• Record Label: Ultra
  • Release Date: Sep 25, 2012
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 66
  2. Negative: 10 out of 66

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 8, 2013
    7
    >Album Title Goes Here< is certainly does little to be the most standout offering from the now super-popular Deadmau5. Nokia has uses Deadmau5 in great amounts to showcase their products worldwide through 4D city-wide projects, and it's been cool. But all that stardom warrants greater expectations from the fan base and those who are interested in checking in with Deadmau5 for the first>Album Title Goes Here< is certainly does little to be the most standout offering from the now super-popular Deadmau5. Nokia has uses Deadmau5 in great amounts to showcase their products worldwide through 4D city-wide projects, and it's been cool. But all that stardom warrants greater expectations from the fan base and those who are interested in checking in with Deadmau5 for the first time. While >Album Title Goes Here< won't necessarily be regarded as his best work overall, there are some stellar movers & shakers to be found here. Easily one of the best cuts features My Chemical Romance's Gerard Way on "Professional Griefers", carrying a tightly woven, sick & infectious production with Way shout-chanting his way through some kind of post-apocalyptic surreality where the world is gone insane and digital fantasties run amuck. Outside of Griefers and the album opener "Superliminal", >Album Title Goes Here< finds most of its stride in restrained club-house tendencies. "The Veldt", "October", and "Closer" demonstrate this greatly with longer intros that blend into steady beats overlain with programmed synthesizers to carry the hooky melodies. No, this may not be his best work, but it certainly is fun and worth adding to the collection for already-fans. Newcomers may want to start with some of the predecessors to >Album Title Goes Here< before fully jumping in this late in the game. Expand
  2. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    Pretty good album and satisfied with purchase. There are some really bassy songs like Channel 42 and Fn Pig. This album is mixed with vocals and techno.
  3. Dec 11, 2013
    8
    Great album! I hear a new style that I really like, shown in October, Closer, and There Might be Coffee that I really like! What I do not like is Telemiscommunications, Failbait, and Sleepless. But overall, great job!
  4. Jun 24, 2014
    9
    This review is not in english, sry about that.

    Ok, na wstępie warto zaznaczyć, że Deadmau5 podążył właściwą ścieżką. Odstawił w niepamięć dubstepowe wstawki na rzecz czystego house'u bądź eksperymentalnej muzyki (czyt. elektronicznej). W pamięci zapadł mi utwór Fn Pig przywodzący czasy starego Joela, ale gwiazdą albumu jest dla mnie Take Care of Proper Paperwork. Geniusz w czystej
    This review is not in english, sry about that.

    Ok, na wstępie warto zaznaczyć, że Deadmau5 podążył właściwą ścieżką. Odstawił w niepamięć dubstepowe wstawki na rzecz czystego house'u bądź eksperymentalnej muzyki (czyt. elektronicznej). W pamięci zapadł mi utwór Fn Pig przywodzący czasy starego Joela, ale gwiazdą albumu jest dla mnie Take Care of Proper Paperwork. Geniusz w czystej postaci, nie rozumiem też narzekań co do braku przysłowiowego "dropu", takowy jest tam zbędny. Ogółem martwa mysz skleciła fantastyczny album, ale mam wrażenie, że stać ją na więcej :)
    Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2012
    9
    This is the new Deadmau5 album, absolutely wonderful. Such a kick to listen to whilst working out. Superliminal is the best track on the album. Good job, Joel.
  6. Oct 4, 2012
    10
    Just another great CD to workout to, do homework, drive, and enjoy life. Everything is better listening to Deadmau5, and he is diverse enough to have music that appeals to any mood I could be in.
  7. Oct 19, 2012
    9
    Songs in this album are individually made. You don't dance them, idiots, you "dig" them with your "head" and that is how it's made. It's one of the influent and concentration giving albums that I am able to hear by myself. And because of deadmau5 and his career of progressive house, there will still be no f***s given to the mainstream, todays trending, nor the world out there, just listen.Songs in this album are individually made. You don't dance them, idiots, you "dig" them with your "head" and that is how it's made. It's one of the influent and concentration giving albums that I am able to hear by myself. And because of deadmau5 and his career of progressive house, there will still be no f***s given to the mainstream, todays trending, nor the world out there, just listen. The criticizers should start listening instead of making bias to the funny and obvious sounding title. It's deadmau5 and his idea of making the title that way, the same way he told everyone the truth in his album "For Lack of a Better Name". Stop whining. > album title goes here < isn't bad at all, it's just Failbait that is out of style. The album itself is different, people around the world are listening to the whole thing. I throughly enjoy all the songs from Superliminal to October. Sleepless and Telemiscommunications are just a bit from deadmau5's mind. Never ever mind the Failbait (while reviewing). Expand
  8. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    I think this is an excellent album.
    has excellent songs like Professional Griefer, The Veldt, Channel 42, maths and Supperliminal think Deadmau5 did a great job
  9. May 9, 2013
    8
    Some great tracks, some OK tracks, a couple I found a little annoying or totally out of place for deadmau5. The album doesn't flow very well; it's too bad he didn't write it as a continuous mix like his others (though there is a pretty good one on youtube by SNSR3DLINE). I'll give it a decent rating because I like deadmau5, and there are some great songs on here, but he can definitely do better.
  10. May 31, 2013
    8
    This album is a good album if you ask me.This album is better than 4x4=12 for me that is just my opinion.This album ads more harmony and happines into songs.Deadmau5 did a good job going on a big risk to go full progresive house on this album.Irespect the only hardcore fans who love hard songs from deadmau5 but its still a good album.It does not desever like a 55 it deserves a 80.Critics iThis album is a good album if you ask me.This album is better than 4x4=12 for me that is just my opinion.This album ads more harmony and happines into songs.Deadmau5 did a good job going on a big risk to go full progresive house on this album.Irespect the only hardcore fans who love hard songs from deadmau5 but its still a good album.It does not desever like a 55 it deserves a 80.Critics i think just listenen the songs like telemiscomunications or filbait and closer but they did not listen to the super songs named the veldet or professional girafigers or eaven there might be coffe.its an 8 for me and you shoud buy this album if you like house and that kind of music. Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Nov 1, 2012
    80
    Having always been a master at transcending genres, he makes sure his new album includes something for every musical taste.
  2. Oct 23, 2012
    60
    To a saucer-eyed teenager with a head full of pills stood amidst Deadmau5's immersive, impressive son-ET-lumiere experience, watching everything "going right off," it'll probably sound amazing. Maybe the rest of us should just wait outside in the car until the show's over. [Nov 2012, p.105]
  3. Oct 10, 2012
    50
    At his best - "The Veldt," "Closer," and "Channel 42," which has a nice, Cameo-like wah-funk wiggle - Deadmau5 is a topflight roots-of-EDM mimic. At his worst, he's a troll.