece. The production on it is like nothing else being done these days, the way he warps and jarrs the vocals is highly impressive. My favorite album of 2007 hands down
  91. GalenM.
    Jan 15, 2008
    1
    Honestly, I'm so glad to see apparently lots of other people commenting on this that share my same opinion -- this is probably THE overrated "schlop" of the year. Atmospherics may sound kinda cool but they come across flat and just plain dumb when paired with the almost-unlistenable vocal bits. I mean, c'mon, it's so processed and annoying. The beats is what really gets me. Honestly, I'm so glad to see apparently lots of other people commenting on this that share my same opinion -- this is probably THE overrated "schlop" of the year. Atmospherics may sound kinda cool but they come across flat and just plain dumb when paired with the almost-unlistenable vocal bits. I mean, c'mon, it's so processed and annoying. The beats is what really gets me. For one, this is really NOT an album you could dance to and secondly, most important, the beats are almost ALL the same. Seriously, go through the tracks and listen to them and you won't be able to deny. Bad, bad, bad. Ugh. Why the hype? You frickin' got me, that's one thing for sure. Expand
  92. DanM.
    Jan 15, 2008
    9
    An amazing album. The kind that you can completely get lost in. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is that I generally don't listen to this type of music and I probably fail to grasp some of the nuances. The simple fact is that it is inexplicable and infectiously beautiful.
  93. OkKo
    Jan 15, 2008
    9
    I think all the posts below mine are made by the same guy just because there can't be so many negative reviews in the row. As for me, I really like this album and it made my top 10 of 2007. It's dark, but in a good way and it's wonderfully mysterious and interesting. The vocal hooks used in the songs are just blissful.
  94. HajeD.
    Jan 15, 2008
    1
    What a noise, terrible. I listen to more than 1500 groups, with a big variation in style, so I am used to listen to a lot, but this album, no, garbage.
  95. clarkf.
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    If you are musically literate enough to have an appreciation for dubstep, you will find this release to be among the best albums of the year. If you are not (and this site indicates that you are legion), then you will not appreciate the intricacies of the programming, or the mixing, or the engineering. Indeed, you may find the album dull. In this case, give the album to a sophisticated If you are musically literate enough to have an appreciation for dubstep, you will find this release to be among the best albums of the year. If you are not (and this site indicates that you are legion), then you will not appreciate the intricacies of the programming, or the mixing, or the engineering. Indeed, you may find the album dull. In this case, give the album to a sophisticated friend and wait for the new Spice Girls record. Expand
  96. JOE
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    great album!!!!!!!!!! the amount of detail that has been lavished on this record is incredible. Stick your headphones on and enjoy........ like listening to someones best kept secret!
  97. boriz
    Jan 12, 2008
    6
    Yeah, this is one horribly overrated release. Its hardly experimental, every track has an identical feel, theres just not enough variation to keep me into this. Chuck it on when your stoned out of your brain at 3am.
  98. BenH.
    Jan 12, 2008
    9
    It may be too dark for most people and not particularly danceable, but this a landmark album. Like itor not, the future of electronic music is dubstep. This album will not be forgotten!
  99. SlinddeeanaJ.
    Jan 11, 2008
    5
    I guess I shouldn't have rated this album yet, but I tought I need to chime in ahead of time. The reviews have been awlful for album of the year. I just picked it up on Zune Marketplace. I will report back in an hour.
  100. JoseR.
    Jan 10, 2008
    1
    I bought this album and really gave it a chance. I even asked my girlfriend if she heard something I wasn't catching. She had the same reaction I had: "Turn this crap off." What is it with these electronic albums that have the same boring sound over and over getting great reviews. Save your money and time. Get In Rainbows or anything by The Kings Of Leon if you want to hear good music!
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Burial has concocted a noir-ish sound that’s as powerful as it is atmospheric.
  2. What gives this album more depth is the focus, the rolling symmetry and cinema.
  3. That emptiness tempts a listener in, and puts you in its place--you, in a sense, step into the record’s point of view. This invitation to intimacy is a powerful move that most club music is simply incapable of.