An Object

  • Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Aug 20, 2013

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
Buy On
  1. There's a pleasure on the far edge of song in imagining that two DIY purists are making all these musical noises with their guitar collection and their home studio.
  2. Aug 16, 2013
    The clashes in sound become the very skeletons for the songs, and the songwriting is more fearless and honest than ever before, marking a distinct maturity for No Age and resulting in their best work to date.
  3. 85
    It’s pretty hard to deny that No Age make a damn good off-kilter rock record, and that’s a pretty good idea in itself.
  4. Aug 20, 2013
    The only thing that could make An Object better is a guarantee these determined minimalists won’t leave us with zero next time out.
  5. Aug 19, 2013
    As soon as the first bright notes of An Object wave you over to the album’s distorted incandescence, you realize that something is going on.
  6. Magnet
    Sep 25, 2013
    Even the twosome's weakest album has undeniable substance in its slow burn. Don't call the Yes Age just yet. [No. 102, p.58]
  7. 80
    An album that finds them further exploring the depths of their palettes with another worthy album of expressive highs.
  8. 80
    I think An Object battles Everything In Between for best No Age album, and while I think Object contains even more interesting musical elements, Everything had more hooks.
  9. Aug 21, 2013
    The album seems like it had the fat trimmed off in the studio and leaves the listener with a leaner-than-usual, but still enjoyable production. You’ll leave feeling full, but not stuffed.
  10. Aug 20, 2013
    On An Object, their blissy ambient tinkerings finally feel earned and essential.
  11. Aug 16, 2013
    The sparse chug of "Defector/ed" and the dirge-y mantra of "A Ceiling Dreams of a Floor" reflect the rough-hewn elegance of the duo's raw musical material.
  12. Aug 15, 2013
    It sounds like a labor of love through and through, and its painstaking process of development only augments a desire for something exclusive. In all accounts, your satisfaction is most certainly guaranteed.
  13. Aug 15, 2013
    Musing on “perfected harmonies” while unexpected string sections peer into the foreground, we’re witnessing a group confident enough to start afresh while giving forceful nods to their celebrated past.
  14. Alternative Press
    Aug 12, 2013
    An Object is another great volume in the experimental duo's catalog that feels more colossal than their comparatively small eight years together. [Sep 2013, p.90]
  15. Uncut
    Aug 12, 2013
    A record that's complex, inventive and terrifically free-spirited. [Sep 2013, p.92]
  16. 75
    No Age may not have delivered another knockout, but An Object compensates for its shortcomings by being a mature and often moving album, a first for the duo.
  17. Aug 30, 2013
    An Object scales back the ambitious and ostensibly ambient sound of Everything in Between (2010), but it remains gloomily meditative.
  18. 70
    An Object, as a conceptual aesthetic project, borders on brilliant. Yet the music itself is not immediately captivating.
  19. Aug 21, 2013
    There may be no dramatic leaps in style from No Age, yet there also doesn't seem to be any requirement for them. An Object is the refining of a formula that remains open to play and experiment, without adopting a slash-and-burn policy to all previous outings.
  20. Aug 20, 2013
    It's moodier and murkier than No Age albums past, but no less galvanizing.
  21. 70
    It’s a difficult album and requires repeated listening for some of the subtler parts to sink in.
  22. Aug 16, 2013
    The lack of drums on large chunks of An Object initially gives the feeling that the album is lacking an anchor, but when the band explore the shimmering noise cosmos of closing track Commerce, Comment, Commence they sound expansive and exquisite, something that their more forthright punk approach can’t hope to achieve.
  23. Aug 12, 2013
    A gradual evolution, then, and all the better for it.
  24. Aug 20, 2013
    An Object is never too jarring, nor too abrasive, nor too sedate, nor too conventional. But No Age’s best work is rapid-fire indulgence in all of these excesses, riveting in its erratic unpredictability and sense of urgency.
  25. Aug 20, 2013
    There's always an undercurrent of sputtering, beat-up electronics running through No Age's music, and when the arrangements are roped in from shoegaze atmospherics, these jump forward and dominate the album's texture.
  26. Aug 20, 2013
    This is the album that might’ve better earned the title Everything in Between, as the songs are composed of scraps, MacGyver tricks achieved with contact mics, bass guitars, and doctored amps. Occasionally, the effort manifests in notable progress.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    So I read all this mixed reviews about this album before I got a chance to listen to it myself. It kind of skewed my perception from theSo I read all this mixed reviews about this album before I got a chance to listen to it myself. It kind of skewed my perception from the gates, predisposed me to not really give it a chance, to just kind of think it was blah. But a funny thing happened when I listened to this record, I really like it. No doubt it is different from their previous albums and material. At first I didnt know what to make of it. But then I caught myself nodding my head and tapping my feet along with the music. And you know what I made up my own opinion and I really like this album. It is growing on me with each subsequent listen. I reccommend this album to any No Age fan. Dont be thrown off by how it is different, dont get caught up in the reviews of this album. Listen to it, with open ears and as much a blank slate as possible and you will be surprised to find that this is a really outstanding album that takes creative risks and says what it has to say in a unique voice. I cant stop listening to this album! I find new little wrinkles each time that I listen. Full Review »
  2. Aug 20, 2013
    As the band that recorded Weirdo Rippers and Nouns, An Object does not necessarily strike you as the work of the same group. Gone is the noiseAs the band that recorded Weirdo Rippers and Nouns, An Object does not necessarily strike you as the work of the same group. Gone is the noise background and reverb, and what we are left with painfully disappoints. What bothers me the most are the vocals. It may be that they are mixed higher so you can hear the imperfection in their singing, but No Ages delivery on vocals seem bored and lazy, and since they dominate the soundscape the entire album feels drab. The best moments on this album are when No Age actually moves away from their old sound, instead of half assing, such as on C'mon Stimmung, which sounds ferocious with roaring guitar and crashing cymbals. Without some of these primal punk elements on the rest of the tracks, it seems like punk without the energy, and what is that? Full Review »