• Record Label: Vice
  • Release Date: Feb 6, 2007
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 296 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 72 out of 296

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PG
    Feb 12, 2007
    3
    This album is awful, totally overhyped by the NME as usual, its good to see such a low rating on here, its no more than it deserves. The lyrics make me cringe, both guitarist are cheap jonny greenwood rip offs. Argh, english music is so poor at the moment
  2. CharlesB
    Feb 10, 2007
    3
    A deception follow-up.
  3. CarlJ
    Feb 10, 2007
    0
    The worst album of the year, horrible.
  4. MarkW
    Feb 7, 2007
    0
    The worst album of the year, Bloc Party turns to a Emo band now, unfortunately.
  5. MaxC
    Feb 8, 2007
    2
    Just two songs are good in this record, Hunting for the Witches and On, the rest is rubbish.
  6. CarlosV
    Feb 8, 2007
    0
    Their effort went for nothing. Wait their third album, horrible record, I didn't recommend to my worst enemy. This sux a lot.
  7. AleonM
    Feb 8, 2007
    0
    Maybe the worst record of 2007 so far.
  8. KristinW
    Feb 9, 2007
    0
    bad energy, dull lyrics and a horrible unity.
  9. LeroyB.
    Aug 15, 2008
    4
    Kele's vocals have been brought to the forefront of the arrangements....... big mistake! , the guy cant sing particularly well and his lyrics are laughable. When Kele's not singing the band are at their best. Awesome drummer , great lead guitarist , why aren't they building they're songs around these things?
  10. NancyP
    Feb 11, 2007
    0
    Bloc EMO Party
  11. BettyK
    Feb 12, 2007
    0
    the worst record of the year.
  12. aliciam
    Feb 12, 2007
    3
    I hated this album.
  13. celsos
    Feb 10, 2007
    1
    Where is the Bloc Party from Silent Alarm?? This cd is boring....sorry
  14. JackK
    Feb 10, 2007
    0
    waste of money and time.
  15. JustinW
    Feb 7, 2007
    0
    The most disappointed album of the year, they turns an EMO band, that is horrrible.
  16. AmandaC
    Feb 7, 2007
    0
    Don't wast your money in this album, is a waste of time, I'l sell mine after the deception emo album.
  17. WallyM
    Feb 8, 2007
    0
    Bloc Party lost one more fan with this horrible album
  18. RobbieW
    Feb 8, 2007
    0
    We don't need this album! For what? Only to put in the garbage.
  19. ToddRundgren
    Feb 8, 2007
    1
    "A Weekend in the City"s got nothing on "Bert's Blockbusters."
  20. MarciaI
    Feb 8, 2007
    0
    I'm very disappointed with this record, silent alarm is much better. Not even one good song in the record.
  21. EmilyH
    Feb 8, 2007
    0
    I liked "Silent Alarm" but the last record is the worst thing I've ever heard in my life. Terrible.
  22. RachelE
    Feb 8, 2007
    0
    The worst effort of Bloc Party until now.
  23. BernardH
    Feb 8, 2007
    0
    They had the ambitions to be huge and bigger with this album like U2 and Coldplay, though they didn't good enough to reach the rock stars. Dull songs and Tracks. They appear to reach an EMO status.
  24. DP
    Feb 8, 2007
    4
    Gone are the visceral guitar riffs, explosive drums and Keles' uplifting stream of consciousness lyrics. In come a pedestrian pace and overwrought lyrical musings. RIP Helicopter, Banquet, She's hearing voices.
  25. ClaudeM
    Feb 9, 2007
    3
    I didn't like the way the they turns on.
  26. RickA
    Feb 9, 2007
    0
    A disappointed new album.
  27. FredM
    Feb 9, 2007
    2
    This album really has a serious problem of listen to.
  28. MikeW
    Mar 1, 2007
    0
    The worst and pretentious album of the year, they now forget your indie roots and wanna be Coldplay or any Panic at The disco kind emo band. To the garbage.
  29. JC
    Apr 4, 2007
    3
    Loved the first album - was one of the best of 2005 but this is awful. Upon the first few listens I hoped it might grow on me but it is just as cack now as it was then. A poor follow-up full of it's own self-importance.
  30. BoM
    May 10, 2007
    4
    What happened guys? Silent alarm was right on the mark: energetic, powerful, and crisp. Weekend in the City is boring, self-important, and whiny. Where did the simplistic genius go? Why does this new album remind me of 9th grade? When was the turning point where Okereke decided that he would strain his voice beyond hideous IN EVERY FREEKIN SONG!?! If he wanted his vocals to sound like What happened guys? Silent alarm was right on the mark: energetic, powerful, and crisp. Weekend in the City is boring, self-important, and whiny. Where did the simplistic genius go? Why does this new album remind me of 9th grade? When was the turning point where Okereke decided that he would strain his voice beyond hideous IN EVERY FREEKIN SONG!?! If he wanted his vocals to sound like hoobastank, then I guess he made it to the big leagues Expand
  31. luiggi
    Feb 17, 2007
    3
    im disappointed. Silent Alarm was much better. I'm just sad right now.
  32. AdamF
    Feb 22, 2007
    1
    What an utter disappointment. Perhaps it's unfair to compare this effort to Silent Alarm, but this is such a step back for a great band. You keep waiting for the punch that never comes. "I Still Remember" is the only decent track on this album. I can't believe I waited two years for this.
  33. RogerM
    Feb 7, 2007
    0
    I'm very disappoint with this album, the look likes another band, I don't know what happened to them. Boring songs, long lyrics about her sexual life. Who cares? I like Bloc Party like in Silence Alarm, dance and party, listen just once and I forget it. Worst album of 2007.
  34. ZekeM
    Feb 7, 2007
    0
    There isn't a good song in the album, ridiculous.
  35. MarkS
    Feb 7, 2007
    0
    I Hated this album, just crappy songs and dull lyrics. They're not an indie band anymore, now they are an EMO band.
  36. PeteU
    Feb 7, 2007
    0
    Bloc Party is another band, the worst album of the year so far.
  37. RobertS
    Feb 7, 2007
    0
    They don't dance anymore, slow album, ambitious and dull songs.
  38. Andy
    Feb 7, 2007
    4
    So disappointing. The lyrics are just downright cheesy at some points and evey song sounds like they're trying to create some sort of epic masterpiece. It comes off pretentious and dull. What happened to their pop sensibilities?
  39. PattiH
    Feb 8, 2007
    0
    a disaster.
  40. FaniM
    Feb 8, 2007
    0
    Odiei o album, achei uma porcaria! A trash!
  41. RobertN
    Feb 9, 2007
    2
    what ever happened to bloc party? Hard to swallow.
  42. BryanW
    Feb 9, 2007
    4
    Serious disappointment, esp. after seeing them absolutely kill it at McCarren Pool in Bklyn this summer.
  43. FaniO
    Feb 9, 2007
    0
    One word: Deception
  44. JamieN
    Feb 9, 2007
    0
    Klaxons give us what the Bloc Party did not do this year. Tedious sound, I don't care about her sexual life, I wanna Party!!
  45. DaBears
    May 10, 2007
    2
    I don
  46. JordanH.
    Jun 6, 2007
    0
    Fuck you Jerm this gets a 0. Maybe a 10 if I was trying to wean myself from bestiality.
  47. ChrisT.
    Aug 29, 2007
    2
    The Prayer = 8 The Rest = 1
  48. MarkG.
    Sep 15, 2008
    0
    Horrible, emo album!!!!!!
  49. MarkS.
    Nov 6, 2007
    0
    The worst record of the decade.
  50. MarianneW
    Feb 11, 2007
    0
    It's a crash in the band run.
  51. MattZ
    Feb 13, 2007
    0
    The worst album of the decade.
  52. James
    Feb 13, 2007
    0
    Even worse than their first. Their first had a few good tracks, this is even more flat. Avoid!
  53. fredh
    Feb 14, 2007
    2
    poor record. very disappointing.
  54. RaffW
    Feb 17, 2007
    0
    An Emo Album, this album is ridiculous and pose.
  55. JustinF
    Feb 18, 2007
    0
    Creepy emo album.
  56. ScottI
    Feb 21, 2007
    4
    The album is either too quiet or too bombastic. I personally can't find much beauty in Okereke's voice either - he doesn't enunciate or have much eloquence/subtlety. Their louder, more intense tracks work for the most part. Hunting for Witches is a highlight and there are some other songs that have a nice driving riff. But this is a very inconsistent and a sloppy second The album is either too quiet or too bombastic. I personally can't find much beauty in Okereke's voice either - he doesn't enunciate or have much eloquence/subtlety. Their louder, more intense tracks work for the most part. Hunting for Witches is a highlight and there are some other songs that have a nice driving riff. But this is a very inconsistent and a sloppy second outing for Bloc Party. Expand
  57. JamesW
    Feb 26, 2007
    0
    Not necessary to release this crap, Kaiser Chiefes did much better than this horrible emo brit record.
  58. GigiL
    Feb 26, 2007
    3
    Was really looking forward to this album as I loved Silent Alarm. There are absolutely no stand out songs on the album and lyrically is far weaker than it's predecessor. They seem to have lost the sound that made them endearing in the first place.
  59. Jenna
    Feb 7, 2007
    3
    Let me just preface this by saying that Silent Alarm was one of my three favorite records of 2004. It just had a certain, I dunno, flair that elevated every single song to dance-anthem status if that exists. But on A Weekend... they just shoot for anthem status and fall awfully short. I've tried to will myself in to liking it but it's not something I'll likely ever revisit.
  60. KatheeR
    Feb 7, 2007
    2
    A disappointed sophomore Album.
  61. MacyW
    Feb 7, 2007
    0
    Waste of money, don't spend your time on this. Horrible songs.
  62. NormaW
    Feb 7, 2007
    0
    The deception of the year.
  63. RamiroD
    Feb 7, 2007
    0
    They now wanna be a Coldplay.
  64. MandyW
    Feb 7, 2007
    0
    The band turn an Emo band, I couldn't even repeat the second listen. Worst and dull album.
  65. MattA
    Feb 8, 2007
    0
    I don't like EMO stuffs, so this album disappointed their indies fans.
  66. MartaH
    Feb 8, 2007
    0
    waste of money, you don't need this.
  67. ColbyS
    Feb 8, 2007
    4
    Damn you, Jacknife Lee. I am a die-hard Bloc Party fan, won over by their amazing Silent Alarm. Leave it to Jacknife Lee to go screwing around with something that already worked beautifully. He did it to another of my favorites, Snow Patrol, turning them from vibrant, rough-edged indie to sappy, overplayed radio pop. I almost fell asleep listening to this. I'm not saying Bloc Party Damn you, Jacknife Lee. I am a die-hard Bloc Party fan, won over by their amazing Silent Alarm. Leave it to Jacknife Lee to go screwing around with something that already worked beautifully. He did it to another of my favorites, Snow Patrol, turning them from vibrant, rough-edged indie to sappy, overplayed radio pop. I almost fell asleep listening to this. I'm not saying Bloc Party doesn't make good slow songs, but there should be a balance, perfectly evidenced by Silent Alarm. Why would he (and I'm assuming it was Lee, he being the producer and all) try to twist Kele's amazing, character-filled yelp into a soft, crooning whimper for an entire album? The formidable wiry guitar work of Russell Lissack is masked as background when it should be showcased; it's what won myself and many other fans over with the first album. In short, I'm near-incensed-- not at the band, but at the producer. They were herded away from their roots to be more "accessible"? If accessible means weak sauce, I understand completely. I'm expecting later work they're capable of. The only songs I enjoyed were The Prayer and the two bonus tracks, Once and Future King and Secrets. Expand
  68. MattW
    Feb 8, 2007
    1
    All efforts ends in a hole.
  69. AlexD
    Mar 13, 2007
    3
    A huge disappointment. Kele tries too hard for a Bono persona, and the end result is an overly pretentious set of sub-par songs. I loved Silent Alarm, but this album doesn't do it for me.
  70. Jahar
    Mar 28, 2007
    2
    Blah blah blah. This singer has some serious vocal issues. Not enjoyable to listen to at all. The only thing keeping this band afloat is the sound of the guitars.
  71. RobertW
    Mar 7, 2007
    0
    It's dull, annoying, pretentious and full of histrionics. Bloc Party are the worst band in the world, and they've lowered the bar yet again for the endless wave of talentless bands-for-the-sake-of-being-in-a-band.
  72. JermA
    May 25, 2007
    4
    Who the fuck are these 10's? People are really rating this album 10/10? On the flip side this album is shitty, but it doesn't deserve a 0/10. I would rate it a 5 or maybe even a 6 because the music is decent. Unfortunately Bloc Party's last album was so great that in comparison A Weekend in The City gets a 4.
  73. EE
    Jul 16, 2007
    0
    The biggest disappointments of the year. Very, very boring and forgettable.
  74. JammyS
    Feb 12, 2007
    0
    There are not the same band, horrible record.
  75. matt
    Mar 14, 2007
    4
    so disappointing after their first record, typicl sophomore screw ups - over produced, etc...
  76. VincentH
    Mar 19, 2007
    2
    I tried...dammit I tried, but this album just doesn't have the tunes to stand the test of time. I hoped that maybe it would get better with repeated listenings (like the new Shins or Of Montreal LP's), but unfortunately that's not the case. Even after one accepts the fact that this is not going to be anything similar to "Silent Alarm", and opens his/her mind totally to the I tried...dammit I tried, but this album just doesn't have the tunes to stand the test of time. I hoped that maybe it would get better with repeated listenings (like the new Shins or Of Montreal LP's), but unfortunately that's not the case. Even after one accepts the fact that this is not going to be anything similar to "Silent Alarm", and opens his/her mind totally to the new sounds and directions of the band, the songs still just don't stick. The album is not without its singular values (interesting variety of subjects, much more ambitious and spacey production, denser lyrics, etc.), but none of that really matters if you are not writing good songs. And Bloc Party is not writing good songs right now. I honestly am very saddened by this record because it makes me think that perhaps this band was just a one-album wonder, a group of guys who really only had one great album in them, and nothing more to offer. That may sound harsh, but this album really has nothing to offer listeners. It is a chore to sit through and like the new Clap Your Hands Say Yeah, it shows a once-great band trying new things and (seemingly) forgetting what made them great in the first place. Silent Alarm will be a masterpiece forever though. Expand
  77. CharlieH.
    May 25, 2007
    0
    It gets a zero because it sucks you troll!
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Those hoping to be converted are likely still to doubt the 'voice of a generation' tag.
  2. It's a given that some people will miss the raucous Bloc Party, but there are enough in-your-face moments and hidden gems to keep A Weekend In The City on regular rotation. [#16, p.90]
  3. 70
    A post-electronica, post-rave production that jettisons genres and cherishes uncut creativity. [Jan/Feb 2007, p.77]