A Weekend In The City

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
A Weekend In The City Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 308 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kele Okereke & co. try to avoid the sophomore slump with this highly-anticipated follow-up to their acclaimed debut 'Silent Alarm.'

Top Track

Prayer
[MusixMatch] Lord, give me grace and dancing feet And the power to impress Lord, give me grace and dancing feet Let me outshine the moon Is it so... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. It's smart, strange, just different enough from its predecessor, and, eventually, absolutely stunning.
  2. A Weekend in the City showcases what all the band's initial buzz was about, but twists and filters what might have been expected, leaving them open to praise for different reasons.
  3. The real achievement of 'A Weekend In The City' is its path to this conclusion, pulling hard-won moments of contentment from a maelstrom of anger and confusion.
  4. The psychic bruising Okereke has sustained playing the East London fame game during the past 12 months has produced self-pitying lyrics that frequently state the bleeding obvious.
  5. There's barely a song that isn't kneecapped by one of Okereke's lyrical clangers.
  6. The second half of the album falls into a malaise as tempos slow and arrangements become more orthodox, placing Bloc Party closer to Coldplay than one would have thought possible two years ago.
  7. The direction in which Bloc Party has traveled is entirely unsuited to its strengths.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 68 out of 205
  1. Mar 25, 2017
    10
    Holly molly... whats wrong with this poor rating? This is the best album of Bloc Party, so much deep in my heart. This album reborn so muchHolly molly... whats wrong with this poor rating? This is the best album of Bloc Party, so much deep in my heart. This album reborn so much memories a few years ago. I love it... and again, I don't know why has this poor score... Expand
  2. LincolnW
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    simply awesome!
  3. AndrewE
    Dec 10, 2007
    9
    I can't think of an album where every note is milked for every ounce of emotion possible like this one. Even when some of their ideas or I can't think of an album where every note is milked for every ounce of emotion possible like this one. Even when some of their ideas or songwriting falls flat, the weight of it all makes the album as a whole incredibly resonant. It's a year later, and it still invokes every kind of emotion when I listen to it. Expand
  4. JohnB
    Feb 5, 2007
    8
    The first half of A Weekend in the City is better in every aspect compared to the second half. Lyrically, I hear honesty coming from Kele and The first half of A Weekend in the City is better in every aspect compared to the second half. Lyrically, I hear honesty coming from Kele and that is something I can really sympathize with. His words will hit a core with the targeted age group even though they may seem overly simplistic and not so interesting at times. Lyrically and musically Bloc Party tries to create a concept of every day life in the UK and for that they deserve credit as well as exploring different sounds, leaving behind the dance punk so prevalent on Silent Alarm. This album really shows how far Bloc Party has progressed as well as its beauty with multiple listenings. A Weekend in the City may be overproduced and several songs are misfires, but it is not a failure by any means and it deserves its due respect. Expand
  5. JasonC.
    Feb 5, 2007
    5
    I realize that they have to "mature" and that some people think that any objections to this album are ignorant because they don't I realize that they have to "mature" and that some people think that any objections to this album are ignorant because they don't recognize some sort of growth. I'm all for maturing but this is just boring. The melodies are unbelievably similar from song to song and the energy of classics like "Positive Tension" is nowhere to be found. There are definitely redeeming moments, in which the epic brit-pop sound works somehow, but this is generally a really dragging bunch of songs that is only made cohesive by the fact that they all sound the same. Expand
  6. RobertN
    Feb 9, 2007
    2
    what ever happened to bloc party? Hard to swallow.
  7. MarkW
    Feb 7, 2007
    0
    The worst album of the year, Bloc Party turns to a Emo band now, unfortunately.

See all 205 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Sophomore Slump? Comparing the Second Albums of Buzz Bands

    Sophomore Slump? Comparing the Second Albums of Buzz Bands Image
    Published: April 10, 2010
    With the second album from MGMT arriving in stores this week, we take the opportunity to explore how other bands have fared after releasing a successful debut. Is it possible to have a good second album?