• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Jun 17, 2008
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 421 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 421

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. hasinurr
    Mar 3, 2009
    5
    They are increasingly getting worse.
  2. StuartM
    Apr 11, 2009
    5
    Its average at best. It has some of the same qualities as the other albums but the changes weren't for the better. The Falsetto was amazing and when he lost it the quality of his vocals went down. He tried so hard not to use it the vocals ended up sounding forced. Bring back the Piano and the Falsetto and when can have another great album. If you want change The jump from A Rush of Its average at best. It has some of the same qualities as the other albums but the changes weren't for the better. The Falsetto was amazing and when he lost it the quality of his vocals went down. He tried so hard not to use it the vocals ended up sounding forced. Bring back the Piano and the Falsetto and when can have another great album. If you want change The jump from A Rush of Blood to the Head to X&y was subtle but enough to draw people in. And that is what every band should go through. Expand
  3. DaveM
    Nov 23, 2008
    5
    Average album I would say. Sounds like a poor mans U2.
  4. Oct 8, 2010
    5
    While some songs are wonderful (Lovers in Japan, Violet Hill) there's something incomplete about Viva La Vida. It seems as though the bulk are mere album fillers, as though Coldplay are depending on Viva La Vida and Violet Hill to carry it. The engineering and production are fine, this is just lacking the oomph of A Rush of Blood to the Head and Parachutes.
  5. CraigR.
    Jul 9, 2008
    6
    A few good tracks and a lot of murky half baked ideas.
  6. MusicMaven
    Jun 30, 2008
    5
    If you're a fan, this is disappointing. If you're not, there's no reason to start here. Coldplay do nothing to counter arguments that they are all sound and fury signifying nothing.
  7. Ziazia
    Jul 20, 2008
    4
    I am a hardcore Coldplay fan who was eagerly waiting for this one. I couldnt believe myself that I bought the album, heard it once and somehow got rid of it by returning it! This album is dissappionting when compared to their previous classics. This is sad. I could clearly feel while listening to it that the band did it for a formality. The spirit is gone.They sounded so obsolete, so I am a hardcore Coldplay fan who was eagerly waiting for this one. I couldnt believe myself that I bought the album, heard it once and somehow got rid of it by returning it! This album is dissappionting when compared to their previous classics. This is sad. I could clearly feel while listening to it that the band did it for a formality. The spirit is gone.They sounded so obsolete, so repetitive and very predictable. Expand
  8. Zia
    Jun 25, 2008
    5
    After being a Coldplay maniac all these years, I was frankly disappointed with this album. I waited so much for this and it had nothing to offer. It was too loud without substance. No depth at all compared to their previous classics. I am heartbroken. Maybe they will patch it up next time!
  9. Jon
    Jun 26, 2008
    5
    This album stinks of Arcade Fire and Brian Eno influence. This is the good part. Yet many perceive and are vocal about Coldplay's direction as groundbreaking when clearly it's not
  10. JoeS.
    Jul 22, 2008
    4
    After 3 or 4 complete listens, I'm afraid I'm just not feeling this album like I have older Coldplay releases. Unlike most albums I actually spend money on, there's not a single song on the entire album that I feel driven to put on repeat, listen over and over to, etc. Both musically and regarding emotional impact, I feel like this is the weakest of their albums to date.
  11. Sep 1, 2013
    5
    [5.9] Apart from a few songs, Viva la Vida sounds a bit too confused and doesn't flow very well like their last albums did (not saying that those were great either). The instruments are entirely disorganize and the vocals could use a bit less stress. It sounds like Coldplay is trying too hard to end up with a bombastic classical/alternative production and end up with a scattered mess.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Given Eno’s quarter-century of Bono-fides, this isn’t surprising. Martin’s interests are frequently vague--on 'Lovers in Japan/Reign of Love' he sings about soldiers who must soldier on and runners who must run until the race is won. Seriously?
  2. The greatest thing Coldplay may have learned from Eno is his work ethic, as they demonstrate a focused concentration throughout this tight album--it's only 47 minutes yet covers more ground than "X&Y" and arguably "A Rush of Blood to the Head"--that turns Viva la Vida into something quietly satisfying.
  3. They try hard, Coldplay, but it just isn't enough; their fourth album might just be their best yet, but it's still a long way from being the epochal classic that Chris Martin is desperate to create.