Viva La Vida

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Jun 17, 2008
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 426 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 426

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    I still think this is their finest effort yet. First they wanted to be Radiohead and then they wanted to be U2 (the band said it themselves), but I believe they came into their own on this one. Sure, there are hints of Joshua Tree throughout. That doesn't need to be said. Well, maybe it does. I wonder if Chris Martin has ever written a song better than "Lovers in Japan"? I doubt it. GreatI still think this is their finest effort yet. First they wanted to be Radiohead and then they wanted to be U2 (the band said it themselves), but I believe they came into their own on this one. Sure, there are hints of Joshua Tree throughout. That doesn't need to be said. Well, maybe it does. I wonder if Chris Martin has ever written a song better than "Lovers in Japan"? I doubt it. Great album. Their best yet. Expand
  2. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    I think this album is a masterpiece and is definitely underrated. Some really beautiful songs like "Death and All His Friends", "42", "Cemeteries of London" and "Lost". I really could name any song. There are no weak ones that stand out. Coldplay strikes again
  3. Sep 5, 2011
    9
    One of the most beautiful, and lyrically/musically significant albums I've ever heard, 'Viva La Vida Or Death & All His Friends' is a must for fans of Alt.Rock//Experimental Rock. The album from start to finish has a clear, crisp sound, differing from their previous style of long progressions of semi-melachonic chordal structures. From the Napoleon-esque 'Lost!', to the eastern styledOne of the most beautiful, and lyrically/musically significant albums I've ever heard, 'Viva La Vida Or Death & All His Friends' is a must for fans of Alt.Rock//Experimental Rock. The album from start to finish has a clear, crisp sound, differing from their previous style of long progressions of semi-melachonic chordal structures. From the Napoleon-esque 'Lost!', to the eastern styled 'Yes', and to the euphoric ending, 'Death & All His Friends', this is truly a remarkable album, resonating so many themes of war, love, beauty, death, hatred, faith and hope. The album itself resembles the cyclic year of seasons, with the 'Summer' songs like 'Yes' and 'Lost' contrasting with the 'Winter' songs 'Violet Hill' and 'Cemeteries of London', but perhaps the best thing about the album's structure is it's consistency, and never ending cycle of music as the last song, 'Death & All His Friends', links to album's begining, 'Life in Technicolour', in a beautiful fashion. Coldplay have really outdone themselves this time - there may not be your crowd pleasers like 'Fix You' and 'Yellow', but the album itself is solid proof that even in the 21st century there is still beauty in music, and most importantly a meaning behind the song. Absolutely, without a doubt, their best album so far. Expand
  4. Sep 7, 2012
    9
    Coldplay is the band that gets bashed by every indie biased critic (Pitchfork, The Guardian, The Idependent, Mojo, etc), hated by hardcore U2 and Radiohead fans and mocked by common music listeners (Family Guy, 40 year old virgin). These reasons cause them to have the worst reputation in the world of music asides from Nickelback of course, but the Canadians is a whole different story andColdplay is the band that gets bashed by every indie biased critic (Pitchfork, The Guardian, The Idependent, Mojo, etc), hated by hardcore U2 and Radiohead fans and mocked by common music listeners (Family Guy, 40 year old virgin). These reasons cause them to have the worst reputation in the world of music asides from Nickelback of course, but the Canadians is a whole different story and well deserved.

    So it was in 2009 when I bought the album. I've only heard Viva La Vida on the radio, but everytime I heard it, it was only portions of it. At that time I was more of an Oasis fan, and hearing Coldplay getting overplayed and getting all the grammys created a slight of jealousy and bitterness in me towards them. I was starting to jump on the bandwagon of Coldplay hate, but thank goodness out of the nowhere I decided to give Viva La Vida a try.

    Lol, my brain was hooked right at the first listen. This might not be better than AROBTH (as far as acclaim from music critics), but in my opinion, Viva is equal and sometimes sounds better. The freshness of the sound is what makes the album to stand out from its preceed. I can hear the influences of U2 in songs like Lovers In Japan or the wooah's in several of the other tracks, but the atmosphere of the sound feels so unique. Throughout the album, you find orchestra with echo sound/noise in the background, the church organs, and all these oriental instruments that bond the songs perfectly like a family where each track is related to each other. Moreover, the songs don't feel overproduced and long like in x&y, which makes the album so pleasent to listen from beginning to end.

    Coldplay also managed to incorporate the melancholy for which they are known for (mostly mocked for). Hear songs like "Lost!' or the ballad, "Strawberry Swing". These are alongside Viva La Vida, the best highlights of the album. "Lost!" in particular, is the one that stands out. The church organ with the hip-hop-like beat is difficult to not like just as it drops at the beginning of the song, and then comes Chris Martin with the line: "just because I'm losing, doesn't mean I'm lost" in a melancholic tone, turning the melody even more irresistible. So, irresistible that made me think and ask myself, "so why they hate Coldplay again?". I was this close to jump on the bandwagon, but this album made me a fan of their music again. I already was a fan, and thanks to them I discover new bands like Oasis, Blur, Radiohead, U2, The Verve, among others. Basically I got into real music when I discovered Coldplay.

    Well I told my story and my more importantly my OPINION on this album JUST LIKE ANY OTHER MUSIC CRITIC, and my intentions are not to make you a coldplay fan, but at least to make you ponder the next time you type comments like: "You know how I know you're gay?", ."Pitchfork said that...", "They are the water down version of ___" which are pretentious attempts to discredit the band.
    Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    fantastic work,war,peace,love,hate,darkest coldplay album and the most experimental album since parachute.I would argue this is Coldplay's finest album aside from Rush of blood to the head. A much more relaxed, soothing vibe that is sharply contrasted from their other albums. Feels like they aren't trying to stand out with any of their songs but just create great sounding music.
  6. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    This album is amazing! It's pretty much the epitome of variety. Also the songs aren't "typical Coldplay" They're all really different than previous albums yet they still retain the feel of Coldplay songs that we know and love. It's a must buy!
  7. May 3, 2013
    9
    Everyone gives so much praise to A Rush of Blood to the Head, but in my opinion it's only second best when compared the other albums of Coldplay. Viva la Vida has more great songs and the entire theme is more in depth and complete. I don't think their is a single song on this album I don't like. Their future albums will have a pretty tough time matching the great talent shown in this one.
  8. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    Their best album yet, not one song on it was bad. Each song complimented the other songs really well. Although my initial reaction after listening to it for the first time was pretty negative. I thought it was one of their weaker albums, but after a few more listens it really grew on me. Excellent album.
  9. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    Experimentation pays off. I wish more mainstream bands would try new things like coldplay do here. Beautiful album from start to finish. Coldplay have officially secured their spot as one of my favourite bands.
  10. thehamster
    Jan 18, 2009
    3
    I can't stand to read and hear how everyone is tripping over themselves to say how 'wonderful' this album is. Lets be real here folks....its not. I love Coldplay and I think A Rush of Blood to the Head is one of the best albums ever put together, but I just can't get into Viva La Vida. The title track is terrible! You can't get away from it! It's I can't stand to read and hear how everyone is tripping over themselves to say how 'wonderful' this album is. Lets be real here folks....its not. I love Coldplay and I think A Rush of Blood to the Head is one of the best albums ever put together, but I just can't get into Viva La Vida. The title track is terrible! You can't get away from it! It's everywhere!!! And that right there is the problem. Are they making music because they like too, or are Coldplay making music to keep up with U2? They are definitely TRYING to be u2 and why? U2 have sucked balls ever since Pop! Coldplay's first two albums were very good, Xy & z wasn't bad.....but Viva is tired. They didn't change their sound, they just stopped playing drums and added some middle eastern synth pop loops and called it good. Its OK everyone......they made a shitty album. Lets hope they bring some drums and guitars next time and not use Brian Eno, the guy who produces all of U2's shit, ever again. Expand
  11. ChrisM.
    Jul 3, 2008
    0
    Who wants a quiet revolution! how about throw a little Genesis in the bag?
  12. LGF.
    Oct 25, 2008
    0
    this album is horrible! having 1 and only ONE hit-single/very catchy tune does not translate into a quality album, as a whole, this album flops, such a shame because Coldplay had a streak of good record going, doubt they care since they have sold millions but hey, im just saying.
  13. PetrK.
    Jun 17, 2008
    3
    Coldplay for several years clearlly struggling with writing a simple, strong, understandable song - where they are best. They made second album, boring with giutar layers and complicated melodies. Its oveproduced as well. Just wasting of their tallent and listeners time.
  14. AndrewP.
    Jun 26, 2008
    3
    I'm a dad, I'm 42 and wouldn't even listen two tracks of this album son.
  15. JohanE.
    Jul 7, 2008
    2
    Apart from Yes and the title track this album is the same old, bland coldplay. I'm not interested in love, peace and war. i just want coldplay to rock out with the amps on 11. I'm very disappointed. They are trying to be U2 and they will never be as good as them. I cant wait for the real best band in the world to return. OASIS - October 2008 - BEWARE.
  16. KateB.
    Aug 4, 2008
    2
    This is not good music. When will people see that Coldplay's music is void of any skill - Chris Martin's voice is dreary and depressing, there is nothing in the rhythm and the melodies are predictable and far too radio-friendly. It's so unbelievably dull. How is it getting these half-decent reviews? It's made for unlistening ears and car stereos, background music. This is not good music. When will people see that Coldplay's music is void of any skill - Chris Martin's voice is dreary and depressing, there is nothing in the rhythm and the melodies are predictable and far too radio-friendly. It's so unbelievably dull. How is it getting these half-decent reviews? It's made for unlistening ears and car stereos, background music. Basically, it's music to be ignored. Expand
  17. hasinurr
    Mar 3, 2009
    5
    They are increasingly getting worse.
  18. JohnG.
    Jun 27, 2008
    0
    Joy division > u2 radiohead > coldplay let's celebrate mediocrity!
  19. StuartM
    Apr 11, 2009
    5
    Its average at best. It has some of the same qualities as the other albums but the changes weren't for the better. The Falsetto was amazing and when he lost it the quality of his vocals went down. He tried so hard not to use it the vocals ended up sounding forced. Bring back the Piano and the Falsetto and when can have another great album. If you want change The jump from A Rush of Its average at best. It has some of the same qualities as the other albums but the changes weren't for the better. The Falsetto was amazing and when he lost it the quality of his vocals went down. He tried so hard not to use it the vocals ended up sounding forced. Bring back the Piano and the Falsetto and when can have another great album. If you want change The jump from A Rush of Blood to the Head to X&y was subtle but enough to draw people in. And that is what every band should go through. Expand
  20. DaveM
    Nov 23, 2008
    5
    Average album I would say. Sounds like a poor mans U2.
  21. n.s.
    Nov 27, 2008
    1
    I hate Coldplay.
  22. Aug 17, 2010
    1
    I have zero respect for reviewers who would give this anything higher than a 4/10 and that's being generous. There isn't a single honest emotion on this album. It's not as if Coldplay have ever been good, but they actually sound like a tacky U2 tribute act now. This is strictly for the sorts of people who buy one album a year from Tesco.
  23. Oct 8, 2010
    5
    While some songs are wonderful (Lovers in Japan, Violet Hill) there's something incomplete about Viva La Vida. It seems as though the bulk are mere album fillers, as though Coldplay are depending on Viva La Vida and Violet Hill to carry it. The engineering and production are fine, this is just lacking the oomph of A Rush of Blood to the Head and Parachutes.
  24. Nov 26, 2011
    2
    Boring and lame, Coldplay doesn't deserve to even be called rock. Their boring impossible hard to comprehend lyrics and stupid slow paced music and sound with no sign or root or any form of rock. I was completely pissed when they won a grammy over other talented rock artists who actually play rock, overall terrible album, boring, and who do I recommend this album to?.......Old People
  25. Val
    Jun 18, 2008
    9
    This album is near perfect! An epic sonic journey with celestial music. You will be flying with every track. Superb!
  26. JordanF.
    Jun 20, 2008
    9
    I would argue this is Coldplay's finest album aside from Rush of blood to the head. A much more relaxed, soothing vibe that is sharply contrasted from their other albums. Feels like they aren't trying to stand out with any of their songs but just create great sounding music.
  27. DavidS.
    Jun 20, 2008
    9
    A very good album that I am enjoying more and more. I would probably rank Violent Hill the weakest song. A great album to listen to from start to end with some nice instrumental tracks. At the end of the day, this is a pop album that should appeal to their huge fan base.
  28. JuhZ
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    Amazing concept album.
  29. SamF.
    Jun 23, 2008
    9
    Coldplay's best album to date sounds like a swirling mess of Brian Eno at first, but with repeated listens you can hear the greatness and you're left with easily;y the best album of the year so far...quite a masterpiece.
  30. SadafA.
    Jul 2, 2008
    9
    Parachutes, was just terrific. Then came along A Rush of Blood to the Head. That was a complete step up! X&Y was in some people's minds a bit of a downer, but I loved it nevertheless, being a huge fan of their music. Each of their albums have been enjoyable to say the least. All of their songs appeal to all sometimes with their lyrics, the structure, their piano, their guitar riffs, Parachutes, was just terrific. Then came along A Rush of Blood to the Head. That was a complete step up! X&Y was in some people's minds a bit of a downer, but I loved it nevertheless, being a huge fan of their music. Each of their albums have been enjoyable to say the least. All of their songs appeal to all sometimes with their lyrics, the structure, their piano, their guitar riffs, and Chris Martin's crooning little falsetto (which has definitely been left out of Viva La Vida). Viva La Vida is what I simply believe to be their best yet! Frankly, those who did not enjoy their previous albums will probably not like their new work nor their future music. Critics are just harsh.. and are meant to be. But they have millions of fans who have bought, listened, and enjoyed their work. That's all that matters. Expand
  31. Andy
    Jul 5, 2008
    10
    This album is very good. Not quite their best(A Rush of Blood to the Head), but very good. The standout tracks for me include "viva la vida", "chinese sleep chant", "strawberry swing", and "death and all of his friends".
  32. SamV.
    Jul 7, 2008
    7
    Coldplay return to the originality of Parachutes and A Rush of Blood to the Head, albeit in a different direction. A welcome break from the near pure commercialism of X&Y.
  33. CraigR.
    Jul 9, 2008
    6
    A few good tracks and a lot of murky half baked ideas.
  34. MP
    Sep 22, 2008
    9
    Have you people actually heard the album? Fantastic. I suprised Coldplay kept the streak. In organized fasion. Melodies are amazing. The weakest part of the album are the lyrics. It doesnt quite hit home. The theme is perfect. However, the lyrics arent bold enouogh. Some are actually kinda off. Big fish line in "Lost!". Yeah.. But Coldplay was never that great at lyrics. Ive heard this Have you people actually heard the album? Fantastic. I suprised Coldplay kept the streak. In organized fasion. Melodies are amazing. The weakest part of the album are the lyrics. It doesnt quite hit home. The theme is perfect. However, the lyrics arent bold enouogh. Some are actually kinda off. Big fish line in "Lost!". Yeah.. But Coldplay was never that great at lyrics. Ive heard this album at least 20 times now. It took me a LONG time to debate if this was better than "Rush of Blood". And I think it is for its themes, artwork, and the contribution the band has done to the album, Not to mention the music as well. They managed to change the style in a perfect way. An effort that is quite rare in the music industry. Their greatest album to date. 4. X & Y 3. Parachutes 2. A Rush of Blood to the Head 1. Viva La Vida or Death and All His Friends (Very close to a masterpiece) Good Job Coldplay. Expand
  35. VashaD
    Dec 20, 2008
    10
    Now add Prospekt March to the whole album
  36. WichoP.
    Oct 28, 2008
    1
    I loved Coldplay. When X&Y came out I was a little skeptical towards the eclipse of the band, stating that this would be a new side of Coldplay, with evolved sounds and forms. Then came "Viva La Vida", from a Frida Kahlo painting. I'm sure she would spit at the disc... I am terribly disappointed with this album, that stains all that was done before. I bought it just because it was I loved Coldplay. When X&Y came out I was a little skeptical towards the eclipse of the band, stating that this would be a new side of Coldplay, with evolved sounds and forms. Then came "Viva La Vida", from a Frida Kahlo painting. I'm sure she would spit at the disc... I am terribly disappointed with this album, that stains all that was done before. I bought it just because it was the next one, and I wish I haven't done so... I hardly ever listen to it. There are a couple of songs to rescue, but they result at the average level... During his tour in Mexico with X&Y, Chris Martin promised that the next disc would have the best songs Coldplay would ever write... are those here? Expand
  37. MeganT.
    Oct 30, 2008
    9
    My favorite of all their work. I think this is the best representation of how much they have grown as a group.
  38. DannyVanderSpek
    Jun 17, 2008
    9
    Viva La Vida has renewed my faith in the band that I loved with Parachutes and AROBTTH, but lost in X&Y. I think most publications and websites are trying to be extra cautious about their rating for Viva La Vida because of overinflated grades given to X&Y. Given some time, I think this album will prove to be a keeper.
  39. DarrenD.
    Jun 18, 2008
    9
    Once again, Coldplay reinvents their sound and moves into a new direction. It's clear that most people don't like change and are not quick to adapt to it. However, in a matter of time, people who expected the same sound from Coldplay that they produced on "Parachutes" and "A Rush of Blood to the Head" will come to appreciate the new sound. After all, isn't it all about Once again, Coldplay reinvents their sound and moves into a new direction. It's clear that most people don't like change and are not quick to adapt to it. However, in a matter of time, people who expected the same sound from Coldplay that they produced on "Parachutes" and "A Rush of Blood to the Head" will come to appreciate the new sound. After all, isn't it all about moving forward with something new? Viva La Vida delivers a new frontier for Coldplay just as Revolver did for The Beatles. It's a major step forward, and now the real fun can begin. Expand
  40. ErikM.
    Jun 18, 2008
    8
    Orchestral arrangements are all over this record, as well as The Arcade Fire's ever-expanding influence. This isn't shocking. Chris Martin admitted at Austin City Limits 2005 (while supporting the lackluster X&Y) that fellow ACL act The Arcade Fire "inspired" him to venture outside his normal comfort zone. The result is a much more versatile yet cohesive sound than was found Orchestral arrangements are all over this record, as well as The Arcade Fire's ever-expanding influence. This isn't shocking. Chris Martin admitted at Austin City Limits 2005 (while supporting the lackluster X&Y) that fellow ACL act The Arcade Fire "inspired" him to venture outside his normal comfort zone. The result is a much more versatile yet cohesive sound than was found their last record. Expand
  41. JoshN
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    Easily the best Coldplay album I've ever heard. Lost is an amazing track, and this album is definitely worth the money. Go get it!
  42. AndrewB
    Jun 20, 2008
    7
    Colplay changes it up a bit after making three successively blander albums, probably due to Brian Eno's involvment. Its a little different from their past stuff, but I would hardly call it experimental. Its their best album yet, though.
  43. WilliamM.
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    Excellent album, interestingly different from their usuall style.
  44. JosephA
    Jun 27, 2008
    0
    Overrated. I Cant believe the stuff people like.
  45. PatrickS.
    Jun 28, 2008
    9
    Great album that you need to listen minimum 3 times to hear how good it really is ! Looking forward tot the concert in Paris & Antwerp.
  46. MattG
    Jun 30, 2008
    8
    I'm 40, not a dad, and think Arcade Fire the most brilliant band this decade. And whilst this album doesn't match the greatness of AF, it has many moments of pure pop bliss. I feel sorry for those who can't find at least some enjoyment within, and for the morons who give it 0 - no doubt without even listening to it - just go put on your no name records and stop wasting our time.
  47. MusicMaven
    Jun 30, 2008
    5
    If you're a fan, this is disappointing. If you're not, there's no reason to start here. Coldplay do nothing to counter arguments that they are all sound and fury signifying nothing.
  48. SusieQ
    Jul 1, 2008
    9
    I'm always surprised when people don't like Coldplay. I think this album is fantastic, I loved it right away (as opposed to X&Y which I didn't like right away and learned to love). Coldplay stays consistent, which some people might find a turnoff, but for me, makes me anticipate all their albums.
  49. SebH
    Jul 2, 2008
    10
    It seems strange that people are saying this album sounds like Arcade Fire ... obviously, when you get in Arcade Fire's producers there're gonna be some similarities. It's like saying, "Win Butler played guitar on this album, it sounds too much like Arcade Fire". That aside, this is a brilliant piece of work - who cares if it's not a total reinvention so long as it It seems strange that people are saying this album sounds like Arcade Fire ... obviously, when you get in Arcade Fire's producers there're gonna be some similarities. It's like saying, "Win Butler played guitar on this album, it sounds too much like Arcade Fire". That aside, this is a brilliant piece of work - who cares if it's not a total reinvention so long as it sounds good? And, for the record, it does, I don't think anyone can deny the quality of the music here. But it's also down-to-earth and artistic in comparison to the old albums. It's just, hands down, an excellent album and it's artistic pop in the same spirit as The Beatles Expand
  50. Ziazia
    Jul 20, 2008
    4
    I am a hardcore Coldplay fan who was eagerly waiting for this one. I couldnt believe myself that I bought the album, heard it once and somehow got rid of it by returning it! This album is dissappionting when compared to their previous classics. This is sad. I could clearly feel while listening to it that the band did it for a formality. The spirit is gone.They sounded so obsolete, so I am a hardcore Coldplay fan who was eagerly waiting for this one. I couldnt believe myself that I bought the album, heard it once and somehow got rid of it by returning it! This album is dissappionting when compared to their previous classics. This is sad. I could clearly feel while listening to it that the band did it for a formality. The spirit is gone.They sounded so obsolete, so repetitive and very predictable. Expand
  51. DiegoM.
    Jul 25, 2008
    9
    I recommend listen first to viva la vida track, it`s an excellent album, better than XY.
  52. vonThunderbolt
    Jul 30, 2008
    7
    This album came as a tremendous surprise to me, a longtime fan of the band. With it's tighter (and surprisingly deeper) sound, the Coldplay really started expanding their boundaries more. X & Y was nothing but a letdown, an album that played out as an empty and heartless ballad barrage. A Rush of Blood to the Head was solid, but this album comes closest to equaling the nearly sweet, This album came as a tremendous surprise to me, a longtime fan of the band. With it's tighter (and surprisingly deeper) sound, the Coldplay really started expanding their boundaries more. X & Y was nothing but a letdown, an album that played out as an empty and heartless ballad barrage. A Rush of Blood to the Head was solid, but this album comes closest to equaling the nearly sweet, wonderful sound of the band's first -- Parachutes. This project certainly boasts a higher production value and grandiose feel -- a move that many Coldplay fans will appreciate. Expand
  53. DeclanM.
    Jul 7, 2008
    1
    This is the most disappointing album of the year 1 good song the rest is complete rubbish go buy radiohead in rainbows instead if you want real music coldplay have left me cold.
  54. EdgeTriggerCoolCat
    Sep 4, 2008
    10
    This is a instant classic, at first listen it is different than Coldplay's previous work. Like any great band their style is improving over time, like U2, The Beatles. By the 3 listen of the entire CD, I can stop listening, it is a work of art.
  55. jimmyo
    Jul 3, 2009
    10
    Coldplay is one of those bands that truly brings the word "music" to a whole different level! There are people that do not get the greatness of this kind of music, but that is only a pitty for them. coldplay is, and will always be, the kings of alternative.
  56. AaronG
    Nov 13, 2008
    8
    I'm a coldplay fan at heart, I won't lie. I was extremely excited for Viva La Vida's release, and their live tour. Viva La Vida, even at it's starting track, sets the stage for a whole different turn. It uses every sort of majestic sound it can get its hands on and does so excellently. There are some tracks that I just found unappealing, such as "Death and All His I'm a coldplay fan at heart, I won't lie. I was extremely excited for Viva La Vida's release, and their live tour. Viva La Vida, even at it's starting track, sets the stage for a whole different turn. It uses every sort of majestic sound it can get its hands on and does so excellently. There are some tracks that I just found unappealing, such as "Death and All His Friends", "Yes", and "42". However, the rest of the tracks will be remembered by me simply for the amazing musical structure. At this point, the only thing that I have to complain about is how drastically different this is from Coldplay's first album. I mean, really. Go right now and compare Viva La Vida to Parachutes. Notice something? Coldplay has gone from a slow-paced calm songs to upbeat alternative-rock. I'd love it if they did some things like the first album, but I wouldn't kill myself over it. Overall a great album, one thumb up. Expand
  57. IanC
    Dec 2, 2008
    8
    I usually listen to older music, but this honestly isn't bad. 4/5 for quality melodies, delicious production and instrumentation on most songs. Eno helps them take a more mature turn, and although they have always been good, this is perhaps their best. Not amazing. Not incredible. Not OMG TTLY AWSOME. But good. Which is rare in todays music realm.
  58. jimyjim
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    Excellent disc, a work mestra, is a beauty they are the gods of the humanity.
  59. DukeChallenger
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    Viva La Vida is the best Coldplay album by far. They now do whatever they want to in songs, arranging so many different parts in them. They are no longer looking for hit singles, just making a masterful album. The highlight of the album is the second part of the album's title (Not Viva La Vida) due to its lyrics and emotion. The low is "Lost" because its chorus sounds a little bit Viva La Vida is the best Coldplay album by far. They now do whatever they want to in songs, arranging so many different parts in them. They are no longer looking for hit singles, just making a masterful album. The highlight of the album is the second part of the album's title (Not Viva La Vida) due to its lyrics and emotion. The low is "Lost" because its chorus sounds a little bit like Sarah McGlocklen, whom I do not like. Coldplay still has not created an album as good as U2's masterpiece's, though, they are definitely on the same level. Expand
  60. FelipeP.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    Their best album yet, fantastic textures.
  61. JeffO.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    Nearly perfect! Their best album to date.
  62. StephenM.
    Jun 17, 2008
    8
    Surprisingly interesting.
  63. DavidA.
    Jun 17, 2008
    9
    Another good outing from Coldplay. Great from the first listen. If you like Coldplay, you will like this, if you don't like them, then you won't.
  64. BusterB
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    Majestic and beautiful. The best track is the title track, a nice little itunes jingle. The other tracks are absolutely breathtaking. Coldplay is successful in creating and blending a new sound that takes them away from the norm. Well done.
  65. JoseP.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    Coldplay is absolutely amazing in this. I loved "A Rush of Blood To The Head" but was somewhat disappointed with "X & Y". This album however is thoroughly satisfying, from the upbeat and cheerful "Viva la Vida" to the inspiring and emotional "Lost!". Well done boys, a fantastic album.
  66. MeganW
    Jun 19, 2008
    9
    A melodic ride and a wonderful album that takes us through varied lows and highs, before delivering us calmly back on silent shores.
  67. JoeC
    Jun 19, 2008
    7
    Quite hard to get into, nothing immediately catchy until Viva La Vida. Hopefully it will grow on me.
  68. JeremiC.
    Jun 20, 2008
    9
    I really started thinking bad things about the band when they released X&Y which was an overratted radio album and the fact that Chris Martin started tp remind me of Bono (which I hate). But this album is genuine, moving and very cheerful. With no doubt, this is their best album up to date!!
  69. RobertR
    Jun 24, 2008
    2
    I'm sure that 40 year old dad's around the world are overjoyed with this album as they mow the front lawn. If you want adventurous, listen to Eno and Arcade Fire - you'll find it there.
  70. DamianA.
    Jun 24, 2008
    8
    Pretty good album, I have to say their best since A Rush Of Blood To The Head, all of their songs are great from beginning to the end, definely one of the albums of the entire year
  71. Zia
    Jun 25, 2008
    5
    After being a Coldplay maniac all these years, I was frankly disappointed with this album. I waited so much for this and it had nothing to offer. It was too loud without substance. No depth at all compared to their previous classics. I am heartbroken. Maybe they will patch it up next time!
  72. ColinT.
    Jun 27, 2008
    9
    It's just short of "rush of blood to the head" but that aside it's superb. They have grown since "x&y". Time will show this to be a classic. Stand out tracks for me, 42, yes and viva la Vida. Ive read about soldiers having to soldier, critics having a go. "I used to roll the dice, feel the fear in my enemies eyes". Go figure!!.
  73. RobbieC
    Jun 28, 2008
    7
    Better than X&Y by a large margin... there are still lame-ass songs on here. But "Lost!" and "Violet Hill" are two of their best songs ever. If X&Y didn't exist, this would probably get a worse rating, but that was such a horrible record that this is a welcome return to creative form.
  74. [Anonymous]
    Jun 29, 2008
    9
    Not a 'rock' album by any means. It is a 45 minute long dream state that is highly entertaining within the correct state of mind.
  75. CezarM.
    Jun 30, 2008
    1
    I am still trying to find in this album something to enjoy. I will give it a few more chances these days, maybe I will find tiny little bits from the old wonderful feeling I had hearing this band - of course, with their old albums. Disaster started with X&Y, now it's even worse, the "music" is so empty, meaningless. I can't think about another band that disappointed me as much I am still trying to find in this album something to enjoy. I will give it a few more chances these days, maybe I will find tiny little bits from the old wonderful feeling I had hearing this band - of course, with their old albums. Disaster started with X&Y, now it's even worse, the "music" is so empty, meaningless. I can't think about another band that disappointed me as much as Coldplay did with these new releases. I am sorry.... Expand
  76. LyleS
    Jul 11, 2008
    8
    Much better than x&y.
  77. RathiR.
    Jul 14, 2008
    10
    What da marvelous album....should be album of the year!
  78. AdamR.
    Jul 3, 2008
    10
    Absolutely Stunning Album! It makes everything they've done previously seem so minute.
  79. DeborahS.
    Jul 4, 2008
    10
    Addictive: can't wait for more!
  80. ScottW
    Apr 30, 2009
    7
    The album is good because the band is great. Its not a Rush of Blood or something by any means. Coldplay is a super band, one of the big ones. Their sound is very popy and truly theirs. This marks their 4th studio album. For sure though its better then their third. A little more out in the experimental side. Of course they are no Radiohead or Pink Floyd. The album still though is very The album is good because the band is great. Its not a Rush of Blood or something by any means. Coldplay is a super band, one of the big ones. Their sound is very popy and truly theirs. This marks their 4th studio album. For sure though its better then their third. A little more out in the experimental side. Of course they are no Radiohead or Pink Floyd. The album still though is very much nice to listen to with a few songs that will top the rock charts. Expand
  81. stevenp
    Dec 1, 2008
    9
    This is a really great album, it shows alot of style that coldplay lovers aren't used to, but oh so good! live the life!
  82. TomM
    Oct 27, 2008
    7
    Pretty good overall. I've always though of Coldplay as decent, certainly far above average for a group getting heavy pop radio airplay. The new album sounds like their past work, but is a little more adventurous. It gets an 8 in recognition of progress and in the hope that their next one continues the trend, and does something truly interesing and fresh.
  83. DanielR.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    Coldplay is the best!!! I love the entire album, it has an instrumental music and melodies amazing. Love it!!
  84. DarkCloud
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    Most diverse album yet. Explores elements of Life and Death while shifting from light to dark every other song. The questions Martin raised throughout the album about afterlife is confirmed when the album dies (DEATH and All His Friends) and is resurrected with The Escapist which borrows the beginning of the first track (LIFE in Technicolor). Truly an art form in the conceptual sense and Most diverse album yet. Explores elements of Life and Death while shifting from light to dark every other song. The questions Martin raised throughout the album about afterlife is confirmed when the album dies (DEATH and All His Friends) and is resurrected with The Escapist which borrows the beginning of the first track (LIFE in Technicolor). Truly an art form in the conceptual sense and a masterpiece in the musical sense, even if it does deface itself (album art). Expand
  85. StevieG.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    After the disappointing X&Y this was a remarkable return to form for Coldplay. 'Viva la Vida', 'Lovers in Japan' and 'Strawberry Swing' are absolute classics. Because they are arguably now the biggest band in the world, people are quick to criticise anything they release. But make no mistake, this is a quality album, not one bad song on it.
  86. AhmadB.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    Ok, so, first off, you need to know, that this is, by far, Coldplay's best effort by far, suffice to say that it is one of their best albums. if you didn't like their previous efforts, you won't like this one. But, its definitely worth a listen, for any rock fan. Give them a chance, its an album that will stick with you.
  87. Chris
    Jun 17, 2008
    9
    This is a very good album. There are few misfires, but many of the tracks are excellent.
  88. ColinB.
    Jun 17, 2008
    8
    I would die to hear Bono belting out Martin's very genius yet very U2-esque melodies. After a few listens, I would say that this is a spectacular album, although a grand departure from Parachutes and ROBTH (and we should never speak of X&Y again). But Coldplay is still at the top of their game, and nearly everyone else's game for that matter. Early standouts: the vaguely I would die to hear Bono belting out Martin's very genius yet very U2-esque melodies. After a few listens, I would say that this is a spectacular album, although a grand departure from Parachutes and ROBTH (and we should never speak of X&Y again). But Coldplay is still at the top of their game, and nearly everyone else's game for that matter. Early standouts: the vaguely Japanese "Strawberry Swing," the haunting "Cemeteries of London," and "Yes," where Chris Martin sings at a low octive among ARABIC VIOLINS--double the unprecedentedness! This album isn't a masterpiece, but it's a very satisfying addition to the Coldplay anthology. Viva Coldplay! Expand
  89. JoshM.
    Jun 17, 2008
    8
    I really like this album, more than X+Y, maybe even more than A rush of blood... Lovers in Japan and Lost were standout tracks, the title track is great. The first single, Violet Hill, is the least impressive song on the album but still not bad. Brian Eno's producing has a profound effect on this album. Change has definitely been good to Coldplay.
  90. DavidP
    Jun 19, 2008
    9
    Brilliant and a new direction for an already talented band.
  91. WillH.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    Few artists have evolved like Coldplay, and this new album is a prime example of what the boys can do when they're not hounded by a record label. It doesn't seem like Coldplay's trying to please everyone on the new album - it seems like they made a "We Don't Give a Damn!" album, and it works. Aside from the low points found in "Violet Hill" and "Chinese Sleep Chant", Few artists have evolved like Coldplay, and this new album is a prime example of what the boys can do when they're not hounded by a record label. It doesn't seem like Coldplay's trying to please everyone on the new album - it seems like they made a "We Don't Give a Damn!" album, and it works. Aside from the low points found in "Violet Hill" and "Chinese Sleep Chant", the rest of the album is as solid as they come. The album gives off an aura of greatness, and it's about time it stopped being uncool to be a Coldplay fan. All hail Coldplay. Expand
  92. EdA
    Jun 23, 2008
    8
    Bolder than anything else Coldplay has made but not completely different. This album does confirm that they actually know how to play instruments better than beginners. "Yes!" is a song to check out if you want to see their new musical direction. "Lost" is solid too.
  93. JayL.
    Jun 23, 2008
    7
    Stand out tracks for me were Violet Hill, Yes, and 42. Cemeteries of London and Lovers in Japan sounded too U2-ish to me, especially the latter, but I guess that's what you get when you have Brian Eno producing. They still have yet to beat A Rush of Blood to the Head in my eyes, but this is still a good listen.
  94. EmilyW.
    Jun 24, 2008
    9
    It's pretty amazing that Uncut, the same publication that gave the unbelievably shitty X&Y a 90, gave this album 60. One person below said they believed the critics were being careful with their ratings for this album because of all the rash 90's and 100's given to X&Y upon its release and I think that is exactly right. This is a much better offering and might even turn out It's pretty amazing that Uncut, the same publication that gave the unbelievably shitty X&Y a 90, gave this album 60. One person below said they believed the critics were being careful with their ratings for this album because of all the rash 90's and 100's given to X&Y upon its release and I think that is exactly right. This is a much better offering and might even turn out to be their best album to date. Expand
  95. Jon
    Jun 26, 2008
    5
    This album stinks of Arcade Fire and Brian Eno influence. This is the good part. Yet many perceive and are vocal about Coldplay's direction as groundbreaking when clearly it's not
  96. SteveO
    Jun 27, 2008
    10
    I'm guessing "Zia" is a girl... yeah don't listen to girls, pick up this cd. It's worth it. It isn't girl rock.
  97. LeandroC.
    Jul 11, 2008
    10
    The best album of the year!
  98. MarkT.
    Jul 11, 2008
    7
    The album was good aside from the double tracks, which was a bad idea. I would probably say this was their third best album of the four.
  99. DaveN
    Jul 13, 2008
    7
    Not as good as their last two, but very good non the less.
  100. angel
    Jul 17, 2008
    10
    I can't stop listening to it its beautiful and moving I haven't been a coldplay fan since Parachutes.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Given Eno’s quarter-century of Bono-fides, this isn’t surprising. Martin’s interests are frequently vague--on 'Lovers in Japan/Reign of Love' he sings about soldiers who must soldier on and runners who must run until the race is won. Seriously?
  2. The greatest thing Coldplay may have learned from Eno is his work ethic, as they demonstrate a focused concentration throughout this tight album--it's only 47 minutes yet covers more ground than "X&Y" and arguably "A Rush of Blood to the Head"--that turns Viva la Vida into something quietly satisfying.
  3. They try hard, Coldplay, but it just isn't enough; their fourth album might just be their best yet, but it's still a long way from being the epochal classic that Chris Martin is desperate to create.