Apocalyptic Love

  • Record Label: EMI
  • Release Date: May 22, 2012
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Jun 29, 2012
    80
    Apocalyptic Love, the album, is at its best when Slash is operating within the team. [9 Jun 2012, p.52]
  2. Jun 25, 2012
    80
    Carolina's use of a talk box a la Frampton stuck in this listener's craw, but elsewhere the urgency and uncensored filth of Slash's playing is a joy. [Jul 2012, p.82]
  3. May 22, 2012
    80
    This one is cohesive and feels like a band affair, feels like an album, feels like it has the chemistry Velvet Revolver frustratingly didn't quite have but a certain other band had once upon a time when Slash was in that crew.
  4. May 22, 2012
    80
    Apocalyptic Love is at heart a collection of lean, high-octane rock-and-roll tunes built to be blasted out of open-top sports cars or, more suitably, open-air stadiums.
  5. Jun 20, 2012
    70
    A solid if not spectacular release from the king of wail.
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. May 28, 2012
    9
    A well composed plethora of great hard hitting songs, from the titular song to the added extras this album just keeps on giving. Each songA well composed plethora of great hard hitting songs, from the titular song to the added extras this album just keeps on giving. Each song with it's own personal touch of LA badass that is slash with blues driven hard rock at it's finest and the breathtaking voice of Miles Kennedy, this is one album that doesn't disappoint.

    Favourite song: We will roam, bad rain and No more heroes
    Full Review »
  2. May 23, 2012
    10
    Best Hard-Rock Record I've been listen in years. Great work for Slash and Myles again.
    The band has to grow even more. But has great songs and
    Best Hard-Rock Record I've been listen in years. Great work for Slash and Myles again.
    The band has to grow even more. But has great songs and compositions that will make people fall in love common to the genre of it.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    4
    This could've bee a great album, but I think the problem here is that Myles Kennedy's voice just isn't a right match for Slash's guitarThis could've bee a great album, but I think the problem here is that Myles Kennedy's voice just isn't a right match for Slash's guitar playing. Kennedy's voice is too clean and "wimpery" and doesn't have enough power or personality to blend with the vibe of Slash's guitar. Kennedy's voice can sound a little too whiny with not enough texture, like a balloon with the air being let out of it. I loved Rod Jackson's singing on the 2nd Slash's Snakepit album Rod Jackson had a booming, powerful voice with a soulful "growl" to it that really meshed with Slash's vibe. I wrote a review earlier in which i criticized the album for lacking in soul or personality, but at the time I couldn't quite put my finger on why. Having come back and listened to it again, it's clear that Kennedy's voice and vocal melodies are the culprit. Slash needed a bigger voice with more texture and SOUL to really bring out the best in his guitar playing. Full Review »